navya19 thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 2

Mythological and historical shows are a lot of hard work. The actors tell us why

Stuti Agarwal

Grand canvas. Illustrious characters. Regal affair. Mythological and historical shows are here to rule the small screen and garner TRPs like no other. But making this blast from the past' look convincing is no mean feat, say myth merchants. Not only do the actors need to work on their physique, dialect and body language, it's increasingly becoming important for them to pick up skills like horse-riding, elephant taming, archery and sword fighting et al. We go beyond the reel to find out how hard work is paying off in real.

NAME: Shaheer Sheikh SHOW: Mahabharat CHARACTER:ArjunSKILLS:Ancient weaponry TALK BACK: I've learnt ancient ways of combat like cane fighting. I'm also honing my skills in archery, horse-riding and sword fighting. Since I studied in a Urdu medium school, I've trained under a Hindi teacher for diction. It was important as I need to be comfortable while delivering the lines.

NAME: Mohit Raina SHOW: Devon Ke Dev... Mahadev CHARACTER:Mahadev SKILLS: Kathak TALK BACK: I'm a trained dancer, but I had to learn Kathak since tandavinvolves this form of dance. Indian classical dance is very difficult and happens to be different from jive and hip hop, which I had learnt in the past. Learning Kathak has been a whole new experience.

NAME: Rohit Bharadwaj SHOW: Mahabharat CHARACTER: YudhisthirSKILLS: Throwing spears TALK BACK: I've picked up acrobatics apart from learning to throw spears. Action director Anand Shetty showed us some skills. Once, while riding a horse, I fell off and hurt myself badly. I've been a theatre actor and wouldn't go to the gym as it restricts movement. But now, I've started hitting the gym to build the physique required for Yudhisthir.
navya19 thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 2

TV actors build skills for TRPs

Stuti Agrawal, TNN | Sep 20, 2013, 12.23 AM IST
in
Share More
READ MORE Shaheer Sheikh|Rohit Bharadwaj|Mohit Raina|Faisal Khan|Charu Shankar
TV actors build skills for TRPs
Shaheer Sheikh as Arjun
Grand canvas. Illustrious characters. Regal affair. Mythological and historical shows are here to rule the small screen and garner TRPs like no other. But making this 'blast from the past' look convincing is no mean feat, say myth merchants. Not only do the actors need to work on their physique, dialect and body language, it's increasingly becoming important for them to pick up skills like horse-riding, elephant taming, archery and sword fighting et al. We go beyond the reel to find out how hard work is paying off in real.

Name: Shaheer Sheikh Show: Mahabharat Character:ArjunSkills:Ancient weaponry Talk back: I've learnt ancient ways of combat like cane fighting. I'm also honing my skills in archery, horse-riding and sword fighting. Since I studied in a Urdu medium school, I've trained under a Hindi teacher for diction. It was important as I need to be comfortable while delivering the lines.

Name: Mohit Raina Show: Devon Ke Dev... Mahadev Character:Mahadev Skills: Kathak Talk back: I'm a trained dancer, but I had to learn Kathak since tandavinvolves this form of dance. Indian classical dance is very difficult and happens to be different from jive and hip hop, which I had learnt in the past. Learning Kathak has been a whole new experience.

Name: Rohit Bharadwaj Show: Mahabharat Character: YudhisthirSkills: Throwing spears Talk back: I've picked up acrobatics apart from learning to throw spears. Action director Anand Shetty showed us some skills. Once, while riding a horse, I fell off and hurt myself badly. I've been a theatre actor and wouldn't go to the gym as it restricts movement. But now, I've started hitting the gym to build the physique required for Yudhisthir.

rashvin thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 3

Telly Buzz: Watch these three new serials!!

'Mahabharat'

The new Mahabharat stormed the small screen with its splendor and visuals effects on September 16. Mahabharat is based on the life of Krishna, Pandavas, Duryodhan, Draupadi and the grand war between right and wrong. The 94-episode series, originally produced by BR Chopra and directed by Ravi Chopra, was a hot favorite in the 1980's for its emotional connect with the oldies.The story may not be new, but the recreation of the great epic, laced with some awesome special effects, lavish sets created in Rajasthan give the real feel of the palaces and outstanding costumes has caught the fancy of viewers and lured the younger generation. Touted as the Indian TV's most-expensive show, the new Mahabharat has several known artists and a smattering of some new comers. These include, the Bong beauty Sayantani Ghosh(Satyavati), Arav Chaudhary (Bheeshma), Ratan Rajput (Princess Amba), Shaheer Sheikh, last seen in Navya (Arjun), Saurabh Jain, the famous Lord Vishnu of Mahadev plays Lord Krishna, Pooja Sharma (Draupadi), Puneet Issar (Parshuram) and Praneet Bhatt (Shakuni) among others. The magnum opus produced by Siddharth Kumar Tewary airs at 8.30 p.m on Star Plus. It's a half-hour show consisting of 128 episodes.

