Mahabharata is an epic.
Inscriptions are something which are written on plates/rocks etc. things that survive for centuries/millennia
YRKKH SM updates, BTS and Spoilers Thread #124
Yeh Rishta Kya Kehlata Hai - 04 Aug 2025 EDT
Saiyaara Male lead is overrated!!!
Yeh Rishta Kya Kehlata Hai - 03 August 2025 EDT
ONE MONTH TIME 3.8
UPMA&ICECREAM 4.8
CID Episode 66 - 3rd August
Maira’s classes
Anupamaa 03 Aug 2025 Written Update & Daily Discussions Thread
Theme for September
Aishu janu fans
The mockery of National Awards
Who will win best new face female of 2025?
Member topic: What do you do on weekends?
Anupamaa 04 Aug 2025 Written Update & Daily Discussions Thread
Are you interested to watch War 2 in cinemas?10 days to go!
Mahabharata is an epic.
Inscriptions are something which are written on plates/rocks etc. things that survive for centuries/millennia
Ashokan inscription or general inscription??Originally posted by: FlauntPessimism
So here we have second question for this week
Can you tell which was the first inscription (found till date) to mention the names of Vedas
Hint it also mentions Ram and Yudhisthir
Ashokan inscription or general inscription??
Any inscription will do .
Ashokan inscription doesn't name them
Originally posted by: FlauntPessimism
Can you tell which was the first inscription (found till date) to mention the names of Vedas
This is a tough one, will need much thought, coz the general understanding I have is that vedas were mostly transmitted orally for much of time till they were written down by esteemed scholars, and you've negated the inscription being a book.
I was otherwise going to answer with Natyashashtra, which talks about the four vedas as well as Abhinaya Darpana (plays) that showcase Ram Leela and Mahabharat Katha.
"Let me make a Fifth Veda, to be called Natya (Drama), combined with epic story, tending to virtue, wealth, (pleasure and spiritual freedom), yielding fame — a concise instruction setting forth all the events of the world about to be, containing the significance of every Scripture, and forwarding every art." Thus, recalling all the Vedas, the Blessed Brahma framed the Natya Veda from the several parts of the Four Vedas, as desired. From the Rig Veda he drew forth the words, from the Sama Veda the singing, from the Yajur Veda gesture, and from the Atharva Veda the flavour."
https://archive.org/details/cu31924012568535/page/n15/mode/2up?view=theater
The first inscription to mention the names of the Vedas, as well as Ram and Yudhisthir, is the Nasik Prashasti (eulogy) also known as the Nasik Cave Inscription. This inscription, attributed to the Satavahana dynasty, dates back to the 1st century CE. It is notable for its references to the Vedas and key figures from Indian epics.
Originally posted by: Thorn.Princess
Thank You so much, I actually learned something new thanks to this 🙏
Congrats to Bhavisweet03 too
Thank you 😊
And congratulations to you also
Copper Plate inscription of Maharaj Hastin mentions Vedas and Yudhishthira
Interesting but question was name of Vedas, so just one Veda name won't do
Geeta I guess as I am not a history buff.Do excuse of I am wrong
Ok so correct answer is Talagunda Pillar inscription dating to 5th century CE(450-470 CE) of Kakasthuvarman also known as the Kadamba inscription (based on the dynasty)
The inscription speaks about Santivarma/Sthanu(his ancestor)
The inscription mentions that the Dwij chants the Rig Sama and Yajurveda whose favour constantly guards the three worlds from the fear of evil.
This inscription also mentions that unfortunately in Kaliyuga Brahmins are Meeker than Kshatriyas
The inscription compares the rulers of Kadama dynasty with the most pious rulers of this earth Raghu (Rama) and Prithu (Yudhisthir)
Wiki link for reference https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Talagunda_pillar_inscription
Just to add there is another inscription Tidodi Copper plate inscription dating to approximately the same time.
The object of this inscription is to record the grant, by Pravarasena II, of the village Kosambakhaṇḍa to a person named Varuṇārya of the Harkari gotra. He belonged to the Atharvaveda and was master of the three Vedas
Since the question was name of Vedas(plural), hence Talagunda holds the correct answer, however anyone having responded with Tidodi Copper plate will also be considered
If you were given the chance to step into a time machine and visit any historical era, which one would you choose, and why? Would it be to...
Hello all, Welcome to the History Forum Banner Contest Winner Announcement thread. First of all, thank you to everyone who participated. And...
Hello everyone! We are thrilled to announce that we have received 17 wonderful banners as entries! Thank you to all those who sent in your...
Dear all, Welcome to the first Chat Club of the History forum. Hope you have lots of fun here!
Hello, dear history enthusiasts! Every historical site has a story to tell, and what better way to capture its essence than through our own...