Abhimanyu's brain ceased to think. He had left; And I pushed him to do it. In his hand was the note which Neil had left him
"I am sorry Bhai ; I knew I would fail you one day; which you told me that I am a failure and should be within my limits.I never wanted to disappoint you; I wanted your smile back; which is why we called Akshara for help. We did not want you to find out but somehow u did find out. Please don't hate me. Thank you for doing so much for me. Love you Bro ; As a final gift I ve left you the first copy of the book which the publishers whom you spoke to have approved ; thank you Bhaiya "
With trembling hands Abhi opened the book and ran his hands over the first page of the book.
"I owe this book to my brother Dr. Abhimanyu Birla who has made me what I am today. He is just not my brother but also a father to me. He made me study what I wanted; he has stood by me as a rock at my worst ; he has been the first proof reader of whatever I have written and he is the reason you are reading this "
Abhi turned numb. " No ; he can't leave like this " he whispered to himself
"But you made him leave " he again told himself."
"Abhi ; where did you go for this long; everyone was looking for you ; Also where is Neil he is not around as well.." Manjiri asked as she walked into the room.
Abhi was totally unprepared for this. He stood up but his face and eyes failed to hide what he was trying to hide.
"What happened? Why are u sweating? What happened beta? " she rushed to him concerned
Abhi looked down unable to answer the questions. Manjiri kept waiting for an answer. When she still did not get an answer she grabbed the note which Neil had left and the book from Abhis hand.
She stumbled on her feet for balance as she read it.
For the first time in his life Abhi felt the stern gaze of his mothers eyes on him.
"Get him back home " was all that she told in a straight voice
Abhi rushed out of the room. He was determined to bring back Neil even if he had to go to the otherwise of the world for him. He cursed himself for being so harsh to Neil when all Neil had faced his life was dissapproval from most of the family for anything that he did.
Abhi first went the orphanage where he had found Neil there; however Neil was nowhere to be found
Not to give up Abhi went in search of him at all the places where he knew Neil would go when he was upset. However he could not find him anywhere. He realized Neil would not go to a place where he could be traced so easily. He is not upset: he would be freaking devastated cos of your actions thought Abhi to himself as he tightened his grip on the acceleration of his bike
Abhi vowed to himself to find his brother and bring him back home safely under any circumstance. Like a mad man he searched throughout the city ; praying that Neil did not take any rash decision.
He screeched the bike to a halt when he received a call from the person he hardly expected
Kairav Goenka calling...flashed his phone.
While Abhis immediate instinct was to reject the call his senses told the better of him. He picked up the call and tried to put on his best professional voice with a
"Hello"?
"I need to meet you now Abhimanyu; right away " Kairav told
"Not now ; I just can't " Abhi said as he struggled for words.
" the person you are looking for is with me safe. Please come now. Before you flip out I didn't do anything to him. Please come to City Hospital ; Room no 502" said Kairav and cut the call.
The knot in Abhis chest loosened in quick succession. Neil was safe he thought; but why was he at a hospital then ?
Rushing straight to City Hospital Abhi dashed to the said room where he found Kairav waiting outside
"Abhimanyu wait " Kairav said as he walked towards him.
"Thats one gem of a brother u have Abhimanyu " Kairav said with a hand on Abhis shoulder
"I know he is Kairav ; what happened to him " Abhi asked straightaway
"He came to meet me ; we had a chat and then he fainted due to stress and not having ate anything from morning "
Abhi sighed in relief. Neil would be fine. He sat down and covered his face within his palms.
"Now is the time you and I had a chat " Kairav said kindly
"What is it ? There is nothing to talk within us. Your sister completed everything. " Abhi said as he stood up.
"No ; Akshara loves you " Kairav said sending a jolt down Abhis spine
"This is what I told your brother as well when he came to meet me. I turned him down without meeting him but he persistently followed me for speaking to him " Kairav said.
"I'll tell you the same things I told him . Akshu loves you very much though she can't accept it right now ".
"And why is it " Abhi asked slowly his voice breaking under pressure.
"The Akshu which you see and know is just the tip of the iceberg. She has a lot of unresolved pain which has pushed her away. And truth said you are a great brother too unlike me " Kairav said looking down.
Painstakingly Kairav told Abhi the entire past of the siblings ; Nairas death; then how Sirat came into their lives; how Akshu had learnt of Sirat being her step mother, losing Sirat and Karthik together and how she has been blamed and feeling guilty for Sirats death, the approval which she looks for from Arohi, how she was away for years together from home just to please Arohi till why she rejected Abhi to how Kairav had decided to send her away yet again
"She loves you Abhimanyu. The panic attacks which she gets are cos of the guilt she carries for no mistake of hers. I have seen it in her eyes. I request some time from you. A lot has been said and done between both the families. All of us need to heal Akshu needs to heal ,you need to heal " Kairav said earnestly.
Abhi continued to remain silent listening to Kairav.
"I would not have told you all these things but Neil begged me to first speak to him and then to you. The maturity he has for his age , I for sure don't have and have wronged my sister. You are just blessed. He kept on telling he wanted to see you happy as before and he would go to any extent to see you happy " Kairav said looking at Abhi.
" ill make everything alright I promise, just give me some time please " Kairav said folding his hands.
Abhi was overwhelmed and just pulled Kairav into a hug straightaway breaking down.
"Happiest bday Abhi ; I hope I can call you that " Kairav said with a smile.
"Thanks Kairav; of course you can call me that" Abhi said finally smiling.
" The credit of this goes to Neil . The kid is something else. Never let him go away " Kairav said patting him again and walked away.
Abhi walked into the room and saw Neil sleeping peacefully. He sat near Neil and took his hands.
" I shall make everything alright " he said with a smile as he waited for Neil to wake up..
To be continued..