There she was again, Raghu thought as he watched the girl in red out of the corner of his eye. He turned to her as always, approaching with the same chastisement.
"Miss kaul, have I not told you many times it isn't safe to go through these woods?" he asked as he stepped out onto the path. "A wolf is sure to get you if you keep coming this way." This woods are dangerous".
"Why do you keep treating me like a child, Raghu?"asked Antara,trying to keep the pout out of her voice. "You know I'm not a little kid anymore,sambhal sakti Hun May apney aapko".
"It's not your age that concerns me, it's your safety," he insisted as he took his rifle harness off his shoulder and set the gun aside. "The people around here had become feast for the wolfs,what hope do you think there would be if that wolf decided to make a lunch of you?"
"Oh, Raghu, I'm sorry, I haven't heard about the people here". she whispered, taking his hands in her own and giving them a consoling squeeze. His eyes became hooded as he watched her, and the urge to draw her near was quite strong. She must have sensed his mood, for a blush crept up into her cheeks as she looked down at her feet.
"Raghu,tum akelay rahtay ho yaha,instead of holing yourself up all alone you should come into town and join in the dances or something," she suggested. "You can't avoid people altogether you know".
Raghu chuckled. "Are you asking me to dance, Miss kaul?"I've never learned how. I would probably step on my partner's toes."
"It's not that difficult," she said. "Let me show you."
Antara put his hands at her shoulder and waist respectively and they started to dance together. Raghu was stiff at first, but soon got the hang of it. She was beautiful in her innocence, he thought as he suddenly stopped, realizing their bodies were quite close together.
"Shouldn't you be going to Daadi's?" he reminded her circumspectly as he stepped away.
"What is it?" she asked, seeing his face.
"Wolves aren't the only danger in these woods," he admitted, his hands clenching and unclenching at his sides. "Best you go now."
Antara turned away and skipped quickly down the path. Raghu took several deep breaths as he watched her go. "Mujhey tumari parwa hai Antara,pyaar joh karta Hun tumse".
II
"Where have you been, bacchey?" Daadi asked as Antara entered the cottage on the edge of the forest. She was panting from her efforts to hurry after taking so long with Raghu along the way.
"I got a late start," she said, and produced the basket full of food. Daadi took out the homemade baking and cheese, and grinned as she took out fresh strawberries as well.
"I'll make these into preserves straight away," she said with a satisfied smile.
"I was hoping you would," Antara admitted.
"But where is your needlepoint, girl?" her grandmother chided. "Were you not planning to stay for a while?"
"Momma wants me back soon," she answered with a disappointed air. "We have huge laundry to do today."
"Then shall I expect to see you tomorrow?"
"Yes, I'll be back daadi". she said. "I need you to help me make my dress for the dance on Friday night."
"And is there anyone in particular you hope to see at the dance?" Daadi asked with a curious grin.
Antara blushed, and turned toward the door.
"Come on, girl, don't keep me in suspense."
She sighed and said, "I doubt he will be there." "Woh kahi jaata nai na."
"He will be if he knows you are," Daadi reassured her. "That's just the way it works in these matters. Don't you worry, you'll see. Your beau is bound to turn up."
"He's not my beau, Daadi," she said, blushing even more.
"No? But he could be, my dear," she replied, patting her arm. "We just have to add the polish. The rest you already have."
"What do I have?" Antara wanted to know, and she turned back around to hear it.
"Your sweet personality, for one thing," Daadi said. "Plus, you're tiny. Men seem to like tiny little things like you. And you're quite pretty, especially your chest nut colored hair. Maybe what you need is a dress to match. I just happen to have a few yards of red velvet I never had a use for. Perhaps we can make your dress from that? It would match that hooded cape your mother made you for Christmas nicely."
"I want to attract the man, not overwhelm him," said Antara with a laugh. "But I really do need to go. Momma will be furious."
"I'll see you tomorrow, my dear," Daadi said as she kissed and hugged her good-bye.
Although it was her normal habit to return through the wood Antara thought better of it this time. Her emotions were still too fresh from her earlier encounter with Raghu and the dangers he had mentioned. Trouble was, she wasn't at all certain if it was the wolf that concerned her, or if it was the man.
III
Antara almost decided against going through the woods the next day, but thought better of it. If she didn't tell Raghu she would be going to the dance on Friday night, how would he know she was there? If Daadi was going to spend her velvet on the dress,she wanted it to be for a good reason.
She was beginning to think he wasn't going to talk to her today after all, but then he was suddenly standing in the path with his hands placed firmly on his hips. The effect was spoiled by the fact his eyes were dancing, but she was willing to pretend she didn't notice.
