kapkumars thumbnail
Explorer Thumbnail
Posted: 19 years ago

blue cards mean they will have to go through one more round of competition before joining those who get green card on day one.

yes i too liked vishwaas's no-cry exit. keka was also good and low profile in her speech. did not understand what ujjaini was complaining about her loosing one year. i am sure they did not tell her that she is going to win the competition. grow up please. i never liked vineet's singing, but must be something as he always gets green card. irfan did get praises from all mentors, so why are people complaining that he got unfair decision over vishwaas.

daler being judge is not good as he is a man with questionable past and he has not achieved the level to judge others.

adesh seems best mentor the way he teaches his students, but on stage ismail seems most balanced critic. also i do not like mostly adesh's and sometimes himesh's religious invocations on stage. i hope gajendra singh does something.

i do not agree with himesh's reasoning that same rules apply for example how much the participant gives his own twist. it all depends on the song and singer. its a totality view to be taken, u cannot lay down narrow rules.

also i think ismail does not like shaan very much, as the other day he complained shaan cut him out, eventhough shaan very graciously requested ismail to later on continue. i think his grievence stems from the fact that shaan always starts comments from adesh and ismail ahs pointed out this before, but to no avail. maybe its not shaan's fault, the director of show may have laid the ground rules. gajendra singh are u listening.

Edited by kapkumars - 19 years ago
chandoba thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail + 2

Originally posted by: kishore_bhakta

Hahaha! Usha Uthup as a judge??? The audience, the janta will all cry out "Hari Om Hari!" (as in Hariprasad Chaurasia). Usha Uthup will simply reply, "Please give me another chance, Hare Rama Hare Krishna!"

Comedy, aside... that is very true. I wonder why Daler Mehndi was chosen as a judge, just as I wondered why Sameer was chosen as a judge. Sameer, no doubt, is a wonderful lyricst, but he cannot really comment on the music. Only thing he can really comment about is diction and pronunciation and perhaps expression, but that's all.

I await to see judges in the Agni Pariksha round: Shabbir Kumar and Alisha Chinoy 👏👏👏

is he really a wonderful lyricst??????????????????????? then what r gulzar and javed akhtar? let alone sahir shailendra and rajendrakrishna and shakeel....

dil nazar jigar chodke use kuch ata hai kya... will he able to write

" behosh hoke jald tujhe hosh aa gaya

Main badnaseeb hosh mein aaya nahi abhi"...... sahir

" tumhi ne gham ki daulat di, bada ahasaan farmaya

zamane bhar ke aage haath failane kahan jaate"... shakeel

"rukhsat ke waqt kitne ansoo hamen diye

in anssuon ke hamne khazane bana liye"== rajendra krishna

chandoba thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail + 2

Originally posted by: kishore_bhakta

Hey guys...

I sure hope Aadesh does not leave the show because of Ismail's behavior. Ismail always seems to be very egotistic. I didn't like that one incident where he told one of his girl disciples "yeh mere izzat ka sawaal hai."

Aadesh seems to be a great judge offering constructive criticism and helpful hints. He seems very down to earth, and very forgiving on one or two subtle besur spots. His method of training his students was to encourage them (from what I see in the behind-the-scenes clips shown) and not always make them feel low. I also like his voice when he is helping someone sing.

For classical musicians or those knowledgeable of ragas, you'll see that Ismail's knowledge is limited to constant Puriya Dhanasri or Yaman Kalyan phrases.

yes i agree with u... yaman/ shuddha kalyan/ yaman kalyan are most poular ragas in our film music.. ranging from " sapna ban sajan aaye" to "mere humsafar- refugee"(which is based on yeh sham ki tanhaiyan) so ismail is also in that..

as far as puriya dhanashree is concerned, i think "kahe ched ..." from devdaas was composed by pt birju maharaj.. and is that a puriya dhanashree or basant? both r having similar structure.

taikoo thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Explorer Thumbnail

Originally posted by: classyhombre

HI, JUST JOINED THE FORUM
WANTED TO TALK ABOUT NHIRA. SHE IS THE BEST SINGER IN THE SA RE GA MA PA CHALLENGE . I HAVE BEEN FOLLOWING HER SINCE THE LAST THREE YEARS AND I TOLD MY WIFE THAT SHE WOULD MAKE IT TO THE TOP ONE DAY THE FIRST TIME I HEARD HER. VERY VERY SOLID VOICE WITH AN ALMOST PERFECT SUR EVERY TIME SHE SINGS.I DON'T THINK ANYONE FROM THE CONTESTENTS OF SAREGAMAPA CHALLENGE,WOULD HAVE DARED TO ATTEMPT TO SING THE SARGAM OF THE A.R RAHMAN SONG KEHNA HI KYA FROM BOMBAY.THERE WAS NO QUESTION AS TO WHO WOULD GET THRU TO THE NEXT ROUND THAT DAY WHEN SHE SANG THIS SONG.
AS FAR AS HER BEING MECHANICAL AS SOMEBODY SUGGESTED, REMEMBER YOU ARE TRYING TO BECOME A PLAYBACK SINGER NOT A STAGE SINGER THRU SAREGAMAPA. FOR THAT YOU HAVE FAME GURKUL ON SONY.NHIRA IS VERY TRAINED GIRL THANKS TO HER PARENTS AND I AM 100% SURE THAT SHE CAN DO ANY TYPE OF HARKAT IN HER SINGING.ALSO, I SEE NOTHING WRONG WITH HER ATTITUDE. SHE HAS WORKED HARD TO BE SO GOOD AND SHE HAS EVERY RIGHT TO BE CONFIDENT.
AND WHAT'S THE MATTER WITH JATINJI. WHY WAS HE TRYING TO CONVINCE THE JUDGES THAT UJJANI WAS BETTER THAN NHIRA WHEN IT WAS THEY WHO HAD TO DECIDE. AGREED UJJANI IS VERY GOOD BUT ID WAS RIGHT WHEN HE SAID THAT SHE MISSED THE SUR IN THE BEGINING OF THE SONG IN THE LAST SHOW WHEN NHIRA GOT THE GREEN AND SHE GOT THE YELLOW.
I AM SURE THAT BOTH JL & AS WISH THEY WOULD HAVE GOT NHIRA AND THAT THEY ARE BEING UNFAIR TO HER BECAUSE SHE IS IN THE GHARANA OF ID WHOM THEY DO NOT LIKE.

