monika.goel thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
Posted: 18 years ago
Bigg Boss Day 44 & 45: Rakhi is in trouble again
Kya kare, the poor girl always tries to be nice to everybody, but nobody understands this bindaas lady. Her good intentions backfired yet again. She came back to the house with loads of gifts and greetings cards for everybody. The only big mistake she did was telling them that they were from their loved ones. Soon everybody realised the greeting cards didn't have any messages on them and became suspicious. Carol confronted her and asked her why she was being such a mean person. What kind of dirty game was she trying to play this time? A cold war began in the house and everybody talked about Rakhi's intentions Rahul and Deepak shake hands: What a tragic scene. Deepak, the great conspirator of the house, was crying. But why? Deepak was feeling alienated. He felt that everybody was trying to push him out of the house. Don't you remember Deepak that just a little while ago you were trying to throw Rahul out? But finally, Rahul came to Deepak's rescue. Both of them sat outside and sorted out their differences. After all, they've been friends for 16 years. But yeh kya? Deepak once again started bitching about Roopali and taunted Rahul about his baba image. Lagta hain yeh nahin sudrenge! Carol nominates Ravi for eviction: Shocking as it might seem to the fans of Ravi, Carol nominated Ravi for eviction. The reason she gave was that Ravi does not respect her and passed remarks on her character. Her other nomination was Deepak. She was very upset with Deepak's conspiracy against Rahul. No one was allowed to nominate Rakhi this week. Ragini nominated Ravi because she felt he was wearing a mask and not showing his true self and Roopali because she was also behaving in a n unreal manner. She told everybody that she was from a middle class family, bur she goes abroad for holidays and uses Prada products. Rahul chose Deepak because he was not being able to gel with the housemates and was creating a lot of trouble for the others. He also nominated Roopali because she was going through a lot of mental stress and had created a tensed environment in the house. Rakhi voted against Ragini and Roopali. She said that Ragini had not forgiven her and Roopali was always trying to create a rift between people in the house. Deepak took the names of Carol and Rahul. Carol was hiding her real self and Rahul was trying to influence others in the house. Ravi nominated Ragini because she was trying to instigate others against Rakhi and her behaviour towards Rakhi was not good. And Deepak because his remarks about Neeru had upset Amit. Amit nominated Ravi because his selfish motives were becoming clearer now. He said that Ravi was a different person from what he acted to be. Finally Roopali nominated Rahul because he was silently playing mind games with everyone and Deepak because he was the cause of a lot of rifts in the house. Bigg Boss announced the final nominations and the first nomination was Deepak, the second was Ravi and the final one was Roopali. Carol and Roopali started crying after hearing the nominations. We expect crocodile tears from Roopali, but why was Carol crying? Maybe because she has been spending too much time with Roopali. Bigg Boss ke isharon pe nachte raho: The weekly task promises to be great fun. In fact, this time the housemates will actually have to dance his every command. All the housemates were assigned a particular song. The song would be played anytime of the day or even at night. Whenever it was played, the housemates have to start dancing irrespective of what they're doing at that point of time. A prop was also given to them, which they needed to use creatively while dancing. Everyone had to pick a dance partner and this had to be done in 60 seconds. Guess who was the happiest about the task? Of course, Rakhi Sawant. She can dance any time of the day now.

After the announcement of rules of the task, the Bigg Boss theme song was played and all the housemates had to start dancing immediately. Ravi had just come back after a shower and was dressing up. The poor guy ran for his trousers and joined others on the dance floor. Indeed, Bigg Boss knows how to make them dance to his tunes. Deepak was the surprise item on the floor. He looked really cute as he tried to match his steps with the others. Bhai naachte raho!

Edited by monika.goel - 18 years ago
virgoqueen thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail
can't have my feelings stripped for public: Aryan
Tuesday, December 19, 2006 10:28 [IST]

Actor Aryan Vaid, who was voted out of Sony TV's game show "Bigg Boss" last week, doesn't want to demonstrate his feelings for Anupama Varma on camera anymore. Anupama was eliminated Friday. And the same morning Aryan was woken up bright and early for a very special mission. He was driven down to Karjat at that unearthly hour.

