-kri- thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 7

Originally posted by: -K.13-

If I may butt in - had it been Lakshmi, he would have treated her well. But they don't have the previous comfort or connections that Shagun & he do. Plus imagine - would a woman being paid to be a surrogate have the same clout as someone who is volunteering their womb out of a sense of guilt?

In Kkusum - the surrogate misunderstood the ML's concern as love & became the vamp.

Here the surrogate and ML have a history, which leads to a different dynamic.

So I personally don't think he would've done all the same things for Lakshmi until she became entitled like Shagun is. For him, he is caring for the child in the womb so he can't see beyond that.

Like Nidoo said earlier - there is a reason it's Shagun that's the surrogate occurring as the background of the insecurity track. In the CVs mind there was no other way to get Raman to come off as caring for Shagun.

🤢 to this track.

And Yesterday, in all this, Raman told, Ishita needs to understand...like seriously? The sensitive side has gone for a toss.

His blind love for the sign of his love is making him lose the love of his life...Within two weeks, what have they reduced YHM to🥱
AraBearxo thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 3
Detox complete.

This show has made everything painful to me. Everything.

I was telling someone the other day, if this show made me fall in love with relationships and the core concept of them.. Watching the show now makes me fear those very things.

But Gan,

Thank you for indulging me.

And my crazy stupid fangirl love for you.

It has been memorable for me and I hope it has been for you.

I'm sad to see that I choose to leave now. This time for real.

Until yesterday I still cared what happened even when I said I didn't. Today I woke up and realised that I didn't. I didn't care about the promo, separation or the spoilers. And it's scary thought. This show gave so much to me. Perception, friends, my love for writing, my first fanfiction, my first love for a couple at an age where I understand what love truly is, understanding and realisation of social responsibility.

I think Atti today was joking about how Ahem dikra is an ass to his wife and that Kokila and Gopi stand together no matter what. And all I could think was and it reminded me of was what I said to the rep the other day - despite drama Star shows stand by their concept, then why is YHM losing it's concept? SNS was based on a Mother - Daughter relationship of Kokila - Gopi.

And right now I am at this stage where I need to let things go, no matter how hard it is. And it's hard. But it needs to be done.

Because it will be the same. I will never have a say in what happens no matter how needed I feel my opinion is or how wrong I feel they are. It will always be them with more power, with more say and that's right in its own way.

But I don't and can't condone someone mocking me for my opinions or someone mocking my friends just because of the 'power they hold'. It makes me feel hurt, insulted and weak. And I hate that feeling. And the only option left is to be the better person and walk away. I can't scream any long, I can beg for attention any long and neither can I insult myself any longer. And when you speak for three hours to three different people who just you not care, you feel that.

And it hurts. It hurts when they don't get it. When they stand by what you feel is morally wrong. When they laugh, mock and ignore your views. When you're being as polite as you can and they as rude. And I'm not the one to scream my loudest to be heard. I respect myself more than that and know better than to scream at strangers.

But on a different note. Thank you, Gan. Thank you making this journey amazing. For being a good companion, friend and guide.

I love you. And a part of me always will. Thank you. And best of luck.

If you ever want to talk to me, feel free to drop me a PM or if you want to text me you can always text me your number (taking a huge leap of faith here).

But yeah, let's hope I stick to my views here. And not come back.

"Do khwaab teh hum, ek aj hai. Dil ki dua hai, hum saath hai. Jo tum aur hum hai, ab hum hardam hai.. Yuhi.

ehne ye kadam ki raha yeh safar. Do namon mein bhare zindagi. Mein tujhi mein milu, likhu, rahu, sun humsafar.. Sang le chal. Chal le chal.

Rakk lu mujhe, aa tujhe mein. Miloon na kahin tum mein. Tu kahe to milhe, rukhein, chalein, sun humsafar.. Sang le chal. Chal le chal. Sang le chal. Chal le chal. "

Please listen to this song; Chal le Chal. I have had it on repeat all day and it's love.

