Fatima

Thank you very much :D
I'm so glad you liked it!!
whimsical thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 30 Thumbnail + 5
Part 6
Masti

Parineeta and Adi sat with bated breath as they waited for the verdict.

"Good job, both of you" Savitri Devi said finally, ending their torment.

"Thank you, Ma'am," Parineeta piped up, "I assure you, Geet and Maan are made for each other. As per the results of my study, the correlation -"

"Pari Beta," Savitri Devi interrupted quickly, "I am assured. When Geet came to meet me, I could see that spark in her eyes. It's the same spark that Maan has always been waiting for, although he will never admit it."

"But Dadi," Adi said, still as confused as ever, "Following your instructions, I talked to Sir on Friday, and I don't think -"

"Don't think, Adi. The heart has its own reasons, follows its own logic. You said, in your brief, that your chat with Maan didn't go too well. But believe me, the more you get Maan to defend his position, the less stubborn he will become. I know my grandson. I don't know Geet though, but I'm hoping she will fall in love with him too, once he does. Hmm. Or vice-versa?"

"Ma'am," Parineeta provided, "I strongly contend that it will be Maan first. I have statistics that..."

Adi let out his nervous geeky laugh, drowning out the rest of Parineeta's well-rehearsed speech.

"MK Sir and love!" he exclaimed, "I'm sure Geet will fall for him first."

"Wanna bet on that?" Parineeta said, tending out her hand confidently.

"You may do that outside," Savitri Devi butted in, "And remember, as from now on, no interference. If it's meant to be, it will happen. If it doesn't happen, we switch to Plan B of course. Oh and Adi, I don't think we should worry about the fact that Maan knows that I suspect him, since he doesn't know the exact extent of my knowledge and involvement. Also, this means he will do his best to convince me that they are actually together. Which is perfect."

She dismissed her two aides and hastened to switch on the television set. Her favourite serial was about to start. It had kept her on tenterhooks the whole weekend.

And somewhere far, far away - well, technically it was just on the outskirts of town, but "far, far away" sounds better - Geet Handa was wishing she could be as lucky.

"Khurana," she pouted, "Couldn't you wait, like, one hour? The party starts at eleven. We didn't actually have to leave so early, right?"

Maan smiled. She was right, of course. It was his little revenge, seeing that she had purposely agreed to come to Dev's birthday bash only because he had not wanted her to.

"So what's the deal?" he asked, looking away from the steering wheel to be able to see her frown, "Why did you so badly want to leave after ten?"

"My serial!" Geet sighed to herself sadly.

Maan nearly crashed the car into the truck in front of them because he was positively shaking with laughter.

"A serial, Handa? A serial? This is amazing, you're even stupider than I thought. And it's an Indian serial, isn't it? Some crazy old lady with too much make-up trying to poison her weepy daughter-in-law. Handa, you're just... classic!"

"It's not like that, Khurana," Geet said defensively, "This one's different. There's this guy, played by Gurmeet Choudhary and - You know who that is, right?"

"Who?"

Geet rolled her eyes, "Hai Babaji! Well, he's only the most attractive man on the planet!"

"After me, you mean."

"Oh please!" she snorted, although she did privately think that Gurmeet Choudhary and this Khurana thing looked somewhat similar.

"Really? Oh, please go on. This is fascinating. So what makes him so hot?"

"Hai Babaji," he added, smirking, on noticing that Geet had involuntarily gasped at his choice of words, "Did I just say "hot"? I meant "attractive" of course."

Geet glared at him, wondering if she should continue. It would obviously be akin to casting pearls before swine. He would never understand. But, she decided to forge on. She felt duty-bound to try to enlighten baboons such as these and make men out of them. And then this was her favourite topic of conversation after all.

She smiled gracefully and began her ode,

"You mean, aside from the fact that he's extremely handsome? He is so passionate, so intense, whether he's angry or in love or just upset. And he's always, always there for this girl. Whenever she's in any kind of trouble, he just magically appears and risks his life for her. Like, this one time, she was drowning, and he -"

"I know. He jumped in and saved her. Smart move!"

