TotalBetty thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 3

Originally posted by: Kyahikahoon

Does it nominate adaptations n remakes?

I thought no too but apparently they do

Don't know about foreign films category but it can be nominated, even win like Parasite did

MaxMayfield thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Trailblazer Thumbnail + 4

Fashionista Circle

Originally posted by: Kyahikahoon

Very simple..public doesn't even want to give it a chance..good or bad ..they just don't want to see.

Equality is never one sided..and BW has been showing that kind of 'equality' since long..

Even in a game n open adversary is better than a masked one.

Not all South movies r masterpieces..and many of their superstars too r nepo products. Still it succeeds. Problem BW me hai aur BW se hai

Its so wierd, when South movies were underrated I used to wish everybody would give them a chance and now when they are popular through the roof, I feel like some very underwhelming stuff also ended up making a lot of money..I tried watching KGF many times..literally couldnt get past 15 minutes..RRR was quite ridiculous IMO..I cant believe people liked it..I loved Bahubali, Magadheera, Eega but RRR nope sorry..dint connect with me. Pushpa second half was unbearable..and all of these movies have one thing in common - larger than life hero and villain..who can kick 1000 butts at one time..and sidekick heroines..

and I just feel for LSC in specific there was an organized campaign of boycott..not just by trolls..but by the media, by critics and eventually ofcourse it did not impress the audience or they dint turn up..I saw it in an empty theatre in UK as well..so i guess people just were not interested in this movie..but I am sorry the way the extreme right wingers are hating on it..LOL I am shocked they overlooked how this movie was actually more right than left..its like everyone is blinded by some kind of hate..and that comes from me, who is right wing herself.

and the Critics making it look like the worst thing they have watched ..I mean what>?????????

I am curious to see how it will perform in China, if it releases in China ie..since Aamir is very popular there..we will get an idea about whether the movie just touched a few people like us..more like a movie for classes..or it connected with the masses as well??

desigal90 thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 180 Thumbnail + 5