"What did I tell you yesterday about the dangers in these woods?" he asked as she reached him.
"I know, but I decided that a little bit of danger was not such a bad thing," she admitted, trying to be bold. But then she had to go and blush as she looked away right when she tried to meet his gaze head on.
"You did?" he said, running a finger down the length of the arm she was using to hold her basket.
"I brought you some lunch," she told him briskly as she took off her cape and spread it out on the ground. Raghu watched her with a hunger in his eyes that had nothing to do with food, and Antara swallowed hard in response.
She settled herself and the basket on the cape, then looked up at him expectantly. Raghu sat down beside her and watched as she unpacked her food.
"Strawberry pie?" he asked, suddenly interested in the food after all. "My favorite."
"I remember," she said softly. They both spared a thought for his mother, who used to make pies for the fair. She had won the blue ribbon four years in a row for her strawberry pies, and Raghu had always been her taste tester.
Antara handed one of the sandwiches to him and took the other for herself. They ate together in companionable silence until Raghu finally asked, "So, what are you doing today?"
"Daadi and I are making me a dress for Friday night's dance," she answered casually.
"You're going to the dance Friday?" he asked as his hand brushed hers while he took the lemonade she had just poured for him. A spark passed between them and Antara gasped in surprise. "Sorry," he said.
"It's okay," she teased him. "Just another one of those dangers you keep talking about."
Raghu worked his jaw a moment, searching for a response. Instead of answering, he rubbed her hand again, then traced his fingers up her arm. "I guess I won't do it again," he said, grinning down at her.
"Okay," she answered, her voice coming out in a husky whisper. "You'd better eat your pie while I go to Daadi's. That dress isn't going to make itself."
"No, I suppose not," he agreed, and stood up so she could go.
"See you later," she said, and headed down the path. Raghu watched her hopping away.
IV
Antara entered her grandmother's door to find her hard at work on the dress. The fabric had already been cut, and she was sewing one of the sleeve seams. The other sleeve seam had already been finished.
"Goodness, Daadi, did you even go to sleep last night?"
"Well, I tried to, but I just couldn't," she admitted. "Why don't you do the hem on that sleeve and then start working on the bodice?"
"This fabric is truly beautiful," Antara said, almost feeling guilty for taking it.
"And on you it will be even more so," Daadi added with a satisfied smile. "I always knew it would come in handy one day."
As Antara settled herself on the sofa and began to sew her grandmother grew more serious. She cast her a curious stare, wondering what was wrong.
Daadi finally said, "There have been an awful lot of wolf attacks lately. I worry about you taking that woodland path. My mind would be easier if you would stay clear of the forest entirely."
"But Daadi!"she protested, not sure if she should reveal her reason for preferring the route. "If I don't go into the woods, Raghu will have no one to talk to at all."
"Raghu is all alone now," Antara said softly. "His father passed away a couple months back. Surely I couldn't abandon him completely and leave him with no company at all."
"If that boy wants company so much he can come out of the woods to get it," Daadi insisted. "And I'm guessing he'll be starting with that dance, if my eyes are seeing you correctly."
"What do you mean?" Antara asked, trying to stop the tide of heat that reddened her face as the old woman spoke. She hadn't meant to become upset by her grandmother's words, and now she tried to calm herself as quickly as possible.
Daadi held a piece of the red velvet up to her face and pretended to compare the shades, which made Antara blush even more. She took the fabric from her hand and laid it aside.
"All right, you've got me," she admitted. "I'm hoping that he'll like the dress."
"You're hoping that he'll like the whole package," Daadi teased her. "Just be careful out there, will you?"
"I will, Daadi," she said. "I promise."
V
Raghu looked nervously into the old looking glass in his parents' room. He had done a fairly decent job of his hair, and his new suit fit him nicely. He looked like a new man, and he sincerely hoped that Miss kaul would appreciate his efforts.
To keep his mind off just how much effort he wished he could waste on her, he set off briskly through the forest and into town. As he approached the hall where the dance was in full swing he caught the eye of more than one young lady, and tipped his hat to each of them politely, choosing not to stop and talk as they all headed the same way.
"Raghunath naik is that you?" cooed one of them. "I haven't seen you in five years or more. Not since we all finished school. I declare, my sister would surely be pleased with the transformation."
"Thanks, sandy, but I've already got someone in mind."
"Courting someone already, eh?" she teased.
"About to be, ma'am," he answered, then tilted his hat as he left her behind.