'Kehta Hai Dil...Jee Le Zara'

Sony TV has just launched a fresh and entertaining show called Kehta Hai Dil...Jee Le Zara . It delves into the concept of younger man meeting an older woman! The story is about Saanchi (Sangeeta Ghosh), a 34-year-old unmarried, mature, strong and free-spirited woman who manages the family's strawberry farm after the loss of both her parents in a tragic accident when she was young. Besides being a self-made entrepreneur, Sachi takes care of her two grandmothers - aaji (Sulbha Deshpande) and nani (Meenakshi Sethi) - along with her two siblings - Advait Prabhu (Nabeel Ahmed) and Prachi Prabhu (Priyanka Sidana). Given that she has so many responsibilities, a man and marriage is the last thing on her mind. Nevertheless, the grand moms want to see her in a dulhan ka joda! By a stroke of luck, in walks Dhruv (Ruslaan Mumtaaz), a young exuberant happy-go-lucky lawyer who is a paying guest at Saanchi's friend Dilshad's (Delnaaz Irani). The duo is poles apart... hence a foil for a perfect love story. Sanchi has dedicated her entire life to build and secure the future of her family, but has never lived for herself. Dhruv, we guess will change her outlook towards her own life! Kehta Hai Dil...Jee Le Zara is quite refreshing and definitely looks interesting.

Ek Mutthi Aasmaan'

Ek Mutthi Aasmaan' is an attempt to give an insight into stark realities of the unfortunate people and their constantly struggling life. The soap showcases the hopes and aspirations of a domestic help alongside the trials and hardships of her daily life. It captures how they sacrifice their own life to sweat and tears so that their kids are educated, enjoy the amenities of life and live with dignity and respect in the future. The plot of the serial revolves around Kamalabai (Shilpa Shirodkar) who works as a housemaid in a rich Kapoor household and soon becomes an indispensible part of the family. She gives birth to a baby girl Kalpana but is unable to nurse her because the elder Kapoor bahu had also just delivered her daughter Pooki and needs her. The soap delves into Kamala's journey of forfeiting her maternal responsibilities towards Kalpana in order to take care of the neglected Pooki. She works tirelessly, uncomplainingly from dawn to dusk, running the Kapoor household, supervising servants, taking care of the growing children. Kamala Tai's only dream is to educate her children so that they can have a glorious better future.

Proud-India thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 5

Mahabharat - Remake of an epic, yet again!

Will this epic saga retold many a times find takers this time round too? Only if things like the visual impact and music don't distract the audience and overpower the importance of the original story.

Time - Monday to Friday at 8:30 pm on Star Plus

Producer - Swastik Productions

The story so far -

The story starts with the romance of Hastinapur's Raja Shantanu (Sameer Dharmadhikari) and Satyawati (Sayantani Ghosh) and Bhishma taking the shapath to stay single so that Satyawati's sons get to be the next King. The story moves ahead after Shantanu's death and Bhishma as per the Rajmata Satyawati's order goes to find a bride for her son Vichitra Veerya. He barges into the Swayamvar ceremony of the three Kashi princesses - Amba, Ambika and Ambalika and asks their father to get them married to Vichitra Veerya. He has a confrontation with the prince Shaalva whom Amba has already chosen to be her groom and who disowns her as Bhishma injures him in the conquest.

Ambika and Ambalika chose to marry Vichitra Veerya but unfortunately he dies at the time of his anointment ceremony. Amba comes to the Hastinapur kingdom asking for justice and wants Bhishma to marry her but gets no help from anyone. As per Bhishma's suggestion she then goes in search of Bhishma's guru Parshuram as Bhishma tells her that only if his guru decides that he is at fault he will accept the punishment. Meanwhile, Ambika and Ambalika deliver a son each and so does a daasi through a process known as Niyog wherein a learned sage is called to produce a son if a husband dies without leaving a son. Amibika's son is born blind and Bhishma takes it upon himself to make him the greatest warrior the world has ever seen! Amba is seen in a boat waging the high tides all set to reach Hastinapur.

What works -

The opening of the show was good as the location selected was Kashmir, and not some nearby outdoor which is what is the norm for such shows. The pristine beauty of the valley with its greenery, the mountains and the flowing river added to the charm of the background as the actors as historic characters enacted the scenes. The boulders, stones gave an interesting ancient look lending a grandeur to the scenes. The special effects added to the visualization as does the colorful background where Krishna is sitting and narrating the show.