Go easy on caps buddy...it is difficult to read your posts...

skybux thumbnail
Explorer Thumbnail
Not only SaReGaMaPa, this forum is becoming a great place to learn a lot.
Lot's of talented people posting there views also.
Thanks to all of your comments.
Keep posting them.
I am sure there are a lot of us enjoying reading them.
It is sad we here get to see the show much after you all.
Edited by skybux - 19 years ago
taikoo thumbnail

Originally posted by: chandoba

yes i agree with u... yaman/ shuddha kalyan/ yaman kalyan are most poular ragas in our film music.. ranging from " sapna ban sajan aaye" to "mere humsafar- refugee"(which is based on yeh sham ki tanhaiyan) so ismail is also in that..

as far as puriya dhanashree is concerned, i think "kahe ched ..." from devdaas was composed by pt birju maharaj.. and is that a puriya dhanashree or basant? both r having similar structure.

Agree with Skybux. This forum is slowly getting interesting and we are getting to learn a thing or two.

Thanks Kishore_bhakta and Chandoba for sharing information on few famous ragas...

Edited by taikoo - 19 years ago
taikoo thumbnail

Originally posted by: toronto123

... Irfan is not at all a good singer. He might be sincere and hardworking but does not sing at all good. Very flat and very emotinless. Keka is good but compared to Ujjaini, no match!!

But anyhow there will be some more eliminations among blue cards as well, right? Irfan will be the first to go then!!! I hate his style of singing, reminds me of beggers singing on the locals!! No emotion but only sur!Sorry nothing pesonal to him but that is how it feels! 😡

What do you mean nothing personal??? you are saying his style of singing reminds you of beggars and in the same line are saying nothing personal???

This kind of derogatory remarks about participants or slander is not fair and uncalled for. If you don't like a singer. Say so and be with it. You don't have to use derogatory remarks to insult young budding artistes.

What do you know about how Irfan was selected from thousands of eager contestants? Do you think he reached this stage with 'beggar style of singing'?

C'mon buddy, have a heart...

Try to encourage young talent or try to mould them..don't curb or insult them!

God bless you!

Edited by taikoo - 19 years ago
joypaul thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail
i am yet to watch the nihira/vineet green card episdoe, it will be telecasted for us coming thursday. however i am sad to hear that daler called nihira a ghamandi.

I have liked nihira from the time she has won 7 episodes in a row in earlier saregamapa, she got out only because she forgot the lyrics of the song and cried in between. jagjit signh(the judge) said that she was only out because you cannot cry in front of the audience. she used to look so small then and real innocent - she is still innocent - wonder what gave daler the impression that she was ghamandi? any clues?
skybux thumbnail
Explorer Thumbnail
Any one in the forum is involved in teaching singing. Have been wanting
to learn singing but it is hard to find someone in here in Japan to teach.
I do play tabla during bajans and for light singing.
If any one can help please let me know. I am sure it will be helpful to the
other here to. Or if there is some site that can be helpful.
Thank you
Edited by skybux - 19 years ago
pmahesh thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail + 2

Originally posted by: classyhombre

HI, JUST JOINED THE FORUM
WANTED TO TALK ABOUT NHIRA. SHE IS THE BEST SINGER IN THE SA RE GA MA PA CHALLENGE .
AS FAR AS HER BEING MECHANICAL AS SOMEBODY SUGGESTED, REMEMBER YOU ARE TRYING TO BECOME A PLAYBACK SINGER NOT A STAGE SINGER THRU SAREGAMAPA. FOR THAT YOU HAVE FAME GURKUL ON SONY.

Being mechanical is very different from being a non performer. If she was not performing like contestants are expected in II OR FG, it would have been ok. But mechanical is different from that- she does not have the feel in her singing. Without feel it is very difficult to survive in the playback singing.

The best example which comes to my mind is Sadhana sargam and alka yagnik- sadhana is a much trained singer and is classically stronger than alka but alka is a much more successful singer because sadhana lacks that feel which alka puts in her singing.