pakeezah thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail
yes. it wasgood but not that good.
Ur-Miserable thumbnail
9th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 4

Originally posted by: meethasamosa

The REAL thing is ADJUSTED net and NOT the difference in inflation year by year or by decades.

HAHK is the BIGGEST HINDI HIT EVER.

adjusted net of Sholay, Bahubaali(all format), Mother India and Mughal-E-Azam is more than that of HAHK.

Since adjusted net is basically footfalls/tickets sold multiplied by current average ticket price rate.

So these movies which sold over 10 crores tickets will obviously be bigger hits than HANK which sold around 7.5 crores tickets(all format).

Grumpydwarf24 thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 180 Thumbnail + 4

Originally posted by: LifeOLicious

Ya that scene was significant. Amrish Puri's character was so set in his ways...that all the girls in the house lived differently around him. There was a scene where the ladies were dancing & cooking & llistening to western music but as soon as daddy walked in they switched to some bhajan type song & the sisters took to reading lol! It's like you don't have the right to dream & live your life because of male in the family's ideals. The movie was trying to say that women have the right to live their life in their own way. Except they forgot to give Simran some spine & she waited till daddy agreed and gave in to Raj's stubbornness! Lol!

Compare this to EK Ladki...Sonam's character tells her dad after he says i am ashamed of you that she is not proud of him either! Ouch! Lol!

^Again that can be seen as a form of victory too. They managed to change his regressive mindset about daughters doing what they are asked to. If they had just eloped it wasn't going to change anyone's regressive thinking. Not to mention he says this in front of his entire family not worrying about his reputation that Simran and Raj were right and he was wrong.
LifeOLicious thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
^ya only in the movies only in the movies. Lol! The sourpuss faces of parents I still see of my cousins/friends even after many years just doesn't inspire. Lol. The hope of course is that those who grew up seeing DDLJ will have learnt the lesson!
Grumpydwarf24 thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 180 Thumbnail + 4
I have seen real-life stories that are similar. My cousin, in India, is a Ph.D. in physics. All of our relatives were putting pressure on her to marry someone with a 12th-grade education. I think another girl from our family had married into that family and was very happy. Our family wanted to return the favor and keep good relations with them. There is nothing wrong with being less educated if you can support yourself well and have other talents. But my cousin was madly in love with an engineer, of a different religion. Again this happened in 2010 or so and she was an educated independent woman. She was just nodding around doing what the family asked her to. Behaving a lot like Simran actually. My dad and aunt went from the U.S. to India. They pulled her aside and asked her what she wanted. She told them if they wanted to know what is in her heart that she wanted to marry the other engineer. It took them a while to convince her parents but eventually, she married the person she loved with the consent of her parents. Many of the relatives were upset. There were a few people at the wedding when it occurred.

Similar case scenario of my cousin here who married into a different race. This time she did really put her foot down and said she want not going to marry anyone else. Her family after years gave in.
Edited by grumpydwarf - 6 years ago
Redmi thumbnail
8th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail + 2
Me Me Me. I prefer KKHH to DDLJ.
Redmi thumbnail
8th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail + 2
SRK-Kajol jodi is also hugely overrated. I prefer SRK with Juhi and Rani.
JustMySelf thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail
Used to like it once. But sony max
Made sure i loathe it. 😡
Ddlj still is bearable for amrish ji
But i cannot stand kkhh n dtph
At all. When even their songs start
Feel like breaking that persons
Ph or any other source from which
Those songs ruins the peace.

1146481 thumbnail
I dont think DDLJ is overrated. KKHH is definitely overrated though.
Fairy_KimBokJoo thumbnail
8th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail
Honestly, HAHK was far superior and the romance in it doesn't feel cringy or outdated even now. DDLJ clicked at the time because it brought something fresh, had a great pair etc but it has aged terribly!