shruti thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Elite Thumbnail + 9
Posted: 18 years ago
This Week: A Caf Royal

The royal brother-sister duo, Saif and Soha enjoy koffee with Karan this Sunday, March 11th at 9 pm exclusively on STAR One and STAR World

"I have a tremendous amount of respect for Amrita and I would really like us to be friends one day!"- Saif Ali Khan

Men love him… Women love him… Kids love him… Critics love him… Cynics love him… Everybody loves him! Versatility is now being touted as his latest virtue! This trendy nawab actually surprised audiences by getting a rural dialect pitch perfect in his recent big hit- Omkara!

Karan's first guest this week is a superstar, a fighter, a survivor, but most importantly… The actor- Saif Ali Khan. His second guest is a member of Saif's family and a representative of Gen-Next in Bollywood. An actress who has strongly made her presence felt in one of the most acclaimed films of 2006- Rang De Basanti - Soha Ali Khan! Meet the royal brother-sister duo in an exciting and heartwarming episode, this Sunday, 11 March at 9 PM only on STAR One and STAR World only on Koffee with Karan!

Saif opens his heart out on the show, discussing several topics varying from films, marriage, kids, family and Rosa! He tells Karan how it feels being the first metrosexual hero, Indian cinema has to offer… He talks about how Vishal Bhardwaj approached him to play the part of 'Langda' Tyagi in Omkara and the fact that he was initially very apprehensive about playing the part!

For the first time ever he discusses on camera, about how his life and responsibilities have changed dramatically post his marital split and how he feels he could have handled the situation in a better manner- more man-style! He confesses on the show that one day he would love to be friends with his ex-wife Amrita Singh!

Saif also talks about his Italian girlfriend Rosa and how he hopes that things work out for them in the future. On the other hand, Soha shares her thoughts on her biggest hit Rang De Basanti. She admits that she is very proud of her brother's success and fifteen years back she would have never expected him to be the superstar he is today! She also confesses that at present she is single but she strongly believes in the institution of marriage and is eagerly looking forward to it. She also dismisses the bizarre rumor that the Prince of Morocco proposed to her!

And just when the question-answer session wraps up and the duo heaves a sigh of relief, Karan announces the rapid fire round… Which two mainstream actresses would Saif like to see in a catfight? Who will he choose between Shah Rukh and Aamir? Which movie does he prefer between Omkara and Kal Ho Na Ho? Which actors would Soha like as teachers in her own "masti ki pathshala"? Which movie does she like Saif's performance best in? Whom does she choose out of Rakeysh Om Prakash Mehra and Aditya Chopra? Who takes the hamper home? Saif or Soha? Karan definitely has a tough time deciding the winner of the most desired possession on his show - the coffee hamper!

Excerpts from the interview:
Karan: When you came in.. you were criticized for being too western and no one really thought you will make it to the point you have! And now you are considered the first metrosexual hero that Indian cinema has to offer.
Saif: You better stop that because apparently it's quite in after the Bond film to be rugged! So don't call me metrosexy now!
Karan: We don't know what the word really means!
Saif: Is it Gay?
Karan: No it's not... It's definitely not gay!
Saif: Yeah! We know what it means.. I mean I do have a couple of creams in my bathroom that I like to use! Karan: And do you go for a manicure or pedicure?
Saif: Once in a while! I feel having really ragged nails and split cuticles is no good! People judge people by their hands. I was told that! I look at hands quite a lot!
Karan: Oh dear! (Hiding hands)

Karan: Omkara and versatility of course the superstardom! Does it surprise you?
Saif: I won't call it superstardom!
Karan: It is! I'm calling it that and I'm from the inner circles of the film fraternity so if I'm saying it.. it must be true!
Saif: You are the circle of the film fraternity!
Karan: No I'm not! You are viable commercially… your critics love you … everyone loves you! I know I'm gushing right now but it's all true!
Saif: I think I've been at it for sometime and I've learnt and grown. With all this also comes a sense of responsibility and this is my life! I'm really not capable of doing anything else as rewarding in every way- emotionally, financially. This is all I can do and I'm happy I can do it well! But its become more than getting happy.. getting a compliment or something… There's a long way to go! There's an entire life to take care of. This is my way of supporting myself and very seriously it's my career… it's what drives me! I've learnt that I need to do it and it's very much a part of who I am…

Karan: How did you think things worked out for Saif… Did you think he would be where he is today?
Soha: Fifteen years ago… No!

