Some internet pages say so. Is it true?
Page
of
1Some internet pages say so. Is it true?
Yeh Rishta Kya Kehlata Hai - 04 Aug 2025 EDT
UPMA&ICECREAM 4.8
ONE MONTH TIME 3.8
CID Episode 66 - 3rd August
BALH Naya Season EDT Week # 8: Aug 4 - Aug 8
Jhanak Written Update And Episode Discussion thread No "123"
National Awards mockery: Legendary Urvashi slams awarding SRK on Pg 2
Anupamaa 04 Aug 2025 Written Update & Daily Discussions Thread
Maira’s classes
Member topic: What do you do on weekends?
Abhira’s infertility issue
Are you interested to watch War 2 in cinemas?10 days to go!
Who will win best new face female of 2025?
Dhanush And Mrunal Thakur Reportedly Dating
Yeh Rishta Kya Kehlata Hai August 5, 2025 Episode Discussion Thread
I just went through the part of Vibheeshana's rajyabhishek in Griffith's translation right now.
I didn't find any mention to Mandodari there, she disappears after lamenting over Ravana's curse.
Kamban mein she commits suicide at that point.
I'll check some other versions too and check if something I can find, but this is a very famous story. 😳
-edit-
Krittivasi mentions the non-extinguishable pyre of Ravana, but nothing about the marriage.
I can't access the Ananda and Adbhut versions, but neither of them place much importance on this part of the story.
You also asked ke if yes, they why. If we do consider the story, then we will also have to admit that Lanka was a latent matriarchy. It sure adds up, Vibheeshana wouldn't be able to become the King after his brother (i.e. if previous king was of same generation; same prob for Sugreeva, so in all matching sources, Sugreeva also marries Vali's wife Queen Tara).
That would also explain (ignoring divine aspect) why Ravana didn't just force himself upon Seeta, that was because Mandodari was staunchly against this, and Ravana couldn't cross her in such a touchy subject.
@Pro good points raised
But as far as I know although Lanka did give more importance to women if we compare with Indian mainland but it wasn't completely matriarchal, Ravan had himself gained the reign of Lanka and didn't feel the need to marry the wife of Kuber to become the king, so I don't think marrying the existing queen was that importance
Originally posted by: FlauntPessimism
@Pro good points raised
But as far as I know although Lanka did give more importance to women if we compare with Indian mainland but it wasn't completely matriarchal, Ravan had himself gained the reign of Lanka and didn't feel the need to marry the wife of Kuber to become the king, so I don't think marrying the existing queen was that importance
I wasn't talking about Lanka under Kubera, cause that was still under Aryan rule at that point. I believe, whichever versions go along with the 2nd marriage of Mandodari, usually point at this tradition existing in all non-Aryan kingdoms like Kishkindha and Lanka.
Although South India in ancient times was almost leaning towards matriarchy. At least behind closed doors Ravana's mom Kaikasi was definitely the matriarch of their family.
However, none of the major versions support this story, so I don't think we have much to worry about. 😳