--Pro.vo.King-- thumbnail
10th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail

Originally posted by: 09tanki

people connect with extra ordinary talent, beauty and stunt. expecting newbie to score perfect 100 is difficult.

+ 1

Why should mediocrity be appreciated ?.. because she is from Pakistan ?.. 😆

Fawad has been hailed for his stint in Bollywood like no actor could do what he did .. and it was partly justified as well .. he portrayed a gay man on-screen & did his job well .. now that is something out of the ordinary .. so its understandable why people had to go overboard with singing praises for him .. coz honestly up until Kappor n Sons , i just could not see wht the hype was about ..

Havnt seen Raees , but going by the OP and many other comments here , looks like Maheera didnt have much to do in the film but didnt suck at her job either .. that is nothing to write home about .. plus , i dunno how & if she managed to look 'beautiful' in the film , but her real life pics tell a different story.. she looks like Shweta Bacchan ..certainly not good enough to be a Bolly actress ..

But I see , people always expect India to be the "bigger man" & keep giving chances to Pakistan .. and its understandable why .. unfortunately Pakistan hain ki sudharne ka naam hi nahi leta ..

So much desperation for approval , i wonder why ? .. 😆

Originally posted by: _Lord.of.Light_

+ 1

Why should mediocrity be appreciated ?.. because she is from Pakistan ?..😆

Fawad has been hailed for his stint in Bollywood like no actor could do what he did .. and it was partly justified as well .. he portrayed a gay man on-screen & did his job well .. now that is something out of the ordinary .. so its understandable why people had to go overboard with singing praises for him .. coz honestly up until Kappor n Sons , i just could not see wht the hype was about ..

Havnt seen Raees , but going by the OP and many other comments here , looks like Maheera didnt have much to do in the film but didnt suck at her job either .. that is nothing to write home about .. plus , i dunno how & if she managed to look 'beautiful' in the film , but her real life pics tell a different story.. she looks like Shweta Bacchan ..certainly not good enough to be a Bolly actress ..

But I see , people always expect India to be the "bigger man" & keep giving chances to Pakistan .. and its understandable why .. unfortunately Pakistan hain ki sudharne ka naam hi nahi leta ..

So much desperation for approval , i wonder why ? ..😆

What happened Quixotic? Didn't expected such comment from you 😕
Anyways as usual Pakistan is being dragged again LOL but then again why i am not surprised?
Resident_Evil thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 2
Ahhh...self-deprecating, apologetic liberals and anti-other country trolls. That took a while but welcome for finally arriving.

I wish you people had better reading comprehension so that you might have figured out that the post is about the backlash and not the praise. 😉 No one cares about getting praise from "the bigger person" but this backlash is curious and unwarranted.
zehreeli.kheer thumbnail
Visit Streak 750 Thumbnail 16th Anniversary Thumbnail + 7
Out of sheer curiosity.. What would be a really polite way of telling someone to buzz off?😳

Originally posted by: Resident_Evil

Ahhh...self-deprecating, apologetic liberals and anti-other country trolls. That took a while but welcome for finally arriving.

I wish you people had better reading comprehension so that you might have figured out that the post is about the backlash and not the praise. 😉 No one cares about getting praise from "the bigger person" but this backlash is curious and unwarranted.

Ah .. ResidentEvil .. if you are welcoming someone , might as well quote them & do it properly .. 😃

So you were whining about the criticisms she received , wasnt that hard to figure out .. your posts aren't exactly 'rocket science' as much as you would like to believe otherwise .. even those of us with mediocre comprehension skills can figure it out in a jiffy .. 😆 .. no point in whining over people who didnt like her in the film .. in case you didnt know , this is how it is usually for the actors .. their work is out there for everyone to judge for themselves & everyone will have their own opinions about an artist's work .. nothing you can do about it .. if you expect everyone to unanimously agree with what you feel is justified , you are in for a big disappointment .. but then again , you are already there .. so i assume you already know what it is like .. 😆

Speaking of trolls , it baffles me to see how arent you banned yet ! .. 😳 .. it is long long overdue .. 😆

Originally posted by: ScreamForMe

What happened Quixotic? Didn't expected such comment from you 😕

Believe me Hadia , there were many comments i didnt expect from you in all those India-Pakistan threads .. but i conveniently 'ignored' them .. plus , you were justified in a way that you were just defending your home country ( no matter how wrong it was on so many other levels ) .. so i let it be .. might as well try and extend the same courtesy to me .. :)
starstruckk thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail

Originally posted by: Resident_Evil

Pakistanis have a huge inferiority complex, especially the so called elite class. So i wouldn't put it past them to diss one of their own just to sound liberal, emancipated and kum-ba-ya-ish. Plus the Pakistani aunty brigade are the jealous sorts who would droll on the very average looking Fawad Khan but would diss a woman who is definitely prettier than them. So as the far as the Pakistanis with you who were dissing her are concerned, i am sure they were doing it to show you how liberal and open-minded and 'one of you' they are. I have seen a lot of those types.

And as far as expressions are concerned then even SRK reused a lot of his expressions. Everyone from Fawad to Saba to Amina whatsherface have the same expression and style of acting.

And its not even about praise its about the backlash that has me curious. Even Mawra with her squeaky voice and below-average acting didn't suffer a backlash.

LOL. I cant believe i am defending Mahira but here we are.

You're talking about backlash from critics and certain members here because of what reason exactly, no? You said can people not understand her "subdued" acting? As I mentioned earlier maybe some Indian critics are behaving a certain way while just being patriotic..fair enough,we don't exactly live in a fair world, especially not atm. Obviously if they can't downright trash Shraddha then they can be a little more welcoming to Mahira? As someone else said..are we supposed to celebrate mediocrity now ...just because? Also, you questioned Indian critics, but what about members actually giving reason to why they felt Mahira doesn't deserve much praise? Apart from Indians hating on Pakistanis and Pakistanis having an inferiority complex..there can't be anything else left it seems..

I personally found Mahira very pretty in the movie, but didn't like her performance..so, where does that leave someone?

Mahira is a very predictable performer. She's stiff and can not let herself go..very monotonous..in doing so I can't differentiate her portrayals. They end up looking all the same. Actors obviously reuse a lot of their expressions..but in doing so, they allow you to differentiate them from one another. If they end up looking very similar and predictable then there's something wrong with either the characters you're choosing or you, the performer. Mahira doesn't surprise me as a performer at all. I know what's coming. I know what to expect because she's so mechanical with her approach. She can't let herself go and effortlessly act. I found all the above in Raees as well..it's very simple and I don't think it's far fetched to assume that maybe..just maybe many did.

Originally posted by: _Lord.of.Light_

Believe me Hadia , there were many comments i didnt expect from you in all those India-Pakistan threads .. but i conveniently 'ignored' them .. plus , you were justified in a way that you were just defending your home country ( no matter how wrong it was on so many other levels ) .. so i let it be .. might as well try and extend the same courtesy to me .. :)

See when it's about someone's country koi ye nhi dekhta what is right and wrong 😆 they just defend and Ofcourse you will defend india also and it's completely fine. Arrrgghhh edited I didn't read the whole thing
Edited by ScreamForMe - 8 years ago
BTW I don't think i was wrong in defending Pakistan just like how you think you were not wrong in defending India. Anyways 😆 Hilarious how you still recognised me even after my UN change 😳 😆
Edited by ScreamForMe - 8 years ago