monika.goel thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
Posted: 18 years ago
Bigg Boss Day 47: Bigg Boss is really mean
It was 8 a.m. Everybody was fast asleep when the song Mere angane mein tumhara kya kaam hain started to play. This meant everybody had to be on the dance floor. Deepak, Ravi, Baba, Rahul got up immediately and ran towards the floor. But yeh kya? The girls were left behind. Roopali and Carol simply couldn't wake up. Poor guys, this meant Rs 100 rupees will be cut from their daily budget this week. Bhai kya shuruwad hain din ki! Is Baba the naya khiladi?: Baba Sehgal is called into the confession room for the first time. Bigg Boss welcomed him and gave him a list of songs and props for each contestant for the entire day. Baba took the paper out to the other contestants and read out which song was to be played for which person and what the props were. Later we saw the girls practicing their dance numbers in the pink room. Poor Roopali had to dance in her bathrobe: Roopali was quite sure that Bigg Boss "would not play our songs when we girls are taking a bath". But a few minutes after she went inside the bathroom her song—Jhooth bole kauwa kaante—started to play. How mean of Bigg Boss! The poor girl ran out of the bathroom in her pink bathrobe, a yellow towel around her head. She danced with Ravi on the floor and shouted "I am disgusted" when the song ended. Deepak and Carol's big fight: Carol was called into the confession room at 4.15 p.m. Bigg Boss gave her the rules for a new task. According to it, the housemates had to clean up the garden and the tools to be used for the task were to be collected from the storeroom. All the housemates went to the storeroom, but to their surprise, found only toothbrushes. What kind of joke was this? Well, it was not a joke; Bigg Boss only wanted them to work harder. While everybody was busy cleaning Deepak and Carol started teasing Ravi. Then, unexpectedly, Carol snapped at Deepak. Bus aur kya? Deepak shouted that those who did not know how to talk should not talk to him at all. He also declared that he would not eat anything prepared by the people who do not have any respect for him. Deepak survives on bread and jam: It was dinnertime. Everybody was eating food prepared by Carol and Roopali. And Deepak sat in a corner eating bread and jam. Roopali offered him some dahi, but he refused and started talking about Carol. Roopali tried to defend Carol and left in anger. Meanwhile, Carol was feeling guilty because she knew it was her fault—she shouldn't have spoken to Deepak the way she did. Ragini, the dadima of the house, spoke to Deepak and asked him to cool down. She advised him to patch up with Carol.

At 8:30 p.m. Deepak came in the pink room and apologised to Carol. He broke down and started to cry. Carol told him to take it easy. Everybody gathered around them and it was a happy ending after all the tears and quarrels.

Edited by monika.goel - 18 years ago
monika.goel thumbnail
Deepak desperately wants to lose weight
Kyon Deepak? Do you want to impress someone in the Bigg Boss house? Everybody was quite surprised to learn about his latest wish—to reduce weight. Even Ragini, his new friend, smirked when she heard it. You cannot lose weight sitting on a chair now, can you Deepak?
Baba Sehgal, the new wild-card entrant into the Bigg Boss house came in as a masked man and surprised everybody. All the housemates were overjoyed to see the famous singer. Is Rahul jealous now that the real 'baba' is in the Bigg Boss house?

