642126 thumbnail
Hahaha!

Brush up your knowledge.

Chandigarh is a UT and shared capital of Punjab and Haryana.

Punjab and Haryana have only 1 HC.

The one who knows nothing and hasn't even lived here is accusing me of lies and false accusations.

Before independence also when Communal Award was announced, Sikhs were killed. All communities used to kill each other over majority, minority but Sikhs suffered more as they were most in minority.

Even during state reorganisation people of all communities killed each other. And Sikhs suffered more due to being even less in number.

If Hindus and Sikhs behave nicely that's because of hiding history, and remaining mum and because of sheer fear psychosis in Sikhs.

The experiences of my people are NOT LIES.

I can understand why they remained silent, why they hesitated to tell anything. Why they used to ask us also to keep silent.

From this very thread I can see what kind of history about Sikhs is being taught outside.

I owe NO explanation to those who are NOT from my land and community and are observing from outside.

And yeah it's a SHAME to say there is nothing wrong with people trying to fit in.🤢

US and other countries are foreign. But India is not. Even a greater shame that in own land people are pressurised to abandon their identity.

India is built on demonising, blaming, shaming, bullying and shedding blood of minorities and making them abandon their identity.

I see now why my family used to go silent. They have seen everything. And they don't want children to suffer.

Any concern of a minority and a minority's own experience and history are mere lies or claims! Yeah yeah!
🤢

They give false impressions by changing history, muzzling voices and highlighting few puppets as representatives to cite all is well. But only people know the reality.

Keep debating over chaadars and all. These tokenisms don't make even an iota of difference. They can influence image of the country and politicians but not reality of the populace.

No use arguing with people having no knowledge about actual conditions. LOL! Not even aware of shared HC and capital! 😆

Truly. Congress-BJP bhai bhai.

Whatever. All are not fooled.

Majority is already doing great and has successfully fooled the minority or scared it. I do not understand the bawling over minorities here. Secular is just a word.

Dismissing my posts without even reading them or calling them lies. Sure. There are reasons why we do not even speak out. Pata hai kya hone wala hai.

Constitution is another sham. Never ratified by Sikhs. They went ahead without even taking anyone into account! Minority hai toh kya? We don't even count? Anyone can take any decision on us?

Shameful how examples of foreign countries are being given fot a country where people who originated here are also being treated like this. We are not immigrants or something! Disgusting and depressing to be told this in land of one's origin. 🤢
Edited by atominis - 10 years ago
642126 thumbnail
@BirdieNumNum

Wow!

Just cutting hair?

The Kesh are IMPORTANT PART of Sikh IDENTITY.

So are Kara, Kirpan and all. Our Guru Gobind Singh ji gave them to us.

For you these things might be "just cutting hair" or "fanatical". But for us it is our identity that the Guru gave us. In past martyrs have laid down their lives to maintain this identity. They died but didn't leave this.

Stop mocking OUR GURUS AND HISTORY.

You people are proud of own religion but call others fanatics? Want others to leave it all and amalgamate? In their own land of origin? W.O.W.!

You talked of our religion as manna from heaven or etc. How about I say the same for yours? I can't believe one can use such words for any religion! 😲

Our religion, our history, our experience, our identity might seem trivial to you. But it is NOT SO FOR US. You are not one of us so you will never know. Just as I am not from other religions, states etc so I will not know for real.

There is a limit to insulting and mocking and trying to belittle others' faith.

Some unbelievably coarse style of talking here.

It's not manna from heaven, then why do you guys bother so much over Islam, Christianity, Jains, Buddhists, Parsis, Hindus etc? Why not live and let live? Or is only your religion manna from heaven and others can shut up or get lost?

And yeah, I talked about specific problems of Punjab. Not the ones you mentioned. Don't try to mock and twist my words.

