Subhash Ghai casts Iqbal, again

sheetald thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail
Posted: 19 years ago

Subhash Ghai
Shreyas Talpade
The actor, whom we know as Iqbal today, Shreyas Talpade, has been added to Subhash Ghai's Apna Sapna Money Money, being directed by Sangeeth Sivan (of Kya Kool Hain Hum fame).

He finds his voice

He played mute and deaf in Iqbal, but this time, he'll speak. Says Sivan, "Shreyas plays an important character in the film, but it's still early for me to give away the characters." The film has completed two schedules.

Stepping in Dino's jootas

Talpade's character is a late addition. Although he is Ghai's protg, it was Sivan's idea to cast him in the film.

"I didn't know whether Shreyas was free when I told Ghai saab that I wanted to add him. I thought he may not make it, but I am happy that he did." According to sources, Dino Morea was supposed to do this role. Sivan explains, "Yeah, but that time, the character was different. Now, we wanted someone who would look very simple and in need of help."

Sivan had seen Iqbal and is very impressed with Talpade's histrionics. "I told Ghai Saab that I wanted Talpade, and he was very happy to hear that. There is no compromise to talent, and there are no two opinions about Shreyas being a fabulous performer."

Shreyas's homecoming

Shreyas, too, is thrilled with working with Ghai's banner, the second time around. "Sivan asked me if I was interested in doing something in the Mukta Arts project he was handling. I loved the idea of doing a commercial film after Iqbal. Plus, the fact that it was a Ghai film excited me even more; it was like coming home.

I am paired opposite Riya Sen in this film."

Playing Fida

Shreyas has also been signed for M F Hussain's autobiographical film The Making Of The Painter. He reveals, "I have almost finished reading M F Husain's autobiography. I have to learn painting and the Urdu language.

And, of course, spend a lot of time with him to get the body language right, as I am portraying him in the film. We were supposed to start in December, but Hussain saab has not been keeping well," he laughs.

Sivan plans to wrap up Apna Sapna Money Money in March. Besides Shreyas, Jackie Shroff, Sunil Shetty, Riteish Deshmukh, Koena Mitra, Celina Jaitley, Riya Sen, Chunkey Pandey and Anupam Kher form the main cast.

MS.ATTITUDE thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail
Posted: 19 years ago
KOI SCHA DIRECTOR NAHI MILA IS KO