Rakhi was dressed up like a typical chamiya and waiting for her turn to dance today. Nachte raho seems to be her favourite task from Bigg Boss till date. She wears a new dress on the dance floor everyday to impress the audience. Arre Rakhi ji, we're already impressed—you don't need to try so hard!
monika.goel thumbnail
Bigg Boss Day 48: Gearing up for a glittering Awards' Night
At 1 p.m. Rakhi was called into the confession room. Was it about another task? Yes, but this was not just any other task, but an Awards function that had to be organised. Poor Rakhi, whose Hindi is not very good, couldn't read out the rules and was quite upset about it. Anyway, everybody was quite enthusiastic about the Awards' Night. Baba was the host of the evening and he read out the list of award categories. The award categories were quite funny. It included Khoobsorat Gharwala, Badtameez Gharwala, Lalchi Gharwala, Badbudaar Gharwala, Jhootha Gharwala, Chugalkhor Gharwala and so on. Everybody sat together to nominate the candidates for the different award categories. Roopali gets the maximum nominations: It was time to select the nominees. Some skeletons came out of the cupboard as they started discussing who would be nominated for each category. The nominations for Rondumal Gharwala went to Roopali, Ragini and Carol. For Badtameez Gharwala it was none other than Amit, Ravi and Deepak. For Mehnati Gharwala it was Amit, Carol and Roopali. For Lalchi Gharwala Roopali, Rakhi and Carol were the nominees. Baba, Ravi and Rahul were nominated for Badbudar Gharwala. Saaf Suthra Gharwala award nominations went to Rahul, Carol and Amit. For Pyari Muskaan Gharwala the nominees were Ragini, Deepak and Carol. And for Chugalkhor Gharwala? The nominations included Deepak, Roopali and Ravi. Ragini unsheathes her claws: Everybody stood silent as Ragini burst out, "Yes I lied about my mother for the game, but everybody else is lying in the house. No one is nominating them for that?" What had happened to make this sweet girl burst out like that? Well, for the nomination of Jhootha Gharwala, Roopali suggested Ragini's name. Ragini began crying, while Roopali sat silently. Carol consoled Ragini and asked her to calm down. In the end, an upset Roopali asked Baba to write another name among the Jhootha Gharwala nominees. Baba quietly wrote her name on the black board. Voting ritual in the confession room: At 5:40 p.m., Bigg Boss asked everybody to vote for the respective award categories. One after another everybody made a beeline for the confession room. Ravi voted for Amit as the Badtameez Gharwala. Oh, so you still have some problems with Amit, kyon Ravi? Carol, who is supposed to be Roopali's best friend, voted for Roopali for both the categories—Rondumal Gharwala and Chugalkhor Gharwala. She told Bigg Boss that Roopali often gossips about others in the house to her. Bhai yahi hain dosti? Yahi hain pyar? Amit voted for Ravi as the Baagi Gharwala and Carol for Mehnati Gharwala. For both Chikni Chupdi and Chugalkhor categories he voted for Roopali. Rakhi nominated Roopali as the Jhootha Gharwala; she also wanted to vote for herself in the category. Baba said Ragini had the sweetest smile in the house and nominated her for Pyari Muskaan gharwala. Hmm... does that mean Baba likes Ragini? Bhai abhi to ghar mein aye do din bhi naheen huye hain Baba. Roopali steals the show and the awards: The stage for the awards' ceremony was set for the evening. Red carpet, dinner tables, wine glasses and the perfect host Baba Sehgal. Everything was organised with great finesse. All the housemates took their time to dress up for the event. Carol was looking elegant in a beautiful sequined sari. Rahul wore a black satin shirt and trousers and Roopali looked beautiful in a white sari. Baba went up on stage and began announcing the names of the winners. For Khoobsoorat Gharwala the winner was Ravi. He went up the stage looking proud and excited. The title for Shant Gharwala went to Rahul. Badtameez Gharwala was Amit, who was quite sporty while receiving the award. Jhagralu Gharwala was Carol. Kaamchor Gharwala was Deepak. But the titles for Chaploos Gharwala, Lalchi Gharwala, Rondumal Gharwala, Chugalkhor Gharwala and Jhootha Gharwala went to the one and only Roopali. She took all the titles in good spirit, but became emotional in the end, when Amit went up on stage and spoke for her.

He said that the girl who took care of everybody in the house, made sure everybody had enough food and Tang all the time, had been given the title of Lalchi Gharwala and it was quite shameful. Everybody clapped for Roopali left the stage with tears in her eyes.

monika.goel thumbnail
Roopali and Ragini turn fighter cocks!
Roopali and Ragini were caught fighting like crazy cats today. The reason? According to the new weekly task, the housemates had to organise an awards night in the Bigg Boss house. They had to nominate each other for funny award categories like Jhootha gharwala, Chikni chupri gharwala, and Chugalkhor gharwala. What we thought was going to be fun, proved to be fuel for the fire.

