Next morning, Khushi found herself on the floor where she had slept while crying and Arnav had ended up sleeping on the chair (same chair where Khushi sat when Arnav returned her payal), on the poolside.
Knock Knock
Khushi gets up and opens the door.
"Anjili ji, aap?"
Anjili was a little surprised to see Khushi still in her wedding dress, and Arnav not in the room.
"Khushi ji, you are still in your wedding dress? And where is Chote?"
"Wo Anjili ji, wo wo….we were very tired last night, so just kind of fell asleep. And Arnav ji had a phone call from work so and he didn't want to disturb me so he went to poolside and fell asleep there."
"OMG Khushi ji I don't believe this. Ye chote bhi naa… Anywaz why don't you both get ready and come to the kitchen downstairs. You and Payal will have to make something sweet in breakfast today. It's a rasam, hope you know about it."
"Ji Anjili ji, we will be there soon."
Anjili left and Khushi closed the door. She peeked at the poolside and saw that Arnav was still sleeping. She decided it was better to get ready and leave before Arnav wakes up.
She quickly got her clothes and went to the washroom.
When she got out, she found Arnav was up and sitting on the bed with his laptop. Both looked at each other and quickly looked away. No one wanted to talk to each other but Khushi had to pass Anjili's message to Arnav.
"Wo Arnav ji, wo, please get ready and come downstairs. Anjili ji…"
Arnav cuts her midway, "Now you will tell me what to do and when!!! Don't pretend to be my wife in this room. In fact, I don't even want to listen to your voice and see your face every morning. Just get out."
Khushi just leaves without clarifying. Once downstairs both Khushi and Payal make gajar ka halwa (Indian sweet). Khushi makes low sweet halwa for Arnav as well.
As both of them are plating the halwa, Anjili walks in.
"Khushi ji, where is chote? Didn't you tell him to come downstairs for the rasam?"
"Wo Anjili ji, I told him but he is working upstairs…and…"
"Hey bhagwan, ye chote bhi na, even marriage did not have any positive effect on him. I will go and get him."
Anjili climbs up the stairs and sees Arnav busy working on his laptop. He didn't even notice Anjili walk in until she came and stood right before him.
"What is this chote? Everyone is waiting for you downstairs. Khushi told you that they are going to do the sweet making rasam and you and Akash both should be there."
Arnav realized that this was what Khushi was trying to tell him, when he cut midway. She was not trying to order her or start a conversation. Arnav felt bad but also he didn't care. Khushi deserved this, he thought.
"Ok D, lets go."
Both go downstairs and take their respective seats on the dining table. Shyam was not there. He didn't want to see Arnav and Khushi together and so had gone to work early in the morning.
Then, Payal and Khushi come out of the kitchen and start serving the halwa to everyone. Khushi makes sure Arnav gets the low sweet halwa. Both don't even look at each other but both plaster a smile for their families.
After taking one bite of the halwa, dadiji speaks up.
"Wah, this is very tasty. Khushi and Payal bitiya, you both are very talented. I knew that you were good girls with high values, now I also know that you are awesome cooks as well."
Khushi and Payal smile at each other. Arnav gets annoyed at this. But for his family's sake, he also takes a bite of the halwa. But he couldn't bear that Khushi was happy and everyone was praising her. Taking advantage of the fact that Shyam was not present, he gets up from the chair and starts to leave. Everyone watches this and dadi asks.
"Arnav bitua, what happened? Why are you getting up? You didn't even finish your halwa yet."
Arnav looks at dadi and then at Khushi and says,
"I didn't like it." And leaves to go upstairs back to his room, away from everyone.
Khushi stands there with tears in her eyes. Anjili sees this and gets up and goes to Khushi.
"I am sorry Khushi ji, ye chote bhi na. But you don't worry; he generally does not like sweets. It's not your fault. You and Payalji made very good halwa."
Dadi gets up, "haan bitiya, halwa is very good. And here is the shagun." She gives prize money to both Payal and Khushi and everyone else goes to their respective works.
Payal consoles Khushi and goes back to the kitchen. Khushi stands there too hurt. She knew that she was not into a happy marriage but she never imagined that Arnav would start behaving like this. She knew that Arnav had intentionally said this to hurt her. How come he said this in front of the whole family, the family he cared for so much. He should have known that this would upset her D too.
Upstairs, Arnav realized that he had been behaving badly today. He was not even thinking anymore, he was just doing what he felt like doing at that point. He realized that he had not only hurt Khushi twice but also his family and specially his d. How could he do this? He realized that he needs to calm down and control his emotions. Whatever it was, he cannot go on hurting everyone with his behavior. Not being into a happily married life was enough of a punishment for Khushi for now.
Downstairs, Khushi helps cook lunch. After finishing up the work, Khushi wanders into the family/living room, too scared and hurt to go upstairs and be with her husband. She did not want to get insulted.
Suddenly Shyam appears from nowhere and taking advantage of the opportunity goes and sits on the sofa besides Khushi. Upon seeing Shyam and the wicked smile on his face, she quickly gets up and starts to leave when Shyam gets a hold of her wrist from behind. Shocked Khushi turns back and stares at Shyam.
"Are Khushi ji, please spend some time with me as well. Common sit down. Now we don't' have to worry about anything. Your wedding to sale sahib is a blessing to us. Now we can do whatever we like. Although I would not like to share you with anyone, but it's better than not having you at all."
Khushi too scared to say anything, jerks her hand and frees her wrist. She realized how much more Shyam is closer to her now. One chance and he would cross his limits. She slowly starts to move back and then makes a run for her room.
She gets to her room and locks the door. And stays with her head supported by the door and her back towards Arnav.
Arnav gets up from his laptop and walks towards Khushi. He places his hands on her shoulders and turns her around. He is taken back a bit when she sees Khushi, her face pale and body trembling. Not understanding what was going on… he asks…
"Kya hua Khushi?" (What happened Khushi?)
(Sorry for mistakes. )