Just as he reached the building he heard a burst of laughter from several young men who had gathered outside. One of them was obviously saying something that had their attention, so he decided to listen
"Gosh!,she looks breathtakingly beautiful yaar! One of the guys said.
"Anyone seen Miss kaul?"raghu asked, pretending he had not heard them.
"We've all seen her," The guy assured him. "Prettiest girl in the hall tonight. Go on in and see if she warms up to you, since the rest of us can't seem to strike her fancy."
Raghu laughed as he stepped inside. He spotted Miss kaul immediately and his heart thudded in his chest at the sight. He stood right where he was and drank in the sight of the little red beauty, unable to trust himself to speak past his constricting throat. When had her hair grown so long? And when exactly was it that she'd grown"those? If he didn't stop watching her soon he might just embarrass himself.
Antara spotted him from across the room, and she came to greet him with a pleased smile. He smiled back, and took her hand in his as she arrived.
VI
Antara giggled, and found herself blushing a deep shade of red as they headed towards the dance floor.
Antara glanced up at him, the smile still touching her lips. Raghu truly wished he could taste them. Then he realized that the look on his face was clearly telling everyone in the room exactly what he was thinking. Damn, he thought uncomfortably, he really wasn't used to being in a crowded room anymore, not since his schoolroom days.
Out of the corner of his eye he spotted the other young men whispering among themselves as they watched him and Miss kaul start to dance, and he dismissed them and their nonsense completely from his mind. He gave all his attention to Antara instead"she was far more interesting than any of them.
"Busy din tha kiya?" she inquired, obviously trying to ease the tension building between them that always seemed to crop up when they touched each other.
"Yeah," he answered.
They kept dancing through several songs, and grew more and more warm as the evening progressed. When Antara started to fan herself he slowed down and brought her with him to fetch some lemonade.
"It's so warm in here," she commented, and Raghu nodded in agreement. Finished with their drinks, they strolled outside onto the veranda, arm in arm, and found the place completely deserted.
"So, let's see, if you're actually throwing your cap at me, isn't this the part where you let me kiss you?" Raghu asked hopefully.
"Choro na Raghu !" Antara chastised him, but when he pulled her close she did nothing to prevent the embrace. However, just as he was about to take a taste, another four people stepped through the door. The two quickly stepped apart and kept strolling as if nothing had happened.
"I'm going to have to walk you home". Raghu said when even more people appeared.
"We could leave now, if you like," she offered. "There are only three more songs before the dance is over anyway."
"We'll go get your cape then," he agreed, and took her hand in his as they headed for the door. Her heart was pounding so hard he could feel it in her hand, and then he realized his own heart was pounding just the same.
VII
Somewhere along the way during their walk Raghu's hand had let go of hers and found its way to the small of Antara's back. The sensation was quite pleasant, if somewhat forward, and she welcomed it even though she knew she shouldn't. They had taken the long way through town, and they were only about half way to her mother's cottage when he stopped and drew her behind a building.
Antara laughed as she gazed up into his eyes, but the laugh quickly turned into a naughty smile when she realized what he was up to. Raghu's lips found hers for not just one, but many kisses, and her heart fluttered with excitement as she willingly joined him in the endeavor. Their breathing was strained by the time he let her go.
"We better get you home," he whispered into her hair. "I'm starting to think it wasn't just the forest that was dangerous."
"I'm starting to think it's you who are dangerous," she whispered back. He drew her even closer then, his lips finding the pulse in her throat and kissing her there. She sensed his desire to explore even further and pulled away gently.
"It is late, Raghu,momma must be waiting.
He let her go then, but she could see how much of an effort it was for him to do so. Perhaps she had allowed this to go on longer than was seemly, she thought as they headed back out onto the main road. They were just holding hands again now, and trying desperately to pretend they weren't ready to go right back behind yet another building at the slightest provocation. They reached Antara's home without any more deviations, however, and he kissed her lightly on the forehead before he let her go inside.
"Bye Raghu,you have no idea what you have given me by coming to the dance".
Raghu smiled and stood there until she was in side her house.
"You sure took your time coming home," her mother commented.
"It's such a lovely evening and I had fun momma," she excused herself. Her mother looked out the window and spied Raghu's retreating form. He was dancing all the way down the street.
Smiling, her mom asked, "Who'd you walk back with?"
"Just Raghu mom," antara said nonchalantly.
"Best you get off to bed, bacchey. We have more laundry to do tomorrow, and your grandmother will be wanting some Fresh milk in the morning, I have no doubt."
"Ji mom" Antara agreed, and did as she was told.
