aries_sakshi thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 2
Posted: 20 years ago
"I want to do something bigger than Jassi...."

She's turning two in the second week of September. Her birthday preparations are already on in full swing, but Mona Singh is slowly edging out of her Jassi persona. Freed from the braces, spectacles and her restraining contract, Mona is obviously breathing easier. She's planning her career moves, dressing up trendier and trying out different meditation techniques for unwinding.

In an informal chat, Mona talks about being Jassi, Jessica, Neha, Mona and sometimes, trying to be all together...

What do you miss the most about the old Jassi?
I miss being in Gulmohar, being clumsy, looking at Armaan and peeping through the door....

What kind of scars has the two year journey left on you....from being the bespectacled, braces-shackled Jassi to the confident Jessica to the mellow Neha?
I was completely in love with that character, it was so weird. I knew so many girls like Jassi, who can't get jobs because they don't look good. And if you see, Fair & Lovely are the only themes that seem to sell well!
But I wanted to show what was real in the real world - when people are that passionate about their work, they are bound to fumble and stumble!

Talking of the Fair & Lovely kind of theme, would you take up ads like those?
As an actor, I have to sell a product if it comes to me. What I meant is that the mentality of people is such that they would die to look good. You know, whichever award functions I used to go for, there used to be several other actors around, but the minute Jassi arrived, all the photographers and cameramen made a beeline for her. She was the only who carried it off, and she was proud to be what she was. I had got into the character so much, I had completely started believing in it. If I didn't completely believe in it, I would not have been able to carry off 400 episodes!

Was it difficult putting up the facade of actually being a bespectacled Jassi, instead of Mona?

It definitely wasn't easy. My gums would bleed and my lips used to be perpetually cut thanks to the braces. And if they weren't put on right, they would just fall off. And the specs, they were so heavy, I used to worry that I would develop a cleft on my nose! But it had to be done to give the reality touch......you know, once I dodged a journalist's queries about my identity deftly, but at the last minute, he called out Mona! I turned instinctively, but immediately said, "She isn't here today!" I had to keep improvising like that!
But it wasn't smooth sailing always. At last year's Indian Telly Awards, when people loved me dancing on stage, I was dying to say, "Hey, it's me really!" but couldn't! I even asked the channel, "Why can't I go as me?" and I got the answer, "No, till the time you aren't shown that way on screen, you can't."

So, how do you relate to being Neha now?
Neha's very calm and composed, particularly after all that she's been through. I guess the best option for her was to leave Mumbai.......But no, I don't relate to Neha that much, because somewhere she knows that some day, something will happen that will ruin everything again.

Is there also a chance that Raghav Malhotra (Karan Oberoi) may try to win Armaan's place in her heart?
No way. At best, he may become what Purab meant to Jassi, but there will always be only one man in Jassi's life, and that's Armaan.

Was it easy leaving behind the Jassi persona and going in for the makeover?
No, it wasn't easy at all! It was tough - facing the camera for the camera for the first time without my heavy 'chashma'!

With Jassi scheduled to go on for some more months, what's happening with you?
I have signed Bobby Pushkarna's next film, but the script is yet being finalised as is the director. I am not allowed to speak about the character I am playing in it, but all I can say is that it's going to be drastically different from Jassi! And which is exactly what I wanted to do! Not to prove a point, but as an actor. But people have seen me in this garb for two years, and people have started believing that Jassi is me. I want to do something different now, and luckily, I am not one of those who will have to start from scratch in Bollywood! I am already there, and now, I have to just go one step further!

With a foothold in films, will you still look at television as a career option?
I will never quit television. This is the medium that's growing, and people to connect to it as nothing else. I have seen people relating much better to TV stars than to movie stars. I remember when we went to Dubai, people were just going 'Jassi, Jassi, Jassi....' even when there were bigger movie stars around. I dont want to be unapproachable. I want people to come up to me and tell me what they think of me, to touch me, and to talk to me. Because I am here thanks to them. And if I give them attitude, I will be nowhere.

