Hey Vinnie
Another great chapter.Looking forward to the next chapter tomorrow
😭 Hey Payal... nice and short...lol Well I hope I get a loner review tommorw lol
Yeh Rishta Kya Kehlata Hai August 5, 2025 Episode Discussion Thread
Yeh Rishta Kya Kehlata Hai - 06 Aug 2025 EDT
SATYAMEV JAYATE 5.8
The Ultimate PotterHead Challenge
SHIFTING BACK 6.8
Dhanush And Mrunal Thakur Reportedly Dating
Abhira’s infertility issue
Anupamaa 05 Aug 2025 Written Update & Daily Discussions Thread
Sonam Kapoor receiving the national award
AI is crossing all Rekhas ft Jaya,Amitabh
What if (Fun Post)
Ekta unhappy with actor's performance!!!!!
Karan and Nandini Kids
Anupamaa 06 Aug 2025 Written Update & Daily Discussions Thread
AI reimagines Titanic with Bollywood stars
Rate episode 66: "Ekk Insaan Do Maut"
Hey Vinnie
Another great chapter.Looking forward to the next chapter tomorrow
Chapter 11
Shanti was shifted to a part of the hospital that was much different from the ward. Here each patient had his or her own room, with a bed and a couch. It was much more comfortable than the ward, more private. The nurse told Sugni that this part of the hospital was reserved for VIP's and paying customers. It was true, she thought, money made things easier she guessed.
After Shanti was settled in her room, they took a walk around the corridors to explore a bit and came back to rest. Sugni did her best to be cheerful in front of her child.
They explained to her that her heart was sick and that she had to be in here. She seemed to have understood a bit. However, she was anxious to get home.
A little after lunchtime a nurse came in to do her vitals get some blood work done for Shanti. This required her drawing the blood with a syringe. In her entire stay here, she was co-operative for the most part, but the sight of the needle sent her into a panic stage as she kicked , screamed ,and yelled and hanged on to her mother for all she was worth.
"Shanti...baby you need to be still it' won't hurt much. . Shhh calm down baby." She said.
"No ..No It hurts and I don't like it...Mummy tells her to go away please..." She pleaded
"Shanti dear...be a brave girl...I'll be gentile I promise...and after...I'll bring you an ice cream how about that." The nurse said, placidly.
"No...that's what they said the last time... no !!!" She said.
The monitor she was hooked up to started beeping more frequently letting them all hear just how scared she was. The nurse looked at it worriedly.
"Please..." Sugni said "She is really scared." Sugni said.
The nurse nodded. " I can see that...but I have to get these to send it to the lab. Can you try to calm her down and I will check back in a few minutes?" She asked. Sugni nodded. The nurse left them alone as Sugni tried her best to calm Shanti down.
"Mummy I want to go home...I don't want to stay here anymore " She cried.
":Shanti...honey listen...you need to calm down ok..."
"No...she is going to come back lets go home please ..." She said getting more agitated.
"Shh Shhh...relax, relax I am here na...nothing will happen ...just relax hmmm..."
The door opened making Shanti jump and hide her face in her mother's bosom, clinging to her thinking it was the nurse back with the needle. She began to cry again
"Hey..."Vickram greeted them smiling. His smile fading as he saw how upset they both were.
"What's wrong?" he asked
Sugni explained about the blood work and her fright. "Oh"... he nodded.
"Can I try?" He asked.
"I don't know if that will help but sure." She said.
Walking to the corner of the room Vickram took one of the metal chairs and placed it at the side of the bed where he sat.
"Hey Shanti...How are you?" he said softly.
She continued to cry paying him no attention.
"Oh you don't want to talk to me..." He sighed disappointedly
"You know I did bring a surprise for you...but if you don't want to see it it's ok... I guess I'll leave," he said.
She still did not respond.
"But what ever will I do with this surprise?...I think I have to find someone else to give it to...hmmm Sugni?" he asked
"Maybe..." She said catching on..."She is to upset..."
"What is it?" Shanti asked softly peeking up at him.
"You want to know?" he asked. She nodded.
"Ok it is in this bag..." He said indicating a shopping bag he had in his hand. She looked at it her eyes lighting with curiosity. .."Now if you want to know what it is you have to sit up , and give me a smile..."
She sat up releasing Sugni as she smiled.
"Hmm Now that is better. He said. "Here you go..." he said handing it to her.
She took it and began opening it eagerly.
"Hey...Shanti...What did you say?" Sugni said, embarrassed.
"Thank you!" She said looking at him.
"You are welcome ... now open it..." he did not have to ask twice.
"Oh My more books...Look mom, WOW..." She said in awe. As she looked at the assortment of books, coloring books story books, puzzles.
"Thakur Mallick you didn't..."
"Please Sugni...I wanted to... it can't be easy for her being coped up in here all day, and since she can't go out and play the least we could do is make sure she is somehow occupied...hmmm..and she does seem to like these books." He said...
"She dose...thank you..." She said. Touched that in such a short time he picked up on Shanti's most favorite thing in the world, books..