Karan: Do you feel proud of him today?
Soha: Hugely! I've seen all his films!
Karan: Contrary to you!
Saif: In many cases that's quite an achievement!
Soha: I haven't seen all of them! I've seen all the good ones and I'm so proud of him and of what he's achieved. I've spent more time with him in the last 3 years and now that I'm also working in films I end up meeting him more often even if it's on the set.

Karan: So is there anyone around?
Soha: No… not at the moment!
Karan: You'r single?
Soha: Yes… single..
Karan: No Prince of Morocco?
Soha: No! That's bizarre.
Karan: I read it somewhere that the Prince of Morocco proposed to you…
Soha: We should ask my parents that because they'll know more than me. Sometimes proposals come that are filtered…

So, make sure you book your couch space for this Sunday as Karan catches up with the super sexy nawab and his talented kid-sister on Koffee with Karan this Sunday, 11 March only on STAR One and STAR World, at 9 PM.
http://www.indya.com/news/kwk_ep5.html
shruti thumbnail
Karan's piping hot Koffee with Tabu this week!

Welcome back to your coffee fix for the week. This Sunday meet one of the finest actors this generation has seen? she is all heart and her performances are all soul? she began her career in mainstream cinema and then made a wonderful name for herself in alternative cinema? the very talented Tabu. Karan's second guest is an Indian whom we are all proud of, the international celebrated filmmaker and the big name behind Namesake ? Mira Nair. Also joining them is the renowned choreographer and the director of a super-hit Bollywood film... Farah Khan.

Tabu who was rather apprehensive to come on Karan's show admits, "You make us commit a lot of things which I don't want to." She talks about her journey in the film industry since 18 years, some of the regrets in her personal life and also confesses on the show that she has a low self-esteem. In spite of being a part of the internationally acclaimed film Namesake, Tabu shares that it's very clear in her head that she has no Hollywood aspiration. She also speaks about the special relationship she shares with Nagarjuna and the fact that nothing can ever change or alter the relation with him. Mira feels that the success of her film Namesake is largely due to her wonderful cast, she shares some of the beautiful moments while making the film and what's her take on being put in the same bracket as Gurinder Chadha and Deepa Mehta.

And just when the masala packed rapid fire is about to commence, the controversial rapid-fire queen of last season, Farah Khan makes an entry. According to Tabu, which actor needs to hit the gym? If Mira was mistaken for Deepa Mehta what would she say? Saroj Khan, Ganesh Hegde or Shiamak Davar, who according to Farah is the best choreographer? Mira Nair's next or Farah Khan next, what does Tabu chose? Wait and watch!

Excerpts from the interview :

Karan: You have been in this industry for how long Tabu?
Tabu : 18 or 19 years

Karan: Any regrets ?
Tabu : Lots .. but it will really take a while if I start discussing it ..

Karan: Professionally or personally
Tabu : Ahh ...personally more I think .. but, actually having said that I wouldn't look at them as regrets .. and more as a learning experience .. but, I wish I hadn't met a few people I had met .. which I would not want to name ...

Karan: Do you sometimes feel that you are such a great actor and you have done some amazing work ..and in fact I keep telling you this that critics awards should be globally called the Tabu awards, because you keep winning them ..year after year .. do you feel you have got your due from the industry?
Tabu : Yes I have

Karan: You don't feel that they have undervalued you?
Tabu : No.. I don't think so at all ..After Prem I thought I should just go back and study ..But I didn't.. I stayed on and it kept getting better for me .. for me everything is like a bonus ..

Karan: I think you are just undervaluing yourself .. is it a case of low self esteem or just modesty ..
Tabu : Terrible low self esteem

Karan: But why .. have you seen your own performances
Tabu : I prefer not to

Karan: You have made such a beautiful film ..
Mira: Firstly .. Jhumpa ..the mother of the film .. the mother of the book and then this extra ordinary cast .. from Irfan and Tabu ...

Karan: Do you some times feel that, you know .. you make these international films .. but you are not doing anything for India? Do you ever feel the need to come back and do a full Hindi picture ?
Mira:You know, my theory is .. I don't do anything that any one else does better than me ..laughs .. and you do it better than me .. So, I mean I am not here to imitate..

http://www.tellychakkar.com/y2k7/mar/14mar/news_karan.php

shruti thumbnail
'I would die!'
By: Upala KBR
March 19, 2007
Says Karan Johar to Farah Khan, if he wasn't allowed to give interviews for a year!