Till now it is noteworthy that they have taken known actors who can really act well. To carry off the heavy costumes and jewellery as well as mouth those difficult dialogues while carrying it off with poise is not an easy task. Sameer Dharmadhikari as Shantanu looked a bit old but that is how he should be given the age he is being shown as, isn't it? Arav Choudhary as Bhishmapitamaha has a strong voice and will continue to be seen for a long time. The petite Ratan Rajput as Amba delivers a power packed performance but somewhere her body language comes across as someone who is trying very hard to be more vengeful and show it as such. Maybe it is because of her small frame.

Saurabh Raaj Jain as Krishna is likeable but he needs to improve his diction a bit. His coming in as a narrator to give gyaan doesn't look like an interruption.

What doesn't work -

Sometimes you feel that the entire scenario is just too picture perfect and ultimately looks unrealistic. Mahabhrat is the story of human behavior and the action of the characters is just a reaction to the abrupt turn of events with one thing leading to another. However this is overpowered by the drama that surrounds the series. The music with its Sanskrit shlokas is not soothing but a bit loud. We see big names associated with the show with the likes of Salim Khan giving guidance in the dialogue department, currently on the top music directors Ajay - Atul helming the music department while Oscar winner Bhanu Atahiya in charge of the costumes. Considering these heavy weights to be around, we expected something more extra ordinary.

Minute details need to be looked into - The crowns seem to be shivering with every nod of the head and Satyawati's (Sayantani Ghosh) long, manicured pink nails were very obvious and mar the efforts of being authentic.

Our take -

This is not the first time that Mahabharat is being telecast on Indian Television. There have been earlier attempts in the form of B. R. Chopra's Mahabharat (which has become a benchmark for subsequent Mahabharats) on DD the sounds and music of which still lingers on, while there were no takers for Sanjay Khan's Maha Kavya Mahabharat on Zee TV (it went highly unnoticed) and Ekta Kapoor's Kahani Hamaaray Mahabharat ki on 9X (which came to an abrupt end).

This Mahabharat on Star Plus has been in the making for three years and noted historians have been associated with the research so we hope that the makers will stick to historical facts. Each time this epic is remade the producers claim that there attempt is to make the young generation to know the story and watch it. This time maybe that is the reason that it is Krishna who is narrating the story as he relates to the younger generation however it will have to be seen whether it becomes a crowd puller.

The fact that Star Plus has decided to air it on a week day slot at prime time instead of the tried and tested Sunday morning slot is a big gamble which might just pay off since the small town viewers which may be a big number in this case are at home at 8:30 pm ready to watch the classic.

Proud-India thumbnail

"May be the real Yudhisthir was also fun loving"

Says Rohit Bhardwaj who is playing the role of Yudhisthir shares about his role and working with his old friend Shaheer Sheikh again in the epic show Mahabharat.

Rohit Bharadwaj who was seen in Swastik Pictures Naavya on Star Plus and in Na Bole Tum Na Meine Kuch Kaha on Colors, will now be seen adorning a different look.He is soon to be seen in Siddharth Tewary's Mahabharata on Star Plus as Yudhisthir.

TellyBuzz had a chit chat with Rohit to know about his role and the effort he took to get into this character.

When asked Rohit about his role in the epic show Mahabharat, he said, "I am happy to play Yudhisthir. I had actually auditioned for the role of Lord Krishna but then I bagged the role of Yudhisthir. I am delighted to actually do this role as Yudhisthir is one such person in Mahabharata who is very realistic and follows Dharma. He is not a saint, if he sees something wrong he does fight back,but he has certain principles and duties in life that he follows religiously."

He further added, "The show is very unique and different from the old Mahabharata as the new Mahabharata minutely shows each and every aspect of the people. For instance, there is a particular weapon that only Yudhisthir knows how to use and that is shown in the show."

Remembering his earlier days when he was shooting for the show Navya and now teaming up with Shaheer Sheikh again in the show Mahabharat, Rohit says, "I and Shaheer Sheikh are very good friends as we have known each other from Navya days. Our bonding on the sets of the show Mahabharat is very cordial."

We quizzed him to know if he is as religious and dutiful as the character he is essaying in the show, Rohit says, "I am not very religious but I am spiritual in many ways. I believe in positive energy. I have also read Mahabharata the easy ones as well as the complex ones just to get into the skin of the character before taking up this role."

We asked him if he has read mythological books and Rohit says, "Yes, to every extent reading Mahabharat and enacting Yudishthir has helped me in lot many ways. Dharma is my duty and I have become more calm and responsible towards my family, my life, in relationships and have taken things in a much more sorted way."

He went on to talk about his reel and real life, "In real life, I am not as serious as Yudhisthir it's just that a character that I am portraying in a way and you never know the real Yudhisthir would also be fun loving and jovial but he was portrayed in a serious way."