With Laal Singh Chaddha, Kareena Kapoor Khan rekindles the actor within

In a scene from the recently released Laal Singh Chaddha, Laal, played by Aamir Khan, barges into a hotel restaurant after witnessing his childhood sweetheart Rupa being slapped by her B-wood tycoon boyfriend. Rather than jumping into the protective Laal's arms for saving her from abuse, Rupa clings to her abusive boyfriend, placating our protagonist with "Tum nahi samjhoge". It's a scene that requires the seductive control of an actress who can pass off as victim and culprit within the same moment. Rupa is the cynical careerist in Laal Singh Chaddha. Even in a film that establishes the maxim 'do good and good will happen to you,' it's Kareena Kapoor Khan who shines, almost unexpectedly, as the hard-to-empathise-with Rupa. It's indicative of the actress that always lived inside the star that is Kareena. Also Read - Better Call Saul Season 6 review: Updates Breaking Bad's adrenaline rush with its formative brilliance Few actors or actresses enjoy a certain stardust quality the way Kapoor does. In fact, she is probably the last 'heroine' in the sense of both fame and work. Kapoor is a typical B-town product, a descendant of farcically indomitable cinematic heritage. Further, despite having started out with brave film choices like Chameli (2003), Asoka (2001) and Omkara (2006), Kapoor has always been remembered by her over-the-top manic pixie-girl role as the unforgettable Pooh in Kabhi Khushi Kabhie Gham (2002). It's a role that Kapoor has tried to outlive but one that has always caught on to her, exemplified by a more conservative and vernacular version of it with Geet in Jab We Met (2007). Also Read - Darlings marks return of popular 'Muslim social' genre from Hindi cinema of 1970-80s Kapoor has rarely fronted a solo heroine film. Possibly her first and last attempt in Heroine (2012) was ironically a story not too dissimilar from Rupa's. The film, however, flopped and ever since, Kapoor has consigned herself to doing a film every other year, as a sort of token to reconfirm her presence as an artist and not just a B-town celebrity. In interviews, Kapoor comes across as at peace with an ambitious world, contrasting gladiatorial plans for dominance women her ilk spell out from across coffee tables. Maybe it's a version of feminist self-reliance that Kapoor has never addressed her gender as second-fiddle, but simply approached every role with the conscientious knowledge that there is glamour inherent in the act of performance. Also Read - Bipasha Basu, Karan Singh Grover announce pregnancy; actress flaunts baby bump The actress, now a veteran of two decades, has always commanded the kind of screen presence that you'd expect would come with cinematic descendant but in her case, it has felt unique, almost as if earned. From doing maniacal larger-than-life characters to the modest fourth wheel of an ensemble like in 3 Idiots (2009), Kapoor has done and it all. Alongside Aamir, avowedly known or publicised as the perfectionist, Kapoor has built a rapport over the years where her effortless approach to acting maybe coalesces well with his renowned methods. In Laal Singh Chaddha, this gap is perhaps the most visible than it has ever been when compared to Kapoor's near-effortlessness, Aamir appears strained, almost twisting his insides to look like a parody of what he thinks he is playing in his mind. Sometimes, less actually is more. Also Read - Liger: Ananya Panday, Vijay Devarakonda twin in all black for promotions in Warangal Kapoor has also been, over the years, somewhat undermined by the chatter around her personality, in some cases by her closest friends. Karan Johar for one, has reduced her to the water-cooler that simply attracts gossip, her aspirational side invisibilised by the banter around her social anxieties and her existence at the centre of a celebrity-obsessed culture. Consequently, Kareena the actress has always had to play catch-up to Bebo, the ultimate Bollywood insider and star bar none. As a matter of privilege, Kapoor might strut around as the illuminous inbred, but as a matter of self-preservation, she has outperformed entire ensembles (remember Golmaal 2 and 3) by merely being present. Rupa's role, is probably the trickiest of all in Laal Singh Chaddha. She has to be the cynical social climber, the woman who'd reluctantly cozy up to sugar daddies over and above the gullible open arms of the film's sympathy wand. It's the kind of role that demands sobriety to speak through guilt, humanism to whisper across from a sordid, often scandalous life. It's also the kind of role that represents the only truism in a film that relies on the delusions of innocence. A film that pins its hopes on the storied male actor, the man with a reputation for perfection to the extent that he is the one who overdoes it. Rupa, on the other hand, is delightfully twisted, a more robust image of the nation the film wants to exhibit through a singular narrative. It's almost frustrating, that the same Kapoor, the actress, has been overawed by Kapoor, the heroine, the unambitious and relaxed star. It's incredible to think that Kapoor has comfortably been the participant, without ever being the object of everyone's focus, and has still maintained an aura of elusive grandeur, the kind of starry quality that supersedes the size and scale of the art being made. Art that almost always has, courtesy our cinema, circled the male ego, his thirst for reputation. And yet, Kapoor has possibly always been dependable, dressed in the kind of magic dust that is neither worried about longevity or self-serving prophecies about the legacies you'd leave behind. She has always been a star, possibly bigger than any or all the men she has acted next to. Laal Singh Chaddha is playing in cinemas

https://www.news9live.com/entertainment/with-laal-singh-chaddha-kareena-kapoor-khan-bollywood-hindi-cinema-aamir-khan-rekindles-the-actor-within-jab-we-met-189634

642126 thumbnail

*Possible Spoiler alert*

I watched Lal Singh Chadha in theatre today. I think Aamir acted really well especially in emotional scenes. The kid who played little Aamir is adorable and makes your heart melt with his quiet charm. Mona Singh is easily the BEST performer of this film and a wonderful character. She has improved miles as an actor. Kareena is also good. Chay was also good though slight caricaturish.

The music was really good.

But the story is hard to believe or make sense of. The narrative is choppy and film seemed poorly edited. It just seemed to jump from one incident to another. The historical incidents shown in film just seem to be there for time line or time stamp. They have no proper link to story or characters or narrative.

It seemed to just jump from one thing to another without connecting events or people. It is heartwarming and emotional though but too unrealistic to believe. I mean how can people like Bala exist in army or ask man to run? And it made no sense that Aamir was just running aimlessly...I mean, Indian audience can surely not make sense of it.

The story is definitely sombre, sad, tugs at heart strings and was a poor choice of a film to release in post pandemic times considering it gives no escapism or hope.

Aamir's character is too nice, naive to be true and one wonders how can such a guy be in army or be shown to do other things in film that he does (run a business)? That terrorist turned business man is also too hard to believe and too good to be true.

Is there anything that Aamir's character sticks to or persists with? Except maybe his fixation with Kareena?

Kareena was good but her role has less to offer.

The SRK cameo was nothing special and seemed to be added forcefully. Like some gimmick.

This film would have performed poorly even if it did not face boycott calls. It is a weak film despite a good message against communal hate. It has not shown 1984 or 1992-1993 or 2008 for any real depth and I felt characters' behaviour was weird. I mean let us be honest, it was damn unrealistic to see Sikh characters happily taking pics outside Indira Gandhi's residence on day of her assassination. LMAO! Neither were Sikhs allowed near PM residence post Op Bluestar nor were they excited to see PM Indira's house back then given the resentment people felt in 1984. Totally unrealistic how Mandal agitation, rath yatra or 26/11 or 1984 are just used for heck of it. No real impact of these incidents on characters.

