IF Female Indian Idol Conclusion & Preview

risingabove thumbnail
16th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail
Link to Contest:

https://www.indiaforums.com/forum/indian-idol-6/1387579/ifs-indian-idol-female

The Game has finished!

First of all, big thanks to all those that participated. Whether it was sending songs, judging songs, commenting in threads, or even voting in the poll, a big thanks from the bottom of my heart! You all played a part in making everything so great! I'll be the 1st one to say, this was the first real competition run. The ones in MKMM seem more like previews to the real competition as seen here. So thanks for all who participated in the 1st full competition.

Congrats to Shreya Ghoshal for winning the 2 decade female singing competition! That's quite impressive. But also, all the singers who actually participated, and the ones who finished high, all deserve a šŸ‘ because they all were deserving winners! Remember, this was all for fun, and really all these singers are winners just by participating in this contest, especially the ones who finished near the top!

One of the best parts of the competition for me was just sitting back and listening to some of these great singers sing. Just appreciating there singing even more whether they won or lost. I'll admit that I myself didn't know some of these singers too much, but that has changed after this competition. So just for overall satisfaction, knowledge, and appreciation, thank you!

risingabove thumbnail

Here is a list of all the contestants who participated (Alphabetical order and a quick word on their journey:

Alisha Chinai-
After having a rough start, Alisha just found ways to hang on in the competition and made her way all the way to Round 8. Which would put her Top 10 in the past 2 decades. Very impressive!

Alka Yagnik-
Led by song selections by CPR, Alka Yagnik, one of the best singers in the past 2 decades easily, was able to make it all the way to the Finals finishing Top 3. Very impressive. She had many close calls for elimination, but she did not go out. But hey finalist and Top 3 in decade? Not bad.

Anuradha Paudwal-
I apologize for making her enter so late. But she deserved to be in this from the start! Right from the Wildcard Round she started impressing. And overall even I didn't know much about her, but after this competition, I have much respect and appreciation!

Kavita-
Was one of the strongest contestants in this entire competition. She had the 2nd most #1 finishes behind just Shreya Ghoshal. It was unfortunate she was eliminated before Finals, but had delivered many fine performances prior to getting eliminated.

K.S. Chithra-
Another legendary singer. Though she is more dominant in the south, she still left a lasting impression in this competition with some great performances. Was unfortunate to get eliminated early though. But at that point in the competition, whoever got eliminated would be unfortunate.

Madhushree-
A singer I barely heard about before this competition. And afterwards, I really like her and her voice. Very nice singer who delivered some nice performances.

Mahalaxmi Iyer-
She had a great run as well, and could've gone on longer if not for the "dance" round that doomed her. Overall though, one of the finest singers in this competition finishing Top 10 in 2 decades.

Monali Thakur-
The actual Indian Idol. She only made a Wild Card appearance, but at least we saw her!

Richa Sharma-
Another one of the finest singers we've had and also finished Top 10. She is definitely a strong singer and she showed singing some nice songs throughout the competition.

Sadhana Sargam-
Another Wild Card entry that I apologize because she should've been in there from the start .Nonetheless, she made quite an impact finishing Top 2 overall in 2 decades. Now THAT is impressive!

Shilpa Rao-
Another new upcoming singer who actually had some good performances before getting eliminated. It's good to see some good upcoming talent.

Shreya Ghoshal-
What can I say about her? Amazing singer and the winner of the competition!

Sunidhi Chauhan-
Another singer who fell short of the Finals though might've deserved to be there. A poor song selection probably is what doomed her. Nonetheless, she had MANY strong performances and did great throughout.

Tulsi Kumar-
Well our 1st elimination :(. Oh well, at least she made it here.

Vasundhara Das-
Another early elimination after 2 struggling performances. Nonetheless, she came back for Wild Card and did well there.