Do you fear that the Jassi aura will wear off after a while?
People's memory is indeed very short. I am quite clear that the day Jassi goes off air, I will be a nobody again. I also know that it is Jassi they love. Like, when my dad was in the army, we had at least 10 servants, but the realisation was always there that after he retired, there would be just one servant. So, you se, I am quite grounded in reality.

Does your clear outlook in life also plan for a marriage and a family of your own in the near future?
I definitely want to get married, but not for the next few years. I am just getting started, and I want to do something bigger than Jassi! Where TV is concerned, though, there cannot be anything bigger than Jassi for me....I have to really plan accordingly and think.

How do you plan to balance Jassi and films?
A I know it will be difficult, because I start shooting in December for the film. I have had a word with my producers, because I shoot every day for Jassi....., and what we talked about was schedules. But if he plans to shoot the movie abroad, I am stuck! I have to really work this out, because a daily soap like this will never have a bank - the script changes nearly daily! No one has been able to work out a solution to this kind of a problem - either you quit this or you give up that! It's not an easy choice. Giving up Jassi....will not be easy, because I have started with this.

Does Sony have any other plans for you, considering you are almost a mascot for the channel?
I don't know about that, but I am definitely a Sony girl. So if they plan to do anything with me, I don't even have to ask them what it is. They have really pampered me for the last two years, which rarely happens for a newcomer. Specially last year, when I was getting threatening calls, Sony really stood by me like I was their daughter, and I can never forget that.

How do you unwind?
It's very important to switch off, earlier I didn't know how to do that....I used to carry the emotions home. Listen to music, go out with people, we go and sit in Baristas or go for a drive before going home....
Now also, I have my parents with me, they have come down from Pune. They realised that maybe I need them at this point... I don't get time to go to the gym, to work out....it's just eat and shoot all the time. So, now I have started getting salads from a dietician called Vrinda Mehta, and that's keeping me fit, and my skin's looking healthier too! I do a lot of breathing exercises and prananyam in the mornings....especially, since my makeup doesn't take that long after the makeover!

aries_sakshi thumbnail
Modi scripts Jassi's destiny
By: Tushar Joshi
September 3, 2005

Rekkha Modi
After penning Kasautii Zindagi Kay on Star Plus, scriptwriter Rekkha Modi has now moved on to Sony's Jassi Jaissi Koi Nahin.

Modi was approached by the makers of Jassi a few days back and has already completed a major track for the show in the coming weeks.

Focus on Jassi

"I want to take the focus back to Jassi. I have been watching the serial on a regular basis and think it has great potential to grow."

When asked if she felt the show was losing focus, Modi said, "The ratings for Jassi are going up, and with the introduction of new characters like Ketaki Dave and others, the audience is getting to see a fresh new start to the show."

Without divulging details about the track she has penned, Rekkha said, "Jassi is the heart of the show. I want to get the focus back on her and create some exciting dramatic situations."

Film work

Apart from Jassi, Modi has also started scripting Cinevistaas' afternoon drama, Paalkhi, on Zee.

However, what has her excited the most is a Salman Khan film that she is writing the dialogues for. "It's an epic love story and I was blown away when I heard it. In spite of being tied up with my soaps, I am getting time out to finish this film as the deadline is very tight."

Talking about the suspense track in Kasautii, Modi said, "There's lots yet to happen in Kasautii. I think a lot of Kasautii's success can be attributed to the amazing chemistry between Mr Bajaj (Ronit Roy) and Prerna (Shweta Tiwari)."

Commenting on the current state of television shows Modi said, "I see a change in the way the audience is reacting to shows.

They are getting smart and won't take anything that's mediocre.

Also, the growing popularity of shows like The Great Indian Comedy Show (Star One) indicates a heavy swing towards humour."

Sanguine thumbnail
God, Mona seems a bit pessimistic about her role at the point (but I don't blame her!), but this has given us some info.

[quote]
When is the story going to end?
Jassi is not a serial that can continue for a thousand episodes. Nor do I see myself playing the character for much longer as my contract expires early next year. The show began with Armaan and Jassi, and must conclude with a confrontation between the two.[/quote]

Will they end the show at that time or will they replace her?

