r_ahmed_shah thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail + 2

Koena Mitra's wild card entry in Jhalak Dikhhla Jaa 3

There's a surprise stored in today's episode of Jhalak as Saaki Saaki… girl Koena Mitra is entering through the wild card. We spoke to our source about her entry,

"Her presence in the Jhalak House will really be a big surprise for the other contestants as in today's episode there will be lot of argument heating up, so just watch her co-contestants going red."

We also spoke to Hanif about this,

"I can't reveal much about it but I just want to say that do watch today's episode and if she is there in Jhalak, she will sizzle."

There's going to be a jugalbandhi round in today's episode and no doubt that Koena's presence will heat up the environment.
r_ahmed_shah thumbnail
JDJ: Rewind Episode 6

This week, the Jhalak Dikhhla Jaa (Sony, Fri-Sat at 9pm) contestants had to battle it out on the dance floor yet again and with the added challenge of having to use props included in their performances. Surprisingly, most contestants managed to impress the judges, making it clear that the competition is getting tougher.

The first performer of the day was Karan Grover with choreographer Nicole. They performed on the song Khuda Jaane from Bachna Ae Hasseno. The routine was inspired by the 26/11 terror attacks. They conveyed the message very well but their performance lacked innovation. They scored 23 points.
Indya Rating: 6
Hard Kaur and Savio chose one of the most popular romantic numbers, Pehla Nasha from Jo Jeeta Wohi Sikander to dance to. Their chemistry and use of their prop, a ladder, was quite nice. They even tried some unusual lifts. Hard Kaur did justice to Savio's choreography and the judges gave them 26 points.
Indya Rating: 8.5

Ram Kapoor and Marischa chose the song Tu Hi Meri Soniye from Kismat Konnection. It was challenging for Marischa to come up with hip hop steps for Ram, even more so using props, as the self proclaimed 'fat ass' is injured. But they put a lot of effort and scored 26 marks.
Indya Rating: 7.5

Monica Bedi and Javed, who had a bad spell last week, were back with a bang this episode. They danced to Kya Yeh Mera Pehla Pyar Hai from Kabhi Khushi Kabhi Gham. Javed's choreography was light and pleasing and Monica's execution was spot on. They were the first couple to score the highest marks of 30 that evening.
Indya Rating: 10

Mohinder Amarnath and his choreographer Lilian did a hip hop routine to Soni De Nakhre from Partner. Lilian chose appropriate steps for Mohinder. The judged praised him for his energy levels and we were pretty amazed as well. He scored 23 marks.
Indya Rating: 6.5

Gauhar Khan and Hanif did a folk dance to Nagada from Jab We Met. Gauhar's energy and chemistry with Hanif was brilliant. Hanif incorporated their prop, a pole, well into the steps and proved that they were able to perform well on desi tracks too. Their performance garnered them 26 points.
Indya Rating: 8.5

Baichung Bhutia and Sonia danced to a romantic number again. This time it was Pehli Nazar Main from Race. They did the rumba and their performance was absolutely fabulous. They used their prop of a ladder well too. Their chemistry was good and they performed an amazing lift at the end of the performance. He was the highest scorer among the boys with 30 marks.

Parul Chauhan and Deepak have finally impressed the judges this week with their freestyle dance. Parul's expression were extremely lively and Vaibhavi even told Deepak that he did a better job at the choreography than her original routine for the song Gunji Si Hai Sari Fiza from Kyun Ho Gaya Na. Saroj gave the duo a 100 rupees but they just missed getting full marks, scoring 29.

Shilpa Shukla's and Nishant's performance was disappointing to say the least. After being last week's highest scorers, everyone expected more from them. But Shilpa even missed a step and was not able to concentrate throughout her performance. She scored the lowest with 20 marks.
Indya Rating: 5.5
shruti thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Elite Thumbnail + 9

A heartbreaker in Jhalak House today..

