AreYaar thumbnail
@Ratika: LOLL I know what you mean.....we all feel so impatient at a golgappa stand when the guy doesn't hurry up with giving us the next golgappa....haha

@shruti: Aww thanks :-) Ahh the old MJHT forum times....lol...old story now...

@Tomiko: Aww thank you so much :-) And I agree...I also just love how real this show is....YRF has indeed brought a new wave to television....and I'm really thankful for that.....this is truly different from anything else that is there on TV right now....we truly needed a respite from the endless saas-bahu shows and tacky 'youth shows' on Star One.

@Sandy: Thanks, yaar! Glad to see you here too! I'm also really thankful that there's no slapstick....there is a classiness to the treatment of the show that I love...and I think the dysfunctional family is something we all must identify with too cuz I'm sure somewhere everyone thinks that their family is the craziest on the planet...LOL
AreYaar thumbnail
@Nidhi: Hey! Nice to see you here as well :-) LOL it is indeed a really good show....a much needed breath of fresh air in all the crap that airs on TV these days...haha....I adore Sid as well....he's a total sweetheart!

@Nanshr: Thanks so much! LOL the boss seems to have an endless list of EVERY name that starts with an M in her head....EXCEPT Mahi ofcourse....haha.....the lift scene was indeed hilarious....Mahi looked like she'd melt into a puddle onto the floor as she was gazing all dreamy-eyed at Ishan from the back...haha....chacham ki malaai wala dialogue was the best though! lol

I think in a joint family, it's kind of hard to get any privacy anyways...so Mahi has to jhelo the endless parade in and out of her room all day I guess....haha
pc84 thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail
I always enjoy reading your analysis.. and this this show is no different.. I have to agree the show is really refreshing in so many ways.. the characters.. the scenrios created and the pace of th storyline is soo well planned that makes this show worth watching..

Originally posted by: nureat01

I think what strikes a chord when it comes to Mahi as a character is the fact that we kind of all feel like misfits in some way or the other in our lives....our reasons may be different....but at one point or the other, we've all felt like we just don't fit in somehow.....the way the show begins with the letter that 'misfit' has written to Mahi and how Mahi replies back....witty yet cute at the same time....I liked that. [/quote]
exactly! that's the thing with Mahi.. she is someone who so many peole can relate to.. whether a person worried about their weight, family or some inane part of their body we all have our little insecuries.. but i love that this show has decided to take a comic route for it rather than a serious tone!!

pigbelly4myfeet thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail

Originally posted by: Sweet_Misery

😆😆😆
Abs dikhaoing session??? Ay kab hua ji?? I think I missed it. Oh well, chaddo! He looks sadu anyways, but I do think that he will be somewhere on the forefront in the future. Anyhow, jab hoga tab dekha jayega.
Palluuuuu 🤗...Good to see you after sooooooooooooooo long.
@red: I love what you've pointed out here. The way she kept adoring Ishaan and labeling him as her ''mithai'' and ''malai'' was cute & funny at the same time. The DDLJ day dream was veryyyy filmy but then again we already know that Mahi is a typical girl who dreams about her tall, dark and handsome prince charming :P. I could relate to her gushing because sometime or the other we all have been in this situation, adoring a cute guy from afar...haye, humari chindi kismat 😆

Is this Sanu? As in the IBL wali Sanu? Oye did you change your username? Are you the same srk-abhi-apu girl? I really hope you are or else I shall be one embarrassed kudi. 😳😆
And if yes OMGGGGG HOW good to see you yaar after AGES!! 🤗
*ahem* anyways, back to the topic, lol btw YAY I'm so glad we have a show we both like now! :D :D
I totally agree yaar, I mean alot of times in shows *cough* a certain star one ka 'youth' show *cough* they show girls ideals and prince charmings as really OTT like coming on ghoda's and what not. 😆 But I really liked how they showed it here. It was so cute and relatable! And did you notice how YRF was trying to promote their own films beech beech mein, with chandni and silsila and all. 😆😆 But it worked so can't really blame them for that.
And totally know what you mean about Mahi adoring Ishan from afar. Seriously loved her thoughts to herself as she goes "Usne mujhse baat ki!!" 😲😲 meri life complete ho gayi types 😆😆 That's what I love about this character! She's SO endearing since she is SO like us!
@ red: 🤣🤣🤣 OMG LOVED that dialogue of her's where she's like "I could eat you Mr. Ishan whatever his last name is" "Hayee meri diwali ki mithai mere chumchum ki malai mere kulfi ka faluda!!" 🤣 SO GREAT!!
I love how she's not overly confident or bubbly types all the time nor she is a super shy behenji types. She has so many multiple traits to her which is what makes her so adorable! And with all her insecurities and dreams she's super relatable. :D I seriously love this character.
O and *high five* on loving that dadi wala "featheerrr" dialogue! 🤣🤣 SO EPIC!! 🤣🤣🤣
pigbelly4myfeet thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail

Palloooooooooooooooo 🤗 Longggggggg time yaar! Ki haal shaal?? So nice to see you here! I should've guessed you'd like this show too....who doesn't love crazy Punjabi families?? ;-) :P haha

Awesome analysis! Especially love the last para! You've pegged her so well....and I also found it intriguing like you that she doesn't hold back when it comes to Mr. golgappa chor...lol....it's not really a rapport they share....but like you said....she's free with him....jo muh mein aata hai bol deti hai...LOLL....probably cuz she doesn't think much of him and is instead so bedazzled by Ahluwalia aur uske joote 😆 ....but the oddball sort of comfort level b/w Mahi and golgappa chor.....veryyyyyyyyy cute indeed! lol

