Chapter 5Preet heard noises coming from downstairs. He rubbed his eyes and sat up on his bed. 'Has PB already arrived?', he said to himself. As if on a cue Daljeet's loud voice was heard and of course she was telling Prem to take one more glass of lacchi. Preet jumped down from the bed excitedly and rubbed his hands in happiness. 'Badi jaldi thi mere bhai ko bhabi se milne ki lagta hain (My brother was very impatient to meet my sister-in-law, I see)', said Preet with a mischievous grin on his face before heading towards the washroom.
After a while when everyone was busy feeding Prem, Preet came downstairs and called out his PB loudly. Hearing Preet's voice everyone looked behind to find Preet standing with a big smile.
Teji: Come beta, I was about to send Meher to call you. Come breakfast is ready.
'Preet', said Prem hugging Preet tightly before sitting down again. Preet hugged his PB back in the same way while Heer admired the bond of the brothers standing in a corner.
Preet: *Taking a bite of Paratha* So Heer bhabi, why are you standing in the corner? My brother has come only for you! *Winks*
Prem glared at Preet while Meher tried to stop herself from giggling and Heer blushed heavily.
Balwant: Ji beta ji, that is why after breakfast I think Prem and Heer should talk alone for a bit. What say parjaiji?
Teji: Haan jarur (Yes of course). If they have to spend all their life together, they should have a talk before taking any decision.
Daljeet: You are absolutely correct parjaiji. Junejas are such a big reputed family whereas we are just normal people. Prem beta should talk but I tell you beta, Heer is one in a Million. Even my daughter Ashlesha is too! I hope she also gets a boy like you. So decent and nice na Balwant ji?
Balwant: Yes Prem and Preet both of you are so well mannered beta. I hope Ashlesha and Meher also get a good family like Heer is about to get.
Saying that Balwant patted Meher's head making Daljeet frown.
'Aur ek paratha le lo Prem beta (Take one more paratha my son Prem)', said Daaljeet trying to change the topic.
~~.~~ ~~.~~ ~~.~~ ~~.~~ ~~.~~ ~~.~~ ~~.~~ ~~.~~ ~~.~~ ~~.~~ ~~.~~ ~~.~~
After Half an Hour
Heer was making and opening a knot in her dupatta's edge in nervousness while Prem stood behind her with the same mental state. After few minutes Prem finally decided to break the silence.
Prem: Heer ji?
Heer: *Turning to Prem slowly* Ji (Yes)?
Prem: I actually don't know what to say nor I have any typical questions that people generally ask to a girl before marriage. But umm, I just wanted to know if you are happy with this marriage or not?
Heer: Are you?
Prem: You did not answer my question Heer ji.
Heer: Dekhiye (See) Prem ji, this is Ambala, this is a village and we are a very normal family as chachiji said. For us, family is a big thing and from childhood I have done whatever my elders have told to me to do. If my chacha chachi and maa has selected you, they can not be wrong.
Prem: Heer ji, whatever you said is the answer for your question too. Maybe we live in Ludhiana and have luxury hotels but our parents have always taught us the values which your elders did. My family is my everything and I knew maa bauji can never be wrong. And now I can say, I was absolutely right.
Heer looked down blushing at Prem's reply.
Prem: But you still have not said about one thing.
Heer: What is it?! *Looking surprised*
Prem: I told you that I can say now my parents were not wrong but you never said about that regarding your elders.
Heer blushed more this time and just nodded her head affirmatively before running outside the room. Prem looked at her sudden action and smiled a little before following her. They reached at the staircase only to find their younger siblings waiting for them anxiously. Seeing Meher, Heer held her hand and dragged her downstairs while Prem smiled and nodded his head in affirmation to Preet.
'Oho, mere PB ko dulhan mil gayi (Oho, my PB has found his bride)', Preet's scream was heard when Heer was dragging Meher down. Reaching downstairs, Meher nudged Heer's arm with a big smile. 'Mubarak ho didi, mubarak ho (Congratulations didi, congratulations)', said Meher hugging her sister who hugged her back smiling like a pink rose.
That Night
Preet was packing her bag and Prem was reading a book when someone knocked on the door. Prem stopped reading his book and walked up to the door. As soon as he opened the door, Meher came inside while trying to balance two heavy blankets in her hands. Prem took the blankets from her.
Prem: Meher tum (Meher you?) ? Ye blankets (These blankets?) ?