We've heard many great songs in this competition. Here are all the performances that got a 9 (rounded to nearest whole) or higher rating in the entire competition:

Alisha Chinai:

https://www.indiaforums.com/forum/indian-idol-6/1393613/round-3-alisha-chinai (Tinka Tinka)

Alka Yagnik:

https://www.indiaforums.com/forum/indian-idol-6/1395057/round-3-alka-yagnik (Jhute Ilzam)
https://www.indiaforums.com/forum/indian-idol-6/1398005/round-4-alka-yagnik (Mere Humsfar)
https://www.indiaforums.com/forum/indian-idol-6/1414397/round-9-alka-yagnik (Aisa Kyun Hota Hai)
https://www.indiaforums.com/forum/indian-idol-6/1426612/round-13-alka-yagnik (Taal se Taal)
https://www.indiaforums.com/forum/indian-idol-6/1429117/judges-round-alka-yagnik (Saanwariya Saanwariya)
https://www.indiaforums.com/forum/indian-idol-6/1431381/final-round-alka-yagnik (Tum Mile)

Anuradha Paudwal:

https://www.indiaforums.com/forum/indian-idol-6/1408555/wildcard-round-anuradha-paudwal (Bahut Pyar Kartein Hai)
https://www.indiaforums.com/forum/indian-idol-6/1414398/round-9-anuradha-paudwal (Dhak Dhak Karne Laga)

Kavita:

https://www.indiaforums.com/forum/indian-idol-6/1388264/round-1-kavita (Pyar Hua Chupke Se)
https://www.indiaforums.com/forum/indian-idol-6/1393618/round-3-kavita (Main Vaari Vaari)
https://www.indiaforums.com/forum/indian-idol-6/1399524/round-4-kavita (Dil Chura Liya)
https://www.indiaforums.com/forum/indian-idol-6/1402378/round-5-kavita (Aaj Mein Upar)
https://www.indiaforums.com/forum/indian-idol-6/1410713/round-8-kavita (Nimbooda Nimbooda)
https://www.indiaforums.com/forum/indian-idol-6/1415527/round-9-kavita (Paigham)
https://www.indiaforums.com/forum/indian-idol-6/1417326/round-10-kavita (Hamesha Tumko Chaha)
https://www.indiaforums.com/forum/indian-idol-6/1420847/round-11-kavita (Aankhon Ki Gusthakiyan)
https://www.indiaforums.com/forum/indian-idol-6/1429120/judges-round-kavita (Qayamat Ho)

K.S. Chithra:

https://www.indiaforums.com/forum/indian-idol-6/1391991/round-2-k-s-chithra (Tu Mera Hai)
https://www.indiaforums.com/forum/indian-idol-6/1402380/round-5-k-s-chithra (Mera Dil Ka Tumse)
https://www.indiaforums.com/forum/indian-idol-6/1410715/round-8-k-s-chithra (Jhannana Jhannana)

Mahalaxmi Iyer:

https://www.indiaforums.com/forum/post/30291210 (Bol Na Halke Halke)
https://www.indiaforums.com/forum/indian-idol-6/1402383/round-5-mahalaxmi-iyer (Baat Meri Suniye)
https://www.indiaforums.com/forum/indian-idol-6/1408557/wildcard-round-mahalaxmi-iyer (Chup Chup Ke Se)

Sadhana Sargam:

https://www.indiaforums.com/forum/indian-idol-6/1408562/wildcard-round-sadhna-sargam (Kuch Na Kaho)
https://www.indiaforums.com/forum/indian-idol-6/1412165/round-8-sadhana-sargam (Saat Samundhar)
https://www.indiaforums.com/forum/indian-idol-6/1415530/round-9-sadhana-sargam (Jhula Bahoon Ka)
https://www.indiaforums.com/forum/indian-idol-6/1417329/round-10-sadhana-sargam (Chupke Se)
https://www.indiaforums.com/forum/indian-idol-6/1429118/judges-round-sadhana-sargam (Aao Na)
https://www.indiaforums.com/forum/indian-idol-6/1431378/final-round-sadhana-sargam (Naine Neer)