Roopali, who was nominated for Chugalkhor gharwala category, took great offence and burst out against Ragini. In response, Ragini screamed, "I will never speak to Roopali again!"

Meanwhile, Carol was trying her best to patch up with Ravi, whom she had nominated for eviction from Bigg Boss this week. She apologised to him for her behaviour and poured out her heart to him. It seemed to have pacified Ravi, although he kept his distance from her.
monika.goel thumbnail
Chitthi aayi hai: Deepak Tijori breaks down on reading the cards and letters sent by his family

It seems Roopali will be unable to remain at the Bigg Boss house for too long now. Not with the wave of dislike rising against her in the house, reports Sowmya Rajaram. After Ragini's open declaration of war, now Deepak labels Roopali 'evil' and says that her constant tears are just a facade to save herself from getting evicted. Ouch. Looks like the tear tap will not save you this time, Roopali. In mundane news, Rakhi makes stuffed karelas today and is helped by latest entrant Baba. That is what living in this house is like, rapper boy. Welcome to Karjat, where you have to cook, clean, play some unpredictable games and fight really hard to stay sane.
Deepak cannot control himself. He gets cards and letters from his daughter and a cake from his wife and breaks down in the confession room. And he blames Roopali for crying!
sowmya.rajaram@mid-day.com

shruti thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Elite Thumbnail + 9
Rakhi made a mistake by going back: Aryan Vaid

The actor feels that Kashmera Shah would've been an apt choice as she would create more drama in Bigg Boss' house

RACHNA KANWAR

Aryan Vaid is a happy man these days as his lady-love, Anupama Verma is safely out of the Bigg Boss house. He still seems a little awkward about the first moments outside the house when he broke down, "The first two days I could not step out of my house. The last thing I wanted was to go out with the world looking at me and saying, 'Oh, this is the guy who cried.' There were women coming to my house to see if I was alright. It was a little embarrassing. But people have loved my sensitive side," says the hunk. He was accused by co-contestant Ragini Shetty of flirting with her while romancing Anupama in the house. He is quick to defend, "See, on the first day I said that I find her cute. But after that it was she who was flirting with me. Every time I reached out for something from her hand, her fingers would clasp around mine. For a guy like me, it is not everyday that someone like Anupama will come my way. There is no way that I would ruin that." Ask him whether Rakhi was the right choice for a re-entry and he disagrees, "She made a mistake by going back. She came out with so much love and adulation. Why go in a place where you are definitely going to stain your reputation? She had managed to wipe off the Mika controversy, then why go back for a few lakhs. I met her once after I came out and she said 'Aryan I am going to go in and give a punch to Ravi Kissen and Carol', but when I saw her back on TV, she was hugging Ravi and calling him a superstar. She knows the game now as she has seen everything. She can't be herself anymore." According to him Kashmera should have gone in. "Even if she was plotting, planning and scheming, she is making the show more interesting. Now what do you watch? The love-story is out, the plotters are out. I can't possibly watch Ravi boasting about himself. Deepak is too nice a guy to create any controversy. Rahul Roy doesn't talk. Amit Sadh is full of himself. He'll be tearing his clothes and breaking the furniture," he says cracking up with laughter.
monika.goel thumbnail
'I'm dying to lie on my bed'
Farhana Farook
Friday, December 22, 2006 23:59 IST

