*Season 2, Week 24* Analysis Thread

Samanalyse thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 3

Welcome to the weekly analysis thread, where we dissect the heck out of the characters, situations, and the possibilities for the leap! This thread is dedicated to in-depth character and story analysis in this new phase of the show. Let's explore how the show, in its complexity makes us think. We leave the thread open-ended so that we can discuss varied topics with each other in a more informal way, and new thread begins every Sunday evening for ongoing discussions as the week unfolds. If you are interested in this exercise, jump right in!

Everyone is invited to join as long as they avoid:

1. Moral policing. This thread should be an inclusive and safe space for people to express their views. This is a work of fiction and multiple interpretations only make it a richer experience. If something about the show makes you uncomfortable, be open to the idea that you might be missing the necessary perspective that someone else could provide.

2. Bashing CVs. Criticism is welcome, but should be focused and constructive.

3. Bashing the characters, or pitting them against one another. If you think either the Dixits or the Boses are entirely right, and the other entirely to blame, this is not the thread for you.

And most importantly...

4. BASHING OR PERSONAL INSULTS OF OTHER MEMBERS

This means we accept other people's viewpoints with respect, and don't call them names for not agreeing with us. Either we continue the argument calmly, supported by examples from the show, or we respectfully agree to disagree and leave that discussion alone.

Additionally, if you notice something being discussed on another thread in the forum that you would like to get a perspective on here, please link it in your post and let the other Thread Maker know. This allows for them to come and discuss here if they like and makes us all good neighbours.

Links to Previous Threads

Week 1 Week 6 Week 11 Week 16 Week 21

Week 2 Week 7 Week 12 Week 17 Week 22

Week 3 Week 8 Week 13 Week 18 Week 23

Week 4 Week 9 Week 14 Week 19

Week 5 Week 10 Week 15 Week 20

timbarucha83 thumbnail
9th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail
Another week get stared with the positivity. Thanks for the new thread.
cscs thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 5
Congratulations for the new thread.

Arey next one will be silver jubilee thread, 25 th. 😃
sjain thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Trailblazer Thumbnail + 4
Congratulations guys

New week new thread..Its gonna be a happy week..with Sonakshi bonding with Dixits and bringing them closer so its gonna be an interesting..with spoilers and segments..This week will be dedicated to Ishwari and Sonakshi..

Past week was..again the one which left me with some complaints but with some sweet moments as well..

With abrupt declaration of Dev Soankshi still married was the biggest blooper according to me they negated the complete story of past 5 months which actually didnt go down well with me at least..I couldn't accept it and still I am not able to fathom the reason of it completely honestly..2 back to back contradicting episodes..one indicating of them wanting to take time and be slow and stable at the same time ..but then next one took another 360 flip with Ishwari declaring them not divorced ever and Sonakshi all of sudden deciding to go back to Dixit house them a few attempts from CVs to make sure they convince audience of them married by showing proper bridal grah pravesh of Soankshi and them Dev specifically addressing Soankshi as "Mrs Dixit"..All these were the signs that makers want viewers to get comfortable of the fact they have just tried to put in to the story suddenly ..I read lots of reason on forum why they dd it but honestly none could convince me

This by far has been the most unconvincing twist..I can stil may be agree to a reason of Ishwari's change of heart but this was forced on viewers..so that they probably dont demand of re marriage coz they dont want to waste episodes on that..Sad..It was disappointing and hurting in a way actually

Now coming to the last episode of the week that is Friday's..I would not elaborate too much but would say it was a nice episode for me..I saw various POV's here so decided to write down mine as well..Sonakshi has entered Dixit mansion as DIL of this house who carries guilt that because of her somewhere this family was scattered and everything went wrong..She has this agenda of getting everyone together..Now the keys part..well what ever Ishwari has been doing since the moment she realized her folly is out of guilt she is feeling so ashamed of her activities 7 years back that she wants to correct them ASAP and thats the reason she has given keys to Sonakshi the moments she entered Dixit house..she feels she couldnt make her part of family she couldnt rightfully give her,her position of elder DIL which she should have so she found a way to make Soankshi feel the part of this house an family not to feel alone..Sonakshi with her head with only one thought felt happy yet a bit uncomfortable..Here I want to tell you guys its not because she doesnt want to take responsibility she is shrugging it off..Nope..but she wants it come in right way..Its true that mamiji took care of the house all these years and she has bit if not all right and say in this keys giving process which she felt Ishwari didnt give her..She decided to talk to mamaji and sweetly give it back to her..well this is the controversial part..My feeling here is that she decided for one to one talk with mami was good thing..but apparently i also believe..keys were not given to her by mamiji..so she should have expressed her views to Ishwari before going and giving it to mamiji..It would have shown her respect and gratitude for Ishwari ..She would have felt good that Soankshi didnt hesitate in talking to her and rightfully discussed it equally showing respect to mamiji..What Sonakshi did wrong according to me was taking Ishwari for granted assuming she will understand her point..Its okay in some case but not always..If she had borrowed something and was returning that it wouldnt have been a big issue but house keys is big responsibility