"I was told nothing about why I was required there at the Bigg Boss' house. Frankly, I thought I had put those days behind me. I'm just getting my life to normal. And the whole 'Bigg Boss' experience appears incredibly distant and unreal," Aryan told IANS. But the channel had other plans.

"They brought me to Karjat and quarantined me, not allowing me to converse with anyone. Later, a friend called on a friend's phone to tell me Anupama had been evicted. That's how I came to know why I was wanted there. I guess they wanted a big reunion scene between Anupama and me. But my days of playing out our relationship in front of cameras are over.

"Anu and I need to get out of the bizarre situation that the whole 'Bigg Boss' experience created in our heads. We need to give the relationship space to see where it goes."

Does this mean Aryan is having second thoughts about the relationship?

"Not at all! I'm very clear that Anu is the woman I want to spend my life with. Whether she feels the same about me, is the question. Anu needs to sort out her feelings and see if she feels the same affection for me outside the whole unreality of reality television or not."

Aryan is apprehensive about the future.

"We've been together in this for so long within that house. Now, I find we're still under constant scrutiny. Our relationship is being tested by strangers on SMS polls and television surveys. This is making me uncomfortable.

"I'm comfortable taking my clothes off for the camera. But I can't have my feelings stripped for public consumption. What worries me is that Anu is an intensely private person. I wonder what effect this constant scrutiny will have on her feelings for me."

Aryan sighs and says, "I know the camera doesn't lie. But there're some truths which must be kept away from the camera."

IANS
Edited by virgoqueen - 18 years ago
virgoqueen thumbnail
more reality shows for Anupama Varma
Monday, December 18, 2006 05:59 [IST]

Model-turned-actress Anupama Varma calls her departure from Sony's game show "Bigg Boss" the happiest eviction ever.

"I desperately wanted to come out. Of course I was missing Aryan (Vaid) and wanted to be with him. But it wasn't his absence that made me want to run away. The ambience in there was a killer," Anupama told IANS.

After Aryan was voted out, it became difficult for Anupama to survive because rival groups had formed and she was not part of any of them.

"All the people I liked - Deepak Parasherji, Bobby Darling, Kashmira Shah and Rakhi Sawant - they were all gone. I felt like Guru Dutt singing 'Bichde sabhi bari-bari...' I was a little friendly with the boys. But I'm too reserved to hang around with them.

"When Rakhi Sawant came back to Karjat dressed like Santa Claus, I don't know what image she projected. But she's a good-hearted girl and she really loves me. As Santa she gave chocolates to others. I was the only one who got a teddy bear. Another very good human being was Bobby Darling. I bawled like a baby when Bobby left."

Anupama says initially she was weary of Rakhi and Kashmira.

"Funny, but the two girls I feared the most, Rakhi and Kashmira, turned out to be friends. And Carol (Gracias), who I thought was my friend, made me miserable.

"I don't know what her problem was. She's a ramp girl while I'm a photo-model so there shouldn't be any rivalry. I think she didn't like my being friendly with Ravi Kishan."

However, Anupama doesn't share Aryan's disdain for Ravi.

"Very honestly Ravi was good to me right from the start. Though Aryan told me he has a colourful image, Ravi was always a gentleman with me - so much so that he was hesitant about giving me a hug. After Aryan left, Ravi and Deepak Tijori were my pillars of support."

Anupama was rankled by the attitude of Carol and TV actress Rupali Ganguly.

"From what Deepak explained to me they were intimidated by me. In fact, Rupali admitted as much on the show. But why? And Carol? I don't know what her problem was. I felt so isolated. Being bitchy and mean doesn't come naturally to me. No one from outside can understand what I had to go through.

