shruti thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Elite Thumbnail + 9
Posted: 18 years ago

Your chance to own a Jhalak costume!
By: Shaheen Parkar
November 1, 2006

Shilpa Shetty in the orange dress designed by Rocky S
After watching the tears and fears, the drama and meldodrama on the Sony reality show, Jhalak Dikhhla Jaa, you can now own a part of it too.

Eleven costumes worn by the contestants, including one of judge Shilpa Shetty's outfits, is up for grabs.

The collection includes Rati Agnihotri's (in)famous golden dress that attracted as much attention as her dancing skills, as well as the show's enfant terrible, Akashh Deep's costume.

Sony has initiated an auction of the designer wear, the proceeds of which will go to Akanksha Foundation (a non-profit organisation that reaches out to underprivileged children and provides them with formal and non-formal education).

According to the channel, it is their endeavour to take "a rocking, popular show further by extending a helping hand for the cause of the underprivileged."

The auction collection has two outfits worn by the winner, Mona Singh, and two outfits donned by Shveta Salve, the runner-up. Pooja Bedi, Rati Agnihotri, Ajay Jadeja, Sanjeev Kapoor, Akashh Deep Saigal and Mahesh Manjrekar will each have one of their outfits on offer.

These clothes have been designed by designers like Rocky S, Neeta Lulla, Asgar Ally, Sabia, Anil Cherian, Lakshman, Karishma & Runali, besides Rati Agnihotri.

How to bid for the outfits
SMS BID to 2525. Follow the instructions and then bid for your favourite outfit. The last date to place your bid is August 6. You can also log on to www.msn.co.in for details.

Minimum Bid
Rs. 7,000
Shveta Salve's blue-green corset with gimmick skirt designed by Sabia

Minimum Bid
Rs. 10,000
Mona Singh's red hot finale outfit designed by Karishma and Runali

Minimum Bid
Rs. 4,500
Mahesh Manjrekar's attire designed by Lakshman

Minimum Bid
Rs. 8,000
Pooja Bedi's blue dress designed by Neeta Lulla

Minimum Bid
Rs. 2,500
Ajay Jadeja's black shirt with work on both shirt and trousers by Anil Cherian

Minimum Bid
Rs. 4,000
Akashh Deep Saigal's Indian fantasy by Anil Cherian

Minimum Bid
Rs. 3,000
Sanjeev Kapoor's animal print attire designed by Salim Asgarali

Minimum Bid
Rs. 4,000
Rati Agnihotri's self-designed fantasy

Minimum Bid
Rs. 10,000
Shveta Salve's Ek Do Teen Madhuri dress by Sabia

Minimum Bid
Rs. 8,000
Mona Singh's disco attire by Neeta Lulla

http://www.mid-day.com/hitlist/2006/november/145894.htm
Edited by Manoj_Tina fan - 18 years ago
shruti thumbnail

Shveta celebrates, Mona flaunts
Mona Singh with Karan Oberoi
Mona Singh with Shveta Salve
Manish Goswami with Tony Singh
Farah Khan and Shilpa Shetty

It was a party to celebrate not Mona Singh's success, but Shveta Salve's terrific turn in Sony's Jhalak Dikhhla Jaa.

So it came as something of a surprise to spot Mona posing for the shutterbugs with beau Karan Oberoi, especially considering how she refused to even acknowledge his presence at the height of their romance.

The duo were inseparable at the party hosted by TV producer Manish Goswami, since Shveta has acted in several of Goswami's shows.

Also spotted at the do were Shilpa Shetty, Farah Khan, Siddhartha Basu, Mahesh Manjrekar, Sanjeev Kapoor, Tony and Deeya Singh, Sandip Soparrkar, Deepak Tijori, Ami Trivedi and Amit Varma, among others.

http://www.mid-day.com/hitlist/2006/november/145902.htm

shruti thumbnail

Sohail ko bachao!

Mahesh Manjrekar with Sohail Khan

Sohail Khan turned up at Manish Goswami's party wearing a tee that read 'I hate my clothes. Can you help me undress?'

What's more, he sauntered in wearing rubber chappals and jeans folded right up to his knees. Quite a spectacle there, considering that the rest of the party crowd was dressed to the nines!

We think his designer wife Seema needs to slash through his wardrobe, ASAP.

And considering she's making her debut at the ongoing Lakm Fashion Week, it really doesn't help to have your husband walking around like he's aesthetically challenged, no?

http://www.mid-day.com/hitlist/2006/november/145902.htm

shruti thumbnail
Jhalak's finale charms with its flaws!