One of the favorites gets ousted this week in Jhalak. And also get in here to know the surprise of surprises that Jhalak ...

niveditha thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 4
Koena Mitra enters JDJ 3

Koena Mitra's wild card entry into Jhalak Dikhhla Jaa 3(Sony,Fri-Sat-9pm) this week will surely raise many eyebrows. Koena is all set to perform while her hit number Saki from Musafir plays.

This week it will be Jugalbandi special episode and Koena's second song will be Mehbooba from Aag. Her choreographer Himanshu, who is a first time Jhalak choreographer, but the chemistry between the two is amazing. Their co-ordination is great and Koena is so determined to wow fans that many would think that Koena is the choreographer! The actress kept on cutting the song and suggesting changes to the routine. But, she plans on keeping everything under wraps and refused to take to anyone about her performance, saying that her international spoke person had ask her not to reveal any details.
And it paid off as none of the other girl contestants managed to beat the Koena! Even Monica, who was last week's highest scorer, did very badly.

Vaibhavi Merchant who is one of the judges of the show says, "It is going to be like red carpet entry for Koena, I know it is very unfair for other contestants. They have been working hard for so many days and now Koena is getting chance to be in the show directly. I have seen her performing and I know she has a experience of stage performances .But let's see how she performance in first episode .I do not have special criteria for judging her, however we have keep these things in mind that she has experience and rest of them have been sweating out from past 4-5 weeks. Originally wild card entry is meant for contestants who have been eliminated from the show, however it is in the format of the show and everyone knows this so we can not say anything."

This is for the first time that Jhalak is introducing a Bollywood actress as a wild card entry, in past two seasons they had wild card entries from eliminated contestants only. Last year Prachi Desai came back in the show via wild card entry and finally won the title too.

http://www.indya.com/news/newsDetails.aspx?xfile=2009/March/News_20090330_143

niveditha thumbnail
Parul Chauhan is injured!

Looks like trouble might as well be Parul Chauhan's middle name! The actress who plays Ragini in Sapna Babul Ka Bidaai (Star plus Mon-Fri at 9pm) has injured her right ankle.

She says, "I'm struggling because I have to run between two shoots. It's becoming very hectic. To make matters worse, I had a performance with many lifts and during one I injured my leg. Thankfully, it isn't that bad though."
The actress, who can now be seen wearing a pink bandage, adds, "I have consulted my doctor and he told me that my ankle will be fine soon. But I've got to avoid using high heels and opt for flat shoes instead." But being a true fashionista the actress didn't have any flat shoes at home since she loves her heels. She says, "When doctor told me that I have to wear flats, I had to go and buy few pairs for myself." Parul chose a simple black pair since they match everything.

Apart from sporting a pink bandage, the actress was seen at the success party of Bidaai with red eyes and a husky voice. The lack of sleep seems to have taken its toll on the actress but she still managed to make it for rehearsals and parties!

http://www.indya.com/news/newsDetails.aspx?xfile=2009/March/News_20090330_145

niveditha thumbnail
Mohinder Amarnath gets eliminated from Jhalak

This cricketer turned dancer has proved that he can burn up the dance floor as well as anyone else in Jhalak Dikhhla Jaa (Sony TV). But sadly, Mohinder Amarnath who always grew with his every performance finally got eliminated last week. He spoke to us on his elimination…

How your journey in Jhalak been?
It has been very nice and I've enjoyed every moment there. I made a lot of friends there who I will mss as much as the dancing. Every moment there was very memorable.

Do you feel that you didn't have enough time to prove yourself?
I firmly believe that harr cheez ka ek waqt hota hai. Fate plays a very important part in everything. My main focus was my dancing and if I had dreamt of going further it would have been just that… a dream.

What do you think went wrong?
Nothing! I did whatever was within my capabilities and tried to prove myself the best I could.

Did you expect to get eliminated?
Every week someone has to go, this week it was my turn. I don't particularly believe the face-off round. I feel that the person who got the least number of votes should be eliminated.

