anutech2006 thumbnail
@musicmaniac

AFAIK, Shadab and anwesha ko points nahi mile the when shankar came..they got the points along with shankar..Shankar came because he might hv realised himself that they sang very well and would be tough to match by his team members..He has always come after Shaan's team members and not before them..
safeenafarheen thumbnail
16th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail

Originally posted by: musicmaniac

Let me clarify something from the original post ---when I said that Shaan could not keep his cool, I meant that he could have dealt the situation with more dignity although I feel that he was justified in his outburst.

I absolutely loved the way he politely told Javed Akhter 'rude' in response to Javed Akhtar's truly belittling comment ('Lowest common denominator'). It spoke thousand words without shouting. He could have done the same in the semifinal also.

ya but the situation thr is Mika who goes on torchling and behind shaan and his contestants without unreasonable views,that made shaan loose temper,but shaan too said he can be do it in much better way..but Mika's is just too much with shaan from the first episode to shaan's semifinal match with shankar,
shaan was littleupset and anger wen baised view from judges everytime,and judges dint even tried to und shaan point..but mika made him lost his outburst..
Edited by safeenafarheen - 15 years ago
brahmabul thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail Fascinator 1 Thumbnail
I really don't know what Neeti has done to herself. She was the part of Aasma band. She was so full of confidence then. Palash Sen who judged that show (don't remember its name) on Channel V labelled Neeti as best singer among all the four Aasma singers.
Sw970 thumbnail

What is the point to compare, as both are equally good in their professional career?

In other countries the real test of a singer is depends how much he is successful with his albums. Shaan rocks here…He does not need any Bollywood dependency, can always be in top with his personal albums and currently considered as a great celebrity singer of the country.I like Shaan very much for his work as a independent singer with his albums.

Shankar is successful both as music director and singer, also currently considered as a great music director of the country.
Let's enjoy their great works, no personal comparison needed!!!!!
324284 thumbnail

Originally posted by: brahmabul

I really don't know what Neeti has done to herself. She was the part of Aasma band. She was so full of confidence then. Palash Sen who judged that show (don't remember its name) on Channel V labelled Neeti as best singer among all the four Aasma singers.

It had happened many times that the singer who was exceptional in previous competetion went downhill on other competetion. Look at what happened to Toshi in JJWS after VOI. Harshit was not upto to par in MKMM except for one or two performances. Same with Aneek. Raja who was brilliant in Sa re ga ma, Ek main our ek tu and Sa re ga ma pa Mega challenge also couldnt perform which he was capable of. Hema chandra, Amey also fall in same category.Only Anwesha and Aishwarya ( when given chance) performed exceptionally well throughout the competetion. Hence it is nothing new that Neeti also couldnt perform well in MKMM. I beleive she is a good singer else A R Raheman wouldnt hve chosen her for live concert. Overall the team might be better in the paper but you hve to evalute on the basis of the currrent form. If you look at current form then only Rahul is good enough to challenge Shaan's team.
Edited by slumdog - 15 years ago
babli1 thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail

Originally posted by: musicmaniac

Please note that I am comparing the two with respect to their stint in MKMM as captain. Also I am not a blind supporter to ANYBODY in MKMM. I am just trying bring the positives and negatives as constructively as possible.

Shankar Mahadeven Positives:

1. Improves the team's position by singing outstandingly. (Although personally I did not like Mitwa..I think the essence or soul of the song was lost by unnecessary taankari)
2. Always comes up with good medley
3. Kept his cool throughout the competition

Shankar Mahadevan Negatives:

1. As far as I understand, the reality shows are supposed to showcase the yet undiscovered or struggling singing talents so that they get a good chance of getting noticed by music directors and prove their mettle. All the contestants in the competition are yet to establish themselves in the Bollywood and strugglers like Rehman, Munawar etc are fighing against all odds to continue their singing. The captains in MKMM are well established, financially sound and gets regular chance to work in HIndi cinema and regularly perform in concerts, shows etc. which are widely circulated via YouTube and other channels. But anyday the public does not get to hear Abhas, Sharib or any other contestants. The contestants get the least exposure compared to their captains. It was expected from the captains to give considerable and fair chance to all the team members. Shankar Mahadevan, Himmesh and Mika did criminal injustice to Sanjeev, Munawar and Tejinder by not projecting them at all. Shankar till date has played max no of matches and Sanjeev got to sing only twice (even when he got SOD for one performance). This is unacceptable.