Preet: Why PB? Were you expecting someone else? *Teasing*
Meher: Actually Jeeju, your would be wife blushes too much you know? So, sadly I had to come to give you both the blankets. Its getting cold here tonight suddenly.
Prem: *Blushing a bit* Meher, I thought only Preet was a teasing master, now you too don't begin.
Preet: December and cold. Distance and Shyness. Aha, you are good Preet Juneja! *Holding up his tee shirt's collar*
Meher laughed on Preet's words.
Preet: Seriously?! Seriously, Miss Meher Maan laughed on my words rather than getting angry?! You actually are good Preet Juneja! *Smiling and holding up his collar again*
Meher: Don't fly too much Mr. Juneja, otherwise I will take back your blanket hmm? *Raising her eyebrows*
Prem: Did Preet pulled off any pra...
Before Prem could complete his words, suddenly he stopped in his mid sentence looking behind Meher. Seeing Prem staring at outside, Preet and Meher looked at that direction and what they saw, made both of them grin sweetly. Heer was standing on the stairs, trying to look inside the room and Prem's eyes were staring at her. But as soon as Heer saw Prem staring at her, she ran towards upstairs. Meher laughed a little on the situation and ran behind her sister while Preet patted his embarrassed brother's back saying, 'Pyaar thoda pagal hota hain you know? (Love is a bit crazy, you know)?
Next Morning
Prem and Preet were busy stuffing the boxes of sweets from the best sweet shop in Ambala and the sacks of vegetables from Maan's farming lands into their car which were given as gifts for the Juneja's from the Maans. Both the brothers had tried to stop them thousands times but only if they would listen. When Preet was about to to put the last sack of vegetables inside, Meher and Heer came there. Meher out of no where suddenly dragged Preet to the back yard.
Preet: Slow down Meher, where are you taking me?
Meher: *Stopping* Nowhere. Just here in the back yard.
Preet: And may I know why? *Confused*
Meher: How foolish you are Preet?! Uffo! Prem jeeju aur Heer didi ko jara akela rehne doge jaane se pehle ya nehi (Will you let Prem jeeju and Heer didi to stay alone for a bit before leaving or not?) ? After a while elders will come out again to see you both off.
Preet: Yeah right sorry, my bad. *Gives a smile*
Meher: By the way, I wanted to say thanks to you. Thank you Preet. *Saying in a bit uneasy voice*
Preet: For what?!
Meher: For saving my life that day and I am also sorry that I shouted on you on the first day and also that day in jungle without any reason. But for the first day, anyone would have assumed that you were hitting on me huh! *Says everything innocently*
Preet: *Laughs* Okay okay, you don't have to be sorry Meher. Now if you have no problems with me, can we be friends? *Offers his hand for a handshake*
Meher: Okay friends. But I will always call you 'musibat' (Trouble) whenever I feel like. *Shaking hands*
Preet: Haha, don't worry I will call you chubby cutie whenever I feel like too.
And with that both of them laughed together.
Meanwhile
Prem: Heer ji, I know I am leaving now and you have answered my question yesterday but still I want you to think once again after I leave.
Heer: Paar (But?) ?
Prem: Shh! Look, I want you to think alone when I won't be anywhere near and you will get full freedom to think. You are the one who will have to come to our house and live with us for your lifetime so I want you to think properly before doing anything with your life.
Heer's eyes welled up realizing how much loving and caring Prem was. Heer was about to reply when the elders came there. 'Oh, lagta hain hum galat waqt pe aa gaye' (Oh, I think we have come on the wrong time)', said Balwant making both the would be bride and groom blush.
Prem: Nehi (No) chachaji. I was about to call Preet. We should leave now.
Saying that Prem looked at Heer once before calling out for Preet. After Preet and Meher came to the front yard, both the Juneja brothers took leave from the Maan's and started their journey towards Ludhiana.
Way to Ludhiana
Prem was driving and Preet was lost in his thoughts.
Prem: You found her nice too na?
Preet: Yeah, she is nice. A little bit short tempered though but she does have a heart of gold.
Prem: Heer is short tempered?!
Preet: Yes Heer is sh...Wait what?! *Embarrassed* No no, not Heer bhabi, I even doubt if she barely can ever have anger. Sorry bhaiya, I was sleepy so I misunderstood someone else for Heer bhabi.
'Meher maybe is a bit short tempered but that is because she is too nice and naive. Also you need to look for better excuses', said Prem smiling and looking at the front road while Preet looked outside the window and smiled too being caught and embarrassed.
To Be Continued...
Edited by Nikhad003 - 7 years ago