[quote]
It's time she proceeded alone. [/quote]

Is this implying that there'll be no renuion? 😕

[quote]However, the channel explained that such liberties have to be taken to hold viewer interest. [/quote]

I despise it with every fiber of my being when television producers assume that we are like dogs that need constant, mindless stimulation! xPP

Edited by Sanguine - 20 years ago
aries_sakshi thumbnail
Posted: 19 years ago
When Jassi meets Jassi in cyberspace:
By Sujoy Dhar, Kolkata: She is a college teacher and a desperate housewife by the day and a "serial killer" by the night.

A mother of a five-year-old boy, Anindita Sengupta juggles with her commitments at home and workplace. By late night the economics lecturer is netizens' favourite "coolbie", a sobriquet for updater of TV serials on www.india-forums.com

As one of the "coolbies" she updates on the net, every Monday and Thursday, the roller coaster ride in the life of Jassi, the fading darling of Indian television audience.

Net-savvy housewives across urban India, teenyboppers, cool Indian techies in the US - all avid watchers of Jassi, the loveable Cinderella of Sony Entertainment soap "Jassi Jaise Koi Nahin" - eagerly wait for an update by Anindita. www.india-forums.com is a popular TV serial discussion forum.

Anindita's update is one of the most avidly read contents on the site, for those who miss an episode and even for those who have lost interest in the serial because of its "illogical twists" but still want to know the latest.

Developed by 25-year-old Kolkata-based software professional Vijay Bhattar, the website is one such site which has a dedicated reader base of more than 30,000 - and it is growing by the day.

Interestingly, the television serial fans across the world manage it.

So what was the idea behind the website? "Initial reason was my enthusiasm to discuss 'Jassi Jaise...' that I believed was something different. I started updating daily. Soon we got so many users coming on to the site regularly to check the updates," Bhattar told IANS.

"The basic idea in starting India Forums was to create a universal discussion board for Indian television and to meet people from all across the globe.

"It was fun as there were no forums which allowed people to discuss TV shows. Soon, members joined us and started penning daily synopsis of what's missed, and also a daily detailed transcript of different shows.

"Its growth has been exponential in all respects whether in terms of popularity, member base or site traffic. We are expecting to have 100,000 members by the end of this year," Bhattar says.

Interest in other topics led to sister site www.india-forums.in, which too is becoming popular.

Says Anindita: "People who watch 'Jassi Jaise...' find it different from the normal 'saas-bahu' shows. Later the forum went on expanding for other shows on Sony as well as other channels.

"I joined the forum in January. I liked 'Jassi Jaise...' because it was inspired by the superhit Mexican tele-novella 'Yo Soy Betty La Fea' (I Am Betty The Ugly) which I had read on the Internet after it was translated from Latin on the Google."

Says Ajim Bootwala aka Jammy, a moderator currently studying business administration in Britain: "The best part of our forum is that it doesn't take sides, the users are openly allowed to criticise the serials, actors and directors. But still, there is an eye on the users that they don't get out of hand or abusive.

"You will be surprised to know how many fans take their serials and actors or actresses seriously and so passionately. So we help them to express their views in a creative manner.

"It also welcomes all the directors or actors to express their views to the users openly."

India Forums brings a TV star each Saturday for interaction with the viewers. This could be Swapnil Joshi or the hunky Iqbal Khan (who plays Angad in "Kaisa Yeh Pyar Hai").

Says Tanaz aka Mystica Magic from Canada, a student of chartered accountancy and the official India Forums editor: "Initially I was a silent reader of the updates and didn't bother participating in discussions. Eventually I became very active once I saw how friendly the members were."

India Forums is also planning to come out with an India Forums e-book to help showcase the talents of budding authors.

"We are growing for three reasons: friendliness, freedom and cleanliness," says Lakshmi Maruthi, a software engineer with the US and a site administrator.

