honey_06 thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail
Posted: 18 years ago
"I am not very ambitious in life"

-Reena Kapoor

Rani, as she known to people feels very proud when people come to her and say that she is the inspiration to the younger generation. For this she is thankful to Rajshri Production who has given her this recognition. Reena Kapoor who is basically a Delhiete liked the Mumbai lifestyle so much that she has settled in Mumbai since 6-7 years. For Kapoor acting happened by chance. She had accompanied a friend for an audition with director Lekh Tandon and got chosen instead. . Then she did Dishayien, Jai Ganga Maiya for DD, a small role for Dekho Magar Pyar Se and got lead role in Saira Banoji's Kisse Apna Kahein. But presently she is enjoying the role of Rani in Woh Rehne Wali Mehlon Ki.

It has a TRP of 3.2 in the 9 p.m. slot, beating Kksum on Sony and Astitva on Zee. Kapoor who is thrilled with the way things have shaped out says she thanks her stars for this lucky break. " Today I am busy and can afford to choose the work that is coming my way. It feels good to be recognised but I won't say that it has changed me as a person in any way."

Tell us something about yourself.
I am basically from Delhi. We are 3 sisters and a brother. We have travelled all over India as my dad is in the Navy. But just 6-7years back I have settled in Mumbai. I wanted to prove myself on my own. My family gave me good support for this.

Have you taken any acting course before joining this industry?
No Never, I haven't learnt acting from any acting school but I have learnt from my experiences being in this field. My first Experience was this telefilm called Laveena. For me acting happened by chance. I had accompanied a friend for an audition with director Lekh Tandon and got chosen instead. I was in school when I got my first acting offer. Lekhji thought I suited the role and had screen presence.

Carry on..
Then I also did a serial for DD called Dishayien. I also did a mythological serial called 'Jai Ganga Maiya' for DD, the rerun of the same you can see on Star Plus. I also did 'Devi' which I think was the biggest mistake I ever made. I left it half way then I got the chance to play the lead in Saira Banoji's Kisse Apna Kahein on Sahara. I replaced the lead towards the end of the serial. So, I didn't get the feel of the character much.

Later, I got to play the role of Kaya in Star Plus' Dekho Magar Pyaar Se. But once the track changed I opted out.

How did you got the role of Rani in Woh Rehnewali Mahalon Ki'
Like every other actress worth her salt even I'd heard the Rajshri's were getting into production and were looking for a heroine. I didn't think I'd make it but I definitely decided to give it a try.

I passed through the first round and in the second round they gave me hard core Hindi to read out and fortunately I managed to clear the auditions as well as the delivery test and the interviews. In February we started shooting.

What is Rani, the character you play in Woh… like?
Rani hails from a rich family. She is the youngest of four sisters and is the most pampered sibling. It's about her story when she realises the hardships in life. She is a very strong willed woman. When you see the serial, you will realise how she struggles with life and makes it on her own. You can see how she slowly wins over her in-laws love, who are initially against her.

How can you differentiate between Reena and Rani?
Reena is an introvert kind of a person. I am a good listener. I have many similarities with Rani. Rani is very sweet to everyone but I cannot be so sweet though I don't talk harshly.

But during the same time you got married.
You are right, during the audition I got this marriage proposal (arranged). I was very skeptical whether to inform the Rajshri people. But I thought I must be honest to my work and live upto their expectation. And truly they never opposed my decision.

Any reaction from your in-laws or husband….
No, In fact, my husband and family members who live in Delhi sounded relaxed when they came to know that I am working with Rajshri productions. They feel proud that I am part of woh rehne wali.

Tell us something about your husband?
(blushingly) He is not from the same industry but he is working with HCL based in Delhi but soon he will be shifting to Mumbai, may be within a year. He is very supporting by nature. I travel every weekend to Delhi. On certain occasions, he gives me a surprise by flying down to Mumbai. I miss him a lot.

Do you like to party?
I feel socializing means having friends at home and enjoying a film. I don't like to go to parties. I believe people who are insecure about their work go to parties to network and seek work. I am not very ambitious in life.

Would you like to do theatre in the near future?
I really wouldn't mind, but presently I am tied up with my other projects. May be in the future I may try my hand in it to get experience in it.