Karan Johar flanked by Farah Khan, Mira Nair and Tabu

On Sunday evening, Karan Johar grilled three extremely talented Indian women —Farah Khan, Mira Nair and Tabu — on his chat show, Koffee with Karan.

But Farah and Mira weren't completely satisfied with the television interview, so they've decided to turn the spotlight on him.

Here, they ask him all the questions they've always to. Karan wiggles and Karan squirms, but he answers in trademark sartorial style!

Mira Nair

What is your most acute childhood memory?

Seeing Roman Holiday at Regal Cinema at the age of six. It was the first time I saw a film on a big screen.

Which three songs mean the most to you?

Mera kuch samaan (Ijaazat), Waqt ne kiya kya haseen sitam (Kagaz Ke Phool) and Kal Ho Naa Ho's title song which for me was life-altering.

What is your professional fantasy?

My professional fantasy is to make a film that I believe in all the way — without any kind of commercial compromise or emotional manipulation.

Does your friendship with movie stars impede your relationship with ordinary people?

No. All movie stars that I have as friends are ordinary people in extraordinary circum-stances. That's what is so special about them.

If you were born during the British Raj in India, what would you have become?

I would have liked to be Bhagat Singh, because great films would have been made on me!

Farah Khan

Shah Rukh Khan or Aditya Chopra? And you can't say both!

Oh, come on! Farah, please stop asking me such cheesy rapid-fire questions! And don't stoop to my level, please… I won't answer this question!

Who is the most over-rated actor, director and actress?

I am the most over-rated director, and the most over-rated actress is Farah.

Farah have you seen yourself on Jhalak Dikhhla Jaa?

By the way, an actor is never over-rated, so your question is wrong. If you had asked for an over-rated star, I might have given you an answer!

If you weren't allowed to give interviews or talk to the press or attend any functions for one year, you would…?

Die!

Hrithik Roshan or Abhishek Bachchan?

There you again, Farah! It doesn't suit you to ask me these questions. I get paid to ask them, but no one pays me to answer them.

If you could wipe out one industry person without anyone ever knowing about it?

I am afraid I will not answer that, but I just want to say that I absolutely love you! You are the country's finest choreographer and I know that you will be the country's finest filmmaker, and I hope all this praise makes you forget the question you just asked me!

Tabu

She being the reclusive actress that she is, Tabu did a disappearing act so we decided to grill KJo on everything related to Tabu.

What's your favourite Tabu film?

Astitva and The Namesake. Tabu has always been great in her films, but I went back home thinking about her after watching these two films. That rarely happens after a film.

And the worst?

Tabu's never bad — she's good even in a bad! I don't think she's felt completely comfortable in commercial enterprises with song-and- dance numbers. I'm sure she cringes watching Ruk ruk ruk… as much as I do!

One advise you would like to give Tabu?

I hope you realise what a genius you are. I feel you underestimate your brilliance on celluloid.

One of Tabu's best traits?

She has a fantastic sense of humour, which is a lesser-known fact about her. She keeps me in splits whenever we chat on the phone.

And worst?

Nothing really. She's oversensitive but that's something I can understand. Being emotional is not good for most people, but I understand because I am just like that.

Why have you never offered Tabu a role in your films?

I did offer Tabu, Rani's role in Kuch Kuch Hota Hai. I will try once again.

http://www.mid-day.com/hitlist/2007/march/153744.htm

Edited by Manoj_Tina fan - 18 years ago
shruti thumbnail

Filmmaker Karan Johar has roped in Shilpa Shetty and her sister Shamita to appear on his talk show. "How can I refuse Karan? No one says no to him. I'll be coming back from London in April to record for the show. Shamita too will be on the show with me," Shilpa said.