The film is a very weak remake of Forrest Gump. I yawned through the film and it is first Aamir film in decades that failed to draw me in as a viewer unlike his other previous great films. One wondered how events connected to each other or what happened to his hospital or business or if he faced no action for saving a Pakistani...

Or what happened to his father's side of family and did he have no one else in family except his mom or maasi?

Even his mental condition is not described in film so ordinary audience can never make sense of why Aanir is the way he is unless they read online about original story.

Somehow the film fell flat and one did not realise what went on, too many loose ends and how it ended.

Anyway Aamir did show big posters of Modi and BJP and Swach Bharat campaign and skipped showing Gujarat riots despite showing all big events of last 40 years. This and huge disclaimer before film shows how conscious he was to avoid controversy.

This is a one time watch film. It has no potential to be cult classic in future either. It does have positive message against communalism and need for compassion or goodness at heart, accepting things in life no matter how hard they are.

That is about it. Probably the weakest film from Aamir Khan Productions and quite sub par given the high expectations and standards AKP has set in past.

I do give it credit for showing Sikhs and Punjabis normally and accurately without caricaturish stereotypes. Especially for focusing on cultural details such as removing kalgi from turban of groom before Anand Karaj as wearing kalgi in front of Guru Granth Sahib is not allowed.

Aamir's Punjabi is okayish but improved since RDB. I am glad he knows by now, it is not just maa di bhen di only.

The film is slow and boring to be frank and leaves you sad.

Rating - 2.5/5 stars.

PS - Khans better wake up. For first time I saw NO excitement in audience when Aamir or SRK made entry or Aamir's name came on screen. Reaction was total contrast to what I saw in Lagaan, TZP, RDB, Ghajini, D3, 3 Idiots, PK. I saw no reaction in audience even when SRK cameo came. Audience was also too less. Hardly dozen people in theatre. PVR was empty. OTT factor is there but Khans need to make better script choices and have better edited films. They can no longer take audience for granted nor enjoy same charm or away they had till mid 2010s.

642126 thumbnail

Lal Singh Chadha is actually a very sad film. It is depiction of harsh reality of life that you cannot even fulfil small dreams and you can lose ones closest to you, you are just a puppet or pawn in hands of time or destiny and you may keep getting troubles even if you happily accept all losses, defeats in life. It leaves you with a sinking feeling in heart that you as a human are like a feather or leaf that can fall or fly or lie on ground as per wherever wind blows.

It is a choppy narrative, poorly edited film with some heartwarming moments thanks to Mona Singh, Aamir Khan, Nag Chaitanya characters. I am not surprised it is not doing well. It is a sad film at heart. It cannot do well in post pandemic times. Probably first flop and weakest film from Aamir Khan Productions and I wonder why he chose such a subject in these times. It is also unrealistic. Incidents do not connect and no one hires such men in army nor they become huge businessmen so soon.

BTW Aamir is really good in crying and emotional scenes or grieving scenes. The man can make your heart melt. His acting is not that bad as people suspected from pics or promos. He knows how to tug at emotions.

Ahana_Sehgal21 thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 180 Thumbnail + 4

Aamir khan was so terrible in this movie ... I had second hand embarrassment watching him. Even worse than Salmans performance in tubelight ...

The movie was bad, but Aaamir performance made it unbearable....

I_M_SultaN thumbnail

MONA Freaking Singh Eat everyone alive in the movie

643898 thumbnail

Originally posted by: Mai.NePyarKiya

MONA Freaking Singh Eat everyone alive in the movie

Funny that she gets to play the mother despite being younger than both Aamir and Kareena

642126 thumbnail

Mona Singh and the little kid who played Aamir are soul of this film.

Mona ate everyone and the little kid could make anyone melt and cry.

Mona was brilliant even if she is younger than Aamir. Kamaal ka kaam kiya hai.

I cannot believe she is same girl who played Jassi. So much improvement and growth!

Strong willed single mother raising an autistic child alone in Punjab village. What a character!

Waise I understand why this film did not have festival release nor had event film marketing like 3 Idiots or Ghajini.

Still if it was edited better and promoted better, it would not do as badly as it is doing now.

Kareena was good too but I felt her role was too short and her character was hardly developed as much. I mean hard to understand why she kept leaving or returning or did not get in touch with Lal earlier the day she was pregnant with his kid...