How is the atmosphere on the set?
The atmosphere is very nice. Everyone is very friendly and pull each other's leg. They play pranks. Alok Nathji is a very loving and caring person. I feel as if I am there with my dad. He has that typical father figure which I miss a lot. My co-star Arjun Punjj is very professional by nature.

Are you looking at working in films?
Yes. But I should be comfortable with the role I play and I am not comfortable with exposing. The character should be nice to work. I have already worked with Kundan Shah in his film "Kya Kehna" where I played the role of Preity's close friend. If in future I get a chance I will surely do the role.

What do you do during your spare time?
I like to listen to old Hindi melodies reading philosophy and travelling anywhere India or abroad.
posted by kohinoorfan
honey_06 thumbnail
When Reena Kapoor went on a trip to the Andaman Islands with her husband, she never thought that she would be recognised there as well. The actor who now plays Pari in Woh Rehne Wali Mehelon Ki says she is lucky to have got a break from her hectic shooting schedule. "Since I am playing the lead role, I have to be present almost everyday," she says Reena adds that though the break has come after a long time, she is happy to be back. "I have about five days off in a week so I asked the production house to club all the days so I could take my holiday at one go. My husband, too, took some time out and off we went," she says. Reena says that she was amazed to see the popularity that Indian serials enjoy in places so far away. "I remember, we wanted to go to an island and there was only one ship that ferries you across. However, since all the tickets were booked we couldn't get any place.

Nevertheless, we went again in the morning to see if we could get the tickets, but we couldn't manage to get any," says Reena. Just as Reena and her husband were about to return, one of crew members called out to her with her screen name — Pari. "I was surprised to know that he knew my name. When I told him that I was here on a short holiday and would have to go back without seeing the other island, he said he'll try to get us a seat on the ship. He spoke to his seniors and got us a place on board," she laughs. And it proved to be a great journey for Reena, who was escorted to the captain's cabin and got to enjoy the rest of the journey. "I got the best view one could get. All thanks to my serial. From being ticketless, I was treated like royalty," she says. After the short break, Reena is back to the sets and is happy with the way her role has shaped up. "The only thing I need now is a break to get over my break!" she laughs.

posted by kohinoorfan
honey_06 thumbnail
From ordinary people to T.V stars, dengue has made its presence felt everywhere. Now the latest victim being the storylines! After two of T.V's high profile brigade, Smriti Iraani and Rajshri Thakur, were diagnosed positive, the producers had to adjust new plots in the stories. Does this sound like doom for programming?

Apart from the personal loss, the production house suffers monetarily as well as on the creative front. Schedules go awry; the redrafted tracks have to be gripping enough for the shows to maintain their TRPs.

Riya V Anandwala talks to a few producers, directors, creative heads and actors who speak about the precautions undertaken and dealing with disturbed schedules!

Nivedita Basu- Deputy Creative Director, Balaji Telefilms

We haven't taken any special precaution as we have never faced any case of dengue. I got to know about Smriti yesterday and that too she didn't get it from our sets. We have sweepers cleaning 24x7, fumigation machines to get rid of the mosquitoes in the evening and nights. Food has never been a problem; we take care of the water provided. As of now no other precautions have been taken, we are just maintaining the old ones!

In a show like Kyunki, even if Smriti is not available, we can play around with the other stars, so that's not an issue at all. Otherwise, no star has ever fallen pray to this epidemic.

Sanjay Upadhyay- Director, Kumkum

We treat our sets as our home! We keep them very clean and also, we give a lot of importance to hygiene on the sets. We nearly spend 14 to 15 hours there, also, a few of the actors/artistes go in for a catnap so hygiene is of utmost importance.

Daily soaps along with being hectic have a certain amount of flexibility also! It's not an unusual occurrence, and if any of our stars get affected by dengue we can always focus on other characters. Certainly there is instability in the schedule, but it is not a very difficult deal to handle it. We can manage the creative dent.

Jamnadas Majethia-Producer, Hats Off

Right from the beginning we have mineral water and water purifiers on the sets for our actors as well as technicians. Every second month we have pest control doing the rounds of our sets. We also have facilities to get rid of the mosquitoes and flies which are on the hitlist currently. But in the case of Resham Dankh it becomes a major problem as we shoot at Madh Island. I had called for a meeting with the local committee there lately, and we are trying to fix this problem.