"We have striven to keep the forum friendly and simple for all the members while giving them the freedom to express themselves. It is our constant goal to keep it clean for members of all ages."
mikagurl23 thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail
Just born hungama

Sunday Pioneer, 11 Setpember, 2005

From cutting cakes in public to distributing vada pavs to her fans, our girl next door Jassi has major plans up her sleeve for her birthday. And her fans are actively involved in it, says Deebashree Mohanty

Our Sony kudi, in all her avtars - as Jassi, Monica Bedi or Neha Shastri - has just about been born and will be born yet again.

Quite similar to their take on onscreen marriages which just keep happening, Sony Entertainment has planned to celebrate this birthday in as many phases. And in all this hungama, her fans would be treated to cake, vada pavs and Jassi unlimited.

Phase one of the itinerary has already taken place in Mumbai's Nirmal Labs where Mona Singh cut into a deliciously decorated eight tier cake. embezzled with Sony's logo and Jassi's 'specy' looks. Everything was hunky-dory till a drip of chocolate landed on Mona's dress. Today, Singh, laughs it off by saying "the stain will remain with me forever. It is like a memento for me." But this is far from the truth. Allegedly, Jassi was so depressed after the incident that she fled immediately without distributing slices to her fans.

All hopes, however, were not dashed. Her eager fans looked forward to the 'Treat on the Streets' scheduled for the 5th and 6th. With jumbo vada pav backing the cause, Jassi's fans were licking their fingers in anticipation, expecting a good feast. On D-day, there was a stampede outside the restaurant, forcing the manager to take strict action. And the hapless crowd dispersed, disgruntled and swearing.

But our birthday girl is not disturbed by this fiasco. "I am overwhelmed that my character is liked by so many people. I have so many fans that it is touchy and unbelievable," says Singh, shedding a few emotional tears on the telephone. The lady has a fan following of more than a million. And we thought the Jassi craze was slowly fizzing out, Says the event manager, Sanjay Chugh " Jassi is as big as ever. She is till going strong with ther fans". That explains why her itinerary includes a mono act by the lady herself depicting her stages as the spectacled Jassi to the teacher in her, at Prithvi Theatre.

There is a second phase to this party as well, that too in Delhi. The venue for the cake cutting ceremony in the Capital befits the occasion. Mona Singh will be reborn on September 16, cutting a cake for Delhiwallahs at Ansal Plaza. "I am very excited to go to Delhi. I love delhites. I am sure we will have a ball out there," she parrots.

Mumbai sure is the city of vagaries. On the one hand where there are stars going the altruistic way donating huge chunks towards the deluge devastation. on the other, there are events such as this where frivilous spending makes us wonder what's with Mumbaikers and their icons like Jassi.

mikagurl23 thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail

Mona Singh
Jassi has moved on — from a rented one bedroom-hall-kitchen (BHK), followed by a rented two-BHK in Montreal building, behind Fame Adlabs, actress Mona Singh has now bought a home on the ninth floor of Indradarshan II, in Adarsh Nagar, Andheri (West).

Like her screen character, Mona too is very close to her family, and has moved into her new home (building No 13, flat 901) with her family.

Moved in six days ago

According to a building official, Mona booked her flat eight months ago and moved in just six days ago. The flat, a two-BHK, is registered jointly under the names of Mona Singh and her father, Colonel Jasbir Singh.

Simple girl

Mona Singh has moved into her new flat on the ninth floor of Indradarshan II, building No 13, in Adarsh Nagar, Andheri (West)
Pic: Pradeep Dhivar
A friend of Mona told us, "Mona loved it in Montreal (which was a rented flat), but like all of us, she always wanted to own a house.

She preferred Indradarshan because the complex is very family-oriented and informal. She dislikes fuss — at heart, she is a very simple girl."

Gym rats

Indradarshan, located just twenty steps from a Barista outlet, has three phases; the third one is currently under construction.

This Barista at Adarsh Nagar is frequented by the Jassi gang — Gaurav Gera (Nandu), Rakshanda Khan (Mallika) and Maninee De (Pari). Sykz gym is just adjacent to this Barista.

"Jassi is also going to start working out at Sykz very soon," says the friend. "Her pal, Rakshanda, is a regular at Sykz."