Karan also wanted her mother Sunanda to join them. "But you know how my mom is? She has declined," she said. Shilpa will be discussing her entire 'Celebrity' Big Brother experience for the first time on Indian television, and also the impact the British reality TV show and the racism row it triggered off had on her family. Next on Karan's guest list are Amitabh and Abhishek Bachchan with to-be daughter-in-law Aishwarya Rai, plus maybe Jaya too. "The guest list has to get bigger and more ambitious, don't you think? Otherwise, what's the point of having the show," reasoned Karan.

http://www.deccan.com/TV%20Guide/TV%20GuideDescription.asp#S hilpa,%20to%20grace%20Koffee%20with%20Karan

shruti thumbnail
Munnabhai at Koffee with Karan

"There's no marriage. We're just friends!" says Sanjay Dutt as the Dutt siblings, Sanjay and Priya, enjoy koffee with Karan this Sunday, 25 March at 9 PM.

He's the most loved man in the industry today. Everybody feels very protective about him and rightfully so because he has had an exceptionally turbulent life! What's wonderful about him is that he has always emerged and has always combated every obstacle and that too with a smile!

Karan's first guest is Sanju Baba to the film fraternity and 'Munnabhai' to the whole world- the resilient Sanjay Dutt. His second guest is a member of Sanjay's family. She is a young, successful politician and has been a tremendous support to Sanju all these years- Priya Dutt! Meet the down to earth brother-sister duo in a heartwarming episode, this Sunday, 25 March at 9 PM. on STAR One and STAR World only on Koffee with Karan!

Sanjay opens his heart out on the show, talking about his chaotic life and how he coped with personal crisis like losing his parents, quitting drugs and his days in prison. He talks about how he has humbled down after spending eighteen months in prison and has realized the importance of freedom. Chatting about his daughter Trishala he says that he is proud of her as she is studying Forensic Sciences and jokingly adds that she worries him with her compulsive shopping habits. He rubbishes all rumours about his alleged marriage and stresses that he is very much single!

Moving away from his personal life, he also talks about the national phenomenon called "Munnabhai MBBS" and how the film has defined his career! Priya adds that though she is Sanju's younger sister, there are times she has lost her cool with him! She says that she and the entire family have always stood by Sanju through all his crisis and turbulence and have come out of it pretty strong! As for being with him through his personal problems, she admits on the show that even though she is always there for him, she never invades his private space!

After the touching question-answer session, the show takes another turn with the rapid fire round! Sanju and Priya answer Karan's tricky questions wittily and candidly making it difficult for him to choose the winner! What Gandhigiri advice would Sanju give to George Bush and to Osama Bin Laden? Which one film would he like to erase from public memory? How many women has he been with? Which Indian politician would Priya send 'Get Well Soon' flowers to? Who does she think is the sexiest hunk on Indian television? What advice would she give Sanju if he wanted to enter politics? Who is her favorite Actor-MP? Who is the winner of the most desired possession on the show - the coffee hamper! Find out on this Sunday's episode of Koffee with Karan…

Karan: The kind of life you've had.. I think books are written on such lives. What do you have to say about what you've been through?
Sanjay: Karan, I don't regret anything! All I can say is that losing my parents, quitting drugs, going to prison, if I sit and sulk about it I wont be moving on in life. So you should keep it at the back and you should learn from it.

Karan: All the years you spent in jail, the very thought is scary. Even spending one day in jail personally scares the living daylights out of me. How many months were you in jail?
Sanjay: Eighteen months

Karan: When you look back at that eighteen-month phase, what is the one thing you learnt out of that experience which you can share with us?
Sanjay: Karan it's just to be humble. It humbles you down and makes you realize how important freedom can be which all of us take for granted. You know freedom is taken for granted. When it's taken away you realize how important it can be. I think God had a plan to send me there and to just humble me down, cool me off and that's what's happened exactly.

Karan: Did you need that cooling off?
Sanjay: At that time it didn't feel like I did but now when I look back it has made me a humble person.

Karan: Did you feel answerable to people? Did you feel you were being judged on certain occasions?
Sanjay: Absolutely I felt that I'm being judged. And I have to answer and I have to clear my name and the name of the family.

Karan: Is there a love? Is there "one love" of Sanjay Dutt's life he's never gotten over?
Sanjay: One love of Sanjay Dutt's life! (Laughs) I've had a turbulent past with the loves in my life.

Karan: When you look back you just savour every relationship but you don't feel that you fell in love that one time and maybe nothing came out of it.
Sanjay: The problem with me is that I fall in love all the time.

Karan: You fall in love far too often?
Sanjay: Far too often!

Karan: Are you in love today?
Sanjay: No!