Schedules definitely get disturbed. Fortunately, my cast and crew have not been affected by dengue yet, but lately I was hit by this epidemic. We are taking ultimate care so that our schedules don't go haywire and also actors are safe. I say, "Ek Macchar daily soap ko kharab kar deta hain!"

Sunjoy Wadhwa-Producer, Sphere Origins

Keeping this epidemic in mind the major precaution which we undertake is to maintain our environment. We try and keep it as clean as possible. We take certain measures to keep the flies and mosquitoes away too.

On the schedule front, we do have a bit of a problem, but not to a very great extent. We bring out interesting angles and build that. And also, our TRPs don't come crashing down.

Kinnari Mehta-Producer, Jai Mehta Productions

We do pest control once a fortnight and have mosquito repellents burnt in the evenings, the prime time for the flies to invade our sets. Our caterers are not those canteenwala's they have a lot of health food, so for those who binge on boiled food, their problem is solved!

The tracks which are built up after redrafting the script are definitely not in the favour of the show, but we are left with no other option.

Hiten Tejwani

I am not eating at any and every place. Where I feel eating should be avoided, I do that. Otherwise, Balaji is trustworthy, so I have not taken any major precautions.

Sharad Kelkar

We request the cleaners to keep our make-up rooms very clean. Apart from that we burn coils which help us getting rid of these bugging flies. Coming to the food aspect, nothing is safer than the home cooked food. I do have a bit on the sets; otherwise I always carry food from home.

Reena Kapoor
The only precaution I have taken is to avoid the food and water outside. A production house cannot do much; after all we have to take care of ourselves.

Ram Kapoor

I take no special precautions. I am the kind of guy who says what has to happen will happen. There are mosquitoes on the sets where we were, but we go with whatever precautions that the production house provides. I would not know what care they are taking. We are too busy on our sets filming and shooting to notice what is going on. And no. No. I am not carrying any mosquito repellents or mosquito creams with me on the sets.
posted by kohinoorfan
honey_06 thumbnail
Looks like there's loads of drama that will unfold in the coming days in Sahara One's TRP raker Woh Rehne Wali Mehlon Ki. Coming from the Rajshris stable, the show which has recently completed more than 200 episodes had recently gone in for a leap. Now, once again looks like, the producers of the show are regularly innovating to sustain viewer interest.
So,what's happening next on the show? Going by the current buzz and the hoardings of Woh all over the city which say just forty days ka Intezaar. Somehow, the forty days mystery reminds us of the Saat Phere campaign which talked about the Chaabi Ka Raaj

Poonam..all ready for track change!
Our sources reveal that the plot will delve deeper further in the direction of a love triangle, coupled with a rather mystery element. It seems recently a Karva Chauth sequence has been shot in which Pari as well as Sanjana fast for Soumya. As the love triangle between the two women for the same man is built up the mystery element secret which will be revealed after forty days.

We called up Poonam Joshi (Mahek from Kahiin toh Hoga) who has just entered the show. Poonam, who plays Aamir Ali's love interest in the show, was slightly reluctant to reveal the track.
On further probing, all she said was, "The storyline is moving in a rather interesting way and it's not a typical love triangle but conveys all what goes into intense relationships". On asking how is it working with Aamir Ali she says, "I am working with Aamir Ali for the first time and I have maximum scenes with him and it's fun to work with him I am enjoying working with Rajshri Productions.
For those uninitiated, as the story track goes, Pari played by Reena Kapoor is married to Saumya but Saumya is seeing Sanjana played by Poonam Joshi. Audience know Soumya is involved with Sanjana and even Pari knows that her husband meets the other woman regularly.But there's more to it than what meets the eye. Looks like there's a secret and a story this whole episode.

So, will Sanjana become Saumya's Sajani? And what's the mystery which will change the storyline..
posted by kohinoorfan
honey_06 thumbnail
Dabba

Poonam Joshi
television actor

What's in your dabba today?
Sprouts, bhindi, brown rice and dal.

What do you love to see in your dabba?
Mutton Curry.

What do you cringe to see in your dabba?
Oily food.