2. Also in continuation of the above point, the captains do not need to project their singing capability in MKMM because for that we have films or programs like Yeh Sham Mastani (in Sony TV), Mission Ustaad etc. where only established singers sing. I absolutely see no reason of Shankar coming in the first or second round for the sake of entertaining audience (he came at least thrice, against Sharib, Anwesha and Aishwarya in the first round itself). In the first or second round, there is no pressure, his team is not lagging behind and Rahul or Sharib/sanjeev/Neeti could have given very good performance and yet Shankar comes to show his 'mastery' of the craft. This is absolutely unethical. (I laud Shreya here for sending Ujjaini after Anwesha giving an outstanding performance rather than coming herself even when Ujjaini did not give good performance till that date). For Shankar's behaviour, I can only say "Only one team played in the spirit of the game" as said in bodyline series and recently in Ind-Aus test cricket series in Australia.

3. When Shankar's match is on, he appreciates only his team members' performance (from the facial expression that is shown, only notable exception lauding Anwesha in stage) unlike Shaan who absolutely enjoys the performance of the opponent team members.

4. Shankar's team specially Rahul, Sharib, Neeti shows a lot of acting prowess (or rather say drama?) in the stage (like proposing a judge, bringing a girl on stage to "create the atmosphere" etc) which sometimes prompts me to think whether we are here to listen good songs or see the acting at the cost of sur and lyrics?

5. Sharib and Rahul were in arguments with the judges and were arrogant to some extent. Shankar should have controlled their behaviour.

6. If you break up the performances, then the number of times Shankar's team members came to perform are: Rahul - 65%, Sharib - 20%, Shankar - 14%, Neeti - 5% , Sanjeev - 1%. There is a huge disparity. Neeti also sang only once before Dil Se duets are introduced.

Shaan Positives:

1. The only captain in MKMM who have given fair chance to everyone in the team. He has sent each team member in every round. He does not overemphasize on one single performer and dares to send the Chhupa Rustom in the first round itself. It was lovely to hear that he wants to be in the final so that Shadab could win SOD. No one in MKMM has supported the Chhupa Rustom in their respective team so well.

2. He always enjoys opponent teams performance even when his team members are not doing well.

3. His team members never argued with the judges or showed disrespect to judges. They left only their captain to speak on their behalf.

4. He always sang against the captains only, NOT when some struggling singer singing well in the opponent team.

Shaan Negatives:

1. He has lost his cool, could have controlled his outburst.
2. He is not as good as a singer as compared to Shankar or Shreya. Sometimes, his high notes are strained.