Shanti closed the bag as she leaned forward.
"Uncle Vickram?" She said.
"Yes?..." He said she motioned him to come closer. Vickram leaned forward towards her, when she shocked him by putting her little arms around his neck hugging him. "Thank you ! it was the best surprise ever. You are very nice." She said rapidly reminding him somewhat of the old Sugni who would say everything fast. He sat there with his arms at his side as he looked at Sugni who was looking on surprised as well, but saying nothing..
"Ahhh...It's alight...I am glad you liked it." he said awkwardly. He placed his arm around her tiny frame in a one armed hug. After a moment she sat back looking at him. He noticed her face was much brighter now and she seemed to have calmed down to normal.
"So are we friends now?" he asked as he drew his chair a bit closer so he was eye level to her."
She nodded.
"Really?" he said.
"Yes." She answered.
"Well lets shake on it then." He said extending his hand toward her. She giggled as she returned his hand shake . Taking out one of the books from her bag, she started flipping through it admiring the pictures, after a few minutes. Vickram said.
So...Shanti...tell me do you know why you are in here?" he asked
"Hu-Huh...cause my heart is sick." She said still flipping through the pages. "Ohh how pretty!" she said looking brightly colored pictures of the princess.
"Hmm.Hmm'
"I bet you can't wait to get home right?" he said conversationally
"NO...it's taking forever..." She said.
"Oh I bet But you know something Shanti...you can get out of here faster if you want." He said.
That caught her attention from the book.
"How?" She asked. She looked at him, wanting to know.
"Well see the doctors and the nurses are all here to help you. And for them to make you better they need to give you medicine, and other things that you might not like or might look scary but it is the only way they can make you better. Now only if you co -operate with them, and help them, will they be able to do this. You are going to have to be brave even if you are afraid, because if you don't then you will be stuck in here and you don't want that do you?" He asked. She shook her head.
"Do you understand what I am saying?" he asked.
"Yes...I should not fight the nurse?" She said
"He chucked as he nodded.
"No you should not..."
"but it hurts, and the needle makes me scared...I don't like it..." She said her eyes welling up.
Taking her little hand in his he said. " I know it does, but your mum is right here with you And she would never let anything bad happen to you. Even though it hurts a bit, it will be over soon and you will be as good as new...you can go back to school see your friends again...hmmm be that fairy you wanted to be in the play...And that can only happen if you be strong and brave and help. It is ok If you are scared, but know what ever we are doing is to help you...Hmmm" She looked at him then back at her Sugni who was now sitting next to her with her arm on her shoulders.
"Yes baby... we just want you to get better honey. I know it is hard for you...but you have been so good so far ..Just a little bit more please." Sugni said.
"O-Ok...I'll help..." She said after a few minutes of thinking about what they told her.
"That is a brave girl." Vickram smiled.
The door opened and the nurse came back in with the little silver pan with the needle.. What timing! Shanti looked at her mother, then at Vickram once again beginning to feel scared.
"It is ok...your brave right..." he said as he winked. She shook her head no.
"Uh..would you like to leave for a until I am done." She said to Vickram. She began preparing the needle.
"Sure." He said as he made to get up.
"No!...don't go please." She said holding on to his hand. "Mummy ask him to stay...Please..." she looked at her mother.
":Shannu..."
"Please..."
The nurse looked at them... "it's Ok her dad can stay .! If it will make her comfortable." She said
Sugni and Vickram both looked at her dumbstruck
"He's not her dad"
"I am not her dad" they said together
"Oh! I am sorry, she just seemed so attached to you I assumed." She said Akwardly. "It's alright you can stay." She said kindly. He nodded.
The nurse requested her hand, which Shanti extended reluctantly but without a fight. By the sound of the monitor though they could tell she was still nervous, as she watched the nurse began probing her arm for the appropriate vein.
"Hey!" Vickram said calling her attention to him. "you know there is a magic spell you can use when you get scared , it's a secret but I can tell you."
"What?" she asked.
Vickram leaned forward and whispered something in her ear.
"Hey mummy says that!." She answered
"She dose?...See then it must work." He said, "How about we say it together hmm..."
"Dagad Magard Hatli pakkad jaan jaan ke saamaye!" They chanted slowly.. Sugni's head shot up at that as he stared at him, her eyes began stinging with tears. He remembered that?
"Ok shanti need to keep your arm very still ok...don't move it" the nurse said as she tied the band around her arm.
"Here hold my hand..." Vickram said. "You can squeeze it as tight as you want when it hurts too much. " He said.
The nurse stuck the needle in.."Ahh..." She exclaimed
She began to cry as she squeezed his hand as tight as she could. " Shh.It's alright you are a brave girl right... come on say it with me..." He said as she did haltingly.
"All finished..." the nurse said a as she dressed the area. "Thank you Shanti...you were a very brave girl" She said as she patted her head. " I will bring you your ice cream ok" She said as she left.
"Wow ice cream!" Vickram said. "See I knew you were that brave" he said as she looked at him blinking her eyes to stop crying..