Everyone foresaw Mona Singh take the crystal trophy home and that's exactly what happened last night on the grand finale of Sony's Jhalak Dhikhhla Ja. While Mona, (showered by kisses, sparkles and congratulations) celebrated her moment in time with choreographer Toby, Shveta Salve found it a little difficult to control and was in tears the very next minute. The final episode was worth a watch both for its charm and flaws!

Shveta's bewitching performance on Madhuri's Ek Do Teen left everybody spellbound, as the striking resemblance between the telly star and celluloid's superstar was unbelievable! While Longgi's choreography was out of this world, Toby too didn't lag behind. Piya tu ab toh aaja was the sensous track chosen by the punjabi kudi, Mona.

But somehow the dance of envy act perfomed by the two graceful ladies fell flat. This round was certainly meant to get the leading beauties in an agressive mode, but it made them look a little dry.

The highlight of the show were the twosome, Archana Singh and Parmeet Sethi who lived up to everyone's expectations. But looks like anchoring has mellowed down the fire in their dance which resulted in a very bland performance. But the judges still went gaga over their dull performance!

Mona and Shveta's fellow contestants performed in a way which was never seen before. Mahesh Manjrekar as usual in his unusual style stole many hearts. Along with Mahesh, Ajay Jadeja too gave in his best for the finale and for the first time was not termed as a 'teapot'. The duo danced on Aa Dekhe Zara and set the stage ablaze. What took everyone's breath away was Pooja Bedi's stunning act on her debut hindi song Pehla Nasha. She gave her choreographers a tough time as her beauty and elegant moves grabbed all the attention.

Akashdeep Sehgal who has raked up many controversies post his exit from the show seemed to be very cool and calm. His stunning looks coupled with an awesome Indian outfit appeared to be made for each other! And his witty answer to Archana when asked whom will the junta support of the two ladies was something which could not be missed!

Rati Agnihotri and Sanjeev Kapoor maintained their position as mediocre performers but their efforts could not be overlooked!

The choreographers geared up for some wild performances. The weight in their performance left Shilpa Shetty's (One of the three judges) tongue twisted. Instead of saying they deserve a big round of applause, she said "We deserve to give them a big round of applause!" Well, Shilpa we guess you are better off with your 'superb'!

Farah Khan herself took to the stage with all the choreographers dancing on her fave Gori Gori. The finale would have been incomplete without Shilpa Shetty's hot moves on the dance floor. She shaked a leg on her renonwed item number UP Bihar lootne and earned many accolades!

Pooja, habitually honest, was very vocal about her preference between the two and said it aloud that her vote is reserved for Mona!

Farah certainly pushed it too far when the hosts and judges got nostalgic, saying, in Jhalak... they gave Rs.500 instead of Rs.100. This comment or taunt was very blatant and sounded tacky!

Heartbeats pounded big time when the most awaited moment was drawing near; the announcement of the winner who would take home Rs. 5000000 and the trophy. Immediately after Mona was declared the winner Archana straight away went up to Shveta for her comment, also Shilpa first gave a standing ovation to Shveta and then congratulated Mona which seemed to be very funny!

And calling Shveta a winner even before congratulating Mona (who is the actual winner) made it very apparent that even though Mona has won the contest, Shveta deserved it more! Did they suffer from a memory lapse that it's a reality show?

All in all, the grand finale was worth a watch if we marginalize those evident blemishes!

http://www.tellychakkar.com/y2k6/oct/28oct/reviews_jhalak.ph p

monika.goel thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
Boogie woogie with Toby
Tuesday, October 31, 2006 21:12 IST

The choreographer reveals why Sushmita Sen and Hrithik Roshan deserve taking centre stage.

Sushmita Sen

I met her for a show in Hong Kong where she was to dance on the 'Mehboob mere' ('Fiza') number. We struck a rapport instantly when she greeted me saying, "Hi! Sit and relax. Sorry to have kept you waiting." She strikes a conversation easily. She'd even greet the group dancers with a 'Hi!' Once when she saw a male dancer sitting quietly in a corner, she went up to him and said, 'There's a lady wanting to meet you.' When you teach her, she's all attention. She even asked me to come home and teach her the steps. She's meant to be on stage and on screen. Her body movements and facial expressions are amazing once the camera is on. If she doesn't like anything, she will be forthright about it. Yet she's too soft-hearted to insult you ever. She treats her staff like her children. She enters her house with this huge smile. So enamoured they are with her, that I have often seen them blush in her presence.
  • She's very close to her daughter Rene. Half her heart is beating in her. They enjoy chatting with each other. She patiently hears Rene relating about her day at school. It's a divine decision that they are together.