Edited by -Ara- - 9 years ago
charminggenie thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 2
Two cents on Raman , will keep it short or we may extrapolate everything and then it becomes bigger than fiction .
The character sketch had all these tendencies - anger, impulse, obsession, loyalty , control and many others. Problem is it's a story, show and a visual medium. After some point you need to resolve or show some progression for these traits. With Raman they play conflicts on those traits for drama but rather than resolving it with some introspection , they keep the lip and cover it up with some "good scene" , that gives the makers a chance to keep revisiting the trait again and again and we buy it all for that "good scene" and justify his actions by relating it to the trait ..completely missing out the character progression and it's linear flow with the story. Now because it largely involves Shagun and surrogancy , the whole trait pinches more but then when we recall how that particular trait has messed his actions, you realize that he hasn't learnt anything.

At this stage , I wonder did they got his love for Ishita right? Because the traits they play are the main ones that always hurt her. So, the man has not tried adjusting to her at all? Being understanding to her nature, perception and her core essence?

Presuming his behaviour for someone else carrying the child is a hit and miss. what If, that woman be living alone? He would always worry, try to keep a watch? Might even spend more time trying to understand her and to make suggestion, cater to her needs etc? Approach might be different but his obsession would be the same. With Shagun , it pinches us , hence they used the track. But he really always had this strong emotion for her and tbh I don't begrudge him, she is the mother of his two children , they had this intense equation , her brother is his bhai now, so somewhere for him , he takes in to the familiarity . I doubt he keeps a check on the sins of this lady because even with Romi he always used to brush them aside.

But the real scary question be, if ever Shagun had a realization of her sins in the past say like Romi would Raman be more forgiving towards her and what sort of equation he would have had with her? I am very curious about his perception of Ishita - the woman, wife and most importantly the love- how is that emotion distinct.

Don't know what I rambled, but this discussion was interesting. Sorry for interrupting.

Edited by charminggenie - 9 years ago
TheGlamourgal thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail

Good post and after reading the wonderful replies could not stop myself writing my view. Hope my guess is right but Cv's n their logic ,god knows

We may agree or not but yes there is a triangle or say a tangled web between Ishita, Raman n Shagun . Shagun not as love but as ruhadi s mom n some where as in the form of insecurity in both Ishra's hearts. Not as real third angle but as insecurity.I guess this track is showing the same n from the start of changing to snow white in Mumbai to consummation to now.

Ishra... they married for Ruhi ke liye n eventually they fell in love but whenever an issue arises they keep their shield ready Ruhi. They r so deeply in love but shades of their past r still there even now.they talk abt everything n everyone's issues else clearing their insecurities with each other where the treatment of their issues r each other.She still believes Shags is more in Raman's life cos of kids n He thinks she may leave him as Ashok always says to him n he believes it every time , moreover he thinks he is not perfect for her.

Ishita.. She is content but some where her past that love is not enough for entire life ,there should be kids to bind the two is deeply rooted in her.She knows RKB loves her but when she sees Shagun that insecurity comes out n now this surrogacy track is making her thinking the same that too practically.She wants only Raman's love n he stand for her like Ruhi stands for her coz some where he always lays back when she needs him more like Lori or even now present track.

Raman.. There is no doubt he loves Ishu like mad but his past makes him to compare her with Shagun.He was always giving in the past n needed only love n now when he is at receiving end he feels like , he has to give Ishu more as in gifts which Shags used to love or else she will leave him too.Hence his gifts n now the surprise baby lol.He knows Ishu is not Shags but when circumstances arise he thinks the same, he needs to know that she wants only love n trust from him.Moreover he thinks Ashok changed Shags in the past but in real not Ashok its Shags nature.Eg: RKB's meri purani wali shagun in bus.Now he is again meeting with his old love i.e gud Shagun ,his old memories resurfacing,now he will go back to her or get attracted to her in this separation phase is his real test ki he emerges as Ishita's Raman or Shagun's Raman. As Shagun will turn neg now to get RKB then he might know her true nature n also that she needs no one like Ashok to change her .

Shagun.. She should clearly needs to know that even though she has turn gud n is close to him as in for baby, RKB has moved on from her completely n there is no going back to her.

