goblue thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Explorer Thumbnail
I know a lot of us like Archana for her innate goodness. It is such a rare quality that in today's world it is looked as weird.

Goodness can be seen in simple people, who have no sly bone, no notion of self preservation and they simply continue to be good because it keeps them happy and life uncomplicated. And Archana clearly believes that one must be good because it is good to be good.

Apart from such few people, many people also are sometime good, what I call as "situational goodness". example: Manju was good for a brief period when Manav made her believe that she is Sharif. Savita became good to Sharavni, once the PB was born. Savita became good to Archana when she benefitted from Archana' s goodness.

But my question is Should good people continue to be good irrespective of its cost. Taken out of much context, they can be seen as one with no backbone, a subservient person and frequently be taken advantage of.

May be such people are needed in this world just to balance out all the evilness. there may be a personal cost to them as result of goodness, but the good acts and good thinking helps balance the scale on a macro level.

let me know what you think?

tarantulla_p thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail
A fantastic post. In response to your question, I think the genuinely good who are good even they dont benefit from the situation need a lot of protection and insulation from society by the people around them. They should and most probably stay true to their nature but the qualities they represent are so rare and un relatable that they end up being mocked by everyone.

Its no longer the age of the wonderfully, selflessly good because the society (when I say society, I mean the majority) measures a person's success on the material gain only , something you can measure and compare.

I know of one such person who is selfless to the core. He has given away most of all his wealth, time and energy and remains a mystery to everyone around him. However, his only child has finally realised what she has got as a legacy from him far outweighs the negatives because of his giving away everything. Not to belabor the point but such people are yogis and they deserve to be lauded. Even if you cant relate to them, they deserve respect and not censure.

I dont know if Archana or Manav is intended as the person above but they are very decent people, who try their best for others very selflessly. I do object to Archana not standing up for herself against her MIL and abuse - because that is not being good, its being foolish. In general though , I think their characters should be made to triumph in their lives to give the viewers positive role models.
saffiyyah thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail
MashaAllah,I do not have a reply to this one,but I really liked the way you put it down in words.šŸ‘
But sometimes 'eye for an eye' or 'questionable actions for the greater good' is a meaningful concept - all religions have example stories of these
goblue thumbnail

Originally posted by: saffiyyah

MashaAllah,I do not have a reply to this one,but I really liked the way you put it down in words.šŸ‘

But sometimes 'eye for an eye' or 'questionable actions for the greater good' is a meaningful concept - all religions have example stories of these

yes Saffiyyah. Eye for an Eye is a concept but as the saying goes an eye for an eye will leave the world blind.

personally I would draw a line where my good ness is just assumed and taken for granted. Like How manju is treating archana. Her jealousy of archana at the same time still treating her so shamelessly speaks more to her character than Archana's . But this Archana, either does not care what manju's motives are. I like her goodness but not her mahanta.

I still wonder when will she change, if she changes. I hate the durga bani kali transformations, that is too situational for me.
goblue thumbnail
thank you for replying to my post. My comments on your reply are below. Take care..

Originally posted by: tarantulla_p

A fantastic post. In response to your question, I think the genuinely good who are good even they dont benefit from the situation need a lot of protection and insulation from society by the people around them. They should and most probably stay true to their nature but the qualities they represent are so rare and un relatable that they end up being mocked by everyone. I agree Taran. In the current story, manav has become wiser and is learning to protect himself and is attempting to protect Archana by keeping his distance. All of Archana's relatives especially her mother is playing no role in protecting Archana where manju is concerned. chalo, vinod is helpless, but why are others still giving so much maan to manju is besides me. I guess, decent people like to avoid conflicts and the sanskari k's are decent people and would hate making any scenes and here is where the delicious grey ness of Savita's character makes it infinetely more interesting to watch. Remember the scene with Ashwin on the road.

Its no longer the age of the wonderfully, selflessly good because the society (when I say society, I mean the majority) measures a person's success on the material gain only , something you can measure and compare. But there is hope. I too see many genuine good people going about their life, doing their best to adjust. Society usually generalize such people as "less ambitious"

I know of one such person who is selfless to the core. He has given away most of all his wealth, time and energy and remains a mystery to everyone around him. However, his only child has finally realised what she has got as a legacy from him far outweighs the negatives because of his giving away everything. Not to belabor the point but such people are yogis and they deserve to be lauded. Even if you cant relate to them, they deserve respect and not censure.

