return_to_hades thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 6

Children inherit the wealth and property of their parents. They inherit restaurants when they know nothing about food or business. They inherit companies when they know nothing about the products. Most parents go above and beyond to nurture their children's interests and secure their futures. Sometimes it pays off. Sometimes it doesn't. For every child who successfully follows their parent's footsteps is a child who crashes and burns and squanders everything before them.

I see nepotism in Bollywood in the same lens. People setting up their families for success. Some succeed. Some crash and burn. It is not ethical or virtuous. But that is how the world works.

The only reason Bollywood nepotism is a big deal is that it is a glamorous and desirable industry. No one is volunteering as a tribute to replace a coal miners child in coal mining. In fact, some people want coal miners kids to become coal miners because that means they don't compete for the more desirable obs.

Also, consider if someone is sprinkling poop with gold dust and selling it and people choose to buy shiny poop instead of real sparkling diamonds - whose fault is it that the diamonds are ignored? If people refused to buy shiny poop no one would be sprinkling poop with gold dust right?

heartbleed thumbnail
9th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail

Originally posted by: return_to_hades

Children inherit the wealth and property of their parents. They inherit restaurants when they know nothing about food or business. They inherit companies when they know nothing about the products. Most parents go above and beyond to nurture their children's interests and secure their futures. Sometimes it pays off. Sometimes it doesn't. For every child who successfully follows their parent's footsteps is a child who crashes and burns and squanders everything before them.

I see nepotism in Bollywood in the same lens. People setting up their families for success. Some succeed. Some crash and burn. It is not ethical or virtuous. But that is how the world works.

The only reason Bollywood nepotism is a big deal is that it is a glamorous and desirable industry. No one is volunteering as a tribute to replace a coal miners child in coal mining. In fact, some people want coal miners kids to become coal miners because that means they don't compete for the more desirable obs.

Also, consider if someone is sprinkling poop with gold dust and selling it and people choose to buy shiny poop instead of real sparkling diamonds - whose fault is it that the diamonds are ignored? If people refused to buy shiny poop no one would be sprinkling poop with gold dust right?

@bold- and that's the bottom line. It has always been like this forever and it will always remain like this forever. It's basic human nature.

Veni-Vidi-Vici thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 2

Originally posted by: Harley_Quinn

Okay, I'm seriously not understanding you. First you said you're not defending nepotism and then you go on defending it in both of your comments. You call out my logic, indirectly take digs at me, and then you ask me to not take offense from your comments. Sorry, that's not gonna happen.

I wasn't talking to you in the first place. What's your problem? If you draw the line where it's legal or illegal, then good for you. But many nepo-apologists here don't. Few days ago itself the same people who defend nepotism were also defending drug use on this forum, which is also illegal. So they definitely don't care about what's legal or illegal.

Marital rape and homosexuality were also illegal a few years ago in India. Women raping men is not even considered a crime. So our law is not perfect. Never was and never will be.

As for me, I don't have much problem with nepotism and I wasn't calling it out on this thread. I was calling out "it's everywhere" logic which is often used to defend it. If you want to defend nepotism, then do it properly.

I saw your post about not calling me out after posting the rant. Just edited it and pasted a post script because it will look bad if I remove the content and you have already quoted it and are in the process of replying.

I am against nepotism per se.

I don't find it illegal unless it is done by an employee of a private organisation or practiced in a government organisation - I am not a lawyer so this is my assumption.

I feel that if a person is putting money in some venture, the general public can't say anything. They as consumers can choose not to buy the product or make appeals to the person. I don't think that there is any legal remedy. Else I feel some frustrated struggler would have explored it.

There is no benchmark for acting skills or other talents, so even if there is a legal option available, it may not be tenable. One can't prove that he is better fit for a role than others. The audience( jury) might be able to decide but how can one prove that once the film is already made.

In an ideal world there should be no nepotism. I feel it is unjust too but I don't think anything can be done about it as clannish behaviour deep rooted in human psychology and there is no legal deterrent at present. Maybe it will be illegal in the future but I think it will be difficult to prove unless someone admits to it on camera and judiciary is quick to act. Delay by a few years will finish the actors career anyway. People will be scared of hiring the complainant.