Dry dock

"Indradarshan is a blessed complex. Before it was constructed, many satsangs were held here. During the July 26 floods, Indradarshan was perhaps the only building which was not waterlogged.

We have a recreation park, swimming pool and health club facilities. Even people from Lokhandwala are keen to shift here."

Jassi's neighbours

Actors Ashok and Nivedita Saraf stay in the building Mona has moved into, so does choreographer Ganesh Hegde.

"Akshay Kumar comes here about once a week. We have had shootings of Ek Chotisi Love Story and Chal Mere Bhai. The swimming pool scene with Salman Khan, Sanjay Dutt and Karisma Kapoor was shot here," says the building official.

Actress Farida Jalal stays in Phase I; director Guddu Dhanoa earlier stayed in building No 12, but has now given out his flat on lease.

aries_sakshi thumbnail
TALKING POINT with Mona Singh

Sulakshana Gupta

New Delhi, September 11: After three character changes, what's your real identity?
I've been Jassi, Jessica and now Neha Shastri. Even on the sets, people were confused about what to call me. Fans come up and ask, hum aapko kya bulaaye. Finally, I've told them to simply call me Mona.

Are you worried about Jassi's falling ratings?
No, my job as an actor is to portray the character. Fluctuations in ratings make no difference at all.

Have you ever questioned the incongruencies in the script?
I did have problems with it, especially the wedding sequence. Why would Armaan doubt Jassi and marry Mallika? Why is my name changing? I come from a middle class family and I kept thinking that something like this would never happen in real life. However, the channel explained that such liberties have to be taken to hold viewer interest.

Do you like playing Neha Shastri?
Jassi's realised that being beautiful and taking revenge as Jessica is not satisfying. Neha Shastri is a widowed teacher at the school Purab helped set up. The cast and location have changed and they seem exciting. But I do miss fighting with Nandu and Maddy. That was the best part about the show.

So you enjoy playing a school teacher?
It's something I never thought I'd do. In school, I was a complete brat and all my teachers would say, 'Either you leave or we do'. Life's come full circle.

Will there be a new man in Jassi's life?
There may be new characters who'll help her along the way, but never another love interest. She's too scarred by the Armaan episode and devastated by Purab's death. It's time she proceeded alone.

What about your love life?
Believe me, even if I had a boyfriend he wouldn't be able to keep up with my hectic schedule.

Is it difficult now to speak as Mona the actor?
No, in fact it's liberating. Earlier I would be perpetually confused about whether I was Jassi or myself. Finally, I'm an actor talking about her character.

When is the story going to end?
Jassi is not a serial that can continue for a thousand episodes. Nor do I see myself playing the character for much longer as my contract expires early next year. The show began with Armaan and Jassi, and must conclude with a confrontation between the two.

The rumour mills are saying that you're worried about your weight?
I have put on a few pounds. During the wedding scenes, I was looking really chubby. So I've started gymming again and cut down on fatty foods.

Tell us about your film.
It's completely different from my Jassi image and is tentatively titled Main to Chala. I'm also dying to do a play.

Few people know that you're a really good singer.
Everyone's been urging me to try out for one of these talent shows. I love music and if I wasn't on Jassi..., I would definitely have been a part of Indian Idol or Fame Gurukul.

aries_sakshi thumbnail
Jassi's special moments
By: Shaheen Parkar
August 31, 2005

Shaheen Parkar
September 1 marks the second anniversary of Sony daily Jassi Jaissi Koi Nahin. Along with the celebrations is Jassi's birthday bash that will unfold in the show from next week. Though the channel does not want to spell out what has been lined-up, it mentions that there will be lots of music and masti.

Last year, as part of the first anniversary bash, the Post and Telegraph Department had released a special cover on Jassi — the first time in the country that a TV character had graced a stamp cover. As for model-turned-actress Mona Singh, who plays Jassi, it has been a steady climb to being a TV icon, as she reflects on those Jassi moments…

There was no response for two months after the auditions
My family is based in Pune and I came down to Mumbai to audition for the role of Jassi. I had approached Deeya and Tony Singh, as I liked their earlier show, Banegi Apni Baat.