Also I feel the whole sole purpose of this keys sequence was to jeetofy mami'jis Dil..Thats all and I can see it happening as well..but I could see the cracks in mamji's external bitter surface..she will see Sonakshi's gold heart

Next day Ishwari's reaction was much expected and it actually for a change reminded me of Ishwari 1.0..she had very similar expressions for few seconds but Sonakshi now knows how to handle her

My main reason for liking this episode was how characters were true to their self and when ever I can feel they are honest with them selves I always feel that connect

I said to keep it short but couldn't..OOPPSS..Sorry guys..I couldnt stop once I started writing OUCH

So this was previous week..Looking forward to tomorrow's episode..and some wonderful write ups from you all ..some positive views and deep thoughts

aarcha thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail Networker 1 Thumbnail
Congrats for the new thread n thanx Sam n DQ nt only for opening the thread but also for keeping the sanity intact 😃
The house keys was the star of last episode which brought out varied emotions from the inmates of IN. I felt Ishwari shud 've told mamiji b4 handing over keys to sona even though GKB wud've expressed similar emotions but she did managed everything in IN wen others underwent some sort of hibernation & ofcourse she luvd herself to known as nt GKB but AKM ( ameer ki mami ). Sona @ least discussed that with Dev but she too shud've consulted Ish maa b4 returning the keys to mamiji bcoz it was Ishwari who handed over the keys to sonakshi, nt mamiji. But anyways since Ishwari truly started considering sona as her saheli n bahu, everything went well with an ecstatic mamiji who was in jubilant mood after getting bak the house keys. This scene reminded me that almost every character in this show was true to themselves @ times 😛

During the gruha pravesh scene , i was noticing Elena who was standing with her cam but didn click a single snap of that memorable event 😆 & showing us viewers the difference bet reel n real .Yeahh it happens ! The mails drafted by sonakshi 8 yrs ago was turned to 23 hrs ago wen dev opened it . Poor creatives ...the viewers r so sharp esp wen it's all bout a show so popular. Divorce / no divorce / dusri shaadi everything can take a bak seat now as sona is geared up for bringing in the lost happiness of IN , bringing bak the dixit sisters Riya n Nikky . Let's c if Sona's again inviting worries or bringing the lost charm bak to IN. Now her Saheli is with her , i'm rooting for the latter .

Dev Sona scenes 're beautiful as always . Dev longed for hearing her sweet voice but during tashan days he told her to don irritate mohalla nivasis with her irritating voice wen she waited for him outside her home after he went to IN without informing her or Soha. Sona talking bout soha's first words as Paa ...Scene ended wonderfully with sona sleeping peacefully on Dev's shoulder ❤️

Eid Mubarak ❤️
Edited by aarcha - 8 years ago
amaypranay thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 4
Congratulations to the new thread ... DevAkahi are back together...excited to see this new phase:)
thedramaqueen thumbnail
8th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail

Hello everyone

I loved some of the analyses a lot on our thread last week and the trend continues.

On the topic of the ambiguity of divorce, I have to say, I am not one bit surprised. Not because I am used to the makers taking a palti every so often. It's because the divorce ka mamla had been very ambiguous from the start of S2. They were consistently inconsistent in fact. The red flag was during Saurabh's wedding. Initially it looked like the Boses were letting the guests see Dev as "jamai to avoid any scenes. However, as the episodes during the wedding continued, it became apparent that Dev and Sonakshi's relationship status is more than co-parents to that community. They all knew about Soha (and some of them definitely live in Delhi! Dev Dixit's sheher!) So, I had to do a double take and ask is the divorce just done on paper and Sona's relatives only know that they separated? It didn't look like public knowledge to me. It looked like they are back together after a long public fight. Because there was a point where someone said "they are together and its good for Soha. Especially when its been on TV even and Dev is a celebrity of sorts in Delhi. He doesn't figure on Page 3 but he was out with girls a lot.