"I would love to take up a romantic flick in future as romancing; dancing with a beautiful girl is my dream role. I would like to play my dream role in films like DDLJ 2 and Rockstar 2," concludes Rohit.

Proud-India thumbnail

SKILL BILL

Mythological and historical shows are a lot of hard work. The actors tell us why

Stuti Agarwal

Grand canvas. Illustrious characters. Regal affair. Mythological and historical shows are here to rule the small screen and garner TRPs like no other. But making this blast from the past' look convincing is no mean feat, say myth merchants. Not only do the actors need to work on their physique, dialect and body language, it's increasingly becoming important for them to pick up skills like horse-riding, elephant taming, archery and sword fighting et al. We go beyond the reel to find out how hard work is paying off in real.

NAME: Shaheer Sheikh SHOW: Mahabharat CHARACTER:Arjun SKILLS:Ancient weaponry TALK BACK: I've learnt ancient ways of combat like cane fighting. I'm also honing my skills in archery, horse-riding and sword fighting. Since I studied in a Urdu medium school, I've trained under a Hindi teacher for diction. It was important as I need to be comfortable while delivering the lines.

NAME: Mohit Raina SHOW: Devon Ke Dev... Mahadev CHARACTER: Mahadev SKILLS: Kathak TALK BACK: I'm a trained dancer, but I had to learn Kathak since tandavinvolves this form of dance. Indian classical dance is very difficult and happens to be different from jive and hip hop, which I had learnt in the past. Learning Kathak has been a whole new experience.

NAME: Rohit Bharadwaj SHOW: Mahabharat CHARACTER: Yudhisthir SKILLS: Throwing spears TALK BACK: I've picked up acrobatics apart from learning to throw spears. Action director Anand Shetty showed us some skills. Once, while riding a horse, I fell off and hurt myself badly. I've been a theatre actor and wouldn't go to the gym as it restricts movement. But now, I've started hitting the gym to build the physique required for Yudhisthir.

NAME: Faisal Khan SHOW: Bharat Ka Veer Putra " Maharana Pratap CHARACTER: Maharana Pratap SKILLS: Horse-riding TALK BACK: This is my first show, so I had to start from the basics, working on both acting and body language. I did workshops on language training, horse-riding and sword fighting. Initially, I was very scared of riding a horse, but now I can do so with a considerable speed. It's been a good learning experience.

NAME:
Krip Suri SHOW: Savitri CHARACTER: Rahukaal SKILLS: Sword fighting TALK BACK: Twenty five days before the shoot, I picked up sword fighting. I would practise for three hours daily. We started with sticks, moved to wooden swords and finally, took to original swords weighing around five kilos. But I haven't injured myself or my opponent, thanks to the rigorous training. I also did weight training for four months.

NAME:Charu Shankar SHOW: Malikaa CHARACTER: Mehrunissa SKILLS: Archery TALK BACK: Since Mehrunissa is a proficient archer, my co-actor Karanvir Sharma and I had to practise archery every day. Also, I went to the National Museum in Delhi to see paintings from the Mughal era just to get acquainted with Mehrunissa's world. While shooting in Bikaner, I dabbled in horse-riding, which I had learnt as a youngster.

NAME:
Rishabh Sharma SHOW: Jai Jai Jai Bajrangbali CHARACTER: Bal Hanuman SKILLS: Archery TALK BACK: To master the way Hanumanji walks, talks and fights, I had to go through various workshops and training modules. Being Hanuman, I require to fly' in a lot of scenes. I trained in flying' for two weeks. Even though the harness ensures my safety, I have to get the act right, since my body has to remain parallel to the ground.
A-A-S thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail Commentator Level 1 Thumbnail
Mahadev stops fight between Bhishma and Parashuram
TNN | Sep 24, 2013, 12.00 AM IST

Mahadev stops fight between Bhishma and Parashuram
Mohit Raina as Mahadev

Mahadev stops fight between Bhishma andParashuram The 100-crore show on Indian television, Mahabharat, which launched last week, is all set to delight the audience with its special episode tonight.

One of the most revered and popular characters on Indian television, Mahadev " played by Mohit Raina " will make a special appearance in Mahabharat tonight. And in what promises to be a dramatic and gripping sequence, Mahadev will step in to stop the fight between Parashuram and Bhishma.

The entire sequence is going to have a lot of special effects, which have already got widely appreciated by the younger audiences. The show has definitely left no stone unturned in terms of special effects, beautiful locations and costumes.

The audiences are surely going to love the performances of Puneet Issar, Ratan Rajput and Aarav Chaudhary, who are playing the roles of Parshuram, Amba and Bhishma, respectively.

The Mahadev special episode of Mahabharat airs tonight at 8.30 on Star Plus.