To start newer relations these 3 atleast Ishra need to have complete closure from their past i.e Shags n also from the kids ke liye phase .Hope this time reunion should be out of complete love for each other not coz of their own kid too.

I completely oppose surrogacy , hope they make some hoopla n show its not done or its not Ishra's n Sharam's baby. There is no justification for Raman's actions these days but hope they some how redeem him in the process.

Edited by TheGlamourgal - 9 years ago
jeke thumbnail

Yes, these nagging thoughts are gnawing at me too.

The loving, caring Raman wished that Ishita enjoy motherhood. He wanted to save her from being branded as barren. But is he so stupid to think that surrogacy will satisfy his intentions? Surrogacy only underscores Ishu's infertility and insecurity issues.

Knowing very well that Ishita would not accede to surrogacy, is it right to con her to sign the consent form? In simple terms, it's betrayal of her trust.

Isn't he too insensible and insensitive to choose his ex-wife, who never spared an opportunity to taunt Ishita, as the surrogate mother?

Raman claims he does all this for Ishita's happiness!!!!!!

He believes his decisions and actions are justifiable.

But ends do not justify the means.

He blatantly disregards her rights as a woman. His myopic and male-centric attitude and secretive moves only result in Ishra's split and sorrow.

As you said, having spent countless hours on this show, it's hard not to be perturbed by the abysmal fall of YHM.

-K.13- thumbnail
10th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail Networker 1 Thumbnail
Loved the comments by @theglamourgirl & @charminggenie

They kind of got me talking that somewhere Ishita & Raman don't truly understand each other as individuals. They understand the other as a co-parent, sibling, dutiful child, & so on, but in the show we have not seen a track solely focused on them deeply understanding the other. We thought child swap would get them closer to each other as a couple in love but that didn't happen. Confessions were done due to the pushing of the kids. And C started to touch on them understanding each other & openly seeing the other as a lover & individual of equal status because thus far they have mainly fulfilled the role of solemate, friend, & companion.

It's not just Raman here but Ishita also - they both need to be shaken to the fact they are a couple first & foremost...hopefully some day the CVs will oblige even if it's unintentional (most likely option).

Maybe with this ugly track they can accomplish it & salvage the couple? Ha - I joke! 😉

(This was me speaking in terms of season 1 or 2. Not the season I have tuned out of 😆)
Edited by -K.13- - 9 years ago
RomComFan thumbnail
10th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail Networker 2 Thumbnail

Originally posted by: charminggenie

But the real scary question be, if ever Shagun had a realization of her sins in the past say like Romi would Raman be more forgiving towards her and what sort of equation he would have had with her? I am very curious about his perception of Ishita - the woman, wife and most importantly the love- how is that emotion distinct.

Don't know what I rambled, but this discussion was interesting. Sorry for interrupting.

@Genie: Love your post. I remember back when the old gang was a bit more regular we expressed our frustration about how they never learn anything. It was cute, once upon a time I suppose... not so much anymore. Maybe it isn't even that he doesn't learn it's that he has this auto set back mode, they both sdo... they make a little progress and then these people and situation come along and they click back into their automatic response and we are back in the 'why don't you trust me?/I was doing it for us / I didn't want to stress you' mantra. All they need to do, all they ever need to do is talk and be honest, and for some reason that is an impossibility. And I don't get it [I have been using these words too often these days].

I said it before and I will say it again, the number one lesson I learned from YHM is that love makes you stupid because before falling in love ISHRA communicated way easier and had more layers and complexity to their relationship. The complexity in character/ thought process/affection is gone... replaced by these one dimensional tracks all based around 'baby', I miss tracks like Ammah's accident which on his part was about ISHRA's changing relationship, his duty as a father vs his duty as a SIL/ husband, hi own feelings of failure... those were real, because it was about layered emotion.

