Article---sailing with sagar

Shruti11 thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 3
Posted: 17 years ago
Sailing with the Sagars ANUJ KUMAR
Prem Sagar on the family's mythical juggernaut on the small screen.

My father had a vision. He felt in theatres he could show his work only to a miniscule and controlled audience

Carrying on the legacy Prem Sagar believes three generations of Sagars learnt filmmaking only to make 'Ramayan' twice.
Think of mythology and fantasy, and the one name that instantly comes to mind is the Sagars. Over the years the family has been known for giving us serials like 'Vikram aur Betaal', 'Ramayan', 'Shri Krishna', ? 0;Alif Laila' and 'Jai Ganga Maiyya'. Recently, they revived the genre with 'Prithviraj Chauhan' and 'Jai Maa Durga'. Now they are busy reviving their biggest success, 'Ramayan' for NDTV Imagine.

Many don't know that the Sagars also gave us box office blockbusters like 'Aankhen', 'Arzoo', 'Charas' 'Lalkar' and 'Bagawat', all of which, ironically, had nothing to do with mythology. 'We believe three generations of Sagars learnt filmmaking only to make 'Ramayan' twice. All our hard work on the big screen has been overshadowed by one serial,' says Prem Sagar, who looks after Sagar Arts along with his brothers after the demise of his father, the legendary Ramanand Sagar who established the banner in 1950.

A product of FTII, Prem photographed many of his father's big hits. 'It was when we were shooting for 'Charas' on the Switzerland-France border, that one of the local acquaintances invited us to his house. There, for the first time, we watched television. It was 1975. On that very day, my father declared that he will shift to television.'

The vision

Prem recalls it took them a decade to shift. We were doing very well and Sagars were considered as one of the big families of Bollywood. Just closing our distribution offices across the country took 8-10 years.' It was not an easy move. 'My father had a vision. He felt in theatres he could show his work only to a miniscule and controlled audience who pays to see a movie. We create an ambience by switching off the lights. Even if he doesn't like the film more often than not he watches the film because he has spent his hard earned money. On television everything would be free and we could have a 40 crore audience watching our creativity. So the possibilities are huge. Here, a youngster could move out to talk to his girlfriend, if we are not catering to his sensibilities. And at the same time if we are good, there is nothing that can stop us from hooking him.'

Ramanand Sagar

Prem was sent to market the idea in different parts of the world. 'Nobody took us seriously. People said Sagars have gone mad. When everybody is going north, they are going south. Even big names like Hindujas and Swaraj Paul didn't buy the idea. Eventually, we decided to go for a test run.' Prem reveals 'Vikram aur Betaal' was a test run for 'Ramayan'.

'Ramanandji wanted to know whether the audience is ready for a big budget serial. So we roped in a cosmetic major to sponsor 'Vikram aur Betaal'. You remember the same set of actors who played lead roles in the series ' Arun Govil, Dipika and Sunil Lahiri (Lakshman) ' were repeated in 'Ramayan'. 'Vikram aur Betaal' was a huge success and the rest is history. Today, 'Ramayan' has been shown in 50 countries across five continents,' says Prem, still excited about the success. 'People again laughed at us when we launched Prithviraj Chauhan.

Today it is among the highest rated shows. Similarly 'Jai Maa Durga' has opened to a TRP of 3.6 which is massive these days. With 'Jai Maa Durga', we have completed the trilogy (Ramayan and Shri Krishna are the other two) which our father wanted to make in his lifetime.'

The side-effects

A section of academics has also talked about the contribution of 'Ramayan' in raising the rabid right wing and the revival of a political party. 'See, we have never taken 'Ramayan' as a mythological story. For us it is the story of an ideal human being. Perhaps that is the reason that it was equally popular in Karachi.' He cites BBC reports which claimed that the serial was popular among Christians as well.