Enough shaming of other religions in this thread. Can't believe what kind of thoughts some people have!
mahalaxmi-sita thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Explorer Thumbnail
@atominis
im also a sikh, sorry to hear about your experiences, but you can't paint the entire community in one colour for an act committed by a few.
My maternal grandfather is a baptised sikh and a person who strictly follows sikhi,.. i haven't come across of him being made fun of or badly treated given the fact that he used to work with majority hindus in his earning days.Even in our residential society he was always treated with respect by all people alike, same with my uncles they are sardars and they have never been mocked by anyone, they have hindu friends with whom they are very close.
I agree indian govt has been very unfair and mean to the sikhs but again we don't have unity among ourselves, we allow others to use us for their personal interests.
i think this sikh mocking is mostly limited to N.india, my family has been living in mumbai since ages.. we haven't experienced anything as such.

mahalaxmi-sita thumbnail

Originally posted by: BirdieNumNum

that is the problem when you dont hold on to your chaddis tightly. PM send chaddis away to ajmer😆

@atominis=> yeah you're not looking for entitlements. You're just looking for others to solve the drug and other problems people brought on themselves. You elect CMs and blame others for it. You look for great schooling but you want others to remove their school prayers. You find the Sikh religion losing out and you want someone else to do what? Did we get that right- no entitlements?😆

meanwhile, all the good that has ever been done is ignored, whether it is ushering in prosperity for the state in 60s (?) through the green revolution etc..., whether it is giving place of honor to Sikhs in the Indian Army and politics... All that you can come up with are statements from a couple of fringe elements. On one hand, people have indulged in terrorism in the 70s and 80s and on the other, you've expected people to assimilate them into their existence. Why? Have you seen any other country tolerate the nonsense minorities have been up to in India?

lol minorities were not born traitors 😆 the corrupt indian govt for their vote bank politics pitted one community against the other, obviously you will have rebels from the community arising to fight injustices done to their ppl and thereby going against the state and the govt ...these things don't happen in other countries bcoz their governments are not as power hungry as the ones we have in india.

Incase of green revolution in punjab, the govt decided to invest in punjab bcoz of its fertile soil and the fact that punjabi farmers were hardworking and were capable of converting even the infertile land into a fertile one that time...and not because they had some special love for punjab and sikhs.If they had these things in other states they would have invested there too.The same indian govt forced punjab to share its water with haryana and rajasthan due to which today punjab is facing water crisis.

mahalaxmi-sita thumbnail
The problem with india is, it gives way too much importance to patriotism and so called nationalism whereas ...humanity,value for human life,respecting all faiths, tolerance take a back seat.

the govt justifies killing/torturing of any person by just branding him as an anti-national, and the uneducated patriotic masses laude this action as a step taken to maintain unity of the country without knowing the true facts.There can be no justification for killing an innocent or raping a women. Remember you are a human first and then an indian.

khalistan or kashmir is not the only problem,,.. what about the naxals, NE states..i don't think everything is fine there...incase of naxals they belong to the majority religion still hate the indian govt.

souro thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 2
@Atominis: You raised a lot of problems, but I didn't understand how you can say all of those are communal problems. If you say having a shared capital or HC is unjust towards Punjab which is majority Sikh, then it is equally unjust for Haryana which is majority Hindu.

Not just Sikhs in Punjab, many native communities have problems about how they get treated in their state, or how another foreign community is imposing on them. Marathis have problem about Biharis and UPites taking away their jobs in Maharashtra. Bengalis originally from West Bengal have a problem with how post-partition, Bengalis from East Bengal and later on East Pakistanis/ Bangladeshis have forcibly occupied houses, huge tracts of lands and govt. did nothing, got undue advantage in jobs because they were allowed to apply for jobs till the age of 30 as against only 25 for the natives, and even now continue to illegally immigrate to West Bengal and easily procure citizenship with the help of corrupt politicians. There are also problems with Nepalis trying to carve out North Bengal for themselves, Biharis occupying the various manual labour sectors, first by working for extremely low wages and then by nepotism and unions. Assam has a problem with immigrants from Bangladesh who are taking away their land and livelihood. Tribals and natives of Chhatishgarh feel marginalised because state government there favour the businessmen from Marwari and Sikh communities.

You had also talked about Hindi being forced on people, but that is true for everyone, not just Punjab. Hindi was proposed as the national language in 1960s, but it was strongly opposed by the South Indian states, West Bengal, Maharashtra, Punjab, because they wanted to preserve their own language and culture.

