Rupunzale thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail + 2

Originally posted by: Rockerchic

But since you've already made me come out of my non-thinking zone.

Asad was sorry because he hit her without a reason. Not because hitting someone is wrong.

Can it really get more pathetic than that?

That's a sure sign of physical abuse tendency.

exactly...thank-you...he didn't think that what he did was wrong...how can a person redeem if he doesn't realize the nature of his crime. Can you imagine they played a 'Mitwa'. Seriously, who is writing this?
Laila2009 thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 3

Originally posted by: eshasrk

Well Laila...All I can say : awesome post

Thank you - and I am truly humbled with praise as I didn't think it was good enough. 😳
Laila2009 thumbnail

Originally posted by: trina2010

Yes I agree. Like before there's no redemption. What we got in the name of remorse is kinda abrupt and to be honest MITWA moment did not work with the situation at all. It was wasted.
I would much rather have Asad punishing himself for slapping Zoya and honestly I expected him to FEEL
for slapping her even before his moms clarifications. I wanted to see the turmoil between his feelings for her( its there and earlier it was shown quite clearly)and his duty for his family.
I was not so bothered by the slap although it was horrible but I guessed it was another way of showing him to be an MCP and dark man. But I expected a better redemption and Z a little stern for a while. Nothing's me that happened. Is this because he is going to hurt her even more or redemption is not something the PH ever consider shoeing us viewers. I know I want redemption and many others did too.

Regardless of our views regarding the slap; redemption scene did not satisfy either of us. I too wanted some sign to show AAK felt what he did was wrong to Zoya...but no. And then, all I got was simply a little bit of a sorry...and then Zoya standing up - she could have forgiven him but she didn't have to joke around with him, say sorry and act like it was all over...she is now acting her usual self - like nothing happened.
I_Dont_Know thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail + 4

Originally posted by: Laila2009

That killed the whole redemption part - the tone of voice was hard...it was like saying, I came to return you pen. Bye.

Laila,I can't understand everyone felt that he was really sorry, why we could not? I thought Asad is different..His thought process is very different but naah!

"main sirf sorry kehnay aaya tha"..Dude, first go and understand what is the meaning of sorry!

Laila2009 thumbnail

Originally posted by: Rockerchic

But since you've already made me come out of my non-thinking zone.

Asad was sorry because he hit her without a reason. Not because hitting someone is wrong.

Can it really get more pathetic than that?

That's a sure sign of physical abuse tendency.

That is what irks me the most. That is where my redemption track and that of the writers differ the most. He does not see what he did as wrong...he sees it is wrong because she was innocent otherwise it was all acceptable. And then, the apology is very matter-of-fact.

Sure he was scared...so was Zoya...and he never thanked her putting her life at risk for his family...she is a guest but she tried to save his mother and sister..and this is not the first time she has stood up for his sister - remember the eve teasers (hate that word as minimizes the harassment that was going on).

Seriously, I am stunned at how this girl is going to be friends with someone (so many people are excited that they are now heading in this direction) - forget about a romance...I mean, how can you lie in the same bed as a man who felt it was fine to slap you one, push against a wall and insult you and then gives you coffee with a half-a_ apology? What we teaching women!
Laila2009 thumbnail

Originally posted by: I_Dont_Know

Laila,I can't understand everyone felt that he was really sorry, why we could not? I thought Asad is different..His thought process is very different but naah!

"main sirf sorry kehnay aaya tha"..Dude, first go and understand what is the meaning of sorry!

Because we are different and we know different - it's called a lot more but I don't want to get people upset here if I really put down the truth. It is not that we take this more seriously or that we are emotional (what most people say when an a serious issue is highlighted).

Champa2012 thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail + 2

Originally posted by: Laila2009

In the redemption scene I wrote (see below)

http://www.india-forums.com/forum_posts.asp?TID=3422516

there were key elements...Asad would acknowledge what he was wrong not by learning the truth but by the sheer acts alone...that did not happen. Instead, his mother told him what happened and pangs of guilt swept over this face...evidently he had to change his clothes before he went to see Zoya (perhaps he needed to take a cold shower to cleanse himself of the sweat of guilt...who knows).