Karan: No? So all these rumours about your alleged marriage are all..
Sanjay: All rubbish! I came on TV and denied it also. There's no marriage. We're just friends.

Karan: When you look back at all these thirteen years, fourteen years what has your reflection been to all this?
Priya: I think we've come out of it pretty strong! My father always used to tell us it will pass. What we're going through will pass. There's always light at the end of the tunnel. You have to fight. You have to face whatever you have to. I think that's what our resilience is. There are times when we feel everything is going so well in the family, what's going to happen next. You know there's a calm before the storm. We've got so used to that!

Karan: Though you're his younger sister, there are times that you must have wanted to plonk him on his head and ask what are you doing? There are times you want to beat him up?
Priya: Yeah! There are times! I think there are times I lose my cool and you know. I think now that whole age difference doesn't exist. I think all of us have always been very protective about him.

Karan: That's the vibe he generates in the industry as well. That's why he is called Sanju Baba!
Priya: Yeah! I guess so! Everyone who knows him is protective about him.

So, don't forget to tune in as Karan catches up with the Dutt siblings on Koffee with Karan this Sunday, 25 March on STAR One and STAR World, at 9 PM.
http://www.indya.com/news/kwk_ep7.html
shruti thumbnail
Dr. Vijay Mallya and Shobhaa De have Koffee with Karan

He truly lives life king-size! He's unapologetically flamboyant, extremely stylish and always dynamic! He ruled on land and now rules the skies! Karan's first guest this week is the king of good times - Dr. Vijay Mallya! His second guest is a successful columnist, author and social commentator. You could call her opinionated… you could call her judgmental, but she never fails to air her views and that's why everyone loves her- Shobhaa De! Watch them in a very exciting episode, this Sunday, 1st April at 9 pm on Star One and Star World on Koffee with Karan!

Dr. Vijay Mallya talks about his flamboyant lifestyle, his showmanship, his legacy and his foray into politics. He discusses with Karan how he feels about the current state of politics and what changes he would like to see in the system. Together, Dr. Mallya and Shobhaa discuss their friendship which is around 25 years old and has seen itsshare of ups and downs. They talk about their social lives and how they feel about being permanent faces on Page 3. They express their views on actors being politicians and politicians being actors …and also give their point of view on the current state of journalism and how they feel that the media needs a sense of responsibility. Dr. Mallya talks about the fact that he doesn't watch too many Hindi movies and Shobhaa admits that she has to catch the latest flick every Friday!!!

After the candid question-answer session, the show takes another interesting turn with the rapid fire round! Which Hindi film does Shobhaa wish she would have written? Who does she think is the perfect celeb wife and who does she think is the most mismatched couple? Which living business icon does Dr. Mallya admire the most? If there was a film on his life, which actor does he feel would be able to play him best and who would he like his leading lady to be? Who wins the most desired possession on the show - the coffee hamper! Find out on this Sunday's episode of Koffee with Karan…

Karan: Your persona, the man you are… I mean most people who are industrialists and are in the business world have a certain image. You are not on of those serious industrialists who have that serious look on their face. Your whole perception is so different… Flamboyant… How do you react to that?

Dr. Mallya: Well you know at the end of the day I have to repeat… I have lived life on my own terms. I've not been shy I've not tried to hide anything. I'm totally transparent I am what I am and there's nothing wrong with that. I don't need to have a split personality I don't need to be a hypocrite. I just be myself. And as far as the showmanship is concerned... I am the brand ambassador of my brand which are on the lifestyle platforms so what's wrong with that?

Karan: No there's nothing wrong with that. I think you love the fact that you are like this. But you have this party image. At times do you find yourself defending that to people who expect you to be more serious?

Dr. Mallya: You know seriousness is not a guarantee to success. If you don't have a party or you're more subdued it's not a recipe for increased stakeholder value. But you know. If I like to party I don't party alone, I party with people and as I said… it's all on that lifestyle platform which is becoming increasingly relevant in aspirational India today.

Karan: Your foray into politics a few years back.. what drove you to politics?

