mayyo thumbnail
Visit Streak 500 Thumbnail 14th Anniversary Thumbnail + 7

Originally posted by: sweetkj

auntyjeee

i am not retreating!!

its just that i think we should continue it tomorrow or some other time..!!

because i need sleep!!
have to wake up early tomorrow morning!!

That's the spirit, young lady! 'Aaj main thak gayi hoon so let's continue with the discussion tomorrow'! 😆
sweetkj thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail Networker 1 Thumbnail

Originally posted by: mayyo13

That's the spirit, young lady! 'Aaj main thak gayi hoon so let's continue with the discussion tomorrow'! 😆

was this one more act of your diplomacy??? 😕
mayyo thumbnail

Originally posted by: sweetkj

was this one more act of your diplomacy???😕

No no no! This was my act of supporting single ladies against married women! 😃
Susegad thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 4

No no no! This was my act of supporting single ladies against married women! 😃

All I can say to you kids is, Been there done that. Nani bhi bohot baar yaad aa chuki hain. I've been in your shoes so I know what you are talking about. But you can't say the same to me can you. I can stand and think bacche hain, bhagwan na kare inhe sahi mein nani yaad aa jaye.
Love you guys too much for that. Toh udon baccho , jitna upar udd sakte ho udon.
Good night and sweet dreams.😃
mayyo thumbnail

Originally posted by: Susegad

All I can say to you kids is, Been there done that. Nani bhi bohot baar yaad aa chuki hain. I've been in your shoes so I know what you are talking about. But you can't say the same to me can you. I can stand and think bacche hain, bhagwan na kare inhe sahi mein nani yaad aa jaye.
Love you guys too much for that. Toh udon baccho , jitna upar udd sakte ho udon.
Good night and sweet dreams.😃

Aww! Love you too Apa! 🤗
You know we're just joking around, don't you? 😳
Susegad thumbnail

Aww! Love you too Apa! 🤗
You know we're just joking around, don't you? 😳

Hellloo!! Yeh bhi koi kehne ki baat hui? Abhi toh kaha I am tumse char kadam agey. Of course I know you are joking. Par mazak mazak mein laga, you guys are so young and full of dreams, so confident and ready to take on the world. I just felt so proud of you guys that's all. Accha laga.
mayyo thumbnail

Originally posted by: Susegad

Hellloo!! Yeh bhi koi kehne ki baat hui? Abhi toh kaha I am tumse char kadam agey. Of course I know you are joking. Par mazak mazak mein laga, you guys are so young and full of dreams, so confident and ready to take on the world. I just felt so proud of you guys that's all. Accha laga.

😊
mayyo thumbnail
Here's the next chapter of the story. I'm a little nervous about it. I hope you guys like it! 😊

Chapter Three

I pace in my room as I think about how to cope with my nervousness for the speech. I can't even tell this to my friends because they're going to make fun of me. After all, it's not so common a sight for Maan Singh Khurana to be nervous. But I am today. The reason? Speech. Not really. The reason is that I'm going to have to be under spotlight and she'll be sitting right there. Fourth seat from the left in the fifth row. The place she always sits. I'm nervous to be standing there delivering a speech when she will be looking at me. Will it be the first time that she'll look at me? What will she think of me? And about my speech? Urgh! I think I need to reach college soon now.

I reach the class and take a quick look around to see if she has come. She isn't in her seat yet so that means she's still not here. I greet my friends and exchange pleasantries. They tell me how they've stayed up most of the night to prepare for the speech and that they're still not satisfied. I don't say anything and they assume I'm well prepared. I let them think so. I don't want to be a laughing stock if I say how nervous I am. Maan Singh Khurana has always been a confident, outspoken guy and that's the image I'm going to keep intact.

I see her walking through the door just as I settle down in my seat. Just like all the other days, her eyes are cast towards the floor, only occasionally looking up and smiling if her eyes meet someone's. Too bad it's never been me. She looks different today. A pink Shalwar suit on her fair skin gives the feeling of roses and cream. She walks to her row and without raising her eyes to see me sitting just two seats diagonally in the row behind hers, she settles down. I sigh. Yet another
routine day where she won't notice I exist and I won't be able to get her out of my mind. Then I'll go over to the common room to steal some glances at her and she'll be gone without an inkling of everything going around her. As the professor announces the start of the speeches, I get to know that she'll be up for the seventh turn. I hope she does well.