Deepak Tijori is rejoicing in his freedom after his eviction from 'Bigg Boss'
How was the experience in the 'Bigg Boss' house?
It was beautiful. I learnt much as a filmmaker and as a human being. I value life and emotions more.
What made you participate?
My 11-year-old daughter Samara does not watch my films anymore after she saw me running on tracks in 'Ghulam' and with blood on my face in 'Khiladi'. But she watches 'Bigg Boss' and was overjoyed that I chose to participate in it. Also, as a filmmaker I wanted to learn the technicalities of the hidden trolley. I also got rid of the 'lazy' tag as I did my tasks diligently.
Is the atmosphere there unpleasant?
What you see is just one-hour footage and not the entire day. All participants have different characteristics. So there's bound to be lots of outbursts, drama and comedy. But they are beautiful people fighting their own battles. Each one is just following the rules of the game.
Who was responsible for your eviction?
My wife, my daughter and their friends sent many SMSs to evict me! My daughter sent me a card once, which made me very emotional. They saw this and they wanted me to return home.
Is Ravi Kishen really a back-stabber as implied?
Not at all! Ravi feels from the heart and therefore gets used by people inside. He's tossed around!
What's the first thing that you will do after reaching home?
I'm dying to lie on my bed with my daughter close to me . I'm dying to feel the walls of my house. I want to enjoy the freedom of not being watched.

virgoqueen thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail

Bigg Inspiration

Deepak Tijori decides to make a film on Bigg Boss on being evicted from the show

Back to Section Stories

Kunal M Shah

Filmi fundas: Deepak Tijori
Deepak Tijori who is the latest participant to be evicted from Bigg Boss claims to be glad that he is out of the show. Although Deepak is out, he has no hard feelings for any contestant including Rahul Roy whose rivalry with Deepak was highlighted in Bigg Boss for the last two weeks. In fact, Deepak is so inspired by the show that he has decided to make a film on the format of Bigg Boss.

Deepak Tijori says, "Yes I would love to make a film on the format of Bigg Boss. I think it is an amazing plot but I am very clear that I will make a thriller film on the subject. My film will talk about what goes on in the house when the audience is not watching the show. I have not decided on whom I will cast but if I cast all the characters from real life then I will also play myself in the film. But my film will not be an emotional drama and will certainly not touch on the rona dhona that we see on Bigg Boss."

Speaking about his experience in the Bigg Boss house, Deepak says, "I was very eager to participate in Bigg Boss for two prime reasons – one being that as a filmmaker I was very excited and intrigued to see what it will be like living with strangers in a house with no communication with the outside world. Also, my daughter Samara was growing up when I was busy acting but she never saw my films as she did not want to see me acting. When she learnt that I will be doing Bigg Boss, she was very excited and wanted me to go to the Bigg Boss house. A couple of days back when Bigg Boss gave me letters by my daughter, I was glad to know that she loved to watch me dance and was glad that I was enjoying myself in the show. Also, I put a hold on my next with Baba films to take this short break. My experience at Bigg Boss was totally worthwhile as I had some amazing moments in the house which I will cherish throughout my life. I am glad that I was being myself and not wearing a mask. The fact was that I laughed when I wanted to and I cried when I felt like it."

Commenting on his wife Shivani trying frantically to get him out of the show last week Deepak says, "Yes I was very shocked to know this from Rakhi. I think Shivani panicked on seeing me cry and must have thought that I am not handling this well. Shivani has always been a private person and never speaks to the media. I think she did all this as she must have seen an episode of Bigg Boss where she must have seen me go through this pain."

Finally speaking about Rahul Roy, Deepak says, "The day prior to my exit, I went to the confession room and apologised to everyone as I realised that all of them are just playing a game. I very well knew that I would be out on Friday as I had understood the format of the show finally. Roopali is the Nirupa Roy or Tulsi, Rahul is the Baba, Ravi is the Hero while Carol is the Angel in the house. A person like me is not interesting as I did not have any image while I was in the show."

So what next? "The first thing that I want to do tomorrow morning when I wake up is to read the newspaper," says a relieved Deepak.

Edited by virgoqueen - 18 years ago
monika.goel thumbnail
Rakhi turns to Christianity
By: Tushar Joshi
December 23, 2006

A spiritual item now: Abhishek Awasthi, Rakhi Sawant and Jaya

On Bigg Boss, you may have noticed Rakhi Sawant reading from the Bible or singing praises of Jesus. Sources reveal that Rakhi is deeply drawn to Christianity.

A friend says, "Not many know this side to Rakhi. She loves going to church and attending Sunday mass. She always keeps the Bible with her."

