Yeh Rishta Kya Kehlata Hai Sept 9, 2025 Episode Discussion Thread
Anupamaa 08 Sept 2025 Written Update & Daily Discussions Thread
BALH Naya Season EDT Week #13: Sept 8 - Sept 12
The ba****ds of bollywood trailer
Kareena Kapoor in London/ Birmingham for Malabar Gold and Diamonds
SUPER HEROO 9.9
Game over for Param Sundari at the box office
Karan Nandini Kids are here
just a quick comment! i have to say , i disagree with this. if it works as reverse psychology that is rare and surface level only. the impact of media, and in particular gender roles have a huge and complicated impact on people. even more then that, they reflect popular thought/strereotypes/conventions. the actual manifestation of this might be more subtle, but it is still there. take LTL on its own as a basic example, but how many people commented that dutta's actions were understandble after the sups betrayal? in real life these kind of patterns and comments are easily made and used as justification for all kinds of actions.
i personally am not for tit for tat either, but a less passive female would be ideal. Nakku's ''walk all over me'' attitude, her sacrifices and understanding would be be absolutely FINE if they were MUTUAL. or at best the cv's could at least show real regret on dutta's part for his mistreatment of nakku.
I don't know if you watch this show or any other shows with your family or siblings, or even friends, but if you do, gauging their reactions and comments while watching will tell you that no one in the contemporary world, especially among the younger generation, takes away the message from these serials that women are supposed to be a sacrificial lambs...so for one, it's not very rare that this reverse psychology is in effect. As for being only on surface level...the explicit way in which these women are portrayed to be making sacrifices, there are not very many subliminal messages, or subconscious work at play...funnily enough, Indian television is not very clever at that kind of a thing 😆 If we are talking about advertising and marketing separate from LTL, Indian shows, etc. I will agree that everything you have said is right, about stereotypes, etc. In this case though, it doesn't follow the norm. Of course, we can agree to disagree if you feel differently.
The second bit about Nakku's 'walk all over me' attitude is your perception of the character, because I'm sure there are others as well as me, who interpret her behaviour differently. I do not view her as passive. A passive woman would be sitting alone in her room, doing nothing to rectify the situation. Nakku is not. Many other things in life and the show can be or could have been 'ideal' but they are not. This is how they have characterized their female protagonist and they are doing justice to it as of now. The regret you wish for on Dutta's part will definitely come, but in the future, when he calms down and sees the other side of the story.
Originally posted by: Dancingdoll
Parul, Welcome back! Just got up and u have already teased the grey cells!!...😆😆....There are few things I didnt get from your post but will generally present my POV!
COLORS channel commenced with the notion to hit and potray social evils of society like child marriage, forced marriage by goons, Zamindaar system etc...LTL fell into its laps because it hit one more social evil, "atrocities at underpreviledged girls"...Without proper guidance, atmosphere and source, gals (especially if they are beautiful) from "basti" are more prone to get into the clutches of pimps and buyers, and land a straight ticket to Dubai!...This concept touched one more weak nerve of society and qualified it to be a COLORS product! If a social evil is the prime contention, this evil had to prevail prominently in the serial....In all the COLORs serial, you would see the Act I of the show, elaborating this evil and presenting in front of society. Act I is intended to understand the character of one such sample of society embroiled in this evil and make the audience aware of her problem and connect to her, feel for her!...It becomes her story now!I dont see this story as having a social message to be honest, it might a romanticized watered down version of what colours thought was a social message story. but nothing more then that. this is the same as a fairytale....the same kind of female, and the same heroic male. except here even the hero has a tendency to used those around him as scapegoats.On Naku and Dutta, many members have already explained beautifully why Naku is tolerating Dutta's atrocities. Love just increases your power of resistance and tolerance, exponentially...Naku is just exercising her power of tolerance right now for her love...and she knows "Saab bahut achche hain"....She sees the heart, not its cloth/cover - skin!....She tolerates the atrocities by choice and not by compulsion!this you is the problem, and where the implicit social message really lies in ltl. to be tolerant of atrocities because in the end you will prevail. the problem is this tolerance is only for females! and its this same tolerance which leads to women being walked over in reality...all for love!
