Terenaina thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Trailblazer Thumbnail + 4

Originally posted by: Echofades

I thought she overshadowed Kareena & Akshay in Aitraaz even though the movie was about them.

She did. Even in Andaaz, the movie had akki and Lara but PC outshine
Midnightsorrow thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Trailblazer Thumbnail + 4

Originally posted by: hedwig_fawkes

PC is awesome and all but don't write off DP till you see the film. People thought Diana Penty would steal the spotlight in Cocktail going by the promos and look what happened.

👏Where is Deepika today? And where is Diana? It's better to wait & watch you wouldn't know what might happened. Deepika was actually the saving grace in Cocktail she overshadowed even Saif.
ptolemy thumbnail
10th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail

Originally posted by: chocolate_boy

I wanna clarify. SLB is making a film on bajirao and mastani but the role of kashi has stolen the show. If they wud hv cast a lesser known actress then slbs focus on the leads wud hv been greater. Now audience will go and feel for kashibai, which will dampen the titular roles of the film.

why would slb care who has the best performance in his film? unless you're saying that it will directly impact the quality of the film to have people empathize with Kashi more?
Rekha_ji thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 2
The opening post is very confusing lol...
Priyanka Chopra is a more accomplished performer than the younger Ranveer + Deepika at this moment in time. She is at her absolute artistic peak right now.
Ran-Deep are still learning and growing.
We will have to wait and watch the film first to see who leaves the lasting impression.
Terenaina thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Trailblazer Thumbnail + 4
That's true. Deepika is a junior to PC, Kat, bebo but the fact that her name is in the same category as people who did much more films and debuted years before her just tells you that she's past her peers that she made her debute with. She's competing with her seniors now
WittyFlair thumbnail
10th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 90 Thumbnail + 2
True that, from what we've been able to see already, PC's minute presence in all the promos have revealed Deepika's weaknesses
Rekha_ji thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 2
What weakness?
Deepika has been intoxicating, ethereal, beautiful and mesmerising in all the promos. Her dialogues have in the trailer have stood out as much as PC's. I love: "Kiski talwar par sar rak doon batado mujhe, agar ishq karna khata hai to saza do mujhe".
JaaniDushman thumbnail
10th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail

Originally posted by: chocolate_boy

<h1>Will Priyanka Chopra steal the show from Deepika Padukone in 'Bajirao Mastani'?</h1>

by Subhash K Jha Dec 16, 2015 14:34 IST

#Bajirao Mastani #Deepika Padukone #Priyanka Chopra #Ranveer Singh #Sanjay Leela Bhansali

• Screengrab of Priyanka Chopra from the song of 'Albela Sajan' of Bajirao Mastani. YouTube

The
song is filmed in sublimely saturated colours of joy and ecstasy, and
is a celebration of home-coming. The wife breaks into a dance of
rejoicing as her warrior-husband returns. The song is in the tradition
of Lata Mangeshkar's 'Ghar aaya mera pardesi' from Aawara or Kavita Krishnamoorthy's 'Mera piya ghar aaya' from Yaaraana.

Priyanka's expressions of ebullience are incredibly infectious. So far
we've seen very little of her in the film, but could that be changing?

In the first song 'Deewani mastani'
Deepika Padukone took center stage as the woman, who seduces the
warrior-ruler with her dancing. Priyanka had just one shot to herself
where she looks down at the scene below of her husband's keen interest
in another woman.

In that one shot, Priyanka's expression of tragic grace was exceptional. Then came the controversial 'Pinga' song wherein Priyanka completely outdanced Deepika.

And now in the 'Albela sajan aayo re' song and dance, she is a portrait of feminine finesse and spousal pride.

So the question to ask is, will Priyanka Chopraprove to bethe scene-stealer in Bajirao Mastani, even
though she doesn't have anauthor-backed title role? It has happened in
the past that an actress has stolen up on her prominent co-stars and
walked away with the praise.

In Yash Chopra's Daag the
entire focus of interest was on the tried-and-tested Rajesh
Khanna-Sharmila Tagore pair. But it was Raakhee who got all the acclaim
and the awards.

Is Priyanka all set to do a Raakhee Gulzar on Deepika? We shall have the answer in just a few days.

Subhash Jha PRAISING PRIYANKA CHOPRA!! 😲 How did this even happen? 😆

There is a glitch I think though this post is from firstpost I am pretty sure I read it there 😳
Edited by Patronus - 10 years ago
WittyFlair thumbnail
10th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 90 Thumbnail + 2

Originally posted by: Rekha_ji

What weakness?

Deepika has been intoxicating, ethereal, beautiful and mesmerising in all the promos. Her dialogues have in the trailer have stood out as much as PC's. I love: "Kiski talwar par sar rak doon batado mujhe, agar ishq karna khata hai to saza do mujhe".

Pinga's one...PC managed to outdo her despite DP being considered the more graceful dancer
AreYaar thumbnail

Originally posted by: kabeeraspeaking

Extremely astute analysis 👍🏼 That right there is why this kind of theme is so tricky and why casting as well as screenplay most necessarily have to solidly hold up in order for it to all become believable and convincing (which means that even apart from the clash with Dilwale, this movie would be an uphill task in and of itself...and all of that is still not including the budget considerations, lol.)

If Kareena was playing Mastani, maybe things could have been balanced out a bit because she has superb emotive capability to go foot-to-foot with PC and also that 'nakhra' and pizzazz to gain some upper hand? I feel like like Hrithik as Bajirao, Kareena as Mastani and PC as Kashi would have been the greatest possible cast for this story.

Ah and the dramatic, poetic dialogues...SLB's staple...alas, he can't do without them just as he can't do without the elaborate sets 😆

LOL yes I know the dramatic poetic dialogues are SLB staple but he's never had actors mouthing them this artificially before😆...ah well.

Re: casting...yes Kareena would have made a good Mastani except I'm skeptical about her dancing...ek toh I think there is like an overdose of "virtues" in this character...dancer bhi, warrior bhi, princess bhi...thoda zyada ho gaya😆...like I find it hard to take a DANCER princess seriously...like if you're a princess, why would you be dancing around in the court from those days like a courtesan?😕...Hrithik could have played the warrior king since he's already done it before too and he has chemistry with both PC and Kareena😆

Also I find it amusing when I read ppl saying PC is graceless and "unattractive" looking that is why she was cast as Kashi😆...I actually almost feel sorry for DP cuz PC effortlessly kills it with her naturally feminine figure...I detest Subhash Jha but he used absolutely the right adjectives to describe PC's Kashi...feminine finesse...FEMININE being the key word here...PC is epitomizing that core feminine quality in every shade of Kashi...whether it's her joy or her pain and heartbreak.

Mastani on the other hand even though is sold to us as supposedly a breathtaking beauty, Kashi's femininity steals any scene they are in...that is where the casting is a bit questionable...cuz they can never dampen PC's inherent sexuality except in a rare case like a Barfi and in this role toh she's fully feminine...so when you pit that against an almost tomboyish looking Mastani, I'm not sure what they were expecting would be the outcome😕😆