Akshay leaves Deepika behind, will work with Sonam

Dua143 thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail + 2
Posted: 17 years ago

Akshay leaves Deepika behind, will work with Sonam

Akki has now signed up to star with Deepika's arch-rival Sonam

It has hardly been a few days since Chandni Chowk To China hit the marquee. But Akshay Kumar, who starred with Deepika Padukone in the film has already movef on.

The actor has roped in Dippy's arch rival (see box) Sonam Kapoor to star in Come On Pappu, directed by debutant director Rohit (David) Dhawan. Percept Picture Company and Akshay Kumar will jointly produce the movie.

Meant to be

Although Akshay had come on board the project some months back, the lead actress slot was open. A source reveals, "Had CC2C done well, Deepika would've been a part of this film.

But since their pairing hasn't clicked, a fresh jodi was in order. Enter Sonam. Rohit felt she'd suit the part and everyone agreed. It was meant to be. As Sonam's dates fell in place, she hopped on board.

Bete ke liye

The movie is expected to go on floors in August. Come On Pappu is a comedy drama and deals with the relationship between a chimp and Akshay.

Says an insider, "Come On... will be made on a budget of Rs 90 crore. Initially the film was to be directed by David Dhawan.

David's son Rohit was writing a script and when he narrated to the script to Akshay, the actor suggested that he it direct as well. He spoke to David, who was ready to step aside for his son's sake."

Rohit, who has studied cinema at New York University, has assisted his father David Dhawan in Partner. He was also responsible for designing the look of Mujhse Shaadi Karogi and Maine Pyaar Kyun Kiya.

Percept Holdings Jt MD Shailendra Singh remained unavailable for the comment.

OSO VS Saawariya

Deepika Padukone and Sonam Kapoor's debut films Om Shanti Om and Saawariya released the same day. The films as well the actresses were pitched against each other professionally.

During the making of Sanjay Bhansali's film, there were rumours of the lead pair Sonam and Ranbir being involved.

Later, when The Kapoor boy began dating Deepika, things strained between him and his debut co-star. But all's well now.

mid-daynews.com

Samiyah258 thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail Networker 1 Thumbnail
but i thought he said hes working with her in house full...the news was like yesterday :S
Zoe28 thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
i like akshay normally but can't help feeling with him doing films like cc2c and now this movie about him and a chimp that his movies are starting to go downhill, only movie of his im looking forward to is kambakht ishq
Zareena thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 2
If deepika refused the movie, good move. I feel bad for Sonam, but then again i trust David Dhawan because he won't give a disaster movie like CC2C😆
187176 thumbnail
LOL i am not a big fan of david dawan or comedies i am glad deepikas not signed another one...
193980 thumbnail
David Dhawan-Akshay Kumar's OTT comedy. The one where you keep your brain at home? Not again!

Yawn 🥱
193980 thumbnail

Come On Pappu is a comedy drama and deals with the relationship between a chimp and Akshay.

Relationship between Chimp and Akshay? Are there such dearth of script in Bollywood?
MimiLulu thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 4
Sonam being so picky, I highly doubt she's in this movie. This is another article meant to create fights between Team Deepika and Team Sonam.
Calvin_Klein thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
It would be interesting to see Akshay and Sonam
Mistyy thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
arghh, another comedy from Akshay
i seriously think Akshay's career is going Govinda way. if he doesnt shift from these mindless comedy, he is going back to his disasterous status!