Raghu was on her mind as she lay awake in her bed. The taste of him, the feel of him, wondering how much more he would have done if she would have let him. She knew better than to have let him, but she had wanted him as desperately as he wanted her. She didn't know if she was intrigued, or terrified. But either way, it would be interesting to see where they would go from here. They both were in love but because of circumstances Antara was scared to take their relationship further.
VIII
Antara skipped slowly along the path the next morning. She was nearing the exit to the woods and felt a surge of disappointment that Raghu had not yet appeared. Suddenly, she felt an arm snake around her waist from behind, and turned expecting to see the face she was longing for. It wasn't his.
"Let me go!" she screamed as she looked up at the ugly, filthy man who had ahold of her. She had no idea who he was, but he looked like a beggar or thief or something.
"What's a pretty little thing like you doing out in these woods?" he asked, his breath stinking of liquor and tobacco.
"Throwing up all over you if you don't get your smelly mouth away from me," she told him, trying not to put action to the words.
"Sassy little thing, aren't you?" he asked, trying to kiss her. Antara slapped him across the face, and he slapped her right back. She fell to the ground and turned to look up when she realized the man was not right behind her.
Raghu had his huge hand against the man's throat and a murderous look in his eyes.
"Let him go, Raghu," she said. "He's not worth it."
"Don't you ever touch her again!" Raghu said as he shoved the man away from him. Then he leaned over to help Antara to her feet. The man glared at both of them and ran away with a pronounced limp. Raghu didn't take his eyes off him until he was gone.
"Where were you?" she asked him.
"Fixing my jeep," he said. "That's why I'm still sticky." He took his hand away and wiped it on his leg, but she took the hand to have a look.
"You don't look so bad," she said.
"I'd better walk you over to Daadi's," Raghu said. "Don't know where that guy went."
Before he took another step, though, he pulled her against him and kissed her. Antara clung to him, and didn't let go even when he released her. He laughed and kissed her a few more times, then started walking anyway.
Antara giggled and threw her arms around his waist, but their difference in height prevented her from kissing him anymore without his bending down a bit. He laughed and chose to do so.
When they reached the clearing their antics stopped immediately. Goons were in the field, and we're searching for Raghu.
"Raghu abh kiya hoga?" Antara gasped.
"Wait," Raghu told her. "Move toward the cottage as slowly as you can. Don't let them see us."
"Where's your gun?" she asked him as she noticed he didn't have it.
"I forgot to bring it".he admitted. "I came running when I heard you scream."
They were only a few yards from the cottage when the sound they were dreading resonated their way. One of the goon had spotted them, and was starting to run in their direction.
"Run!" he shouted, pushing Antara toward the door. He took Antara's hand and ran inside Daadi's cottage.
Slamming the door shut they sighed .
"They haven't seen us entering the cottage,we are safe here Raghu."antara said in a small voice.
"I'm not worried about myself miss kaul,tumey kuch nai hona chahiye bas," Raghu announced as he locked the window. "Daadi may not be in here, but we won't be going anywhere ourselves anytime soon.
"He looked around the room, which was no longer warmed by a fire. Daadi couldn't have been in here all morning, he thought glumly. "Why don't you start a fire, we're going to need to stay warm."
"All right," she agreed, and did as he suggested.
Raghu pulled the blanket off the bed and wrapped it around Antara's shoulders as he noticed she had not come away from the fire. He grabbed a second one for himself and joined her. Raghu noticed she had tears in her eyes. "Kiya huwa?" Why you crying?" He asked while burying her in his chest. "Tum ye sab kiyu kartay ho Raghu?". "Tumarey Jaan ko khatra hai!" Patah hai tumey na?"."tum chor kiyu nai detay ye sab?" Antara broke down and started sobbing. "Chor do ye sab please! She cried. Raghu tilted her chin and wiped her tear. Kissing her forehead he said. "I will leave all this,I promise I will leave all Lekin kiya tu mujhsey Shaadi karegi?"merey baccho ki ma banogi? Antara went numb as she stared in his eyes. "Bolo na Antara! "Mera ghar basaogi? Tears flowed from their eyes as Antara noded in yes. "I promise I'll take you away from this place,Bahut door jaha par sirf hum dono hongay aur humarey bacchey." Raghu cupped her cheeks and joined their forehead. "Love you miss kaul!" Raghu whispered. "I love you too Raghu !" Confessed Antara. Kissing and hugging each other tight they slept in each other's arms near the fireplace. Months passed by,rantara got married and moved from there and lived happily ever after.
Guy,I don't have any idea what I penned down. Credit goes to sanju for being a great help.