Dr. Mallya: You know when I was 40... I thought I've come a long way in my life. I've had my fair share of success and also failures but I've never looked back I've always treated my failures as stepping stones to success. I've made mistakes but the net balance sheet was pretty good. So I said what do I do now? Should I give back something to my country, to my state and how do I do it. It's very clear that in India you don't have a voice that's heard adequately unless you're sitting in the parliament. And so I decided to run for parliament. In 2000 I failed miserably and invited a lot of criticism that has become synonymous to Vijay Mallya but in 2002 I defeated the city BJP candidate and got elected to parliament. I was most excited. Even though in the last 3-4 years I've been a backbencher… I've always tried to speak up about the accountability in governance.

Karan: How does it feel to be back on the show?
Shobhaa: Actually wonderful! The kind of response I'd got the first time round all over the world where there are Indians and Pakistani's and people monitoring Indian television it was always "we saw you on Koffee with Karan!", so it says a lot about the host, a lot about the show and maybe a little about me!

Karan: Alright, I like that! You've known Vijay for how long Shobhaa?
Shobhaa: Around 25 years! I think!

Karan: It's been a good friendship?
Shobhaa: It's been an interesting friendship! It's had its ups and downs but it's never been a boring or a static friendship! Which I think is what keeps a relationship on its toes and it makes sure you don't take each other for granted.
Dr. Mallya: Absolutely! But I remember only the ups! Not the downs!
Shobhaa: Selective memory!
Dr. Mallya: (Laughs)

Karan: "The Queen of Opinions" … is that a good way of describing you Shobhaa?
Shobhaa: It's not bad! Empress might be better! But he has a copyright on that already!
Dr. Mallya: No! I can say that to you!
Shobhaa: His super super yacht is called the Indian Empress and I've happily stolen it for myself for tonight!

So, don't forget to tune in as Karan catches up with Dr. Vijay Mallya and Shobhaa De on Koffee with Karan this Sunday, April 1st on Star One and Star World, at 9 pm.

http://us.tellychakkar.com/y2k7/mar/30mar/weekahead.php

shruti thumbnail

Episode 7

He's the most loved man in the industry today. Everybody feels very protective about him and rightfully so! Karan's first guest was Sanju Baba to the film fraternity and 'Munnabhai' to the whole world, the resilient Sanjay Dutt. His second guest is a member of Sanjay's family. A young, successful politician and a tremendous support to Sanju all these years, his sister Priya Dutt!

Sanjay opens his heart out on the show, talking about his chaotic life and how he coped with personal crisis like losing his parents, quitting drugs and his days in prison. He talks about how he has humbled down after spending eighteen months in prison and has realized the importance of freedom. Chatting about his daughter, Trishala, he says that he is proud of her as she is studying Forensic Sciences and jokingly adds that she worries him with her compulsive shopping habits. He rubbishes all rumours about his alleged marriage and stresses that he is very much single.

http://starworld.indya.com/specials/kwk2/synopsis.html

shruti thumbnail
Pooja Bedi wants to have Koffee with Karan!

Pooja Bedi has a wish. She wants to have coffee with Karan on his show. The actor is a great fan and also a good friend of Karan Johar.

Pooja Bedi also holds a celebrity talk show like Karan. But thinks her show is totally different from Karan show.

"My show 'Just Pooja' aired on Zoom TV has inputs which are issue based. I want to again interview Karan Johar on my show because I think he is the best host with lots of fun on his show."

The similarity between Pooja Bedi and Karan Johar show is that they both joke around with their guests. Says Pooja, "I want to have a deadly interview with him. I had invited him to my show and we also had a great time. He is doing very well with his show Koffee with Karan. I wish him good luck. But I do not like the way he harasses the stars with personal questions. He should not do personal questions which can hurt the star. If he avoids this then his show is the best."

"But I am desperately waiting for his invitation. I want to participate in his new show. We both have one common thing. We both interview celebs in our show. It will be good to see how we both interview each other. So, if Karan is reading this, "Hey Karan just give me a call to participate in your show."
http://www.indya.com/news/poojab_kwk.html
shruti thumbnail
Rakhi on Koffee with Karan!
By: Tushar Joshi
April 5, 2007

After countless occasions of showering praise on the hyperactive item girl, Karan Johar has finally invited her for a chat on his 'hallowed' couch

It's My Time Now: Rakhi Sawant

Will she, won't she? After leaving us wondering for the longest time, Karan Johar has finally sent an official invitation to Rakhi Sawant to appear on Koffee with Karan.