Hrithik Roshan

As in his films, Hrithik puts his mind and soul even in his shows. He studies the sketch of the stage in detail including his entry and exit points. Before the show, he goes into deep thought and thinks over the number he has to enact. Though initially he wasn't a great dancer, when I see him perform, I wonder whether he's a better dancer or an actor. When he dances, he doesn't hold back anything. He has a rubber-like body. His heart beats with the music. You can see it on his face. I don't think he's a master of any dance form. Rather, he masters whatever you teach him, be it jazz or Broadway.
  • From the sound engineer to the light man to the choreographer all are important to him. At the same time, he never acts familiar and keeps his distance.

Toby's chart

Assisted Farah Khan in 'Joh Jeeta Wohi Sikander' Branched out first to choreograph the Nadeem Shravan Nite. Specialises in using themes, concepts and props for his stage shows. Choreographed Best of Broadway in Kathmandu. Choreographed the Fukuoka show titled Chai Chai in Japan at Space Park.
  • Trained Mona Singh in 'Jhalak Diklha Jaa' and emerged as the winning duo.
Edited by monika.goel - 18 years ago
monika.goel thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail

Mona, Singh a song

Mona 'Jassi' Singh is on a rock 'n' roll.

Mona 'Jassi' Singh is on a rock 'n' roll. Winning the Rs. 50-lakh Jhalak Dikhhla Jaa trophy called for a party. Here are a few glimpses...

Photo 1 :

Wine 'n' Cheez: Mahesh Manjrekar with Shweta Salve

Photo 2 :
What's cooking? Sanjeev Kapoor with a friend

Photo 3 :
De's night out: Maninee De shows how to do it enthusisatically

Photo 4 :
Yeh bhi woh bhi: Mona Singh shaking a leg with beau Karan Oberoi

Photo 1

Photo 2

Photo 3

Photo 4
Edited by monika.goel - 18 years ago
shruti thumbnail
Pooja vs Shveta: Ice cold vibes!
By: Tushar Joshi & Sandipan Dalal
November 2, 2006
Hanif Hilal and Pooja Bedi Rodney Barnes and Shveta Salve

Mona Singh didn't know that having Shveta Salve and Pooja Bedi on the same guest list would be such a bad idea.

The actress threw a party on Tuesday night to celebrate her win on Sony's Jhalak Dikhhla Jaa. Along with the warm camaraderie that the contestants shared, there were also some ice-cold vibes between Bedi and Salve.

Sources present at the party say that when Shveta walked up to Pooja to greet her, Bedi turned her face away. Says an actor, "Pooja had entered the party with Hanif (Hilal). She ignored Shveta throughout the evening. Finally, when they came face to face, Shveta went up to say hello. What she got instead was a cold stare from Pooja."

'We're not friends'

Recently, Pooja had been invited for Shveta's party thrown by close friend Manish Goswami, but failed to show up. When we asked her about it, the Bindaas Bedi in trademark style said, "I'm not obligated to turn up at every single party in town.

When Rodney (Barnes, Shveta's fianc) called to invite me, I made it clear to him that I would be away for a charity project with former American president Jimmy Carter in Lonavala. So I'm confused why Shveta is making an issue out of my non-attendance. One wonders if it's for sympathy or publicity. I'm not close to Shveta and it's not a sin to not be close to every person on the planet."

Siding with Mona

When we spoke to Shveta about it, she was equally catty. She said, "Rodney and I made the guest list and he called Pooja. Now, if someone is occupied with a prior commitment, I can't do anything about it. Those who mattered to me attended the event, so I don't want to speculate about those who didn't."

Talk at Mona's party revolved about how things had turned sour between Pooja and Shveta right from day one.

Says a source, "Pooja never took to Shveta. It was evident that she enjoyed interacting with every one else but her. In fact, she kept talking about how Shveta was a professionally trained dancer so she should have been kept out of the competition."

Talking about how the rivalry simmered throughout the show, the source adds, "During the last few rounds, when the contestants were asked who they thought should win the contest, Pooja was the only one who said that Mona deserved to take home the trophy as she was a 'good person'. This definitely irked Shveta."

No publicity stunt

Throughout the competition, Shveta maintained a stoic silence over Pooja's remarks. Now reacting to comments that she is a trained dancer, Shveta says, "I am surprised that someone else knows so much more about me than I do. I would love to meet the person who trained me. I will personally thank him for all the rigorous training."

Even though she refuses to directly comment on Pooja, a close friend of Shveta says, "Shveta can't understand why Pooja is dragging her into this. There are reports that Pooja herself attended dance classes before she started acting. Why is no one talking about that?"