"Yeah. Wait... What?"

"Well, the only reason why a right-thinking guy would do that is so he can use mouth-to-mouth resuscitation as an excuse to kiss the girl while she's unconscious. It's the oldest trick in the book."

"You're joking, right? And for your information, he didn't kiss her. He just put her down and left. What a gentleman!"

"What a waste! Oh no, but, there's a catch, isn't there? Aha! She wasn't unconscious, right?"

"Um, no, she wasn't, but -"

"Exactly! Which is why he probably regretted having jumped in so soon. Timing is everything in these things. He should have waited until some water got into her lungs. Now, this is why, after saving her, he just left. What else could he do? He was so disappointed, the amateur!"

"Hai Babaji! How can you say something like that about - Khurana, you're sick. Would you do something like that?"

"What do I look like? Coast guard? Too much effort, sweetheart. I don't need to do all that to score girls. My style is more subtle. I just walk into the room, and they're mesmerised. And then they start making plans to kiss me when I'm unconscious... Or otherwise."

For the rest of the drive, since Geet was too appalled to speak and Maan was too busy savouring his latest triumph, their silences quipped with each other instead, and they routinely exchanged the usual frowns, glares, smirks and humphs whenever the car stopped at a traffic light.

And with that, they had soon reached the birthday bash. Dev had booked a luxurious glass-walled lounge overlooking a huge lake mirroring millions of specks of city lights. He was talking to the caterers, when he saw that his brother had arrived. He looked at his watch. It was only half past ten. They were early.

"Bro!" he exclaimed loudly, as he began to walk up to Maan and Geet.

Geet immediately turned to Maan and enquired if he had been adopted.

"I mean," she explained innocently, "He doesn't look like your brother. He's actually handsome."

"He is also married," Maan said quickly.

"No wonder," Geet smiled, "The good men are always the first to get booked. And then there's the likes of you."

"I am single by choice."

"Well, of course you'd say that."

"Say what?" Dev asked. He had just joined them.

"Dev, hello," Geet said, "I'm -"

"Geet," Dev completed, "Dadi has told me all about you. Should I call you bhabhi?"

Maan's eyes widened in revolt, as Geet beamed at Dev and nodded.

"Dev," Maan intervened, "She's only my girlfriend."

"Girlfriend?" Dev said, amused, his eyebrows raised. Maan had never introduced a girl as his girlfriend before. He had always insisted that such labels were dangerous, as they connoted emotional involvement and the whole accompanying baggage of swamping expectations.

"Yes, and we will be engaged soon," Geet chirped, "We are planning to get married next year and go to Pachmargarg for our honeymoon. We've even looked at where we will stay. It's this hut quite literally in the middle of nowhere. It was the cheapest place we could find. We got a really good deal, you know. If Maan helps them with herding, we get free meals. I bargained like anything. I even managed to get them not to charge us for electricity, because anyway electricity only comes for eight hours in the day. Now why would we need electricity during the day? Maan was so impressed by the place, you wouldn't believe it! He was actually looking to buy a plot of land and we have even looked at the school where our children would study. It's got a computer. We can all live there happily forever and ever. So romantic, na?"

She fluttered her eyelashes at Maan like a lovesick teen.

"Of course, baby," Maan said, forcing himself to smile. To contradict her then would have aroused Dev's suspicions and the latter had always been a bit of a tattle-tale. The last thing he needed was for Dadi to come to know about his contract fiance scheme.

"Wow," Dev managed to say, "Bro, aap badal rahe hain."

Maan glared at Geet, once his brother had left.

"What?" she said, at her angelic best, "I was only getting into character. Kuch zyaada ho gaya kya?"

"Geet, I have a reputation around here!"

"Hai Babaji, yeh maine kya kardiya?" she said, covering her mouth in horror, "I'm so sorry, jaanu. I just got a bit over-excited. This is my first date, you know."

"Date?" Maan repeated, panic-stricken. And then he saw that Geet was struggling not to laugh, and threw her a wry smile.