How has your co-ordination with your choreographer Lilian been throughout?
I am very thankful to Lilian, it is all because of her patience that I have been able to learn so much. She has the capability to teach anyone anything. Personally I feel that Lilian's future is very bright and through all the patience which she has she will become a star one day.

You amazing energy levels was always appreciated by the judges and the audiences, what do you have to say about this?
Throughout I have never thought about the results, I've just believed in going above my capabilities and perform. Dance is a very strenuous job and rehearsing for about 3-4 hours everyday was my aim.

What will you miss about Jhalak?
I got used to Jhalak, so firstly I will miss the routine. When I was rehearsing I forgot about everything else and all my worries vanished! I'm really happy I got to be part of the show and got the chance to make wonderful friends like Hard Kaur, Gauhar, Ram, Anand Raj Anand and many others, who I'll stay in touch.

Did you ever break any rules of the Jhalak house?
Being a sportsman, I am bound to be disciplined! I believe in discipline and I also believe that time is very important part of our life. Hence, I didn't break any rules.

After three weeks at Jhalak, how would you rate yourself as a dancer?
Well, I can dance very well now. I understand the beats and the rhythm and I know the basics. I've developed a much better understanding of music.

What all have you learnt dancing wise?

I've learnt basics of samba, salsa, rock and roll and the biggest thing is that I've learnt how to match my steps with the rhythm and beat.

What have you learnt apart from dance?

One thing which I've learnt is that regardless of age, you can learn anything from anyone. Also one thing which I really liked here is the feeling of togetherness which all the contestants share. I haven't carried a feeling of negativity from Jhalak.

If given a chance, would you like to come back in Jhalak as a wild card entrant?
Definitely!

Who do you think deserves to win?
I would say that Hard Kaur is the girl who should win because she is excellent in terms of energy, footwork, expressions and rhythm too. Efforts and how you perform on the dance floor is very important. Maintaining the rhythm is crucial.

Will we see you participating in any other reality show in the future?
I don't know anything as of now but it will all depend on my commitments. I'd love to take on the challenge again.

Jhalak Dikhhla Jaa
3 airs every Friday and Saturday at 9pm on Sony TV.

http://www.indya.com/news/newsDetails.aspx?xfile=2009/March/News_20090330_144

r_ahmed_shah thumbnail
Dil ka doctor

TV hottie, Karan Grover, many a young girls' heart-throb Dr Armaan, in an informal chat

By Sonali Shah
Posted On Monday, March 30, 2009 at 03:31:49 AM

• What is Dr Armaan Mallik going to do next?

I seriously don't know... Dill Mill Gayye is a daily soap man! Armaan's journey with Riddhima (Sukriti Khandpal) will of course, continue. But yeah, no one's dying or coming back to life or anything of that sort.

• Which contestants on Jhalak Dikhhla Jaa do you feel perform better than you?

Oh the women are all so much better. They are totally comfortable with their steps. What they learn in one hour takes me five. Gauhar Khan, Hard Kaur and Parul Chauhan are great dancers.

• Do you believe you'll break the trend of only female dancers winning Jhalak…?

I don't know about that, but I'm definitely in the process of breaking my own mental block. I'm uncomfortable with dancing and Jhalak is helping me overcome that. Right now, I'm happy to win the expectations of the audience and my choreographer, Nicole Alvares.

• Your Salman Khan imitation went all the way in a recent episode, complete with removing your shirt. Are you inspired by him in real life?

No, not really. I love his films, but I'm not inspired by him. He's fun, that's it. But yes, he's got to be credited for getting good physiques into Indian cinema.

• We've seen you act and dance. Are we going to hear you sing now?

Sing? No. But, I used to be the vocalist of my band in school. We played Alt Rock, numbers by Creed, Linkin Park, Limp Bizkit, and similar stuff. But that's not what the Indian audience wants. So, no singing for me.

• Are you planning to progress to the silver screen?

(Smiles) Yes, I have signed a film. It is a romantic comedy, which has quite become my forte now. Along with me there's one other actor and two actresses. They're all fresh faces for cinema. It's Vivek Mushran's story and he'll also be directing the film. My character is like Armaan, but has more of Karan in it. We will start the shoot in May.