"Two days ago I finally cracked up. My mother had warned me I wouldn't be able to survive for even two days if I came across even one bitchy girl. I came across two. But on the plus side, I was not nominated for eviction till now whereas others like Rupali and Carol have been repeatedly nominated. So, as far as I'm concerned I'm a winner."

She did miss Aryan in there.

"I had a full life waiting for me outside. But Aryan wasn't running away anywhere. I wasn't seeking an eviction to run away to my life outside. I was genuinely distressed in there. Of course, Aryan's absence made me realise how much he mattered to me. He was like an angel whom god had sent to take care of me in that strange place."

Except Carol and Rupali, Anupama is all praise for other contestants.

"I won their love and respect without having to massage their egos and feet. What was happening there was pretty disgusting. Had they all lost it?"

Anupama admits her fiercely private nature was threatened by the constant camera attention.

"I was the wrong person in the right place. I'm the kind of person who always shies away from controversies and link-ups. Every morning I'd pray that Aryan wouldn't be evicted. When he did leave I consoled myself saying god must have a plan. In that one month in Karjat I got to know as much about Aryan as I'd have in six months."

So when are the two getting married?

"It's too early to say. Right now I'm too disoriented. That I'm close to him is undeniable. Right now I need to get back to the normal world.

"When John Abraham visited us Thursday I started crying. I was starved for company. I wanted to hug even a helping hand I'd spot somewhere outside. All the emotions there were so unreal! I was claustrophobic inside. Everyone was living a sham. Though I may be from showbiz, I come from a very real world. I've had enough artificiality in there to last me a life-time."

Would she ever want to be a part of the show again?

"No way! Never again!"

virgoqueen thumbnail
Flattery, submission key to surviving 'Bigg Boss': Rakhi Sawant
Wednesday, December 13, 2006 12:39 [IST]

Item girl Rakhi Sawant, who has been eliminated from Sony TV's game show "Bigg Boss", feels the element of reality is underplayed in it. "Right now everything feels unreal. Most of the contestants were busy acting all the time, manipulating things to their own advantage, forming their own groups. I was the odd outspoken one out and I suffered," Rakhi told IANS.

However, Rakhi is not unhappy with the fact that she was voted out.

Re-living her one-month of exile, she said: "It may be a reality show. But it was unreal for me. I learnt so much about life and people. All my life I had been pampered. But in Karjat there was no one to wipe my tears - neither my mother, nor my boyfriend Abhishek Awasthi (a TV actor). It taught me to be self-sufficient and to value the people who love me."

Most of all, the one-month experience taught Rakhi to be an expert at washing laundry.

"I had started my own Sawant Laundry Service in there. I washed everyone's clothes. What else could I do to wile away my time? I was so bored. There was nothing to do."

One good thing that came out of the experience was that Rakhi's constant companion Abhishek publicly confessed his love for her.

"Abhishek is my choreographer, companion, best friend and boyfriend. He accompanies me on all my shows. I love him the most. I missed him so much during my stay in Karjat. It made me realise I want to spend the rest of my life with him. But marriage isn't on the cards right now."

The one thing this spunky item girl didn't do in there was sweet talk.

"If I had massaged their heads and egos, cooked their favourite delicacies and slept in the boys' room, I wouldn't have been eliminated.

"I'm a very frank and honest person. I admit I wanted to form my own group with Kashmira Shah, Anupama Verma and Amit Saad. But I was let down.

"Amit, whom I liked and wanted to befriend, behaved and spoke very badly with me. He said he could have me thrown out in a minute. Who's he to throw me out?"

Rakhi says that she had to endure lot of unpleasant things there.

"Believe me, I tolerated a lot of things. I wasn't able to sleep because everyone kept talking and singing or snoring till late in the night. I can sleep peacefully now."

Then she paused and said: "But you know what? Given a chance, I'd like to go back again for the experience."

