d-_-b thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 2
They are remaking this movie I guess. Haven't seen the original but am sure the new one can't match the original.
Nishita123 thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 365 Thumbnail + 5
^ AB got Angry Young Man's tag from Zanzeer only right ??

Pran and AB's chemistry was good...
642126 thumbnail
Yes Amitabh Bachchan got the title of Angry Young Man from Zanjeer only.

The fact that Ram Charan, son of a Megastar like Chiranjeevi, who's a young superstar in his own right now, is making his debut in the remake of Zanjeer speaks volumes about what significance this film has.

This film has one of the best ever songs on friendship and one of the greatest songs from Manna Dey's singing career - Yaari Hai Imaan Mera Yaar Meri Zindagi!

It has one of the best remembered roles in Ajit's career. Though he's more famous as Lion of Kaalicharan but it's this film and this character that served as a template for that film as well!
642126 thumbnail
ZANJEER TRIVIA:

- Every big hero from Raaj Kumar, Dev Anand to Dharmendra refused to do Zanjeer.

- Main reason for refusal was that hero did not have lip-sync songs whereas there was trend of musicals those days. Songs alone could make films hits.

- Dharmendra had loved the script of Zanjeer and even wanted to produce it. But his younger brother advised him to refuse it. So he parted with the script to Prakash Mehra for Rs. 50,000.

- Prakash Mehra was not keen on casting Amitabh Bachchan. It was Pran who had recommended Bachchan for this film after seeing his action sequences in Bombay To Goa.

- Amitabh Bachchan had suffered a dozen flops before this film and even got ultimatum from his father. He had decided that if Zanjeer also flopped then he would return to do his job at Kolkata. Zanjeer was his last hope.

(It turned the tide for him and how!)
😎

- At the premiere of Zanjeer, no one was paying attention to Amitabh. Media and industry people openly said they'd come to watch it as Pran saab was the hero. It is said, Amitabh overheard them and had tears in his eyes. 😭

But after the screening was over, everybody was bowled over by Amitabh Bachchan!
👏
Edited by Skepblun - 12 years ago
TheRager thumbnail
21st Anniversary Thumbnail Achiever Thumbnail + 4
One of my all time favorite films. Glad that it completing 40 years coincided with Pran receiving the Dadasaheb Phalke Award.
Swetha-Sai thumbnail

Originally posted by: briahna

that famous dialogue, from this movie?

"aaj mere paas, gadi hai, bangla hai, bank balance hai, kya hai tumhare paas, bolo?
"mere paas ma hai."
kya dialogue hai...with that happy mothers to all in advance!

^ @bold black
This dialog was from Deewar movie and not Zanjeer movie
642126 thumbnail
Amitabh Bachchan's tweet on 40th anniversary of Zanjeer:

T 1105 - 40 years anniversary of film 'Zanjeer' today .. an entire lifetime gone by .. what a moment .. Salim-Javed for thinking of me, thank you ...have always wondered how they did .. a failed newcomer .. so much connected to the film .. what a time in the life of a life !!

Link - https://www.twitlonger.com/show/n_1rk80b2
🥳
642126 thumbnail
Zanjeer success got Amitabh Bachchan and Jaya Bhaduri married in 1973:

The year 1973 and London played a pivotal role in the beautiful journey that the couple was soon going to undertake. Jaya and Amitabh had planned a trip to London to celebrate Amitabh's film Zanjeer's success. But Amitabh's parents raised concerns over going out with a girl without marriage.

Amitabh was more than happy to tie the knot and asked Jaya for her consent. Jaya readily agreed and they got married and left for London the very same day.

(Source - IndiaTV News)
642126 thumbnail
Prakash Mehra, director of Zanjeer on Amitabh Bachchan's dedication:

An extract on Zanjeer from Prakash Mehra's interview on Amitabh Bachchan to Rediff in 2002:

I was making Zanjeer and had thought of casting Dharmendra. It didn't work out. [Actor] Pransaab told us to check out this new boy in Bombay To Goa which had just released. So writers Salim Khan and Javed Akhtar and I went to see him. We clicked.

Zanjeer happened. The rest is history.

But I would like to point out that that that angry young man persona did not continue in my next film. I never exploited his image. I tried to give him a new image in each film. After Zanjeer I made a frothy comedy Hera Pheri. He was so good in it. I did Laawaris, Namak Halal, Muqaddar Ka Sikandar -- they were so different from each other.

Amitabh's most outstanding quality has been his sincerity and his commitment to his work. He is a thorough professional. That is why he has lasted so long.

I remember when we were shooting for Zanjeer, we had to shoot a fight scene on a bridge at night. Amit hurt his head and blacked out for a couple of minutes. Then he shook himself and said, 'Let's continue.'

When the scene was over, I ran my hand over his head and found a huge lump. He had apparently hurt himself badly. I said, 'We will cancel the shooting for the next few days till you're better.' He refused and continued shooting. His commitment is unmatched.

How many actors would do that?

Rest of the article is here - https://www.rediff.com/entertai/2002/oct/11prak.htm