Shreya Ghoshal:

https://www.indiaforums.com/forum/indian-idol-6/1389480/round-1-shreya-ghoshal (Silsila Hai Chahat Ka)
https://www.indiaforums.com/forum/indian-idol-6/1391997/round-2-shreya-ghoshal (Zoobi Doobi)
https://www.indiaforums.com/forum/indian-idol-6/1393631/round-3-shreya-ghoshal (Chalo Tumko Le Ker)
https://www.indiaforums.com/forum/indian-idol-6/1399523/round-4-shreya-ghoshal (Wada Raha)
https://www.indiaforums.com/forum/indian-idol-6/1400981/round-5-shreya-ghoshal (Yeh Ishq Hai)
https://www.indiaforums.com/forum/indian-idol-6/1412168/round-8-shreya-ghoshal (Dhoom Tana)
https://www.indiaforums.com/forum/indian-idol-6/1415531/round-9-shreya-ghoshal (Cheeni Kum)
https://www.indiaforums.com/forum/indian-idol-6/1419064/round-10-shreya-ghoshal (Bephanah Pyar Hai)
https://www.indiaforums.com/forum/indian-idol-6/1420848/round-11-shreya-ghoshal (Teri Ore)
https://www.indiaforums.com/forum/indian-idol-6/1426615/round-13-shreya-ghoshal (Leja Leja Re)
https://www.indiaforums.com/forum/indian-idol-6/1429119/judges-round-shreya-ghoshal (Mere Dholna)
https://www.indiaforums.com/forum/indian-idol-6/1431376/final-round-shreya-ghoshal (Barso Re)

Sunidhi Chauhan:

https://www.indiaforums.com/forum/indian-idol-6/1395067/round-3-sunidhi-chauhan (Aisa Jadoo)
https://www.indiaforums.com/forum/indian-idol-6/1398013/round-4-sunidhi-chauhan (Mere Haath Mein)
https://www.indiaforums.com/forum/indian-idol-6/1402385/round-5-sunidhi-chauhan (Dhadak Dhadak)
https://www.indiaforums.com/forum/indian-idol-6/1414400/round-9-sunidhi-chauhan (Bhaage Re Maan)
https://www.indiaforums.com/forum/indian-idol-6/1417333/round-10-sunidhi-chauhan (Sajna Ve Sajna)
https://www.indiaforums.com/forum/indian-idol-6/1422507/round-11-sunidhi-chauhan (Mehboob Mere)
risingabove thumbnail
And many of you have asked about a Male Contest similar to this one. Well, IF there is 1 run, it will be run when Sa Re Ga Ma Pa starts, so on those forums. Because we simply don't have enough time to finish one of these. These things take almost as long as a reality show themselves.

But the format will be similar with a twist. It will once again be 2 decades. So singers from the past 2 decades who sang well, with a little more importance given to singers who sing more during present times. So similar to all the contestants this competition (With singers like Anuradha and Sadhana being in original 12).

However, it will be more Sa Re Ga Ma Pa style. 4 Gurus. With each having their team of 4 singers. In other words, each judge/guru will have their own team of singers, who they are responsible for and thus they choose songs for them and so on. Just think SRGMP and how its done. Even though it's a competition of singers, there is some team aspects of it as well.

But anyways, more details would be included later IF this was run. And obviously, the singers would be divided in some way so that each guru has singers they like. So just imagine, your team of 4, consisting of some of the best singers in the past 2 decades.......Udit Narayan, Sonu Nigam, Kumar Sanu, Abhijeet, Shaan, and I could go on forever!
xobile thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
Phew! That was one long, hard journey! Can't believe it's over 😲

You're right, RA, it was the first true competition. It had more and better performances, higher-octane drama, and some great controversies! šŸ˜†

Thanks for creating such a fun-filled game! It's our very own reality show!

