MemorableWeddingMomentswhichToch ur Heart

surkikhani thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
Posted: 17 years ago
Scenarios ranging from the sublime to the ridiculous!

Check out how many you remember watching and book the DVDs for the ones you missed for a cozy weekend of popcorn, snuggle-bug emotions or just some great laughs as you click through our favourite picks. Here are Memorable Wedding Moments From The Movies!!

Now, if you are an NRI by any chance, there's really no way you can avoid the in-your-face existence of various Karan Joharesque productions. But no matter where you live and what you eat for breakfast, movies, be it Bollywood or Hollywood, are an essential and unavoidable part of our mental make-up (If it isn't so for you, hop the first shuttle to Mars, who's stopping you!) and so are weddings portrayed in them.
We bring you our fave silver screen moments and hope you respond with your favourites too.

Kal Ho Na Ho: Because it makes us fall in love with Bollywood ishtyle'Mahi Ve' is infectious and hard to resist and gets a thumb up for being the peppiest song-and-dance sequence so essential to wedding rituals in North India - a Karan Johar extravaganza

Pinjar: The traditional 'Juwa ' game played after wedding rituals are over and this Chandraprakash Dwivedi celluloid creation dwells on subtle light and dark cinematography, attention to details (check out rustic surroundings and cotton clothing worn by the supporting cast) to beautifully render Urmila Matondkar in the blushing bride mold while Sanjay Suri tries to outdo her in 'finding the ring and coins' - which custom dictates will determine who will be the stronger spouse. A socially relevant custom even today in many parts of India, the simple picturization and natural emotiveness captured on camera realistically gets our vote for True Glimpse of Indian wedding scene!

Steel Magnolias: A story about the strength of friendship and the quality of living life to the less, has Shelby (Julia Roberts) declaring "I would rather have thirty minutes of wonderful than a lifetime of nothing special." (Wouldn't we all??) And so in steps Jackson Latcherie (Dylan McDermott) to provide that for her! We loved the way the opening scene of the movie was handled: preparations for Shelby's wedding to Jackson are shown and Shelby is warned by doctors that pregnancy is not an option for severe diabetics like her. The scene portrays entering marriage with limitations that cast a shadow on your happily-ever-afters and doing so with grace - sweet Southern charms of Louisiana country, abiding friendship and love that conquers fears!

Dil Hai Ke Manta Nahin: Adorable bald millionaire dad, Anupam Kher endorses listening to your heart for all the big decisions of life. Kher, at his comic best, urges his bratty beti (Pooja Bhatt) to make a dash for it - from her wedding mandap - with his blessings as he discovers she's in love with that scamp of a Raghu (Aamir Khan), who escorted her through many an escapade and who he prefers as a SIL to the phony movie star she would have otherwise married. "Bhaag , Pooja, Bhaag !!" may not quite be the most traditional or classy paternal blessing in Bollywood-speak, but its intent rings so true for Daddies who value their daughter's happiness above all. Check out Anupam's comical facial expressions as he recommends a runaway bride - and let go that grin!

My Big Fat Greek Wedding: Gets our vote for cross-cultural comedy movie. Toula or Nia Vardalos (very Greek) weds Ian/John Corbett (non-Greek, therefore toad's breath or equivalent, in her community-centric Dad's opinion). In doing so, she goes against the strongly ingrained and rarely rebelled against mentality of her people. Of course, Toula decides nice girls do not have all the fun and she wants some - bad, real bad - so sticks with new BF, amuses us thoroughly with the embarrassing dinner with fianc (an English teacher) being introduced to the family moments, fun-spots like the zit on her face on the wedding day to the wedding dress that she howls hilariously over, saying it makes her look like a "snow beast!".
Monsoon Wedding: Our salaams to Mira Nair for a pageantry loaded spoof on the Big Fat Indian Wedding as conceived by writer Sabrina Dhawan and directed by her, for the mind-set of the moderately modern-but-conveniently-traditional urban Indian was never better depicted than in Monsoon Wedding !

Dialogues we dig?
(P.K. Dubey): The Peacocks are not dancing, it will not rain. (Lalit Verma - Naseeruddin Shah): The Peacocks are not dancing, it will not rain? Have you smoked Ganja ?

But, our fave moment in the flick? Definitely Hemant Rai (Parveen Dabbas), the groom, declaring for all of tradition-favouring India, the inexplicable hope for love in marriage, rather than the hype of love-marriage: "Whether our parents introduce us or whether we meet in a club what difference does it make?"

Parineeta: The wedding night song in the background 'Main hui parineeta...' indicates Lolita's (Vidya Balan) transformation from childhood sweet-heart to Shekhar's (Saif Ali Khan) woman, for he touched her so that she belonged to him, depicts the truism of Love binds without a cord. Sensuous, lyrical and graphic portrayal of totally committed love - sheer abandonment and poetry in music and form - and gorgeous period settings wowed us!

Kabhi Haan, Kabhi Naa: Kundan Shah broke away from the conventional hero image of Hindi movies and allowed Shahrukh Khan to fade into the background after obsessing, pursuing, plotting and failing to win Anna's (Suchitra Krishnamurthy) heart. Shahrukh won the Filmfare Critics' Award (1993) for his depiction of Sunil, a lovable rogue mad about music and Anna, his best friend. For him and others who chance upon it and cherish it for what its worth, Love comes softly - we love and leave you with this thought!

which wedding moment Touch ur Heart which u like which one not impress u ?????

mango-frost thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 2
from these above....ill say parineeta...i remember i fell in love with saif in that scene wen he consumated with vidya...i was like HAWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWW SAIFFFFFFFFFFFFF....WHERE WERE U HIDING BEFORE THIS!!! that scene was shot soooooooooo beautifully 😳
187176 thumbnail
I dont agree with this article at all i am nri i think karans movies are good but weddings are not highlights i mean what about films like vivah, hum appke hai kaun ultimate wedding films! how can they miss them completly 😕 both have lots of ultimate moments in vivah like when prem marries poonam in the hospital for example.
preetysadia thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
I loved......KHNH...........I still rmr.......that sad song in background........loved it........ 😳
surkikhani thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail

Originally posted by: Ektas_Angel

I dont agree with this article at all i am nri i think karans movies are good but weddings are not highlights i mean what about films like vivah, hum appke hai kaun ultimate wedding films! how can they miss them completly 😕 both have lots of ultimate moments in vivah like when prem marries poonam in the hospital for example.

if u think i miss out some lovely scene then pls post there thanx
187176 thumbnail
I will do but did you write that woow! you are too good

Vivah has to final hospital scene in vivah my favourite

http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=-2624858824173030560

also scene in hum appke hai kaun when madhuris sister leaving after
wedding and salman khan says sorry to madhuri 😳 😳
Miss.Colorfull thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 2
my fav wedding movie would be vivah cuz they show everything like from engaegement to marriage. my best scene was when shahid n amrita spend the night on the terrace n when amrita n shahid talks through letter so romantic.
Edited by shivani33 - 17 years ago
Nitika2 thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 90 Thumbnail + 2

nice my faves would be KHNH Vivah and Hum Aapke Hain Kaun

145665 thumbnail
hum aap ke hai kaun was d best
muskan ji thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Explorer Thumbnail
i love vivah only that movie have some brilliant wedding moment