And I know this track is supposed to be about more then the baby, but from what i see, the rest of it is in the bysides and doesn't get the right light...if they wanted to do this story and this track they could have focused on the dynamics between ISHRA and Shagun in a more realistic way , atleast have him reflect on what Shagun has been for ISHRA and Ishita in the past and have a real moral dilemma that he can't figure out but keeps hidden... but instead we get ice cream dates.🤢

@ bold: I feel like that is sort of what they are trying to get at here , though i presume you meant prior to his marriage to Ishita or even when he wasn't in love with Ishita what would he have done if Shagun truly repented. There is definitely a complexity to the SHARAM relationship because of the kids, though the children's propensity towards Ishita these days id another wrench in the thick of things. The fact is that this Shagun is the Shagun that Ramn Bhalla thought he married and the Shagun Raman Bhalla fell in ove with and trusted, later on , however, he found out this face was a mask and out of that betryal RKB ws born. RKB fell in love with Ishita, who saw his darkness, embraced it and healed him and taught him to be the best of both worlds. But I think being around this Shagun there is a part of him that is reliving the glory days, though he would never overstep on Ishita , he is going backwards.

And a we re all saying it seems, the only way to clean up this mess is for Ishita to leave. She needs to pack her bags and get out... and not to her parents or her sisters... but to another building alltogerther. They need to learn to look at each other as just a man and a woman... and find their worthiness in that. Not only he, but Ishita also needs to figure it out and then they can fight for each other and come together. The people they are today are no longer the two broken should that joined 'sirf Ruhi Ke Liye'... they changed each other.

So maybe it's time they take the time to get to know this new man/woman in their life as a person and figure out their new relationship dynamics... because this recycle-reduce-reuse version of the relationship got old a long time ago. I think it would be very healthy for both of them to take a break from each other and just be by themselves, and figure out the kind of person they are and want in their lives... and if who the other is right now is what they need.

Also: I miss spunky Ishita and RKB... can someone please return that aspect of their personalities so they are more consistent please?

@Krishy: I think this is kind of reiterating your point in my own deluded way, right?😆 Loved your diagnosis, bi polar disorder makes sense for a part of it, the high and lows of his behavior... but still doesn't explain everything, especially the repeated borderline illegal actions and the fact that he never learns... 😡 ... miss you!❤️
@ Kiara: Take a breath darling, and maybe take a break...you know my suggestion if you're looking for an alternative viewing experience 😉

Edited by RomComFan - 9 years ago
K.S. thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail Commentator Level 1 Thumbnail
Gan..wonderful post.👏👏.read all d posts..awesome views..
This is my most fav thread❤️ when i used to love dis show very much..der is a time wen i eagerly waited fr ur collages nd posts nd reading all thoughts of des wonderful members..the amount of positivity u brought even wen d epis r blah..nd ur love nd understanding fr d shw nd d characters..not nly ishra but othr characters too..made me fall me love in dis shw even more stronger...tysm..😃

Beautiful stry..unique concept..amazing performances..everything perfect fr dis shw to look forward...but everthing buried..dnt knw coz of lack of creativity or trps..as i hav experience in kekta shws..she used her old school and killed d entire concept of dis beautiful shw...

"There is no relationship without communication,no love without respect nd no point to continue dat relationship without trust"..nd ishra failed a big time in des things🤢..dey never communicate...nd people say he loves her so much dats he wanted to gift her der baby..frget abt surrogacy or shaggy being mom...but what is d love without respect??..

Respect her!!.coz she needs it more dan ur love or obsession to gift her ur baby..🥱..nd honestly as a women,i wil b proud if ishita walked out of dat marriage..she needs a break...even i say dey both need it..

I knw people say let it b coz its a fiction..but we fell in lov with characters nd dey become our part of our life..its really difficult to leave it coz we r emotionally connected to it..it hurts..i have gone through dat pain long back nd now wat dey done is the final nail in d coffin...

@anu ..u knw hw much i lov ur writing on dis thread..ammas accident track is always my fav..nd dat scene..nd dat dialogue...gawd dat is my top most fav of all time.❤️.but d characters r so much compromised in a way dat can't even enjoy old scenes..🥱.