Like the last time, Prem says the main source is Tulidas's Ramcharitmanas. 'We have also consulted the works of Valmiki and Kamban.' On difficulties in presenting Ram as today's hero for many in young generation can question his decision to abandon Sita, Prem says, 'We feel since Ramayan came to us through oral tradition, it has gone through several changes over the years. First it was in Sanskrit, then when Pali became the language of the masses it got translated into Pali'what we have today is a polluted version. Otherwise, such an act of deception doesn't match with the character of Maryada Purshottam. We didnt want to show the episode in the first version. It was only after public protests that we showed Uttar Ramayan. There also we consulted Radhakrishna Ramayan, which says that Sita knew beforehand that Ram is going to abandon her after a washerman made a comment. To keep the credibility of her husband intact, she herself opted for an exile. People filed cases against us in courts for fiddling with the religious sensibilities of people but we stuck to our stand.

The Sagars are now returning to films. 'The third generation wants to explore the medium again. Last year we had '1971', which got good reviews. Now we are working on four films, two are love stories and the others are fantasies.' Another ripple in the Sagar ocean?

NOTE: Since this topic turned into a discussion, I am leaving it open. But please post all the articles in the articles topic only!
Edited by yummys - 17 years ago

sitakshii thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 4
I THINK THEY shud more concentrate on valmiki RAMAYAN becaz tht's the most authentic & the typical one !!!!

the makers of show ravan on zee tv are showing the valmiki ramayan & it is more interestin also !!!

why they again n again showing the tulsidas RAMAYAN ,the first RAMAYAN they showed was tulsidas RAMAYAN so this time they shud show the valmiki ramayan ,i am dying to see valmiki ramayan !!!!
Shruti11 thumbnail

Originally posted by: sita11

I THINK THEY shud more concentrate on valmiki RAMAYAN becaz tht's the most authentic & the typical one !!!!

the makers of show ravan on zee tv are showing the valmiki ramayan & it is more interestin also !!!

why they again n again showing the tulsidas RAMAYAN ,the first RAMAYAN they showed was tulsidas RAMAYAN so this time they shud show the valmiki ramayan ,i am dying to see valmiki ramayan !!!!

yes i agree with u that they should show valmiki ramayana actually in valmiki ramayana ram is different from the tulsi ramayana

in tulsi ramayana ram ji is like idol person who can never do anything wrong that why there is no uttar kand in tulsi ramayana
while in valmiki ramayana people question his decision to abondon sita in uttar kand

i feel they should show truth
Edited by shruti_gauri1 - 17 years ago
Shruti11 thumbnail
i hope they will show uttarkhand this time based on the real facts from valmiki ramayana
-.Priya.- thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 2
thanx for d article
whatever they do they shudnt finish ramayan soon
Shruti11 thumbnail

Originally posted by: ektay11

thanx for d article
whatever they do they shudnt finish ramayan soon

they will not trp of ramayana is really good
sitakshii thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 4
plz!! shruti it wud be great if u do it !!! sis !!
Shruti11 thumbnail

Originally posted by: sita11

plz!! shruti it wud be great if u do it !!! sis !!

i have edited my post
AishwaryaRathod thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
hmmm..just a question do forgive my ignorance BUT isnt it true that Tulsi Das has shown Ramji as the ideal man because he was suppossd to be so--Lord Vishnu wanted to show how the perfect man should be and thus Ramji was like that--yes i know he was suppossed to kill ravaan as well but he was also suppossed to leave behind an ideal...
If Uttar Ramayan is made; it will be based on valmiki ramayan but the fact that Lord Ram is an incarnation of Sri Hari himself cannot be ignored in the story...

and yes Ramji knew he had done wrong which is why he repented the decision and slept on grass below where Sitaji was to sleep; but as a righteous king he sent her away; it is also said that Sitaji heard through her spies that all this was being said in the city and she also heard about Sri Ram's dilemma and thus wanted to make it easier for him...
It is said that this was done so that such a mistake would not be made...
I just request that Tulsi Das ramayan not be discredited
also--there is a verse in ramayan itself that says Hari anant; Hari katha anantaa; Kaha hii Sunahii bahuu bidhii sabh santaa..
Nidhz1 thumbnail
Explorer Thumbnail
well, all versions of Ramayan are unique in their own way and are according to the social norms prevalent in the era 'twas written but Valmiki Ramayan is an authentic source so it holds an edge over the others also one must not forget that since Lord Vishnu incarnated in the form of a human; the human emotions are also to be considered thats what Valmiki has shown, where as Tulsidas has shown him more God-like with godly feeling throughout.