Talk about the great leveller: after having high-handed actors like Kajol and Rani Mukerji snootily deriding her the show, Rakhi can now cock a snook at them from the very same couch (but something tells us that she won't).

Karan is currently shooting for his next set of celebrity banterers, and the episode featuring Rakhi is expected to go on air in May.

Bindaas babe

Talking about the invitation, Rakhi says, "I couldn't believe Karan Johar was on the phone with me. My palms got sweaty and I was mumbling and jumbling up sentences. This is the first time in my life that someone actually made me speechless."

She will don a designer outfit for the show. "Imagine having Manish Malhotra make something for me! It's a dream come true. I can't thank Karan enough for giving me this opportunity," she says.

Sawant always yearned to be on the show, "There are only two bindaas people in the industry. One is Karan Johar and the other is Rakhi Sawant. I think the day we meet we will be chatting non-stop," says Rakhi, excitedly.

No Mika, please!

Sources claim that Karan actually complimented Rakhi and told her he was her biggest fan. "Yes, he told me that his mother Hiroo and he would watch Bigg Boss religiously and cheered for me.

I was touched. I never dreamed, one day be on the same show as people like Shah Rukh Khan and Amitabh Bachchan."

How does she plan to tackle the speedy rapidfire round? "I will be nervous, for sure. But I will speak my mind. However, I told Karan that my English is not as good as his.

So he sweetly said that I could speak in Hindi."
She has no idea who she has been apired with on the show, "But if it is Mika, I will strangle him on the show itself!"

We can hardly wait!

http://www.mid-day.com/hitlist/2007/april/154811.htm

Edited by Manoj_Tina fan - 18 years ago
shruti thumbnail
'Karan Johar won't bring in the stars'
By: Subhash K Jha
April 6, 2007

NDTV Imagine's new CEO Samir Nair says that the filmmaker will bring much more to the channel than just his starry contacts

Moving Ahead: Samir Nair and Karan Johar & nbsp;
pic/RANE ASHISH

Star CEO Samir Nair has left the channel to start a new innings as the chief executive of NDTV Imagine LTD.

He discusses his plans with
HiTLIST.

How does the move feel?

Exciting! I joined NDTV from April 2.

Thank god it wasn't April 1! To start with, we'll do a Hindi entertainment channel and then go on to many other things.

The sky's the limit.

Today is my fourth day at NDTV and I've been getting the office and team in place, putting ideas down. I've been at the helm of affairs for seven years at Star, so this change will bring out the best in me.

My former boss always used to say that change brings challenge and challenge brings excellence. So this is a good process of re-discovery for me.

I've been closely associated with the television business, but the idea now is to do things connected with entertainment in the television space.

You seem to have taken a large part of your Star team to NDTV.

Yes, some of them are accompanying me. Shailja Kejriwal, who has been a part of my creative team from the start, will be one of the key people joining me at NDTV.

When I'm asked what I'm going to do, I say, 'something old, something new, something borrowed and a touch of new'. What I'm going to do at NDTV is what I'd have done at Star had I stayed on.

How heavy will be the inflow of Bollywood?

Bollywood and television are closely linked now. In recent years, we've had Mr Bachchan, Shah Rukh Khan and Karan Johar coming into television, and the marriage between Bollywood and television will be further solemnised.

There will be a lot of Bollywood on our channel for sure. I'm also part owner of this new channel, so that brings an even greater sense of responsibility.

The stakes are higher hence the victories and losses are also higher. Karan Johar, who's also a part of NDTV, has a lot to do.

Karan will bring a lot of stars into the channel?

I have much more in mind for Karan than just bringing in stars. He has fantastic vision and we're looking at many ideas. General entertainment covers a big part of the imagination.

Would you like Star to be your biggest rival?

Well, at the moment it's the biggest channel and network and I'm always in pursuit of excellence. So yes, I'd want NDTV Imagine to be right up there. If our channel beats Star at the TRPs game, I'd be elated.

Would you miss Star?

Of course. My colleagues at Star gave me a great farewell party and also bought me a really fancy mobile phone and a watch. They're all such close friends.

Leaving Star was like growing up and leaving home. At the moment, we're getting our new office done.

When I joined Star in 1994, we built the Star office from scratch. Now I'm re-visiting the past as the new office comes up. It's an exciting time for me.

http://www.mid-day.com/hitlist/2007/april/154878.htm