• What's marriage to Shraddha Nigam like? Any plans of starting a family soon?

Starting a family is an eventuality. We haven't decided on the 'when' bit yet, but yes, it will happen soon. And married life is fun man… I don't know why people crack so many jokes about it. Besides, married life means good food.

• Your next Jhalak performance is on…

I'm busy rehearsing Baawre from Luck By Chance, so watch out for that.

source: http://www.mumbaimirror.com/article/12/2009033020090330033149877262864c3/Dil-ka-doctor.html

Edited by srkbest - 29 March 2009 at 8:13pm
niveditha thumbnail

Ram's disappointing day at office..

Ram Kapoor who has been the 'Jaan' of Jhalak House had a very bad day, and went on to score the least points this week

niveditha thumbnail
Kinshuk: I'm glad Parul is doing Jhalak

Kinshuk Mahajan, who stars in Bidaai (Star Plus, Mon-Fri at 9pm), is happy with his costar Parul Chauhan's progress on her first reality show Jhalak Dikhhla Jaa 3 (Sony, and Fri-sat at 9pm). While Kinshuk plays Ranveer on the show, Parul plays his onscreen wife.

Kinshuk explains why he thinks that Parul should do Jhalak, saying, "I saw her performance when she fainted and whatever she did was not bad. She is a good performer and I have seen her working hard. She literally works for 24 hours a day. Everyone thinks that she faked fainting but that is not true. After running for her rehearsals and shooting, anyone would get tired. I know her and she is not the kind of girl who would fake this to gain publicity."
Kinshuk tells us about Parul's genuine nature, adding, "She is a very nice human being. Even on the sets of our show, she keeps rehearsing. While I read out my lines, Parul comes and teaches me her steps and then asks my opinion on them. I have seen her rehearsals, though I have not seen many episodes of Jhalak. She adds a typical Indian touch to her dance. I like her liveliness too."

The actor is all praise for his costar. He says, "She is very popular. She deserves to win as with reality shows, popularity is the most important thing. And she is talented as well. I really hope she reaches the final. My good wishes are always with her."

Kinshuk admits that he too was offered a dance reality show but refused because of his hectic timings. He also reasoned that if everyone from a serial started doing realities, it would be difficult for the producer to accommodate all their conflicting schedules.

http://www.indya.com/news/newsDetails.aspx?xfile=2009/April/News_20090401_3

niveditha thumbnail
Koena Mitra rocks the JDJ 3 dance floor

Koena Mitra enters Jhalak Dikhhla Jaa 3 (Sony, Fri-Sat at 9pm) on this Friday's episode as a wild card contestant. And her outstanding performance is not going to please the other participants.

A source from the sets tells us, "Koena stole the show with her first act. She is working with choreographer Himanshu and they scored 30 marks. No one else was able to score full marks. It was a jugalbandi special episode and Koena performed on Saki from Musafir and Mehbooba from Aag. She received lots of praise from the judges."
Baichung Bhutia was busy with his matches and so his performance has not been shot for yet. The source adds, "Among the boys, Ram Kapoor was the lowest scorer. As for the girls, last week's highest scorer Monica was this week's lowest scorer. The judges were expecting a lot from her. Even Gauhar and Hanif had to face flak from the judges as the concept behind their routine was confusing. It was only Koena who performed really well. If Baichung's upcoming performance goes well then he may be the highest scorer among the guys." Choreographer Hanif has also injured his leg and from next week Gauhar will have to perform with another choreographer.

Apart from this, Parul had very emotional moment on the sets. The source explains, "It was not because of her performance but because she watched a special segment which showed her overcoming obstacles to reach the position she is in. It showed her humble beginnings and the tough financial situation she faced. Parul broke down after watching it. For the first time, her mother too was on the sets with her."

Four contestants have been eliminated so far from Jhalak.

http://www.indya.com/news/newsDetails.aspx?xfile=2009/April/News_20090402_7