-------------------------------------

As I enter the class, I shoot a quick prayer to God to help me. The short chat with Chhoti over the phone has given a little confidence but I'm still not very sure how I'll end up doing. I'm nervous. Not really about the content of my speech because it'll vary from person to person. I'm more nervous about having to speak in pin drop silence when I'll be standing on the dais and all eyes will be on me. What if I stammer? God help me!

Fifteen minutes later, the class is well settled and pretty much full. My turn will be the seventh one. I have some time to once again revise the speech I've already learnt by heart. One by one, I hear my predecessors do speeches which are being applauded and praised. And now it's my turn. I walk over to the podium and smile politely at the three professors sitting on the right corner and judging the students. As I turn to face my audience and the shivering of my legs comes to the forefront of my brain, Chhoti's words reverberate in my ears. Don't look into the eyes of your audience, look straight over their heads at a place behind them somewhere. And don't let your nervousness show. With this in my mind and another quick prayer, I begin what I've been planning for and dreading of a few days.

All I can feel at the moment is my dropped jaw and a stunned silence around the class. The only voice which is being heard is hers. Seems like nobody expected her to be this confident, looking nothing like the reserved person that we think she is. If she is feeling any nervousness, she isn't letting it show. Two and a half minutes pass in a jiffy and I haven't heard a single word of what she said. Only when I don't hear her speak any more do I realise that I have been staring at her without blinking my eyes and mouth open wide. A shadow of apprehension passes her face when nobody reacts for a few moments. The stunned silence breaks into a thunderous applause. I clap too, though more in surprise than about her speech which I haven't heard a word of.

As the professors praise her speech and her confidence, I feel like a proud parent who's child has just won a difficult competition. I see her attentively listening to the professors' analyses of her speech and then thank them as they tell her to take her seat. She walks back again, but this time she smiles and thanks our classmates as they express how much they liked her speech. I wish to talk to her too. To tell her how happy I am that she did well. But I don't. I just stay glued to my seat with my eyes trained on her. Just as she is about to turn around to sit, she looks up and our eyes meet for a spilt second, but she was fast to settle down in her seat without giving me time enough to react. Maybe she didn't even notice our eyes meet.

I smile at and thank everyone saying they liked my speech. All the praise is making me happy, of course. But it's also making me a little embarrassed. Was my speech really this good? I reach my seat and just before sitting down, I look up at my classmates to see them all looking at me. I quickly turn around and sit down so I can calm the after effects of just having done something I never thought I could do. My legs still shivering and heart still galloping, I pointedly ignore the stares thrown my way and concentrate on appearing to be calm and composed, trying not to let my breathing turn into hyperventilation - which is on the fringes, ready to take me over the moment my control slips.

Eight speeches and forty minutes later, I'm pretty much back to normal. I look up occasionally to see the speaker but otherwise keep my eyes on the sheets of paper in front of me. Amidst all the well memorised names of my classmates, I hear the next one and almost roll my eyes. It's his turn and I'm sure the girls won't listen to his speech. They'll be busy looking into his oh-so-dreamy eyes. The familiar husky sound of his voice fills the room and I hear my neighbour sigh. I want to laugh out loud at this but now isn't the time. Instead, I try to concentrate on his words. An almost inaudible tremor in his voice at the start turns into the usual firm, confident flow of words that I'm used to hearing from him in class.

Nodding appreciatively at his words, I raise my eyes to look at him. I lower my eyes to look down again only to raise them back up almost immediately. His eyes. There is something in his eyes which entrances me. Perhaps it's the zeal, the sincerity with which he is speaking. Or maybe it's the dark brown colour. Or the unexpected depth of his eyes. Whatever it is, it makes me look into those eyes as they roam around the class. I look down just when his gaze meets mine. Embarrassed at my act, I blink rapidly to get rid of my thoughts. His speech ends, the class claps and the professors give their nods of appraisal. I don't look back up all this while. When I think he must be gone from the podium, I raise my eyes only to see him smile at one of his friends sitting in the first row. His smile is warm and untainted. Without my permission, a smile forms on my face too as I think of what I wrote about his eyes and smile. So this is what it's all about. I have to admit, he has a nice smile and deep eyes but that isn't reason enough for the girls to be head over heels for him. At least that's what I think.