All are welcome to agree or disagree with my opinions

U said honest comparision and u went on and on to bash Shankar and praise Shaan...thats not honest comp....
navaneeta thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail
Hi ... replying late .... got quite late from work 😭
Well first of all we should not compare Shaan and Shankar as a singer as two people are always different .... since this MKMM is a team game it's good to compare team ....
Both Shaan and Shankar are legends and would be remembered in the Industry for their contributions .... Moreso Shankar M is not a full singer and more of a composer/ director. Hence the way he improvises classical notes, it's easier for him as that's his core skill. That way we can also say that Kishore Kumar may not be able to sing classical taan's and hugely classical oriented song like Manna Dey ... but there also and here also we are comparing apple:orange .... so a wrong comparison. Does this mean Kishore Kumar as a singer not at par with Manna Dey?????? Now should know what I'm trying to say. Even if you try to compare Shankar's classical ability with Pandit Bhinsen Joshi ... you would get the answer ....⭐️
Based on my own experience in classical ... I can say that if you learn classical music for ages, then only you can get the ability to improvise taan and alap on your own ... live or offline ... that's the key learning of classical where based on Raga you put notes and sing ... and that's how you are judged. Now this does not mean a singer who does not learn classical for ages is not a good singer .. singing is a gifted talent, a part of which you can improve based on your core skill/ interest areas .... the similar way I told sometimes back that Shreya's Alka Cholo Re .. highlighted that she is not trained in Rabindra Sangeet .... now does this makes Shreya a less better singer than a person who can sing and trained in that genre of song .....
If Shaan would have tried to sing HIGHLY classical based song then he would have done a blooper .. which he did not .. so comparison cannot be done ...
If we think about Behti Hawa Sa Tha Woh ... the soul and voice silkness of Shaan .... damn sure Shankar does not have that quality and on the other hand Shankar can improvise classical notes better ... so no point going for comparing two different subject .... Maths and History ... Shaan is more gifted as a singer - Maths and Shankar is more practiced and classical trained (must for a composer) - History
As per MKMM Shaan's performance .... till date he sang 3 songs ...
- Khusboo Hun Mein .. that was fantabulous ...
- Dus Bahane ... A peppy number ... appropriate one ... no flaws
- Tum Aa gaye Ho - Must say that was so wonderful, when he started I never thought it's gonna be that good
I did not find his voice cracking in high notes @ MKMM ... I do not count medly round song as that's more of a performance and with members like Anwesha and Harshit, who are more shy and do not jump and dance ... Shaan and Debo backs up for them, so if you sing while dancing ... any singer knows the outcome ...
Captaincy wise ... Shaan gets ACE for sure ...
Now too much gyan on music from me .... but I felt this comparisn is wrong .. so 😍
Edited by navaneeta - 15 years ago
xobile thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail

Originally posted by: babli1

U said honest comparision and u went on and on to bash Shankar and praise Shaan...thats not honest comp....[/DIV]

The post was fair, unbiased and balanced. If you want to ignore all the times that the OP criticises Shaan and praises Shankar, then that's not the OP's fault. Bashing means personal attacks, which the OP did not get into.
musicmaniac thumbnail
Explorer Thumbnail

Originally posted by: xobile

The post was fair, unbiased and balanced. If you want to ignore all the times that the OP criticises Shaan and praises Shankar, then that's not the OP's fault. Bashing means personal attacks, which the OP did not get into.

thanks!!
xobile thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
@Navaneeta

Lovely post, navaneeta ji!

But I disagree with you on three points. I hope you don't mind me explaining why...

1. Shaan's voice did seem strained at the high notes in a couple of performances. He had amaaazing high notes in his performances of Behti Hawa Sa Tha Woh and Suno Na (wow. just wow.) But we should remember those couple of performances with bad high notes, too (especially the Khushboo hoon main song, where he did seem strained)

2. Classical training is not a must for a composer - Anu Malik and O P Nayyar were not classically trained and they are two of the most successful music directors in Hindi film music. 😃

3. Shaan is not a more gifted singer than Shankar - the ability to sing like Shankar Mahadevan is a gift! I don't think you can develop that talent by JUST practising. Yes, Shaan has a great voice quality, but we can't say that one is a gift and the other is only riyaaz.

But I wholly agree with your main point which is that we shouldn't compare apples and oranges! 👍🏼 Everyone has their forte and they should be compared within that genre, not across genres. But I do think Shaan could improve his high notes (that is within his genre after all) - I have noticed a HUGE improvement in his live performances over the years, and I am sure he will improve even further! 😊

Jeetenge SHAAN Se!
Edited by xobile - 15 years ago