It was, of course, all business. As they both knew very well, and (they thought) thankfully so.

They say, you shouldn't mix business and pleasure. Maan and Geet had at least one tiny thing in common - they did, inadvertantly or otherwise, mix the two. For Geet, it was a pleasure doing business with Maan; for Maan, even pleasure had become a business.

He had really been looking forward to having fun at this birthday bash, but Geet had to come too. You see, Maan drew pride in the fact that everything in his life went as per his plans. And it annoyed him no end that with the arrival of Geet, his plans were going awry. In fact she epitomized the very concept of plans gone awry. He had intended her to be a mere standby for whenever his Dadi needed somebody to play saas-bahu with. And there she was, infiltrating into the other parts of her life, as though she actually was his fiance.

Geet was also very much of a plan-all person. But unlike Maan, her plans actually worked. For example, the one involving tailing Maan everywhere to embarrass him in front of his high-society friends...

She chattered away, uninhibited, about cow dung cakes and the escalating prices of vegetables. She complained loudly about the non-Indian food being served at the party. She called him "Mannu jaanu." She sermonized the mini-skirt-wearing cool/hot girls about the need to dress as per the dictates of Indian culture, "Aap ko lagta hai ki aise chhote kapde pehenne se hi aap ko log pasand karenge. Lekin, aap Mannu ko hi dekhiye, hain to itne bade businessman, lekin phir bhi, kaise Bharatiya sankriti ki kadar karte hain. Mere Mannu jaanu ko toh yeh sab bilkul pasand nahin hai."

Maan looked sadly as the girls went away, one by one, scowling at him. The girl in the pink dress had been giving him "the look" and he had found her very attractive too. And now, instead of checking him out, she was looking down at him. It was quite heartbreaking.

"Handa, can't you just stop talking?" Maan growled, as they both hung out on the uncool end of the party, flanked by losers nobody wanted to talk to.

"Why? You see, I am a behenji type of person. This is me! I can't help it."

"Oh," Maan said, as it dawned upon him, "So you're doing this because I called you behenji when we went to see Dadi? You're actually doing all this on purpose? What the hell! Look, didn't I say you could dress normally for the birthday bash because Dadi wouldn't be here? You were the one who insisted on wearing this!"

Geet smiled as she stole an approving glance at her black and red churidar-kurta. Normally? So this wasn't normal? Khurana had quite a few things to learn...

"Well, I like to do what I like to do," she said cryptically. She had never been one to follow the dictates of others, much to her family's despair. No wonder she had had to run away.

"Handa, watch it. Any more of your nonsense, and I'm going straight to Mr Marchanda and then you can... what was it? Uh... iron your brother's shirts for the rest of your life."

"Scarves," she corrected automatically.

"Whatever. Just be careful," he mumbled irritably. He wished he could blackmail her with something more substantial, a threat that he could actually carry out. He could not risk to actually divulge the truth to Mr Marchanda, since that would mean losing his fake fianc. But thankfully, Geet did not know that, so he could still rely on the bluff. For the time being.

"Okay, okay, I'll stop. Anyway, I think I've done enough for today. I'm tired now. I want to go for a walk, away from all this noise. You coming, Mannu jaanu?"

"No. And, do not call me that."

Geet smiled even more widely, fully appreciative of the extent of annoyance she was causing him, and sashayed away triumphantly, humming to herself.

Maan smiled too, absent-mindedly. She was undoubtedly annoying. But there was something about her. She was... different, refreshingly so. He quickly shrugged off the thought and looked around for the girl in the pink dress who he had been checking out earlier.

PRECAP

"Bachaao," she gasped.

Glossary

Aap badal rahe hain - you're changing

Yeh maine kya kardiya? - what have I done?

Kuch zyaada ho gaya kya? - did I overdo it?