Edited by mayyo13 - 12 years ago
516645 thumbnail
I am in love. Absolutely, crazily, madly, deeply, irrevocably, shittily, stupidly, idiotically, blindly, truly, totally, from the moment I had my eyes on the title called Chapter Three, from the moment he, who was outspoken and an extrovert felt nervous of getting an opportunity where she had to notice him, when he wondered if it was the first time she would notice him. Why oh why, you have to do this? My dreamy smile vanished for a second, and I felt a prick at his innocent musing.

Will it be the first time that she'll look at me? What will she think of me? And about my speech? Urgh! I think I need to reach college soon now.

I came out of it, trying to erase the memory, I believed I loved this guy already but I was up for a surprise. There was more.

I see her walking through the door just as I settle down in my seat. Just like all the other days, her eyes are cast towards the floor, only occasionally looking up and smiling if her eyes meet someone's. Too bad it's never been me. She looks different today. A pink Shalwar suit on her fair skin gives the feeling of roses and cream. She walks to her row and without raising her eyes to see me sitting just two seats diagonally in the row behind hers, she settles down. I sigh. Yet another
routine day where she won't notice I exist and I won't be able to get her out of my mind. Then I'll go over to the common room to steal some glances at her and she'll be gone without an inkling of everything going around her.
As the professor announces the start of the speeches, I get to know that she'll be up for the seventh turn. I hope she does well.

Had anyone seen me while I was reading the update, they would have thought I were a mime artist, with no sound escaping my lips and my facial expressions changing drastically, from smile to hurt to smile again.

When I believe I loved this man through and through, you introduce her. And I almost want to hit you. You give him competition and me confusion. Now I don't know whom to choose, to say I love. Her nervousness, her talking with her Chhoti for moral support, her feeling nervous, but calming her racing heart, and not showing her inner fears and doing a great job, it made me so proud of her, just as he felt. Her being embarrassed wondering if she really had done well, her lowering her eyes and listening to his speech only to look at his eyes, and finding how sincere they were, and the smile that captured her was warm and untainted. That was enough for me to die and go to heaven. Not before taking a sneak peek at the last line.

So this is what it's all about. I have to admit, he has a nice smile and deep eyes but that isn't reason enough for the girls to be head over heels for him. At least that's what I think.

Okay now I am officially dead. Please look for my obituary advertisement on tomorrow's paper.
Edited by TheBrat - 12 years ago
Susegad thumbnail
Me saw me saw the reserved. Me waiting. Thank God jaake soyi nahi.
Oh I have to say reserved right?😆
Edited:
😊😃😳☺️.😳😃😊 And the whole cycle repeats again.
Maan has fallen and Geet is tripping. Just perfect. That's all I'm going to say about the update as
I am not in an analytical state of mind. So, I'm not going to analyse, or bisect or dissect or do any kind of secting to this wonderful update and destroy this feeling of reminiscent euphoria.
I'm just going to tell you how I am feeling.
First time I read it a silly smile was plastered all over my mug. The second time I read it a wider grin was plastered on my face. You know sometimes I wish I had never watched Geet then,but would just discover it now, so that I can experience all those heart tingling thingies, anew. That is exactly how I feel reading the update. Kash padhke khatam nahi kiya hota.
There is a song called "Aur ahista kijiye baatiein" by Pankaj Udhas, and the video of that is awesome. The video too is about puppy love, and though your update is completely different form it somehow for me the fit between the too was perfect. As that video too gives me the same feelings.
Woh nazar ka na chahte hue bhi baar baar kisi ki taraf dekhna, yuhi muskurana, dil ka dhadakna, Wah Mayyoji Wah. Apne bhi kin yaddon ko taza kar diya. Infact, I am so glad you did coz these were the feelings once invoked by my husband, but in the the daily grind of life, even if the love does not lessen the sweetness of the feelings get lost. Until something comes along and reminds you of that wonderful feeling. So guess what I invited my husband in the middle of the day for a lunch date and right now am waiting for him at the restaurant as I am commenting. All thanks to you and my walk down memory lane.
Love you Mayyo, for giving me a wonderful day today through your penned words.
Saat samandar paar se sending you the biggest hug 🤗
You are the best.
Edited by Susegad - 12 years ago