Salve, who is busy shooting for Left Right Left and Kittu Sabb Jaantii Hai, says, "I am only answerable to my parents. No one else has the right to question my credibility or me. Whatever I have achieved today is because of my hard work. I don't have any godfather neither do I resort to publicity to draw attention to myself."

http://www.mid-day.com/hitlist/2006/november/145953.htm

shruti thumbnail
Married chef flirting with dancer?
By: Subhash K Jha
November 2, 2006

Samir Nair
Now that rival show Jhalak Dikhhla Jaa has come to an end, Samir Nair, CEO, Star Entertainment India, dismisses it as no competition for Nach Baliye.

"I think nothing of it. It's no competition to us. Considering its production costs, their viewership is low. And our judge Malaika Arora is sexier than everyone put together on Jhalak. And then we've got the rest. I did watch the first episode. And I thought it was identical to Nach Baliye," he says.

First choice

Samir reveals that Siddharth Basu (the producer of Jhalak) had first offered to produce the show for Star. "But the combination of an amateur dancer and professional choreographer doesn't work for us. That's why we didn't do Jhalak Dikhhla Jaa. We chose to continue with Nach Baliye instead. In India, we'd be loath to see a married chef flirting with a professional dancer. It's not doing too much for Sony," he adds.

According to Samir, the show to look out for is Bigg Boss on Sony. "Their choice of celebrities is a little dicey though. We were given the option of doing Bigg Boss as well, and we saw it as a good show, but we felt it wasn't right for Indian audiences. I remember when Jassi Jaisi Koi Nahin worked on Sony, we went around buying tele-novellas from all over the world. We adapted two but both bombed while our home-grown shows continued to do well."

Zee is competition

Star sees Zee as their main competition. "Zee, with Saat Phere and Kasamh Se, has come into its own. I doff my hat at Zee. They finally got it more right than Sony ever did. Now Zee is our only competitor," he says.
Star is now looking at another season of KBC.

"We've acquired the rights to KBC for five years and five seasons. That's the way I always wanted to do it. Hopefully, Mr Bachchan will be back at the helm. We're working very hard at taking on the Zee challenge. I think they deserve my attention," laughs Nair.

'Ignorance is bliss'

Sony's Sandiip Sikcand is unfazed by the Star CEO's remarks. He says, "I don't need to react to what Samir (Nair) has to say. If he thinks that the viewership of Jhalak Dikhhla Jaa is low, he may be right by Star's standards.

We're very happy with the way Jhalak has been received. The show's TRPs started at 2.1 points. They've gone up to 3.9 points. When we had the grand finale, we expected the ratings to go even higher.

So yes, by Star's standards, we may be lagging behind. But Sony is happy with the show. As for Jhalak being offered to Star first, as you know I've just come into Sony. Sometimes, ignorance is bliss."

http://www.mid-day.com/hitlist/2006/november/145954.htm
shruti thumbnail
And the winner is... Mona Singh and her choreographer Toby react to the announcement of their winning Jhalak Dikhhla Ja

NOW YOU BE THE JUDGE!
Mid-day is running a poll verdict. Who do you think should have won the Jhalak Dikhhla Ja contest?

To poll SMS your opinion to 3650 OPN<space>A or B<space>Your Name

A- Shveta Salve
B- Mona Singh

shruti thumbnail
When Mona put on her dancing shoes...

Presumably, it was a bash organised to celebrate the suspense and awe-filled dancing victory of actor Mona Singh in the widely-watched television show Jhalak Dikhla Jaa on Sony Entertainment Television.
Call it what you want, the evening at Fluid Spice—Banquets & Restaurants, for sure had its fair share of gala and elation. As the night grew sensual, the entire action at the party jubilantly veered towards the dance floor. Yeah, the guess of the uninitiated ain't too off the mark either. There was a spring in everyone's steps and the reel life dancing entertainment a la Jhalak Dikhla Jaa showed itself up in full-blown exuberance in real life.
The numbers were a tad different though since it ranged from the raunchy sadak tunes to the quick-beat Bollywood sonnet. But the melodramatic song that gets every commoner to switch into a forgetfully humming mode had this time round succeeded in galvanizing the glam-looking personalities gathered there to sway in tandem and speed.
Some names of the celebs that were bandied about by the visitors included Maninnee De, Sandeep Soparrkar, Apurva Agnihotri and not to mention the winner Mona Singh and Karan Oberoi who were apparently hosting the show.
If this was the right bash that a noveau in the celeb-spotting circuit was into, then a resounding applause is surely reserved for the one that took off at Fluid Spice—Banquests & Restaurants.