aviation-ca thumbnail
16th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail + 4
Sonapari.. now I understand where you are coming from...
Yes it is very unfortunate that there is such abuse in this world... and again.. I think if you look logically.. that guy is more Shyam than Arnav..
Again it comes down to Anger/Abuse with Malice, intentional it is a red flag... a big no no.. those kind of people never ever change...
But anger as a reaction to hurt.. like an animal hitting out while hurt.. yes if that hurt is healed then yes this person can be (no guarantees) healed by the right person.. and yes it takes someone like Khushi.. who is selfless and yet determined...
How do I know this?? I have seen it in close quarters...
SK_Love thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 5
i left forum for this reason..but came back due to nelo
-sanika- thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail + 2

Originally posted by: sonapari

what a coincidence...
i also don't like strawberries...😆
Arre yaar,every human has faults...
tell me how logical is it to force someone into marrying you?
wouldn't a smart guy try to find out truth first?
in history of ipkknd there are many illogical things.
but biggest of them is after terrace scene asr forces khushi into marriage...
why?isn't it better to find out truth first?
i mean logical guy would have analyzed situation,applied some brains & would have thought it through...
another thing is his emotional outbursts...
he just takes his anger out on people as if they are not humans...
so being smart means being in control of your emotions...
but so called smart,logical guy is never in control of his emotions...
i don't think his behaviour is logical...

You should blame the CVs for this. Desi drama and all that. A person like ASR, if he existed in real life would never have done this. I should know. I am a self-proclaimed female ASR in real life 😳

he doesn't interest me because i love ,admire,adore selfless people like khushi...
she is in love with him despite all his faults...that speaks volume about who she is...

I totally understand. Memyselfandarshi is a dear fan of mine and a complete Khushi lover. That is her choice. I like ASR. Simple.

though in real life i won't wish anybody being in relationship with ruthless,cruel,heartless guy...
it's like smoking...
when a filmy hero smokes...you feel he is so cool...(i used to think so when i was teenager)...
when you see someone smoking in real life ...it disgusts you...

I hate smoking. It have never appealed to me. The only thing I can think about when I see a person smoking is "lung cancer". I immediately stop breathing if someone if smoking near me. Pataa nahi Italy main 3 saal kaise nikaaloongi! Also, I do not find it logical. There is no gain and the risk is high. Its over all a bad deal.

so it took me so many years to understand all these things...
because one of my close frds sister was a victim of an abusive husband...
we attended that wedding...
we used to get feeling that something wasn't right in my frd's life...
never thought it would be about her sister...
one day her uncle came to hostel to pick her up...
after two days read in newspaper that her sister was poorly treated...
it has left me with so much hurt...pain...
after few yrs somebody told me ...my frd's sister was illtreated since day 1...
her husband was very goodlooking... an industraialist in our region...i think an AC manufacturing company...
it was love marriage...
he kept taunting her for not being rich,pretty ...
she was subjected to burns...
he never allowed her to meet with her parents...
so so sad yaar...
it affected me so much ,i was just 19 at that time...
so it's a living hell marrying a control freak husband...she paid the price for it...it might look cool on tv...but it's sad when it happens in real life...

I am really sorry that you had to go through this. I can understand better why you react to ASR in such an extreme manner. In real life, people are cruel. That is a fact of life. Again quoting ASR, "Nakli phool taare lagaane se duniya khoobsoorat nahi jo jaati. Yeh duniya utni hi bedard aur patthar dil hain jitni humesha thi"

This just proves my point that every person has only himself to depend upon to fight for their right. Like charity, justice should begin at home. I hope your friend finds the strength in her to walk out of this abusive relationship and make a happy life for herself. But such decisions cannot be enforced on people. It has to be their decision. Once she has made this decision, the different avenues and pathways will open up for her.

I recently read about a girl, who ran away from her controlling family because they weren't letting her pursue her studies. She has got an offer for a Phd and she took it and ran away from home. The situation is so bad for her that she has had to change her name and her entire identity. If she is caught, she might be killed or shipped of to the middle east. It breaks her heart to completely leave people she cares about behind, but she knows what she wants and she went after it. This girl has my endless respect. Given a chance, I would go to any lengths to her her, if she asks.

in no way i am comparing asr to that freak ...plz don't get me wrong...
asr is a control freak too but the guy has heart...since getting kidnapped he is a changed man...