IANS
virgoqueen thumbnail

Quaid mein vaid

This is the best phase in Aryan Vaid's life. The model-turned-actor became an overnight star after living in the Bigg Boss house for a few weeks. "I can't deny that new avenues have opened up for me after being part of the show," says Aryan as he chills out in his Juhu flat

Back to Section Stories

Drawing room for improvement

Aryan's family has been living in this building for the past 25 years. "But recently, I moved into my own flat in the building," he smiles. His parents reside on the second floor while his flat is on the third floor. He is religious but doesn't follow Vastu or Feng Shui. "When I was looking for a flat I had an option of buying one either in Bandra or in Juhu." But Aryan says that he can't see himself living anywhere else except Juhu.

Bed Boy

Aryan's knowledge of interiors is skewed. He says, "I have no knowledge of how a house needs to be done-up. Mine is a typical bachelor's house." But his three sisters excel at interior designing. "My eldest sister is married to music director Lalit of Jatin-Lalit fame," he says. His sisters have promised to re-do his place before the monsoon. "Let's see if they live up to their promise," he laughs. Although Aryan lives separately, he swears by his mother's cooking.

Couch ouch

Aryan was never interested in his textile-oriented family business. "I don't think I have it in me to take care of a business," he says. So Bollywood it was. Aryan says that his playboy image isn't real. In fact, he had a tough time explaining that to his current ladylove Anupama Verma. "It's only after we got out of the Bigg Boss house that we began to know each other without anyone watching us."

Gym and tonic

Of the two bedrooms in Aryan's flat, one has been converted into a gym. He usually works out twice a day but Bigg Boss hampered his schedule. And it's showing on his otherwise perfect body. "I must've lost 4-5 kilos of muscle." Before he became a model, Aryan worked as a chef at The Leela. "That's why I boast of my culinary skills," he says.

Speed thrills
Aryan loves to splurge on cars, mobile phones and all sorts of electronic gadgets. "I barely get time to look for the latest gadgets in the market these days though," he shrugs and reveals that he carries his world in his car. "From a pillow to my clothes to some health food you'll find anything and everything in my car." Aryan says that he is fed up of his bachelor lifestyle. "My folks have been after my life to settle down for a long time."

BACK TO SECTION STORIES
virgoqueen thumbnail
< id=selZoom = value=100 name=selZoom>
M odel-turned-actress Anu- pama Varma calls her departure from Sony's game show Bigg Boss the hap- piest eviction ever. "I desperately wanted to come out. Of course, I was missing Aryan (Vaid) and wanted to be with him. But it wasn't his absence that made me want to run away. The am- bience in there was a killer," she said. After Aryan was voted out, it became difficult for Anupa- ma to survive because rival groups had formed and she was not part of any of them. "All the people I liked — Deepak Parasherji, Bobby Darling, Kashmira Shah and Rakhi Sawant — were all gone. I felt like Guru Dutt singing Bichde Sabhi Bari- bari... I was friendly with the boys. But I'm too reserved to hang around with them. And she did miss Aryan in there, as she added, "I had a full life waiting for me out- side. But Aryan wasn't run- ning away anywhere. I wasn't seeking an eviction to run away to my life outside. I was genuinely distressed in there. Of course, Aryan's absence made me realise how much he mattered to me. He was like an angel whom God had sent to take care of me." So when are the two getting married? "It's too early to say. Right now, I'm too disoriented. That I'm close to him is unde- niable. I need to get back to the normal world. "I was claustrophobic in- side. Everyone was living a sham. I've had enough artifi- ciality in there to last a life- time." Would she ever want to be a part of the show again? "No way! Never again!"
virgoqueen thumbnail
Hi! This is John
By: Tushar Joshi
December 20, 2006

Tara Umesh (Ragini's mom)

I was attending a wedding when John called. He just said, 'Aunty, this is John calling, I want to speak with you.' I didn't know who this John was. It was only half-way through the conversation that I realised it was John Abraham! He was very sweet and told me that he had promised Ragini he would call me and take a message for her.