Who packs your dabba?
My tiffin aunty, Madhaviji.

Nutritionist shobha rajagopal suggests:

Her meal is fairly balanced. She could include salad for a better fibre intake. If Tanaaz is health conscious, she could substitute regular rice with brown rice.

http://www.mid-day.com/yourlife/2006/november/147455.ht
posted by manojtina fan
honey_06 thumbnail
"Eeeeks, I ate this!!" - TV stars recall

It's the law of nature that one of the requirements of our survival is food. But sometimes knowingly or unknowingly, we end up putting something so uncanny in our mouth, which later makes us regret!

Let's know from the telly stars themselves, what's that weirdest thing that has found it's place in their mouth! And the replies were as interesting as your guesses, as found by Prashant Golecha.

A screw driver inserted by the dentist to extract my wisdom tooth - Sandeep Rajora

Once while laughing, a mosquito went inside the mouth and didn't come out - Monaz

I ate rice with tomato ketchup! And it tasted bad! - Shital Thakker

I'm a pure vegan and I once had chicken by mistake - Surbhi Tiwari

I've had tea with salt instead of sugar - Poonam Joshi

I ate goat meat in Fear Factor - Shweta Keswani

I drank vinegar instead of water - Narayani Shastri

It was a matchstick by mistake - Lataa Sabharwal
posted by punjabikuri36
honey_06 thumbnail

Rani's mahal

From a starlet who made her debut alongside Preity Zinta in Kya Kehna to a television star, Reena Kapoor aka Rani of Woh Rehne Waali Mehlon Ki has come a long way indeed. The demure, unassuming actress is among the frontrunners of the TV industry today. A Delhiite who moved bag and baggage to Mumbai several years ago, she is still finding her bearings in this city

Back to Section Stories

Art Dekko

Reena moved into her small but cosy flat at Goregaon four years ago. "I was a struggling actress at that time," says Reena. Since a career in films was eluding her, she decided to shift focus to television. Reena admits that she didn't know a thing about setting up a house. She says, "My mother came down to Mumbai and helped me do up my house. I had no sense of interiors and dcor." Reena has recently paid off her bank loan. "And that's a big relief," she sighs.

Biwi aur TV
Her husband, an engineer by profession lived in Delhi earlier. "We've been married for two years but it's only in the past four months that we havegot a chance to live together," she says. Despite Karan and Reena's long-distance marriage, the two are very much in love. She says, "Earlier he didn't want to move to Mumbai and I couldn't live in Delhi. But we had to work it out. It took a few months for Karan to get transferred to Mumbai. But now he is here and that's what matters." Does Karan like Mumbai? She shrugs, "I dare not ask him that."

Corner peace
Just like everyone else, Reena too wants to move to a bigger apartment. She says, "Life in Mumbai is hectic and very expensive." Reena is soon going to make her presence felt in the Bhojpuri film industry. "I want to do films but there are no good offers. There has to be a good role for me to say yes. The Bhojpuri film in which I'm paired opposite Ravi Kishen is on hold till he gets back from Big Boss," she adds. Reena puts a high premium on independence. "I'm not the sort who'll give up a career after marriage."

Diya jale
She believes in karma. She says, "If you haven't intentionally harmed anyone in life, God will make sure that your life is smooth-sailing too." Reena says that her equation with the Barjatyas is a blessing in disguise. She says, "I've heard terrible stories about other production houses. Woh Rehne... has been like a 9 to 5 job." Is that why Reena doesn't want to take up more shows? She adds, "I don't want to do more than one show at a time. As of now, I'm enjoying my marriage and my career to the hilt."

Maid in Mumbai
Reena says that she is just another regular working, married woman. She says, "Imagine, I shoot every day from 9 am to 9 pm. I prepare breakfast, go for shooting, come back late at night and then cook dinner." There is a maid who comes three or four times a week to clean up. She says, "There is no point in having a full-time maid. Anyway, their timings and ours don't match so I have to play the role of a housewife as well." Being pure vegetarians, Karan and Reena relish traditional Punjabi food. "Sometimes my husband helps me chop vegetables and put things in order," she adds.

posted by roshni
honey_06 thumbnail
Is Ankur off relationships?