You mentioned that Bhagat Singh is the only freedom fighter from Punjab whose name is mentioned. Well, that's true for most states that contributed most towards the freedom fight, only one or two names are mentioned. Undivided Bengal most probably have given most number of freedom fighters, have you heard anyone's name other than Subhas Chandra Bose? Maharashtra also gave lots of freedom fighters, do you know anyone other than Veer Savarkar? From South India, there were many freedom fighters from Tamil Nadu, do you know even one name of a Tamil freedom fighter? Indian history and Indian politics since independence has been all about North India, North Indians and people close to the Nehru-Gandhi clan. It's not a religion thing, Hinduism has nothing to do with it, Congress wanted to have a personality cult of Gandhi Nehru and they worked towards achieving that. That gets compounded by the attitude of North Indians in general towards people from other parts of India. They mock Tamils, they mock Malayalis, they mock Bengalis, they mock North East Indians, they mock foreigners, they mock everyone who are not North Indians. Which is why people from other parts of India feel even more alienated. But there is a general lack of discipline and responsibility in Indians, and we cannot blame religion for that.
Edited by souro - 10 years ago
CuckooCutter7 thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail Visit Streak 30 Thumbnail

Originally posted by: indianprincess

lol minorities were not born traitors 😆 the corrupt indian govt for their vote bank politics pitted one community against the other, obviously you will have rebels from the community arising to fight injustices done to their ppl and thereby going against the state and the govt ...these things don't happen in other countries bcoz their governments are not as power hungry as the ones we have in india.

Incase of green revolution in punjab, the govt decided to invest in punjab bcoz of its fertile soil and the fact that punjabi farmers were hardworking and were capable of converting even the infertile land into a fertile one that time...and not because they had some special love for punjab and sikhs.If they had these things in other states they would have invested there too.The same indian govt forced punjab to share its water with haryana and rajasthan due to which today punjab is facing water crisis.

😆 this is sounding like something from the "we need to get to the root cause of terrorism". school of thought. In case you did not know, its also variously known as the parvez musharaff school of thought, an idea whose time came and went just as quickly, an idea which has been roundly and soundly discredited.😆. Please dont make us go through that particular BS of an idea again.

isnt it also so convenient that anything good that happened for Punjab eg the green revolution, was nothing one should be thankful for. But everything bad is, even the drug menace and NRI-bride problem that punjabis in general and sikhs in particular brought on themselves? Even in case of green revolution, there were other good options for how the money could have been spent at the federal level. As a punjabi myself, of course i know how industrious and hard working the clan is, but you got to be kidding if you think that the state had nothing to be thankful for...

Originally posted by: indianprincess

The problem with india is, it gives way too much importance to patriotism and so called nationalism whereas ...humanity,value for human life,respecting all faiths, tolerance take a back seat.

the govt justifies killing/torturing of any person by just branding him as an anti-national, and the uneducated patriotic masses laude this action as a step taken to maintain unity of the country without knowing the true facts.There can be no justification for killing an innocent or raping a women. Remember you are a human first and then an indian.

khalistan or kashmir is not the only problem,,.. what about the naxals, NE states..i don't think everything is fine there...incase of naxals they belong to the majority religion still hate the indian govt.

on the contrary, i think india focuses too much on appeasing minorities and on respecting different faiths. There's a holiday for almost every festival imaginable!😆

and govt justifies killing/ torturing people by branding them as anti-nationals. Come on, dont just go around making random statements. if you have specific instances, bring it up, but dont make absurd statements if you cant back it up.😆

and of course India has problems. Who doesn't? The naxal problem is a class warfare one... So what of it? Even out west, half the crowd hated george bush, and half the crowd hates obama now. people are f**ked up that way, what to do?😆
Edited by BirdieNumNum - 10 years ago
Druids thumbnail
10th Anniversary Thumbnail Explorer Thumbnail
I am a Punjabi Hindu and I will say that the Green Revolution wrecked Punjab. The studies that say cancer in Punjab is due to uranium in the water are all BULL.
Bt cotton growing Bathinda belt has maximum cases of cancer. And this from a GM cash crop!!

I went to buy some vegetable seeds today and saw Monsatno's Round UP in the shop. Bloody hell. I had no idea Round UP was available in India. Is there any ailment that is not caused by this pesticide.

In my city Chandigarh, nobody wants to buy Punjab wheat anymore. People prefer to buy MP wheat it possible because Punjabi farmers are known for heavy use of pesticides.
K.Universe. thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail

Originally posted by: Druids

I am a Punjabi Hindu and I will say that the Green Revolution wrecked Punjab. The studies that say cancer in Punjab is due to uranium in the water are all BULL.