It was the first production house I had approached. Deeya asked me to imagine that I was dressing up a character (which I later realised was Bebe!) and sing a song. I sang Payale Chun Mun, from Viraasat. The auditions were held in February 2003. For two months, there was no reply. Then in May, out of the blue, Deeya called me for another audition.

I had to undergo 15 screen tests
I did not know what the show was about. They told me it was something big, and they wanted me to look like a complete nerd for it. They dressed me as a Punjabi, Gujarati, South Indian. I had two plaits, two ponytails, a handkerchief pinned on me.

They kept experimenting and I would have to keep coming from Pune to Mumbai for the auditions. I had no clue what I was playing. After some 15 screen tests, I was finally on — and realised what the show was about. Deeya would take me shopping for the character — we did the rounds of opticians and dentists, till we found what was perfect.

It became my best-kept secret…
I was sworn to secrecy; no one except my immediate family knew about it. When the show was launched, I was kept away from the media. I even changed my mobile number so no one could contact me.

My voice was a give away
After the episodes were aired, several of my friends would ask me, 'Is that you Mona?'. I would tell them to keep quiet. When I was in Jassi garb, I could move about easily, till I spoke — then people would wonder. I have a distinctive voice that was a give-away.

I felt like a rock star
My first public event soon after Jassi aired was in a Delhi shopping mall. The crowds were frightening. There were people falling off the escalator. Mothers were asking little daughters to touch my feet! Later, in Kolkata, there were people biting each other to photograph me. That's when I felt like a rock star, that Jassi had arrived.

I didn't mind the Jassi paraphernalia
Simply because I knew there was going to be a transformation – even though it was delayed. The only time when I wished I was not in Jassi garb was when Saif Ali Khan came on the show, and once when Shah Rukh Khan came on the sets with his kids to meet me. I had to meet them as Jassi!

The most difficult part of shooting were the tears
I can't cry in public easily. I keep my emotions to myself — even with glycerine, I couldn't have the tears. Then Viruji (Virendra Saxena), who plays my father, actually cried; looking at his efforts, I began to sob. I learnt to cry, and my tears for Armaan Sir didn't stop.

Anything after Jassi will have to be really good
I know that with my first show itself, I have reached a high. To take on any new projects after Jassi will have to be really well thought out and pondered over decision. I have signed Bobby Pushkarna's Main To Chala, for which I will shoot from December.

Naina_Manam thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail Networker 1 Thumbnail
Jassi Jaisi Koi Nahin (Indian Serial) - Vol 65 - 2005 [DVD]

Not Rated
Sound : Dolby Digital
Year : 2005
Playtime : 147 Minutes
Lang : Hindi
Format : Full Screen
Genre : Ind./Pak. Serial
Price : $11.00 (New)
Condition : New

Jassi Jaisi Koi Nahin (Indian Serial) - Vol 65 DVD Details
Sound : Dolby Digital
Year : 2005
Print : Color
Playtime : 147 Minutes
Lang : Hindi
Format : Full Screen
Release : 1 Unknown
Genre : Ind./Pak. Serial
Rating : NR - Not Rated
Category : Bollywood DVD

Diva thumbnail
21st Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail + 4
Jassi Gets Arrested!

Jassi in troubled waters

Jassi the most loved character on Sony channel…has yet another interesting twist in its tale in its forthcoming episode on 19th september. The episode has Jassi getting into trouble and getting arrested in the process. Jassi is getting arrested for Anuj Saxena's murder but there is a warrant in the name of Neha Shastri. Father Rodrigz tells Raghav who is the defence lawyer for Jassi to salvage her and that Neha is actually Jassi and he was the one

responsible for giving her the false identity. While all the talk for Jassi's salvage is going on, the wicked men in her life Parvatlal and Aryan are elated because they have been victorious in their sole mission to put Jassi into trouble. Aryan notoriously bribes the public prosecutor from taking on the case. Both of them try to put Jassi in a fix and they do so by trying to delay the case from getting to the court .
So watching Jassi in troubled waters will be an interesting episode to catch.