Aap ko lagta hai ki aise chhote kapde pehenne se hi aap ko log pasand karenge. Lekin, aap Mannu ko hi dekhiye, hain to itne bade businessman, lekin phir bhi, kaise Bharatiya sankriti ki kadar karte hain. Mere Mannu jaanu ko toh yeh sab bilkul pasand nahin hai. - You think that by wearing such short clothes, people will like you. But look at Mannu. He's such a bug businessman, and still, he has so much respect for Indian culture. My Mannu jaanu really doesn't like all this.

Bachhao - Help

Edited by whimsical - 14 years ago
Nanthini9 thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail Networker 2 Thumbnail
Perfect timing - a good read b4 going to bed. Thnks!
whimsical thumbnail

Originally posted by: Nanthini9

Perfect timing - a good read b4 going to bed. Thnks!

:D Good night, Maan dreams! lol.
Downhill thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 3

awesome

fabulous
geet blabbering at her best
fantastic dialogues
just amazing
reva😲
whimsical thumbnail

Originally posted by: revav

awesome

fabulous
geet blabbering at her best
fantastic dialogues
just amazing
reva😲

Thanks so much Reva dear! :D
I'm really glad you liked it!!
.sireesha. thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail Networker 1 Thumbnail
Thats sooooooooooooooooooooo Hilarious
🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣
OMG so Daadi knows everything and planned everything before........
OMG OMG OMG Geet is irritating Maan soooo much
Poor Maan😒
OMG these lines are sooooooooooooooo Funny. Im still laughing.
"Yes, and we will be engaged soon," Geet chirped, "We are planning to get married next year and go to Pachmargarg for our honeymoon. We've even looked at where we will stay. It's this hut quite literally in the middle of nowhere. It was the cheapest place we could find. We got a really good deal, you know. If Maan helps them with herding, we get free meals. I bargained like anything. I even managed to get them not to charge us for electricity, because anyway electricity only comes for eight hours in the day. Now why would we need electricity during the day? Maan was so impressed by the place, you wouldn't believe it! He was actually looking to buy a plot of land and we have even looked at the school where our children would study. It's got a computer. We can all live there happily forever and ever. So romantic, na?"🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣
Maanu Jaanu...................🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣
Yaar thanq so much for the wonderful Update
Eagerly waiting for the next part
PLs Update Soon
whimsical thumbnail

Originally posted by: .sireesha.

Thats sooooooooooooooooooooo Hilarious

🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣
OMG so Daadi knows everything and planned everything before........
OMG OMG OMG Geet is irritating Maan soooo much
Poor Maan😒
OMG these lines are sooooooooooooooo Funny. Im still laughing.
"Yes, and we will be engaged soon," Geet chirped, "We are planning to get married next year and go to Pachmargarg for our honeymoon. We've even looked at where we will stay. It's this hut quite literally in the middle of nowhere. It was the cheapest place we could find. We got a really good deal, you know. If Maan helps them with herding, we get free meals. I bargained like anything. I even managed to get them not to charge us for electricity, because anyway electricity only comes for eight hours in the day. Now why would we need electricity during the day? Maan was so impressed by the place, you wouldn't believe it! He was actually looking to buy a plot of land and we have even looked at the school where our children would study. It's got a computer. We can all live there happily forever and ever. So romantic, na?"🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣
Maanu Jaanu...................🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣
Yaar thanq so much for the wonderful Update
Eagerly waiting for the next part
PLs Update Soon

Wow, Sireesha! I didn't expect such a reaction!! :D
Thank you so, so, so much!! :D :D :D
And finally someone feels sorry for my Mannu.. It was kinda sad to see everyone on Geet's side.. lol.. I guess I'm a bit over-protective of my characters.. lol.
Thanks again Sireesha!!
lody thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail Networker 1 Thumbnail
Omg realy love geet her and thanks alot for doing the G thanks alot for pm to dear
JRia thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail Networker 2 Thumbnail
hey
that was tooooooo goood
i enjoyed reading it
ur dialogues r awesom😊😊😊😊
daadi does know that the geet is maan's fake fiance hmmmmmmm........
that's so very interesting
loved the way geet's plans were succeeding👏👏👏👏
continue soon