After a break-up with girfriend of many years, Ankur Nayyar is unsure if he's ready for another serious relationship

DEEPALI DHINGRA

It's a little surprising for TV actors of his age and especially, his looks, to not be linked to any co-actors. But Ankur Nayyar's one of the rare ones whose name has hardly ever cropped up, linking him with anyone. "That's because I was in a long steady relationship with a girl for the past few years but we broke up last year," he explains. So is he ready for another relationship now? "I'm not sure," he says, "Maybe I am but I really don't know when or how it will happen," he trails off.
On the work front, things seem to be going well for this actor who will be seen as a flamboyant, full of life character in Kuch Apne Kuch Paraye. "Yuraz Raichand has slight grey shades to him," he says about his role. But playing negative isn't anything new for Ankur who's donned grey shades in serials like Star Plus' Des Mein Nikla Hoga Chand and Yehi To Hai Woh. On the other hand, he's played the good guy in serials like Jeet and Kashmir. "I like doing a variety of roles, otherwise it just gets monotonous," says Ankur, who wants to be known as a good actor, rather than a good hero or a good villain.
The actor's played a gamut of roles in serials like Sony's Kanyadaan, Star Plus' Kasautii Zindagii Kay, Reth and Jeet but he's yet to play a prominent role in a saas-bahu soap. "That's because men hardly have anything to do in those kind of serials," reasons Ankur but he adds that if he is offered a definite role in such a serial then he wouldn't mind taking it up if it's a good role.
The other avenue that Ankur's looking for is films. Although he's acted in Yakeen and Hum Kuch Keh Na Paye, the children's film Detective Nani hasn't seen the light of the day. "It's been ready for the last two years and I have no clue when it will release," he says. Seems like Ankur's given up hope for its release? "I just pray that it releases fast. I've heard that it's shaped up quite well," is all he says. But his not-so-pleasant brush with Bollywood hasn't put him off films. "I want to do more films. It's just that the concept has to work out," he concludes with a smile.

posted by livingsince
honey_06 thumbnail
~~Poonam Joshi ~~

I am - simple, honest and hardworking

Kahiin Toh Hoga - a rocking debut

Tumhari Disha - my best role so far

TV industry is - rocking

People are always surprised when - they know I cook fab

Friends first or lovers? - friends

My boyfriends always try to change - my hyperactivity

My worst habit is - I'm a chatterbox

When I look into the mirror - I see a likeable person

The fruit I resemble - a mango

At a party, I can't wait to - dance

I feel most comfortable when - at home with friends

The last time I cried was - while watching Rang De Basanti

The movie that makes me cry is - DDLJ (Dilwale Dulhaniya Le Jayenge)

My mother always advised me - never to give up

My father always advised me - keep smiling

Every guy should be - honest

Women can't say no when- they are complimented

Life is - not a bed of roses

Friendship is - sharing life, thoughts and emotions

Love is - a pure emotion

Lust is - a four letter word

I'll get married- when I find a sensible and balanced man

Pune is - hometown

Mumbai is - oxygen

The sexiest man in Bollywood - Shahrukh Khan

Source:http://www.tellychakkar.com/y2k6/aug/26aug/shorttakes _poonam.php

posted by kohinoorfan
honey_06 thumbnail
Ankur Nayyar

My Birthday - 27th May

If not an actor - a pilot

My idea of romance - having dinner and then cuddling up

Every girl should - never forsake dignity

I'll get married when - I find the right girl

My most embarrassing moment- when I faced the camera for the first time

One thing I want to change about myself - I am perfect! No changes needed

My worst habit is - I make weird sounds within my throat as I am prone to throat infections

I avoid - fake publicity

What turns me off - infidelity and fabricated behaviour

I am scared of - loneliness

I always carry- my cell phone

I am looking forward to - making the best of my career

My ambition is - to make loads of money

At a party, I can't wait to - to catch a drink

The sexiest woman on TV - Malaika Arora Khan.

The sexiest man on TV - Rohit Roy

The best thing about acting is - it gives an opportunity to play different personalities in one life time

The worst thing about acting is - Even when you are sad, you have to smile once the camera rolls

Source:http://www.tellychakkar.com/y2k6/jul/15jul/shorttakes _ankur.php
posted by kohinoorfan...