TheRager thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Achiever Thumbnail + 4
Posted: 18 years ago

Originally posted by: Jattinder!

yeahh but even if the king was the judical system judge etc it doesnt mean that you actually like him?

its like your teachers, you might not like them but you still listen to them. If there is enough people though you start to play up (usually) its kinda similar...if you listen to your king who you dont actually like. Eventually when there is more of you you can form a mutiny..so say the army people they could refuse to fight at the last minute causing ajmer loss.

and why didnt the people of Ajmer hate sanyogita? or did they? its like after they find out that she left her kingdom. i mean they probably wouldnt think of it as she loved prithvi their king..but she betrayed her father, she chose our king some one that she didnt know over her own father the man that brought her up.

People of Ajmer wouldnt of even known the complete truth because so many peopel would have speculated.

Some people might have felt ashamed of their king for doing that, they might blame Prithvi for taking Sanyogita (even though he didnt) saying that she is a young girl and beign a girl didnt know what she was doing aswell..it was prithvi that led her on the wrong path?

so surely by thinking of all this then we can say that prithvi and sanyogita marrying did weaken ajmer and give him more enemies, right?

ur rite...ppl had to accept whatever king they had. thats why prolly we saw bhimdev's mantri keeping quiet when he was threated to death almost every second.

abt what the ppl of ajmer thought...hmmm...they must have loved their king if he was a good king that is. also they must have thought prithvi marrying the only daughter of kannauj's king would mean a bigger kingdom. i guess neither prc nor sanjogita ever thought her father would hold such a strong grudge over prc that he would even join hands with his enemies to get his daughter's husband killed.

TheRager thumbnail

Originally posted by: lime ice

Ya,U could be right,Jyots...But also,HOWW WOULD ANYY OF THIS BE RELEVANT TO THE PPL OF AJMER IF PRC HAD NOT NEGLECTED THE STATE AFFAIRS?? IT WOULDN'T HAVEE...SEE...The first priority that a King has is to his Kingdom...Which,after marrying Sanyo,PRC had started dismissing...SO,THIS could have resulted in feelings of animosity towards PRC(COULD BE) & Sanyo(could be too)...Otherwise,IF he had attended to the State affairs like always,his Kingdom would not have bothered at alll...It all just stems.from PRC not attending to Ajmer properly....THIS is what (IF IT WAS SOO) would have resultted in hostility of PRC'S Kingdom towards him...AGAIN...WE ARE JUST SPECULATING šŸ˜†

true!

TheRager thumbnail

Originally posted by: Jattinder!

not neceserilly

the people of ajmer may have heard other states speaking bad about their king, they would have probably gone two ways either they would get annoyed with the ohter people or feel a bit ashamed of their king.

arre yaar we are not speculating we are just discussing and sharing our views.

This topic has made me think of points that would never have crossed my mind before

kidnapping women...marrying the defeated kings wife etc were common practice till the middle ages all over the world including india. i dont think the janta of ajmer were ashamed of prc doing sanyo haran. esp since sanyo herself wanted to be kidnapped. šŸ˜‰

TheRager thumbnail

Originally posted by: mayuragulati

just the word "elopment" is not right or wrong. u have to see the ppl., circumstances and time n then judge it accordingly. (just like the word EMA) ..... nobody will say it's right if it was against sanyogita's wish. if sanyogita had married someone else against her wishes , spoil her life wud tht be noble? just to satisfy jaichand's ego, she shud have agreed to marry someone else? it's true tht the animosity b/w prithvi and jaichand lead to weakening of both their kingdoms but if tht ego, arrogance, jealously factor was not present then may be the history of india wud have been somewhat different. if jaichand and prithvi had reconciled then it was not difficult to defeat ghori. poor prithvi, he want for the battle all alone.

my belief is prithvi n sanyogita had set an example. just like shri krishna and rukmani did. krishnaji said at tht time tht i'm doing this bec. i want the world to know tht girls must have a complete freedom to decide who they want to marry . and we must not take away this right from them.

mayura

well said mayura!

jatt1234 thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail
yaa!completely well said!! lol sorry it ihnk i forgot to mention that...

so basically its all down to jelousy and all those other factors thatyou shouldnt have haha...

also do you think the ppl of kannauj would have been anoyed? and so hated prithvi and sanyo?
TheRager thumbnail
I guess they would be annoyed. their king lost a chance to become the king of delhi, got defeated by prc so many times plus their princess preferred to elope with prc too!
not sure what they felt abt jaichand joining hands with ghori. i guess at that time it was difficult for ppl to realize the historical significance.
in general for the common public it didnt matter who was the king...they had to pay taxes to some guy or the other. but no one liked to be over-taxed or be taxed when they couldnt pay them(like it happens in lagaan). when the rulers tried to do that they were called bad rulers.
jatt1234 thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail
hmmm yeah i think jaichand and ghori joining hands they would have regarded as good move... they definately didnt realize what damage it would cause...you knowwhat though...isnt it weird how history can all change becoz of one person? if jaichand hadnt been like that and had accepted their relationship...kannauj and ajmer would both have fought agenst ghori together...
256747 thumbnail
AND WOULD HVE WONN,Jyots........I HATEEE JAICHAND EVEN MORE THENN GHORI 😔
TheRager thumbnail
not only jaichand if i remember right many rajput rulers were against prc. i guess like jaichand they were all jealous but if jaichand would have accepted their relationship and adopted prc as a son it would have been a different story prolly.
jaichand could have thought always since prc is like a son he getting delhi is like he himself getting delhi and gotten the 2 married.
TheRager thumbnail
btw what happened to jaichand after prc loses to ghori?