I find the issue a losing cause . You may not so let us differ amicably here. People can take up activism and bring some change. I will be happy if they do.. But this isn't the battle I want to fight. I support the warriors even though I have made peace myself as I see it everywhere. I am also a victim of nepotism - in a different field though. I have chosen to ignore it and move on as my life didn't depend on the job. Others might not have the luxury but I can't fight for anyone as I already have my hands full with other issues. I hope others with greater domain knowledge , influence and perseverance proceed

sev.puri thumbnail
5th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail

Originally posted by: Veni-Vidi-Vici

Not arguing or countering you. I find nepotism bad too. The problem with nepotism in Bollywood is that there is no qualifying benchmark.. And yes engineers and doctors have to earn their qualifications. Kids of doctors aren't placed on a pedestal in med school. It is just very few engineers get to run the family business, some CA's get into family firm.. Some doctor kids run the hospitals their parents set up.. The percentage is very miniscule (and more so when compared to what is happening in Bollywood). I get the difference, they have earned the basic qualifications and got the rest as virasat which isn't the case for Bollywood insiders. Audience is helpless as one can't say bosses of PH where to put their money. Maybe shareholders of corporate production houses can but then unlisted companies will have insiders as shareholders. The listed ones like balaji, Pritish Nandy's company has general public as minority shareholders. They can make some noise and put moral pressure if they want to..but minority shareholders can't take activism beyond much limits. Shareholders of listed distribution companies can also try something like that but they can't dictate business decisions.. Even if they do, a small section of shareholders can't dictate things which can potentially affect the bottomline of the company. Activists will be told to shut up and their limited knowledge of the working of the industry and profitability will work against them... I don't see any legal measures to tackle this. Hence I have given up and made peace

Solid jalta hai mera when I have to work hard and others got good jobs very easily 😆.

.Didn't mean to quote but I realised that I had opened the quote window a bit too late, so went to the top of the post and added a few lines.

It’s ok, you can counter and argue with me too if you want.😛Work is full of please, thanks, kind regards, may as well have some fun here.😆

I feel like this topic is mixing too many things together now. Till date, an overwhelming amount of senior judges from the UK are Oxbridge and Eton grads who are privately educated who obviously have large funds to back them. They attend the best schools, they have a ‘polish’, they can talk about the ballet and opera, sustain almost any convo among many such advantages. They are given an advantage from the get go because they are born with a silver spoon. I do not begrudge the silver spoon because as mentioned, such is life. That they are competent would be my main concern and I believe on the whole, they are. If we really want to go off on a tangent, we can talk about unconscious bias towards BAME communities but let’s not digress. Coming back to Bollywood, how sad is it that despite access to all these resources, we have so many uneducated, talentless nepo actors thrown in our face. They’ve got all the money in the world to spend on acting classes, to show us they deserve that spot despite the privilege, yet as an audience we continue to deal with mediocrity. (And that’s me being extremely generous)

Nepotism sabse kam BW mein hai....but dikhta sabse jyada bhi BW mein hain.

Originally posted by: return_to_hades

Just out of curiosity...how is spending your own hard earned money on your kids not ethical or virtous....and here I am talking about just YOUR OWN money....not talking about a company where others are shareholders...not talking about a govt job...not talking about harassing or bullying someone...not talking about anything where someone else's money or Govt's money is involved.

FreeTheNipple thumbnail
8th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail

It is not. Bollywood is not that special to have figured out this awesome way of hiring based on superior natural instincts.

myviewprem thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 3

No its everywhere in society

But in bollywood only 10 actors and actress can be there on top

Out of that if 7 or 8 come from film family visibility is more

Where as in doctors there are 1 lakh seats out of that atleast 40 k will go to general commoners only 60% will go to doctors and other rich peoples kids

So anger is less as you see 40k deserving commoners becoming doctors

Ur-Miserable thumbnail
9th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 4

I think real argument is always undeserving people getting chances after chances, especially taking away chances from less privileged ones.

But it got lost, because every idiot in the internet starting using nepotism debate for their agenda.

Palak_Paneer thumbnail
10th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail Visit Streak 30 Thumbnail

It happens everywhere and it is never going to change.Same with partiality biasedness and inequality