"I was not too scared." She said, as Sugni wiped her eyes. "Only a little bit."
"It's alright to be scared ...we all get scared...but what makes us brave is when we do something even if we are scared. And that is what you did..." He said to her. "It's what I wish I did once..." he said as he looked at Sugni. She looked at him as they stared at each other over the top of Shanti's head, the profound meaning of that statement hitting her.
"You got scared?" Shanti asked. Breaking the moment.
"Yes...Yes I did" He said.
"How come...?" She asked.
"Shannu!...you can't ask him that..." She said suddenly the room felt awkward
"It's alright..." he said. " "See I was not as brave as you, when I got scared instead of doing the right thing like you did, I didn't .Because of that I lost something that is very important to me."
"That is sad." She said
"Yes it is...but you did not do that...you were very brave" he said.
" Now I think you had enough excitement...why don't you lie down and get some rest hmmm" he said.
"Yes Shannu!" Sugni said coming off the bed and making her lie down.
"Uncle Vickram?" She asked him
"Yes"
"Will you read me a story?" She asked
"Sure I will." He said as he opened the book and began reading to her.
After Shanti fell asleep Vickram closed to book, as he looked at Sugni who was sitting at the corner of the room staring at them.
"I am sorry," She said
"For what?" he asked.
"if she made you uncomfortable. She is normally very shy around new people, I don't know.. she seems to like you" She said.
"it Ok ...not at all ..she is a very precious little girl." He answered.
"Yes she is. Thakur Mallick I don't know how to thank you...you've done so much ...if it wasn't for ..." She began
"Hey...no ...Please don't Sugni..." He said getting up and going to where she was seated on the couch. Placing his chair next to the couch, he sat.
"Sugni don't...you don't need to thank me, nor do you owe me anything. I helped you because I had to...and it is not because I want anything in return." He said. The reminder of her earlier behavior stung a bit.
"Thakkur Mallick...I:" she began...
" Sugni wait...I know what you are thinking..." he said cutting her off.
"You do?" she asked, even she did not know what she was thinking. Except she loved him it was impossible not to.
"Yes...and please don't think like that. I know you are feeling as though I did you a big favor, maybe indebted to me. And think that you owe me and should somehow repay me. I know you are under a lot of stress right now, and I am not going to put any more on you. I know times like this people say things and do things and then realize after they did not mean it." He said , as she looked at him confused.
He knew she was probably going to say she was going to give him another chance, but what he wanted was her love, not her feeling she had to just because she thinks she owes him big. Unless she really forgave him and genuinely felt that way, he did not want it.Sugni came to him because she felt she had no choice, he still could not forget she was willing to sacrifice her body for this. And now she is probably in the process of convincing herself to accept him in exchange. He wanted her love, her heart, her happiness. He did not want her living with a man she thinks trampled on her heart and that she secretly hates.
"You already told me how you feel, and I know that I overstepped somewhat and said things I should not have. You wanted me to respect your wishes and I will. I am going to leave you to live your life together with your child the way you want it, peaceful and happy, so please don't taint that by feeling you have to accept me. I told you I am always here if you need me and I mean it. "
Sugni looked at him not sure how to respond to that.
"I just have one request...if you will..." he said
"What?" She asked
"Can I visit until the operation is successful and she is well enough to leave? I just want to make sure it all works out fine."
"Of course...you don't have to ask..." She said.
"Thank you."
"It's getting late...I better go...I'll see you tomorrow." He said.
"OK..." she nodded.
After Vickram left Sugni sat for a long time pondering his words. He was going to walk out of her life again after her daughter was well. Respect her wishes. He wanted nothing in return. She loved him but now she was afraid. If she told him he would think she was just compromising herself all because of her foolish actions. However, when he walked away after Shanti was discharged, she might never see him again.This was truly the end. Wrapping her arms around herself, she let the tears fall, as her heart broke to pieces again.
Originally posted by: ronshaan
hi vinnie,
I think vikram's decision is very rite !! 👏 because if not this illness of Shanti .. sugni would have never came to him / she would remain away so better if she really wants him back she needs to make him realize she wants him back not because he helped her, because she loves him, Sugni is confused and also sad about losing him Again... !!! well she better PROVE him that she wants him back NOT BECAUSE HE HELPED ... BECAUSE SHE LOVES HIM ALLOTover all great chapter I enjoyed reading it, the way vikram spoke to shanti and gave her strength to bear the pain, it was awesome, very well writtenKeep it up !!
Hey Vinnie
That was a very ponient chapter.This is the TVS I recognise, He always had the ability to provide reassurance just by his presense and Shanti sensed that.The interaction between Vikram and Shanti is sweet. You can clearly see the bond froming between them. Its going to be painful when they go their separate ways.Vikram has made the right decision, it would be wrong to take advantage of Sugni's vunerability and he wolud never be happy knowing that she was with him becuase of guilt or a compromise. Also he deserves better than that.Poor Sugni. She has always loved him but first her disillusion and pain now her mistake in assuming he was like the other Thakurs means that a gulf has developed them.Lets see how things turn out.