hiddenstar thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail

Originally posted by: Bossman

The easiest way to distinguish a BB from an ATBB is ticket's sold!

Most Watched Films In Theatres (Modern Era)
Rank Film Year Gross Average Ticket Rate Probable Average Ticket Rate Footfalls
1 Gadar Ek Prem Katha 2001 130,25,00,000 40 32 4,07,00,000
2 Hum Aapke Hain Kaun 1994 123,00,00,000 35 35 3,51,00,000
3 Raja Hindustani 1996 85,00,00,000 36 30 2,83,00,000
4 Dilwale Dulhania Le Jayenge 1995 106,50,00,000 35 38 2,80,00,000
5 Three Idiots 2010 269,50,00,000 88 105 2,57,00,000
6 Ghajini 2008 155,00,00,000 80 70 2,21,00,000

These six, along with Dabanng are the only seven movies of the modern era to cross 2 Cr viewers.All are ATBB. CE sits somewhere between 1.3 to 1.4 Cr tickets sold.
To put it simply, if Gadar, the most watched film of the modern era, released today it would do around 500 Cr.

this will clear it all! 👏
hiddenstar thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail

Originally posted by: Caustic

The joke's on the topic-maker.

first figure out what the ATBB tag means then comment !😆 this just makes the joke on u ! 😛
don12 thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail

Originally posted by: Bossman

The easiest way to distinguish a BB from an ATBB is ticket's sold!

Most Watched Films In Theatres (Modern Era)
Rank Film Year Gross Average Ticket Rate Probable Average Ticket Rate Footfalls
1 Gadar Ek Prem Katha 2001 130,25,00,000 40 32 4,07,00,000
2 Hum Aapke Hain Kaun 1994 123,00,00,000 35 35 3,51,00,000
3 Raja Hindustani 1996 85,00,00,000 36 30 2,83,00,000
4 Dilwale Dulhania Le Jayenge 1995 106,50,00,000 35 38 2,80,00,000
5 Three Idiots 2010 269,50,00,000 88 105 2,57,00,000
6 Ghajini 2008 155,00,00,000 80 70 2,21,00,000

These six, along with Dabanng are the only seven movies of the modern era to cross 2 Cr viewers.All are ATBB. CE sits somewhere between 1.3 to 1.4 Cr tickets sold.
To put it simply, if Gadar, the most watched film of the modern era, released today it would do around 500 Cr.

I do wonder how much Gaddar would have earned if released now...easily 500 cr...

Aamir Khan has 3 movies in Top-6 interesting...

CE did beat 3I with higher ticket price.

Edited by don12 - 12 years ago
923901 thumbnail

Originally posted by: don12

I do wonder how much Gaddar would have earned if released now...easily 500 cr...

Aamir Khan has 3 movies in Top-6 interesting...

CE did beat 3I with higher ticket price.

The list isn't updated I think Dabangg in there too
Here's the list of India's biggest hits of all time with again Dabangg being at 5 or 6 but BOI only updates this every 5 years

All Time Earners Inflation Adjusted (Figures in Ind Rs)

Rank Film Year Nett Gross Gross Adjusted Gross Verdict
1 Hum Aapke Hain Kaun 1994 69,75,00,000 123,00,00,000 309,26,00,000 All Time Blockbuster
2 Gadar Ek Prem Katha 2001 75,50,00,000 130,25,00,000 286,55,00,000 All Time Blockbuster
3 Three Idiots 2009 202,57,00,000 269,50,00,000 269,50,00,000 All Time Blockbuster
4 Dilwale Dulhania Le Jayenge 1995 61,00,00,000 106,50,00,000 267,77,00,000 All Time Blockbuster
5 Raja Hindustani 1996 48,00,00,000 85,00,00,000 207,78,00,000 All Time Blockbuster
pathaka thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 365 Thumbnail + 6
i didnt kno gadar was so huge...i mean i knew it was a big hit...but the most watched movie of the modern era beating DDLJ and HAHK? (and those movies had crazy viewership)...thts interesting...if those kinda tickets were sold today, it would have easily made like 500 crores i guess..

was the movie mainly such a big success because of sunny deol and the jingoism?
Edited by pathaka - 12 years ago
931547 thumbnail

Originally posted by: pathaka

i didnt kno gadar was so huge...i mean i knew it was a big hit...but the most watched movie of the modern era beating DDLJ and HAHK? (and those movies had crazy viewership)...thts interesting...if those kinda tickets were sold today, it would have easily made like 500 crores i guess..