Curious cat

Talking about her fixation for Christianity, another friend reveals, "After being evicted from Bigg Boss, Rakhi felt she was emotionally very vulnerable and needed someone or something to turn to. Incidentally, Carol (Gracias) would often read out passages to her from the Bible at the house, and Rakhi was very inspired by them. When she came out, she was curious about Christianity and wanted to learn more. She was even keen on celebrating Christmas and wanted to sing carols and attend midnight mass before she went back in again."

Rakhi's mother Jaya too validates her daughter's interest in the religion. She says, "Rakhi attends church regularly and even reads the Bible. I have been practising Christianity for the last three years. My son Rakesh, too, has been interested in the life of Jesus Christ from his childhood days. I wanted Rakhi to start reading the Bible too and bring the Lord's presence in her life."

Jai Ganesh!

Jaya says that the mother-daughter duo religiously visits the Good Shepherd church at Four Bungalows, Andheri. Says Jaya, "Rakhi wanted to come for the midnight mass this year. She had expressed her desire to pray along with me this Christmas. But now, that won't be possible as she's gone back into Bigg Boss's house."

Even though she has no plans to convert from being a Hindu into a full-fledged Christian, Rakhi's mother is happy that her daughter is now practising the religion too. "She is also a disciple of Lord Ganesha. I think her mind is more at peace when she is religious. When she came back home after being eliminated from Bigg Boss, she would sit at home, read the Bible and take the Lord's name and feel serene."

Rakhi's boyfriend Abhishek Awasthi says, "There is nothing startling about Rakhi's sudden interest in the religion as she has always been going to church and praying to Jesus Christ. However, she also believes in Lord Ganesha and celebrates Ganesh Chaturthi at her home every year. I think she follows both religions with equal fervour."

monika.goel thumbnail
'I want to make a film on Bigg Boss'
By: Shaheen Parkar
December 23, 2006

The non-controversial inmate of Bigg Boss, Deepak Tijori, was taken by surprise when he was evicted from the Sony reality show last evening. "I did not expect to go," he says. The actor-turned-director now plans to make a film based on his experiences on the show. "It is an awesome concept and I have first-hand knowledge of what happens when different people are thrown together in one house. The only change I would make is to make the film a thriller!"

What's your first move out of Bigg Boss?
To immediately get moving on my film, Hello Mumbai, produced by Baba Films. We had already signed Dino Morea and Jimmy Sheirgill, when I upped and took off to Bigg Boss's house. I kept the project on hold. I appreciate that they waited for me to get back. All I can say is, "I love you, Dino" and "I love you, Jimmy."

You were shown promising a role to Aryan Vaid?
I have no qualms in admitting that he has potential and I will definitely consider him.

Everyone was surprised to see your emotional side.
I was completely overwhelmed to receive that card from my daughter Samara. I was so touched by what she said in the card, that she had never seen me dancing the way she did in Bigg Boss and jumping into the pool with John Abraham was a big thing for her. All this while, Samara hated seeing my films as an actor. She abhors the idea that I always get beaten up in my films. She would never let anyone even touch the DVDs of the films. And now finally she saw me in Bigg Boss, the way she wanted to see me. In fact, my decision to take part in the show was also because she loved to watch Bigg Boss.

There were lots of lessons to learn in Bigg Boss.
It was like going for Vipasana. You are away from the world; that's when you realise what the people around you mean to you. In the past, too, I have been away from home for long periods due to shoot schedules, but everyone is a mere phone call away. In Bigg Boss's house, you are alone even though there are others; each is of a different mindset. But then that is the show's concept, to throw people of different viewpoints together. I also loved to do the tasks assigned to me; even though in real life, I am quite a kaamchor!

You were extremely diplomatic in the show.
I preferred to be that way. It is natural for people to form groups and say things about each other. I wanted to steer clear from all this.

Which of the inmates got on your nerves?
I don't want to take any names. Even if the others spoke about me, I have nothing against them. When they are out, I will meet and greet them; they all behaved in this manner because the situation demanded it. Anyone would have behaved in a similar manner.