The idea for the male competition sounds nice 😃
esseesse thumbnail
16th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 2
Thanks RA for this cut throat competition! Almost like a virtual reality show, which it actually was.šŸ˜‰

Like we say, it was unlike any other.šŸ‘
simi_1 thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 2
RA Thank you so much for organising this gamešŸ¤—šŸ¤—
The choice of singers were mind blowing and teh various rounds have truly brought out the different moods in me
šŸ„³šŸ˜
If anyone wants to Improve their listening skills, would highly recommend this game of yours, cause many a times have graded a simple song with higher grades, just because of the nuances / subtlities that a singer has brought to the song, which puts the song in a much higher platform than the others. It definitly helps me in my riyaaz as to what simple subtle touches I can include in my practises, and trust me it has lead to many healthy discussions within our practise groups
Thoroughly enjoyed all those participants and their views and gradings, and pretty cool comments šŸ˜Ž thank you all😃
Last but not the least Thank all the judges for their valuable inputs,and view points.😃
since MKMM have always looked forward to SSK and XOs input and back and forth debates, and sometimes wonder what i would do without you wonderful virtual buddies
Hoping to be with you all for the II male contest, in one of my most favorite reality shows Saregamapa😊
Edited by simi_1 - 15 years ago
p@ras thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
RA thank you so much for taking so much effort and organising this gamešŸ¤— ....it was so professionally done! šŸ‘šŸ¼
Enjoyed a lot...it was for the first time I was listening to songs to rate them..otherwise we usually listen and just enjoy and leave it..have never done analysing the song ...so it was really fun doing all that..felt sad to see kavitaji exit this game😭...and also felt happy to see Shreya win this time toošŸ‘ .... learnt a lot abt music with some technically knowledgeable posts by all the judges šŸ‘ ...and enjoyed reading all the comments ,arguments,,and also got to listen to some memorable songs and also downloading them...all the credit goes to you..thanks once again. šŸ‘
Hunk101 thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail

Thanks RA for your wonderful initiative & u deserve to get a šŸ‘. Happy to see Shreya winšŸ˜›. I had a lot of Fun listening to all these great singers, selecting songs & also judging their performance (though i dont consider myself capable to judging these legends), then also had a few interesting arguments, infact this competition was nothing less than a reality show. During my work whenever i used to get some leisure time I would always comment & do song selections etc.

Through this competition I have learnt to appreciate these singers even more, infact there were many songs which came in my childhood but I never knew who the singers were, i learnt to acknowledge their talent.

RA, I liked your idea of Male SRGMP competition, its really great, it will be fun.😊

Cutiepie_Rani thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Trailblazer Thumbnail + 4
Wow! What a fun filled long journey this has been for not just me, but all of us.

First off I have to thank RA for such a creative concept and theme! If it were not for you, none of this would have even happened. Thank you so much for this wonderful competition. And also thank you so much for thinking that I was worthy enough to be a judge. Were it not for your decision to make me a judge, I wouldn't have known all these fabulous members of the II section. I have made so many friends just because of you for involving me in this competition! šŸ¤— Don't have enough words to thank you!

Secondly I must mention my co judges with whom I really couldn't have made it through this competition. We may have had our disagreements at times, and things might have gone out of hand at other times. But at the end of the day I still have the same respect for all of you as I did before. All these scripted fights, arguments, disagreements was very fun indeed (minus the personal attacks)! šŸ˜† So Xobile, SSK, & Someone999 thank you so much for everything! It was a pleasure working with you all & hopefully we'll be in it together again!

Now coming to the singers. They all are fabulous! I've mentioned repeatedly that these singers have all already made a name for themselves and our judging and ratings will have no effect on them. Who are we to judge them anyways? They all have given us superb songs to listen to and what more can we ask for from them? All are winners in my eyes. A big congrats for Shreya though! Well deserved. She was the clear favorite from the beginning! Congrats to Sadhna ji and Alka ji as well. To have made it as far as the finals is a huge thing. But the other singers that did not make it are no less than the three that did! As I mentioned all are winners in their own perspective. So cheers for all! šŸ‘

The best part of this competition wasn't the judging, but rather being able to listen to some of the greatest songs ever! It was so refreshing to hear some songs after a long time and to hear songs that were never heard of before. It made me just appreciate the singers more! They all have truly touched the hearts of millions! And they all need to be recognized!