Originally posted by: make-believe
I don't know if you watch this show or any other shows with your family or siblings, or even friends, but if you do, gauging their reactions and comments while watching will tell you that no one in the contemporary world, especially among the younger generation, takes away the message from these serials that women are supposed to be a sacrificial lambs...so for one, it's not very rare that this reverse psychology is in effect. i dont think many of the younger generation watch it, but they defo watch alternative things! better or worse im have no idea! but i do think there is a huge level of ''acceptance'' if not for husbands then for thesake of family respect . and in all honesty for women its considered pretty normal! although i am not saying media is the only influence here there will be many others...1 being your family background/context.. As for being only on surface level...the explicit way in which these women are portrayed to be making sacrifices, there are not very many subliminal messages, or subconscious work at play...funnily enough, Indian television is not very clever at that kind of a thing 😆 If we are talking about advertising and marketing separate from LTL, Indian shows, etc. I will agree that everything you have said is right, about stereotypes, etc. In this case though, it doesn't follow the norm. Of course, we can agree to disagree if you feel differently.
The second bit about Nakku's 'walk all over me' attitude is your perception of the character, because I'm sure there are others as well as me, who interpret her behaviour differently. I do not view her as passive. A passive woman would be sitting alone in her room, doing nothing to rectify the situation. Nakku is not. in the context of the show nakku is portrayed as NOT being passive. but to me, this is the old fairytale like social message takes over. if nakkuis able to bear duttas wrath for the sake of her love and because she oh so completely believes in him...she WILL eventually emerge the winner. her ugly curse will be lifted and she will win duttas love. as i also commented before women use their so called faith in their love to allow being used/aabused. Many other things in life and the show can be or could have been 'ideal' but they are not. This is how they have characterized their female protagonist and they are doing justice to it as of now. The regret you wish for on Dutta's part will definitely come, but in the future, when he calms down and sees the other side of the story. i actually dont think we will, maybe it is just me who feels this but i also dont think it was adequatethe last time he mistrusted her!
edit: quickly taken from another post; dutta's grabbing nakku's neck is ok because he is angry. or nakku should be grateful he didnt throw her over the balcony because he is so angry!This is also what i meant by subtle comments and beliefs which comeinto play, and unchecked can do alot of indirect/direct harm in different real life situations
Hey DD! Sorry for the rude awakening!😆 Hope all is well. Just finished reading your response. What you and many others including Sara have said is true. As you can see, I felt compelled to get on my soap box today. 😆 This show is clearly entertainment with little value otherwise, that's its purpose for being. But it did bug me to see Naku being Naku ... and Dutta being Dutta, just as they were in May. But what am I expecting anyway?
Strength doesnt lie in the vocal tone or muscles...It lies in the strong and calm mind because that can see the impending storm not the fogged vision of anger!Originally posted by: make-believe
I do not view her as passive. A passive woman would be sitting alone in her room, doing nothing to rectify the situation. Nakku is not.
Originally posted by: chinuji2004
Hey Parul
Love this post and it makes so much of sense and particularly because i can relate it to my own life....
I have had a torrid marriage and later my husband expired due to his own heart problems (he was an alcoholic)....after my marriage my mother in law majorly interfered in our married lives and said that i need to first just selflessly serve my husband for the first ten years and then only will i gain some sort of a status in the house hold where my opinions will matter....She used to point out to serials where women where happy doing house hold chores and just trying to please their husbands ..so she liked to shield my husband's alcoholism which ultimately lead to his death....
the thing is that indian serials make women look so mahan that its difficult to emulate such a thing in real life...come on...you cant just go on sacrificing or giving without expecting nothing in return...
Dutta is not a child....he also has brains...right now he may be in hell because of Naku's hiding the truth but he hasnt had a clean record either.....so why should it be always naku to make him see the truth thro her sacrifices? Doesnt he have a brain? okay his initial anger may be justified but dont we cool off in real life and try to understand things? the elder women love watching these serials and like to tell their bahus to emulate such behaviour...trust me its happened with me!