Justmoi thumbnail
9th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail

Originally posted by: Rekha_ji

Parineeti hasn't given a single bad performance in all her 6 films so far. Even in Kill Dill and Daawat-E-Ishq she was brilliant and the best thing about each project.

In Ishaqzaade she showed her vulnerable side.
I think people easily confuse a "confident girl" with "doing the same role" because in the past the average heroine was shy or submissive. But the men get to walk around all day long showing off their abs and flexing their muscles, but nobody says "that hero is always playing a strong confident character". Change your mindsets.
Pari's "Dimple" in LVRB was a spoilt brat, stubborn to the core and very self centred, yet her portrayal of "Gayatri" in SDR was far more open-minded and willing to adjust as well as being fiercely independent and not so self-centred.
These are NUANCES that the average filmgoer does not consider and very lazily labels all such characters as "BUBBLY" - boring!

Anushka has gone through the same thing, and she explains it very well here @ 2min57sec:

[YOUTUBE]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CjG56hNXyns[/YOUTUBE]

Rekhaji, with all due respect, our opinions and our feelings are based on what we felt at that moment. Those are valid. A huge swath of the public cannot feel that way unless there is something to it. It is Pari's job to convince us that she is not stereotyped, not yours.
Justmoi thumbnail
9th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail

Originally posted by: -DZ-

Movie or her acting ? 😆

Both yaar. I felt so sorry for Sid. 😆
bokul thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Master Thumbnail + 3

Originally posted by: Justmoi

Both yaar. I felt so sorry for Sid. 😆

In the film he supported her all through😃
Edited by -DZ- - 8 years ago
ImagineMe thumbnail
10th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 4

She would have done well too, if not better.

Having said that, Deepika was fantastic as Piku. No complaints with her performance that I regard as her career best.
starstruckk thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
Deepika in Piku was excellent. One of the very few roles which I feel she owned...and I'm not even a fan. So, I honestly can't see Parineeti as Piku.
iamrebelheart thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 4

Fantasy Force

Parineeti would have ruined the role and the movie completely..and this goes for any other current bw actress!
I would not have bothered to watch Piku if Deepika was not in it! She owned the movie.
kimi484 thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail
i can't imagine pari as piku.
piku was 30, working woman & supposed to be mature
and the subtle romantic track with irfan didn't look odd
in the film even once despite DP & IK real age difference. I feels it's because DP looks mature also with that height and her real age she can pass off as big b's daughter convincingly.
you2 thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 365 Thumbnail + 6
Piku was not a nice girl..she was as stuck up and selfish as her father.She was rude and obnoxious.She refused to pay for the damaged cab,instead abused the poor driver.She was intimidating-even her boss was vary of her.Her love for her father was the only good thing about her.

In the last scene..she was standing inside her house and poor Irrfan was playing badminton standing on the road..It was quite clear,what the relationship was like.

Pari was not right for the role.

Rani would have been perfect and she herself said it.Perhaps Kajol?
Edited by you2 - 8 years ago