Anuuuuuu!! 🤗🤗🤗
lol I know yaar really longg time. I'm toh ek dum fine shine te chungi as usual. lol How are you jee? Really nice to see you here as well. SO nice to have a good show to watch finally! haha
Awww yay 🤗🤗 you know my love for punjabi charekturss na! 😉 I seriously love this family yaar! I actually love every single person! My fav has to be the dadi though! And her 'featheerr' dialogue wali friend! 😆 Speaking of, would you possibly be able to make me an avi of the whole dadi and friends matchmaking Mahi and the gol guppa dude scene? Please if it's not too much trouble? I'd really really love you if you could. Really I would. 😳😆Andd also of Sid and Mahi's 'muah muah' in the car scene. 😆😆 If you don'ttta mind haijee. 😳😆
Totally agree with you on the bolded bit. I like their comfort level with each other. Totally hints that gol guppa chor dude and Mahi are going to have a better bond in the future than the Ishan dude and Mahi for sure. I love how amused he is at Mahi. Like he can't believe she's the way she is, her crazy nutty self 😆😆 Too cute!
Seriously though, I really think these types of shows should be called 'youth' shows you know? Instead of all the star one crap. They actually show youths as we are, I mean they show our crazy families and friends, our dreams and aspirations, how we want more from life than what we have, and of course how we all want love and romance in our lives. I mean there's so much more than JUST love shove. And the costumes and dialogues and editing and all are wayyy better too. But then YRF are way more high class than chindi star one so that's to be expected of course. And even the romance and all is light hearted, no OTT random 'hawt' scenes and chindi uncle-ji shirts and behenji suits. 😆😆 lol ok I'll stop since we both know where I'm headed with this. 😆
I don't think I can ever stop comparing good shows to those crap star one 'youth' shows! It just makes me really realize just how ghattiya they are! 😆😆
Anyways, yay for something good to watch. :D
Edited by cute2stay - 15 years ago
toothbrush13 thumbnail
16th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail + 2
Really nice post!
I really liked the first episode, it was impressive on the whole. Many parts were very realistic and that's what I loved. They didn't go over the top nor did they try to act too "cool" about everything, it had a nice balance.
I loved the whole episode, from all the major scenes like the elevator one (which I found hilarious) to the small touches. I like her little lines like, "Meri Diwali ke mithai" and what she was saying in her head to the golguppe wala. The way that she comes up with comebacks after the conversation is over is great! So realistic. The ending credits were great as well with all of the personal touches, the Pata Nahin Kaun Hai Manhoos was the best of the lot.
Overall I loved the realistic touches of this show, its so much more relatable than those shows that supposedly show your average female (more like overly perfect female, even the characters who are supposed ot be "not cool" and "not pretty" are as beautiful as supermodels). The character of Mahi really was the type of person that everyone either knows or actually is.
The only parts that I had an issue with were Sona, Mona, and Ramona (or something like that). Those two coworkers were annoying and over the top and were acting exactly like those two coworkers from Jassi Jaisi Koi Nahin. The boss seemed to have watched The Devil Wears Prada far too many times as she was trying her hardest to act like Meryl Streep. I would have much preferred for those characters to be more original.
Other than that this show had a very promising start!
430105 thumbnail

Totally agree, Rachna! :-) Mahi rocks the way she is :-)...Ishan is obviously just a passing crush....lol...ultimately toh she will end up with golgappa chor only 😆

She better.😆 But I STILL cannot believe she actually calls him all those names Just cause of one golgappa?🤣 She's such a foodie like me🤣
430105 thumbnail

Originally posted by: hgrhr

hey Anu..

nice to see you here...😊
what an analysis...! 🤣 I agree...this show looks really fresh and new...and its got a feel-good feeling aboutt it..!
Mahi's hilarious and a sweetheart....I love the way in each scene her thoughts are going on and on in the background...!😆😆
It looks like Sid is gonna be my fav character....right after Mahi of course...hehe...
His uncanny resemblence to KJo is really funny.. and i absolutly loved their car convo in the ep..!
Lots and lots of things to mention...but i guess you mentioned it all in your post..!😆😆😆 hehe
Her obsession with MBs, old movie...awwww....
The beautiful snobbish sister, irritating brother, gorgeous dumb best friend, girlfriend, kutti and kamini (🤣) and ishan and "pata nahi kaun hai manhoos" ROLF that was utterly hilarious🤣🤣
Really looking forward to next wekend now..!!
and awesome post!😊😆

OMg Nidzy, so good to see you here🤗

I know right, Mahi is just so adorable! Her monologues are The BEST! The way she was checking out Ishaan Singh in the lift was something man!🤣
achiever thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail + 2
Anu.. .even i liked the epi very much..its very entertaining.. Mahi is cute, naive, n contemporary n the character is very relatable..
its funny 2 c the world from Mahi's perspective...😆😆😆..
her sounding-luking-n-behaving-like-Karan-Johar friend Sidd is hilarious..😆😆😆.
so is her boss n the 2 chudails in her life..😆😆😆... Sharon Prabhakar was quite impressive !!!
Her chemistry with maybe-to-be-BF Mr. Nobody was spot on!!! esp in the bathroom escorting scene 😆...
Manisha
EatPrayLove thumbnail
16th Anniversary Thumbnail Explorer Thumbnail
the epi was indeed amazing....hope this show continues to entertain us like this for a long time....

am really liking mahi, specially for the fact that she's independent...