Preeti Kissen (Ravi Kissen's wife)

John did call me and I remember even Rakhi was at my house that day. The moment everyone heard John was on the phone, they wanted to speak with him. My daughters too managed to have a word with John.
He told us Ravi was missing us and we passed on a message saying we wanted him to take care of his health and chill out.

Carol's dad

My wife spoke to John. He called us on the landline number. He has been friends with Carol since his modelling days. My wife is out of town at the moment, but she just asked John how Carol was doing and if she was fine. We also sent her a message that was read out by Arshad on the show.

Rohit Roy (Rahul's brother)

It was a pleasant surprise to get a phone call from John. He's such a down-to-earth and humble guy. He said I was the first family member who he had got in touch with. He asked for Rajlakshmi's number in Australia and even Bipasha managed to speak with her. Apparently, they know each other from their modelling days. I gave my message to Rahul and John mentioned that he had loads of fun visiting Bigg Boss's house.

Promila Varma (Anupama's mother)

I have met John previously and he's a very sweet boy. He called saying that Anupama had a message for me. I spoke to him at length and asked him to tell her to take care of herself. I think it was a very sweet gesture on his part to make a personal call and take a message for Punna.

Rajni Ganguli (Roopali's mother)

John called me and I actually thought someone was playing a prank on me. He said Rupa had sent her regards to me and I too sent her a message saying I was doing fine. I thought it was very sweet of him to go out of the way and do something like this.

virgoqueen thumbnail
Bigg Boss Day 46: Rahul romances Roopali on the dance floor
The song My name is Anthony Gonsalves started to play and we saw Rahul running to the dance floor with his prop, a huge black topi. He looked quite funny in it. Roopali was his partner. Both of them danced quite nicely. Today dog barks and police sirens woke the housemates. This music seems to be quite a relief from that. Rakhi runs with soap on her face: Rakhi ghar me ho aur nautanki na ho? This time we caught her talking to the camera. She requested Bigg Boss not to play her song as she was washing her face. She said she wanted to look good while dancing. Bigg Boss can be real mean sometimes! As soon as she applied soap on her face, her song Mera naam chin chin chu started playing. The poor girl had to rush with soap all over her face to the floor. She danced with Amit outside, while Roopali danced with Ravi in the kitchen. Who is the mysterious masked man?: Ragini was called into the confession room at 12:30 p.m. She was quite surprised to see a masked man sitting there. His face was fully covered with a black monkey cap and he was talking in sign language. Bigg Boss told Ragini that this was the new wild card entry into the house. She greeted him and said, "Hum aap ko baad mein dekhte hain." Was that a dhamki, Ragini? Bigg Boss gave her the task of keeping this a secret from the other housemates. She also had to obey the man's orders. If she failed in her mission she would be nominated for eviction. To begin with, the masked stranger asked her to belly dance. Ragini instantly began dancing before him. Next he picked up one of the placards on the table and indicated that he wanted coffee. Ragini ran in the kitchen to get coffee for him. Ragini proves to be a smart girl: The masked man proved to be quite troublesome for the poor girl! He kept calling her again and again into the confession room. And kept asking for coffee. Everybody in the house wondered what was going on. So Ragini made a bahana that her mike was not working and that was why she has to go into the confession room. Next the masked man wanted to go to the toilet. Now what could the poor girl do? She went outside without her mike and told everyone that due to some technical problem they would have to wait outside the house for sometime. When everybody was out of the house, she took the stranger to the toilet and later got him back into the confession room. Smart girl! Ragini cooks up another story: It was lunch time. How will Ragini serve the masked man lunch? She came up with another story this time. She told everybody that her mother was not well, and quite serious, due to which she was called inside. Roopali and Carol were very worried to hear this and advised her to go home. But Ragini adamantly answered that it was her personal matter and she would handle it herself. This made Roopali very upset and she had an argument with Ragini. All of a sudden Ragini seemed to be a changed person. Roopali even went to Rahul complaining about Ragini's changed behaviour. But Ragini was undaunted and asked everybody to sit outside, while she served the masked man with lunch in the confession room. Arre yeh kya, the man keeps asking her for favours. He asked her for a coffee again. This time, she told others that a doctor had come to see her because she was feeling tensed. What a story girl! But strangely no one suspected any foul play. Baba Sehgal is the new wild card entry: The song Mere angne mein tumhara kya kaam hain was playing. Everybody was on the dance floor when Bigg Boss instructed the stranger to reveal himself to the housemates. The man headed straight towards the dance floor and pulled off his mask. Everybody stopped dancing and looked quite shocked to see a stranger in the house.