Bt cotton growing Bathinda belt has maximum cases of cancer. And this from a GM cash crop!!

I went to buy some vegetable seeds today and saw Monsatno's Round UP in the shop. Bloody hell. I had no idea Round UP was available in India. Is there any ailment that is not caused by this pesticide.

In my city Chandigarh, nobody wants to buy Punjab wheat anymore. People prefer to buy MP wheat it possible because Punjabi farmers are known for heavy use of pesticides.

Since we are all talking about stuff that has nothing to do with "chaadar" anymore:

Glyphosate, the ingredient used in Roundup, is not a pesticide; it's a herbicide. It's mostly used for "weed killing".

The problem is, these herbicides could be indiscriminate in their killing, in the sense, they kill good crops too. So, scientists (yeah, the brainy guys that we all love to despise) came up with genetically engineered crops that can resist herbicides.

Since we now have crops that can resist herbicides, farmers across the globe started using the herbicide more heavily, more dosage, so they could just have good crops and no weeds.

Weeds aren't dumb either. After all, it's all DNA. So they too started resisting these herbicides.

Somewhere, it all went horribly wrong. We don't know exactly what is causing what, but the result is what you mentioned: ailments. Horrible ailments, from cancer, to autism, to kidney diseases to everything else under the Sun.

What is going on now is a blame game. What we don't have is sufficient knowledge. In the meantime, we can't not use the herbicides as otherwise weed will take over.

990853 thumbnail

Originally posted by: atominis

The one who knows nothing and hasn't even lived here is accusing me of lies and false accusations.

You talked about Punjab and you said it didnt had capital, so I didn't mentioned Haryana. I havent lived there or even visited but atleast I know people from Punjab here in US and they never talked about any such issue that you have been talking about. Infact they are the most nicest persons I have came across. I know Punjabi living in Hindu community without any fear. You have been talking communal riots but your generalizing one experience on the whole community.

Before independence also when Communal Award was announced, Sikhs were killed. All communities used to kill each other over majority, minority but Sikhs suffered more as they were most in minority.
This is what I call lie if you have any reference then please mention it. Communal award doesnt mean award for communal violence, it was announced to give every community separate electorates and even depressed caste were given seats.

If Hindus and Sikhs behave nicely that's because of hiding history, and remaining mum and because of sheer fear psychosis in Sikhs.
They are living nicely because they respect each other sentiment more then other community.

The experiences of my people are NOT LIES. I can understand why they remained silent, why they hesitated to tell anything. Why they used to ask us also to keep silent.
So whats the solution according to you ?

From this very thread I can see what kind of history about Sikhs is being taught outside. I owe NO explanation to those who are NOT from my land and community and are observing from outside. And yeah it's a SHAME to say there is nothing wrong with people trying to fit in.🤢
People who want to do well in life will try to adapt to the community or else best solution for them is go on a deserted island and build a separate community.

US and other countries are foreign. But India is not. Even a greater shame that in own land people are pressurised to abandon their identity. India is built on demonising, blaming, shaming, bullying and shedding blood of minorities and making them abandon their identity.
Honestly, If you are not proud of India being Indian, whether its good or bad, then probably you should apply for visa in some other country that support your beliefs. What kind of identity crisis are minority facing in India ?

I see now why my family used to go silent. They have seen everything. And they don't want children to suffer.
Any concern of a minority and a minority's own experience and history are mere lies or claims! Yeah yeah! 🤢 No use arguing with people having no knowledge about actual conditions. LOL! Not even aware of shared HC and capital! 😆
I live here but my heart is in India, whats the use you live in India and ashamed of being Indian.

Constitution is another sham. Never ratified by Sikhs. They went ahead without even taking anyone into account! Minority hai toh kya? We don't even count? Anyone can take any decision on us? Shameful how examples of foreign countries are being given fot a country where people who originated here are also being treated like this. We are not immigrants or something! Disgusting and depressing to be told this in land of one's origin. 🤢
Do you know what % of Indian Army are Sikh ? If you are unaware here is the fact, Sikh make up 60% percent of Indian Army officers, 38 percent of the air force and 33 percent of combat soldiers. If they had so many issue they would have easily taken control of India long time ago. So please stop spreading lies.

Edited by 9tanki - 10 years ago