Entering into the room, the most redeeming scene was witnessing Zoya stand her ground with her words of "you've insulted me enough me enough" But to make it worse, what he heck was the Mitwaa background music playing in the background? There is nothing romantic here...it is sad and tragic situation where a young girl has been demeaned to the lowest level possible.

Then to make matters worse, instead of the flowers (not that is the answer but what is typically given after an episode of this nature), Asad brings her some bitter coffee in a mug - Some people are oohing and ahhing that it was his mug, but seriously people they have many mugs in black in the house...we have the same mugs..I assure, you cannot tell which one is yours unless you put a mark on the bottom - they are made by Correlle!

Redemption on my end. Qubool Nahain Hain. I challenge you to do better.

Laila,
You write beautifully. I agree with all the stuff you have written and the ones in quote made me laugh. To be honest, I don't know if there is anything that Asad can do to 'undo' what damage he has done. I hate it when the female leads become comical when they are not suppose to feel that way. It is so artificial and I cannot relate to it. Having said that - I will tell you one thing though - as long as there are people who fail to reason beyond the exterior looks of the characters, the shows with the most handsome actors/actresses run no matter what crap they show.
I thought that these mills and boon kind of stories with hard exterior male leads work because we all fantasize such life for ourselves. But, do I want a character like asad or arnav in my life? hell no. I would turn out to be abusive myself in order to protect myself from such characters. So, if someone thinks he did a great job of apologizing, I feel sorry for them - honestly.

No offense intended to anyone. Everyone is the master of their emotions.
Laila2009 thumbnail

Originally posted by: mad-eye

Was that redemption???Really!!! He treated her so badly- slapped her, threatened 2 kill her n even spoke ill 4 the fact that her mother is dead n after all this what we get is a sorry with attitude- Main sirf sorry bolne aaya tha mujhe hamdardi nahi chahiye. Well such a man deserves the wrost treatment...

Could they have not killed this further?! Seriously. My sister and I were like - what?!
nikolai_gogol thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail
The only option I have is to ignore the slap and forget it happened. It was in very bad taste. The day I need to ignore most of the episodes for a couple of weeks I would stop watching the show. I came to watch yesterday's and today's episodes because I can get past the last few episodes and still feel excited about what's to come in Asad and Zoya's love story.
I think even the makers can't justify Asad's actions and that's why they swept it under the rug quickly. I wouln't be surprised (infact I would appreciate it) if they dont show any flashback of the scene anymore. See what I meant when I said that the makers lack the capability of handling deeper issues. I remember they was somebody who said they want to see issues like honor killing, rape, suicide tackled in the show. But it is beyond the scope of the PH or maybe even Indian dramas. They dont have time to research, they are pressed for time, worried about trps, actor tantrums etc.
I agree 100% with all that you have said about violence depicted in the show. But I'm not expecting too much from Qubool Hai frankly. I am gonna take it at face value for what it is. An indian drama (melodrama with romance) and watch it till it provides me with entertainment and doesnt disgust me enough to close my laptop and not watch it again(Monday episode did make me come close enough😳)
Laila2009 thumbnail

Originally posted by: Rupunzale

I was disheartened to see Zoya today...IMO...she is suffering from Battered Person Syndrome. In such cases a person believes that the violence was or his or her fault. The person abides by the abuser and feels that it is hers or his responsibility to fix the wrongdoing in someway. Its a combination of post traumatic disorder and many cases depression.Every person reacts to post traumatic disorder in different ways and similarly Zoya did it too...she tends to pretend it behind her smile. It's an extremely painful phase of a woman's life...it either builds or breaks her for ever.

It's unfortunate to see a person going through this pain and I in no way will be able to forgive a person in real life. I know this is a fictional character...but too many bad things are happening in the society and so we just cannot hide behind the fact and comply that it's just fictional entertainment. On the contrary anything resembling to real life incidences is not fiction.

This wasn't even a proper Apology...let alone Redemption. Asad's character cannot be redeemed.

Priyanka

Great observations! Thank you for the feedback! We saw that with her "I am sorry" and her attempts to try to make light of the situation and then to try understand him...and what did she get? Another nonphysical smack in the face.