I can understand that you can't help but compare ASR to your friends husband. It is very logical. But I see myself in ASR. I am a very strong person. I am naturally dominating and people no matter the age, country, designation ,do not mess with me. I am used to being in a position of authority and respect and am attracted to people who are similar to me. I am confident that I can handle a person like ASR without any side effects to myself. As I mentioned before, I am like the female version of ASR without the anger issues or any horrible pasts. I like to have things in my control, I like being independent and I don't need help to achieve my goals.
Edited by -sanika- - 13 years ago
Horizon thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 90 Thumbnail + 2

Originally posted by: -sanika-

I didn't find your analogy offensive. I just don't get into pointless discussions. I see no logical premise for your assumptions about me. One thing I detest is lack of logic. I find that more irritating than people swearing at me.

Since you were so interested, having read both Mein Kampf and An experiment with Truth, I am well equipped to handle a debate over Hitler vs Gandhi scenario. We shall discuss more, when you give it a go as well. 😊 They are really interesting books. On doing so, you will realise that Hitler did have some good aspects where as Gandhi had his dark side. Like every other human being. For you kind information, Gandhi fell into the ruthless, heartless category as well according to some people, especially by his very own son. Whom will you believe more, his kith or kin or the people who probably saw him giving some speech? What made Gandhi important? The results he derived. Do you remember the names of everyone who fought for the freedom struggle? I don't. That is because only the leaders are remembered even though they didn't achieve the success on their own. Also, one very interesting historical fact : Gandhi and Hitler were friends:

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/a/a3/Gandhi_to_Hitler.jpg

Coming back to IPK since it is a IPK forum, me not liking Khushi is not equivalent to me disliking her. In maths, there is a number zero, discovered by Aryabhatt. She simply doesn't interest me. Because, she doesn't have the qualities I admire. To put it into even simpler words for your understanding, I do not like the taste of fish or strawberries. Must be something in my tongue receptors because of which I cannot enjoy its taste.But there are many who do. Who is correct in this scenario?

It is okay to like different stuff. Variety is the spice of life as they say. If everybody liked the same things, life would be extremely boring.

Want to give you a standing ovation for your very lucid and scientific explanation of your ideas... but since we are on this virtual land..👏

Yes, Gandhi can be interpreted as the THE MOST ruthless freedom fighter, after all one can only imagine the kind of toughness required to lead and achieve the end result he desired!

Coming to Khushi, exactly... her character doesn't have the flavor that appeals to me
!! And, why should anyone defend/ like any one else just becos their racial identities or genetic make ups are the same... and color their judgement with any prejudices!!!
Edited by Horizon - 13 years ago
-sanika- thumbnail

Originally posted by: memyselfandrshi

ohh ...thats y the confusion...whereas I am just clarifying based on the title...

Ofcourse m not saying ASR has not credit at all in his change that is just not possible. As they say " You can take the horse to the water but not make it drink it". The abuse we talk about is first of all blackmailing her into a marriage, using abusive words like calling her characterless, gold digger what not without even checking if his premise was right. When we speak the duty lies on us to make sure we utter the right words based on right assumptions, so i don't think khushi needed to prove whether she was a gold digger or not. Also, him doing that in itself proves him as a aggressor not a person with a thinking analyzing bend of mind.

Manhandling her too just bcos he is physically stronger than her. Clarifying the point about y she accepted his blackmail, yes he was a ruthless businessman so she should not have accepted. But that's exactly the premise when one person uses a certain leverage they have to bend people to their wills, like a person holding a gun can rape/rob a person.

That is what nah, if I was in Khushi's position, one tight chamaat followed by a kick in a vulnerable place would have ensued. I am physically strong, unlike Khushi and can defend myself. That is the main difference. But simply because , some one says you have to marry me, I am not going to go say yes. Instead I would say , go ahead, I dare u. ASR would have to deal with ASR not Khushi :P

Also, I would have disclosed the Shyaamu truth the day I found out, so me landing up in any of Khushi's predicaments is highly unlikely. If we start discussing this further, it will turn in Arnav vs Khushi again . So instead of pointing fingers at khushi, I would say , that I would have done things way differently, hence not landing in her situations.

But then again, the CVs have written this to create a drama, I am sure people would have behaved differently in real life.
Rockerchic thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 4
I actually wonder why they support either of the characters.

Arnav -A man handeler w/ anger management issues and trust problems.
Khushi -A spineless doormat who never stands up for herself.