Yes, Gadar and HAHK both suffer from lack of media hype that 3 Idiots and DDLJ have gotten throughout the years. If you ask a random person which is the biggest hit of the 90's and 00's, they're most likely to say DDLJ and 3 Idiots. Blame it on the media. HAHK was the biggest hit of the 90's and Gadar of the 00's.

The Biggest Blockbusters Ever In Hindi Cinema

There are a few ways to decide the biggest hits ever in Hindi cinema. If we go to go by cost to earnings it is very clear cut and Jai Santoshi Maa (1975) is by far the biggest blockbuster ever. Jai Santoshi Maa (1975) was made on a 4-5 lakhs budget and collected a distributor share of 5 crore which is 100 times its costs. Next on the list would be Maine Pyaar Kiya (1989) which returned around 15 times its cost but even that is still way below the returns of Jai Santoshi Maa. But the real mega blockbusters we believe are decided by the volume of public watching them in a particular era. Jai Santoshi Maa would not have been an All Time Blockbuster if it was a big budget film of that time while Maine Pyaar Kiya would have just about made it. There are seven films in the history of Hindi cinema till date (2010) which stand above the others. What these films did is smash barriers by a distance. If a huge blockbuster of their times were expected to hit a certain level, then what these films did was go much much higher than that level. They all practically went twice as high. The seven films are easy to pick out but the order after Sholay is debatable but the following list is how we see it to be.

1. SHOLAY (1975) - Simply the most watched and loved film of Hindi cinema by a distance. Dominated theatres for 25 years with umpteen re-runs. Business in re-runs was on many occasions higher than newly released films of the time.

2. Mughal E Azam (1960) - Smashed all records when first released and the amazing re- run with its colour version (2004) gives it number two position.

3. Hum Aapke Hain Kaun (1994)/Gadar Ek Prem Katha (2001) - Tough to split the two, Hum Aapke Hain Kaun basically changed film business while Gadar is the most watched film of the modern era (post Hum Aapke Hain Kaun) . Basically these films are the biggest blockbusters of the modern era.

5. Mother India (1957) - The first film to smash records by a margin. Business is similar to Mughal E Azam but impact of that film in 2004 re-run gives it edge.

6. Dilwale Dulhania Le Jayenge (1995)/Three Idiots (2009) - Tough to split the two, Dilwale Dulhania Le Jayenge was a huge follow up a year after Hum Aapke Hain Kaun and a 15 year (still going) run at one cinema in Mumbai. Three Idiots was the first true mega blockbuster since business became dominated by multiplexes. Another similarity between the two is that though they were the second biggest hits of their respective decades they were liked more by the classes than Hum Aapke Hain Kaun and Gadar so therefore have a better media perception than those legendary box office blockbusters.

These 7 FILMS rose above and beyond what the business of a regular film was in those times and did 5,6,7 times that. The top 5 are unbeatable, maybe a film will beat 6,7 one day.

923901 thumbnail
Yeah first it's media and secondly coz of the productions house they belong to.
YRF & VVC/UTV are more media orientated where Rajshri & whatever productions Gadar belonged got lost. They make more films than Rajshri too. SO there's a space for them tto promote their old flicks through newer releases as Rajshri which has 1 film in 3 -6 years. Last major release they had was Vivah
Edited by Rambo.Rajkumar - 12 years ago
d-_-b thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 2

Originally posted by: pathaka

I guess both. I loved most of the movies which Sunny Deol did. He had his own fan following. Of course the extreme patriotism worked too. Songs were a rage too. Amisha Patel had a recent hit in the form of KNPH. So all worked in the favor of the movie. Personally I loved the movie but Its only when I came to this forum that I learnt quiet a few ppl were offended by the way they have portrayed Pakistan/is.
-SalShah4eva- thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Elite Thumbnail + 3
Nick mujhe kuch bhi read nahin karna 😡
pathaka thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 365 Thumbnail + 6
i knew abt HAHK... i remember when i was a kid...my family alone watched it like 10 times so i can imagine how popular it was...😆

then I remember DDLJ also being very popular...

but i dunt remember as much abt gadar being a craze which is strange coz its a more modern movie than the former 2...i guess i was too much into Lagaan at that time...my family didnt actually watch gadar...i watched it much later on TV...

plus, it could also be the case tht majority of gadar's viewership came from the North and since i was in south india, maybe i didnt experience that craze down here because sunny deol was never really that huge where i lived...it was always abt the khans and later, hrithik/ranbir...

3 Idiots was a huge craze down the south though...especially with students and youngsters...that was all ppl talked abt in colleges, hostels and parties for like a month...