Wow! It was the famous singer Baba Sehgal. Ravi and Rahul welcomed him to the house. Baba told them that he was the new wild card entry and commented, "Bhai ek mauka mila, to humne soocha ke ghus le Bigg Boss ke ghar mein." But yeh kya? Instead of talking to Baba everybody was more interested in scolding Ragini. Why did she say such a terrible lie about her own mother? How mean!

virgoqueen thumbnail

Out of step

Rakhi Sawant chooses Bigg Boss re-entry over Ajai Sinha's show

Back to Section Stories

Reena Thapar Kapoor

Playing games: Rakhi Sawant
It seems Bigg Boss had his way of making Rakhi Sawant dance to his tunes. The actress, who was supposed to do an item number in producer-director Ajai Sinha's show, Ghar - Ek Sapna (Sahara One), has left him in the lurch, by making a re-entry in the Bigg Boss house.

Apparently, Rakhi kept him in the dark for over a month. Says a source, "Rakhi had agreed to do an item number in Ajai Sinha's show Ghar - Ek Sapna. The talks were on, much before she walked into the Bigg Boss house for the first time. Ajai was keen on taking her because Rakhi is apparently a big name as an item girl, and having her in the show would've worked for him." Ajai waited for Rakhi during her stint in the show. Her eviction came in as a relief, as they saw the possibility of Rakhi shooting for the song as soon as possible. But this time too, Rakhi asked them to wait, only to return to the Bigg Boss's house through wild card entry.

So, where did that leave Ajai? Says Ajai, "I think I have waited long enough. The episode had to go on air and there was no way I could have postponed it any longer."

According to Ajai's staff, he is miffed with Rakhi for treating him like a doormat. Ajai added, "The set was ready and we had to go on with the shooting. So, we had no option but to hire a replacement for her." The production house roped in model Sana Khan instead

monika.goel thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
thoughtful matters: Carol and Ravi seem to be in deep contemplation

Bigg Boss sure knows how to keep the show interesting and the TRPs rising. After Rakhi's re-entry and an appropriately designated dancing task, it is now back to the Bigg Boss way of life, reports Sowmya Rajaram.
The gloves come off and everyone flashes their talons and bares their teeth once again, with the latest task allocated in the house.
Nominations for awards have everybody fighting like little children. But with categories like jhootha, chikni chupri and chugalkhor gharwala to pick from, can you really blame them?
Roopali's tank of tears threatens to overflow as she takes offence to her nomination for the chugalkhor gharwala category. Deepak shuts her up by pointing out that it was a unanimous vote, but Roopali is in no mood to take things lying down. She retaliates by nominating Ragini and Deepak for the chikni chupri gharwala category.
The real scene comes when Ragini screams, "I will never speak to Roopali again!" Now, now, children. Didn't your parents tell you name-calling was bad manners?
So now that everyone's true feelings about her are out in the open, Roopali decides to unleash her fury too. In a no-holds-barred tirade against her hitherto best friend Ragini, the crybaby tells Carol that she thinks Ragini is playing a game of dirty politics and deliberately creating rifts among people in the house. Volatile with a capital V we say.
sowmya.rajaram@mid-day.com

Edited by monika.goel - 18 years ago