Now coming to the audience. It was such a pleasure reading all of your posts and reviews of the songs and singers. Truly felt great reading all of those awesome reviews. Just made the appreciation of the singer grow!

All in all this def was just like a live reality show with lots of spicy and hot drama! I truly enjoyed the experience and journey.

Coming to the male competition, I am full on excited for it! I've always been a huge fan of SRGMP! In fact I have also tried for SRGMP but unfort wasn't as good enough yet! But this year you will all be sure to see me active on the forum (considering college doesn't get in the way) as I have 3 friends to cheer on! So I will be looking forward to the male competition of this!

Once again its been a true honor! Love you all!

And on that note here is a song of my two favorite singers! Its a song that won't get out of my head lately! Do enjoy! =]

[YOUTUBE]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-6NucX8_RH0[/YOUTUBE]

šŸ˜ 😳
Edited by Cutiepie Rani - 15 years ago
risingabove thumbnail
Thanks everyone!

And for fun, here were some of the threads with the highest TRPs 😃
You guys can see some of the long discussions you've had from Round 1 to the Finale. All of these threads had more than 5 pages of discussion. With the bolded ones going all the way to 10+ pages. And the ones in Red going 20+ pages.

https://www.indiaforums.com/forum/indian-idol-6/1389474/round-1-alka-yagnik (Round 1 Alka Yagnik)

https://www.indiaforums.com/forum/indian-idol-6/1388265/round-1-k-s-chitra (Round 1 K.S. Chithra)

https://www.indiaforums.com/forum/indian-idol-6/1389479/round-1-richa-sharma (Round 1 Richa Sharma)

https://www.indiaforums.com/forum/indian-idol-6/1389482/round-1-tulsi-kumar (Round 1 Tulsi Kumar)

https://www.indiaforums.com/forum/indian-idol-6/1390788/round-2-alisha-chinai?pn=4 (Round 2 Alisha Chinai)

https://www.indiaforums.com/forum/indian-idol-6/1391997/round-2-shreya-ghoshal (Round 2 Shreya Ghoshal)

https://www.indiaforums.com/forum/indian-idol-6/1393618/round-3-kavita (Round 3 Kavita)

https://www.indiaforums.com/forum/indian-idol-6/1393631/round-3-shreya-ghoshal (Round 3 Shreya Ghoshal)

https://www.indiaforums.com/forum/indian-idol-6/1412164/round-8-anuradha-paudwal (Round 8 Anuradha Paudwal)

https://www.indiaforums.com/forum/indian-idol-6/1414400/round-9-sunidhi-chauhan (Round 9 Sunidhi Chauhan)

https://www.indiaforums.com/forum/indian-idol-6/1417333/round-10-sunidhi-chauhan (Round 10 Sunidhi Chauhan)

https://www.indiaforums.com/forum/indian-idol-6/1422504/round-11-alka-yagnik (Round 11 Alka Yagnik)

https://www.indiaforums.com/forum/indian-idol-6/1420846/round-11-anuradha-paudwal (Round 11 Anuradha Paudwal)

https://www.indiaforums.com/forum/indian-idol-6/1420848/round-11-shreya-ghoshal (Round 11 Shreya Ghoshal)

https://www.indiaforums.com/forum/indian-idol-6/1426613/round-13-sadhana-sargam (Round 13 Sadhana Sargam)

https://www.indiaforums.com/forum/indian-idol-6/1425350/round-13-sunidhi-chauhan (Round 13 Sunidhi Chauhan)

https://www.indiaforums.com/forum/indian-idol-6/1431367/final-round-live-performance-alka-yagnik (Final Round Live Alka Yagnik)

Edited by risingabove - 15 years ago