Bidaai has created history: Rajan Shahi

sanober. thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Elite Thumbnail + 4

Bidaai has created history: Rajan Shahi
by Vidhya Krishnan
Oct 21, 2008, Mumbai

Q: How do you feel about the Bidaai becoming a one-hour daily?
It came as a challenge to me but before I could give my confirmation, I spoke to the entire unit and only then gave my consent for the one-hour slot. Work now is not easy and involves a lot of efforts from each and everybody to give their best; I am happy that the team has been really positive and supportive which is also very important for facing the challenge. If I am not mistaken, I think this is the first time in the history that a half hour show has become a one hour show and I am very proud about the fact.

Q: Since it is double the work now, do you think it will have any effect on the quality of the show?
I am more than happy now because since there is lot of work, everybody is conscious about what they do and know the seriousness. I see a lot of improvement for the better. And all the credit goes to the artists and technicians; it is a team effort wherein each and everyone has been working round the clock. However the one-hour slot is only for a short period and is not a permanent thing.

Q: What is the secret behind the success of Bidaai?
I have a great team and the entire unit is very positive in their intentions. Additionally the simplicity of the story is also a big contributor to the success of the show.

Q: In this day and age, what is it that truly makes a show stand out?
I don't think there is a clear cut formula and I didn't expect the kind of success that Bidaai got. But I believe that anything that is done sincerely and positively will always succeed. And if there a co-operative team, work becomes simple and yields qualitative results. I desire to give more positive programming on TV and bring a new trend. I also think that the content has to be on the forefront rather than the camera effects.

Q: Some details about your new show Yeh Rishtaa Kya Kehalata hai…
The promos of the new show are already being shown on TV. The story is about two families and their journey. The emphasis is more on different relationships.

Q: What is the idea or inspiration behind the new show?
The idea of coming up with a new show was running for quite sometime; it came up on the basis of a good storyline without adhering to the current gimmicks. The production house is called Director's Kut.

Q: Details about the cast in the new show
There is a mix of fresh faces as well as known faces. Amardeep is also part of Yeh Rishtaa Kya Kehalataa Hai.

Q: Why not the Bidaai team?
The reason for not casting the Bidaai team was because Yeh Rishtaa Kya Kehalataa Hai is not going to replace Bidaai and is just another show. And the Bidaai team is busy with the one-hour daily.

Q: How different or similar is Yeh Rishtaa Kya Kehalataa Hai from Bidaai?
I would leave it to the audience to see the similarities and differences between the two shows.

Q: When is the show expected to go on air?
The date has not yet been given to me but the new show is sure to be in the prime time.

Q: Would you experiment in the reality genre? If you were to get into that genre, what segment would you get in?
I have no plans of reality shows as of now; I prefer not to plan for the future and would like to move step by step. I want to slow peddle and give my fullest to whatever I am doing at the moment.

Q: What do you generally watch on TV?
Apart from my show I don't follow any other serials. I mostly watch National Geographic Channel and it feels really good to watch the shows on that channel.

Q: What can we expect in the future?
As of now the focus is only on the new show and there is nothing really planned for the future.

Page 1 of 1

< = ="http://www.tellywatch.com//Srelatedvideo.js">
http://www.tellywatch.com/telly_interview/rajan_shahi_bidaai/october-21-2008/bidaai-rajan-shahi.html
< = ="http://www.tellywatch.com//morestars.js">
< = ="http://www.tellywatch.com/addLTop.js"> < ="http://pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/show_ads.js" =text/> window.google_render_ad(); < name=google_ads_ marginWidth=0 marginHeight=0 ="http://pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/ads?client=ca-pub-1200606901117900&dt=1224607252531&lmt=1224597953&output=&slotname=7650302246&correlator=1224607252531&=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.tellywatch.com%2Ftelly_interview%2Frajan_shahi_bidaai%2Foctober-21-2008%2Fbidaai-rajan-shahi.&ea=0&ref=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.tellywatch.com%2Ftellywatch_archive%2FStar%2FTellywatch_Star.htm&frm=0&ga_vid=766258553.1224607061&ga_sid=1224607061&ga_hid=671835827&ga_fc=true&flash=9.0.124.0&u_h=600&u_w=800&u_ah=570&u_aw=800&u_cd=16&u_tz=240&u_java=true" Border=0 width=300 scrolling=no height=250 allowTransparency>
TV Star Trail
I'm no attention-monger: Amanpreet Wahi
I enjoy being the single judge: Asha Parekh
Alina, the silent bikini babe!
Short takes from Ashita Dhawan
It is double the work in 'Bidaai': Kinshuk Mahajan
Get fit with Sumeet Raghavan
I love cars, but don't drive: Sukirti Khandpal
Bollywood beckons Shenaz Treasurywala
Vaishali Nazreth on fashion and style
< = ="http://www.tellywatch.com/addLbottom.js"> < ="http://pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/show_ads.js" =text/> window.google_render_ad(); < name=google_ads_ marginWidth=0 marginHeight=0 ="http://pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/ads?client=ca-pub-1200606901117900&dt=1224607252718&lmt=1224597953&prev_slotnames=7650302246&output=&slotname=7229482850&correlator=1224607252531&=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.tellywatch.com%2Ftelly_interview%2Frajan_shahi_bidaai%2Foctober-21-2008%2Fbidaai-rajan-shahi.&ea=0&ref=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.tellywatch.com%2Ftellywatch_archive%2FStar%2FTellywatch_Star.htm&frm=0&ga_vid=766258553.1224607061&ga_sid=1224607061&ga_hid=671835827&ga_fc=true&flash=9.0.124.0&u_h=600&u_w=800&u_ah=570&u_aw=800&u_cd=16&u_tz=240&u_java=true" Border=0 width=250 scrolling=no height=250 allowTransparency>

Tuktukrani thumbnail
Explorer Thumbnail
It will be a bit difficult for us to get back to 30 mins of Bidaai from an hr na!
What do u guys think since the pace will remain same just the time will be back to 30mins.
I know I am getting used to seeing Bidaai for an hr now...
But I guess overall its better for the cast n crew cause its very hectic for them now...
AreYaar thumbnail

Thanks for the article!

I really like the way Mr. Rajan Shahi articulates all his views about this show and its success....I agree with him....if something is genuine and positively done.....with a great teamwork in place, it's bound to succeed....that teamwork especially shows very clearly in Bidaai👏👏....Hope the show continues to rock!

sweet_shagun thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 7

Originally posted by: nureat01

Thanks for the article!

I really like the way Mr. Rajan Shahi articulates all his views about this show and its success....I agree with him....if something is genuine and positively done.....with a great teamwork in place, it's bound to succeed....that teamwork especially shows very clearly in Bidaai👏👏....Hope the show continues to rock!

Second this the actors are completely dedicated to their work and its simply wonderful how they have depicted the show with a simple yet elegant way which keeps the viewers hooked i love this show!!

Luv,

Shagun
talkativetaurus thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 3
really great article. rajan shahi speaks so well!