@genie..like anu said..its really glad to c u here😛..ur words ❤️..one question..kaise karle thi ho tum?😉👏

p.s.: dn't knw wat to write..on anu's insistance i wrote this..but really loved dis post..nd after a long time its looks like old days whr i used to stalk ur thread..
Edited by manan09 - 9 years ago
Anurulz thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 2

Originally posted by: -Nidoo-

Kri, this is what I think about his compliment and ice cream date.

For him to become as obsessive about this baby as he has become, he needed to have been insanely in love with Ishita, which he proclaims he is, and I choose to give him the benefit of doubt for the sake of this thought process.

He has recently become friends with Shagun. Who is a beautiful woman, one that he loved once. And she is carrying his child that he's so blind about. That makes it 3 reasons.

When he sees her in that black saree, he remembers that she's still beautiful. He compliments her without thinking. Because in his mind, she's not the most beautiful woman anymore. She's just another good looking woman whom he knows for the last 12 years.

The ice cream date belongs to the baby. As much as the Ruhi school function belonged to the baby. To keep the woman who's carrying his miracle child happy and secure, because he feels obligated to her, when in reality, its her redemption and not his obligation, but never mind.

Having said this, I hate him for complimenting her and taking her out on an ice-cream date. I maybe cannot HATE hate him, but I do hate him as much as I can in this case.

Not only because he's doing all this for Shagun, but also because he's perceptive enough to understand she might need all this to keep calm, but because he's so unperceptive to see Ishita's hurt and tears.

I don't know if I made any sense 😕

I get what ur saying. Frankly speaking the fact tht shagun is the surrogate is not the biggest issue for me..its the complete lack of communication and the going behind his wifez back which was the tipping point for me..same as it was whenever ishita did the same, like in the recent split family track..u dnt take decisions for ur spouse..u dnt make their choices for them..its bordering on emotional abuse in both cases and it is not romantic or passionate..maybe i am now of the older generation Or whatever but i do not agree with the logic of "doing it for her without telling her" in name of love..i feel tht we tend to make love an excuse for everything..every laziness, every avoidance, every lack of adjustment is now proclaimed as love and passion..which is very difficult for me to digest..even if it had been Lakshmi patel, raman being raman wud have done the same things he is doing now..it wud have been still annoying to watch..but because shagun is the anti-thesis of a mother, the fact tht she is a surrogate is making it worse..i get tht..but why the hell did raman give her the right to waltz into their lives without as much as a warning to his wife..if it had been a joint decision, regressive as it wud have been, atleast it wud have involved the two of them talking it out and reaching a decision..and its not tht a secure relationship does not make for good trps..star plus has Sasural Genda Phool at the same effing time slot which had good trps and which made for decent television viewing..including married couples, multiple of them, who spent time trying to understand what their spouses said and wanted..communication is romantic..it shows tht u have the capacity to respect the other personz opinion and meet them halfway..raman and ishita simply dont do tht..they treat each other as brain dead people who cant make their own decisions and assume tht they know best..
mar_21 thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail Networker 1 Thumbnail
Fantastic post Gan & it's not only you but we all who loved this show are sailing in the same boat.
There is this feeling of incompleteness which is left within us with the brutal end of this show. The show can never be the same for me at least until and unless there is some major redemption of the character called the RKB once, coz now I don't know who this Raman is?! His emotions, his pain, his dilemma in choosing between Ishita and his child's surrogate mother doesn't reaches out me to.

Apart from the 2 incidents which Kri pointed out which has no justification for his action there r 2 more such incidents which I can never wipe out from my memory and both are from the school award function. I don't know if anyone here had noticed it or not but since I had watched that episode on my large screen television with hawk eyes I couldn't miss it. These 2 incidents made me feel that Ishita is a third person here. That Ishita was at the wrong place where she was not required to be and Lastly he gave me a feeling that she was unwanted here.

The first incident was when after the award function they all got up and some teachers came to speak to Ishita and Raman was behind Ishita's back making hand actions to Shagun explaining her that he didn't know how she came in here!!

The second was when Ishita confronted Shagun and Raman was again behind Ishita'a back was trying to calm Shagun down with his hand actions. These 2 incident done behind Ishita back have left a very sour taste in my mouth.