So, my takeaway all along was that perhaps mami made sure Dev's relatives know that he is single but ready to mingle (or may be mingle but not marry). Dev & Sona's professional circle/s knew them as divorced. It was all very unclear.

They were not divorced in the sense that they were not ready to move on. And everyone around them knew. They would refer to each other as ex, mostly to remind themselves and to rub it in to everyone else who cared less about their happiness and more about their selfish motive.

Because another biggie was that had the divorce proceedings happened, the legal counsel on Sona's side would have advised her to inform Dev about Soha. Dev & Sona just weren't in a state to deal with any of this. They left things untouched for 7 years. I'd love for them to show us that the room where fire burnt in that Jogeshwari farmhouse is still as it was 7/8/9 whatever number of years ago. Something like we saw in Om Shanti Om with the sets.

Had one of them decided to remarry, I guess, they would have then served the divorce to the other (and then the poor legal counsel, the person who one of them was going to get married and everyone else in between would get Nisha treatment by these pagal premis!).

There was one instance where they convinced me of the divorce. It's in the car when Sona tells that Sunflower story. Dev asks her why had she not married. Which means he assumes she is divorced.. Having had a confirmation of Dev's emotional coma in the last 7/8/9 years, I am thinking he was led to believe they were divorced and assumed he had signed those papers in his drunk/intoxicated state

With that, let's hope Dev and Sona had a lovely weekend and will present themselves with more love and joy on on TV screens later tonight..

Kuch rang complicated relationships ke...

Samanalyse thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 3

Originally posted by: thedramaqueen

Had one of them decided to remarry, I guess, they would have then served the divorce to the other (and then the poor legal counsel, the person who one of them was going to get married and everyone else in between would get Nisha treatment by these pagal premis!).

There was one instance where they convinced me of the divorce. It's in the car when Sona tells that Sunflower story. Dev asks her why had she not married. Which means he assumes she is divorced.. Having had a confirmation of Dev's emotional coma in the last 7/8/9 years, I am thinking he was led to believe they were divorced and assumed he had signed those papers in his drunk/intoxicated state

With that, let's hope Dev and Sona had a lovely weekend and will present themselves with more love and joy on on TV screens later tonight..

Kuch rang complicated relationships ke...

I am really glad you made this post, DQ. I have also been pondering the nuances of their relationship status, and I came to the same conclusions you did. Divorce is not such an easy process in India, and you have to jump through lots of hoops in the process. Given their reasons, there is no way any judge would have granted these two a divorce without demanding that they go for counselling or try living together for six months. I assumed before that they had somehow paid people off and gotten the divorce done without meeting, but this makes more sense, given where they were emotionally.

@bold: I actually read that scene a little differently with regards to this information. Dev didn't ask if she was married, he asked why she wasn't (shaadi kyon nahi ki?). He knew she wasn't married because she would have had to ask for a divorce if that were the case. It makes sense that they put off the formal divorce for when one of them actually wanted to move on with someone else, In the meantime, it didn't really matter one way or another (this "farak nahi padta" of course, hiding the fact that they had each secretly resolved to love only each other all the days of their lives).

The film "Sweet Home Alabama" had a similar situation, where the plot is driven by Reese Witherspoon trying to get her the husband she married as a teenager to sign divorce papers so she can now marry her New York fiance. That said, I am very glad they chose not to go with that plot for S2 here, even though it would have a been very convenient direction to take.
thedramaqueen thumbnail
8th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail

Originally posted by: Samanalyse

@bold: I actually read that scene a little differently with regards to this information. Dev didn't ask if she was married, he asked why she wasn't (shaadi kyon nahi ki?). He knew she wasn't married because she would have had to ask for a divorce if that were the case.

oh well.. then that closes this off nicely! Well spotted
sjain thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Trailblazer Thumbnail + 4
DQ your explanation is bit complicated and some connections you made..but the thing for me is that..They should have honestly cleared their status since beginning..Everything cant be kept in dark and to be left on viewers to make links and assume themselves..This last minute haphazard decision of showing them married and this flip uhh I dont know..If you are showing them calling EXs thinking of marriage Bijoy very seriously suggested it..

This was 100% a very unplanned move..