I dont know if Archana or Manav is intended as the person above but they are very decent people, who try their best for others very selflessly. I do object to Archana not standing up for herself against her MIL and abuse - because that is not being good, its being foolish. In general though , I think their characters should be made to triumph in their lives to give the viewers positive role models. I can relate to the "pavitra rishta" if they are not again interfering in each others lives. Your goodness is more relevant if the impact is good.

star_wars thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail Commentator Level 1 Thumbnail
Excellent post, tarantulla's follow up too. šŸ‘šŸ‘šŸ‘
You asked the below question which is very interesting and tricky.
But my question is Should good people continue to be good irrespective of its cost. Taken out of much context, they can be seen as one with no backbone, a subservient person and frequently be taken advantage of.
I have this terrible habit of rushing to help people without even being asked.šŸ˜† That is just me. I believe in treating peoply kindly and fairly. Sometimes, I tend to bend backwards to help others out. I cannot sit by and see someone hurting or being hurt and do nothing. When someone is doing something wrong, even our kids, you stop them. Some would term that as interference. I call it caring.
However, if your action is detrimental to you in some way, then I think you should step back and take stock of yourself.

tarantulla_p thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail
thank you for replying to my post. My comments on your reply are below. Take care..

I agree Taran. In the current story, manav has become wiser and is learning to protect himself and is attempting to protect Archana by keeping his distance. All of Archana's relatives especially her mother is playing no role in protecting Archana where manju is concerned. chalo, vinod is helpless, but why are others still giving so much maan to manju is besides me. I guess, decent people like to avoid conflicts and the sanskari k's are decent people and would hate making any scenes and here is where the delicious grey ness of Savita's character makes it infinetely more interesting to watch. Remember the scene with Ashwin on the road.

Manju is a bully and the best way to handle a bully is to stand up to them. Being good should and does not translate to being meek. I find that Archana is a little passive aggressive. We know she can speak up - only on behalf of others. However, thats not enough. If you let bullies attack you so often, you leave the field wild open for them to take a shot at your loved ones. Once they have, its a little too late. Why is Vinod helpless? In fact he has the most leverage. Why should he put up with such a foulmouthed, ill mannered wife? I think Sulochana and the others are non confrontational and good for them but Vinod should definitely put her in her place real soon.

But there is hope. I too see many genuine good people going about their life, doing their best to adjust. Society usually generalize such people as "less ambitious"

I am very ambitious so cant relate to the lack of drive. I think we need a balance of people who are decent yet want to do well for themselves. I wish they showed more characters like Vinod who are decent, do well and are successful. Such a positive reinforcement.

I can relate to the "pavitra rishta" if they are not again interfering in each others lives. Your goodness is more relevant if the impact is good.
They really are the USP of the show so unlikely that they wont. I think however, they should get back only after having the most mature lookback at their relationship. They gave it away to an ungrateful brat on a whim. There is no point in their romance if they dont really want to stay with each other. Also, since Manav is on the verge of marrying Shravani and having let go of Archana, he has more distance to go. Anycase, this is hardly a love story that warms my heart. Its very contrived and silly. Does nothing for me. I am more interested in people loving each other with a passion and staying together against odds or not. There is more to life than just the act of getting together.
sur_aur_taal thumbnail
16th Anniversary Thumbnail Explorer Thumbnail

Should good people continue to be good irrespective of its cost. Taken out of much context, they can be seen as one with no backbone, a subservient person and frequently be taken advantage of.

Yes, good people should continue to be good irrespective of its cost {on earth}; because they are gaining much more in the after-life. Jesus Christ is a good example. He was good and sinless yet he was hanged. He did not care for the costs down on earth because in the end He was going to be eternally with His Father.

Edited by sur_aur_taal - 15 years ago
Tanyaz thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Trailblazer Thumbnail + 5
Goblue and Taran, excellent posts. Mazaa aa gaya . Such talented people we have in this forum, mashallah ..
I will give a detailed analysis a little later ...
goblue thumbnail
with manju, archana is typically "aa bail (bull), muze maar". She just invites bullying. yes, I would love her to stand up for herself against Manju and Rasika (in the past) but she does that only when manav and savita are the target. It's good to protect what you consider your own, but then have some respect for your own self too.

That's where my personal preference and what i see the macro benefit of good balancing bad get into a struggle.