But defending a character has nothing to with whether they condone the same views in real life. Often times it's just about perspective.
thechaigirl thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail Fascinator 1 Thumbnail

Originally posted by: -sanika-

That is what nah, if I was in Khushi's position, one tight chamaat followed by a kick in a vulnerable place would have ensued. I am physically strong, unlike Khushi and can defend myself. That is the main difference. But simply because , some one says you have to marry me, I am not going to go say yes. Instead I would say , go ahead, I dare u. ASR would have to deal with ASR not Khushi :P

Also, I would have disclosed the Shyaamu truth the day I found out, so me landing up in any of Khushi's predicaments is highly unlikely. If we start discussing this further, it will turn in Arnav vs Khushi again . So instead of pointing fingers at khushi, I would say , that I would have done things way differently, hence not landing in her situations.

But then again, the CVs have written this to create a drama, I am sure people would have behaved differently in real life.

Girl gotcha...thats what we are not discussing what u or I would do or what khushi should do. We are discussing that is it right for someone who has a gun to point it at someone and make that person bend (thats y that action is called a crime)? We are discussing no matter what his reason's is it right for people to condone the wrong things (verbal abuse, emotional abuse, manhandling) he did. My reply to u before this was just to clarify what wrong he did...See just bcos one is not able to defend themselves does not make the wrong doer right...

sur91 thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 90 Thumbnail + 6

Originally posted by: Rockerchic

I actually wonder why they support either of the characters.

Arnav -A man handeler w/ anger management issues and trust problems.
Khushi -A spineless doormat who never stands up for herself.

But defending a character has nothing to with whether they condone the same views in real life. Often times it's just about perspective.

I like ur views the best and I totally agree with them. Sometimes I agree with arnav and sometimes with khushi but this doesn't mean I'll defend them coz firstly none of them is worth defending and u put down thier definition, very correctly. If ASR was abusive then khushi also never did anything to stand up for herself, then why should I being a modern strong girl, who will slap a guy who even tries to manhandle me, support her? I don't see a logic behind supporting or defending any of them. They both are flawed and though many a times I might favor one over the other, but I never defend any of them
-sanika- thumbnail

Originally posted by: memyselfandrshi

Girl gotcha...thats what we are not discussing what u or I would do or what khushi should do. We are discussing that is it right for someone who has a gun to point it at someone and make that person bend (thats y that action is called a crime)? We are discussing no matter what his reason's is it right for people to condone the wrong things (verbal abuse, emotional abuse, manhandling) he did. My reply to u before this was just to clarify what wrong he did...See just bcos one is not able to defend themselves does not make the wrong doer right...

Yes he blackmailed her. But why wasn't she smart enough to save herself. The answer is TRP. That entire situation isn't logical or reality. You and I both know, I am a very result oriented person. The end justifies the means. Simple. Right and wrong do not enter the equation for me when there is an urgent need for action. Sometimes you do not have the luxury of time. Every person has the right to do what is best for them self. Sometimes your right maybe wrong for others. That is just how life is.

As far as the verbal abuse or the manhandling goes, why has the complain never come from Khushi? Should I assume from her actions that she is a secret masochist then ? She loves pain and is repeating the same mistakes, because she likes it? (Some people do like it in real life! ) No nah? She simply did not have the means to save herself from that situation. That is your defence for her and my offence. For me, she should have been able too. But she couldn't. In her situation ASR would have. That is his appeal for me. No matter what the excuses or reasons are. Facts and figures. He might not have done what was right (the whole concept went down hill and unrealistic from there TBH) but he did what was needed.
Edited by -sanika- - 13 years ago
shinaa thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail Networker 1 Thumbnail
I think that as much as people deny to accept that its not the factor i feel that somewhere the very fine line between arnav and barun is blurred for them.and sometimes they see barun except of arnav and hence cant take any insult let alone a bad word against him irrespective of how much logical that word is.i remember that i cried that day when khushi was forced to fake a smile and distribute mithai after arnie announce his engagement with lavanya at the diwali party.honestly i cried.and the next time i cried was thurseday seeing that girl sitting in front of the fire but unlike previous time i am not mad at him because i also think that this time he is not at fault the situation and dadi is zimedar.but i still didnt forgive him for the diwali incident or gift nahi to tip or sab tumhare sadi se khush hain par tumhe dekhke lag raha hain jaisi tumhe abhi pata chala ke woh amir nahin hain line or apne amma bauji se najre kaise milati ho or innumerable occasion when he insulted her.but then also i see people defending him this lead the above conclusion sometime or should i say for some people the line got blurred.