shruti thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Elite Thumbnail + 9
Posted: 17 years ago
1 Thing you can't do without in the morning? Coconut water. 2 Things you love to hear about yourself? That I'm a pretty girl and a good actress. 3 Movies that made you cry? Tare Zameen Par, Fanaa and Masoom. 4 Places you would love to visit again? London, Goa, Indore and Panchmari. 5 Actors you'd love to be paired with ? Shahrukh Khan, Amitabh Bachchan, Aamir Khan, Saif Ali Khan and Salman Khan.

www.bodhtree.com
shruti thumbnail

Wounded

Karan Patel, who is to host a new reality-game show, Kaho Na Yaar Hai, suffered head injury when he fell off his bike

Back to Section Stories Posted On Wednesday, January 16, 2008

Kavita Shyam

Karan Patel

Karan Patel will not be heading to the sets of Kasturi or Kaho Na Yaar Hai (the show which goes on air from January 18) but will be nursing his wounds at home instead. The actor met with an accident while riding his friend's bike and has suffered a skull fracture. Karan was rushed to a nearby clinic and then later in the evening he was shifted to Hinduja hospital.

He has been advised complete bed rest for 10 days. The shooting schedule for Kaho Na Yaar Hai has been delayed by a week.

Karan recounts, "On Friday, my friends and I decided to bunk our gym and head for an early morning coffee at 6.30 am, at Lokhandwala. I was about to take a turn when I somehow missed it and my bike went skidding throwing me off some 30 metres away. I didn't get too many scratches but I noticed my left ear bleeding profusely."

He adds, "When my friends noticed blood oozing out of my left ear continuously, they rushed me to a nearby clinic.The doctor gave me immediate first-aid. Later, they shifted me to Hinduja hospital. On examination they found that I had an internal skull fracture, behind my left ear."

Still reeling under severe pain Karan says, "I have blood clots in my head and it's very painful. I can't lie on my left side as I can't put any pressure on my left ear. I have been advised complete bed-rest for at least 10 days. I have also been asked by my family to stay away from bikes."

Karan talks to us about his passion for bikes. He says, "I am crazy about bikes and was all set to buy a sports bike. Now it won't be possible. Though I will not be able to shoot extensively, I will try my best to shoot for a few hours for the new reality-game show that is scheduled to go on air on January 18. But, for this I will have to take special permission."

Will Karan's absence delay the launch of Kaho Na Yaar Hai? Says Anupama Mondoloi, creative and programming head, Star Plus, "Fortunately, we shot some episodes for Kaho Na Yaar Hai recently. Those episodes are enough to carry over the show for three weeks. But, for the second schedule we don't have a bank. It has been postponed by one week till he recovers. We are hoping that he gets well soon and begins shooting with us."

http://www.mumbaimirror.com/net/mmpaper.aspx?page=article&am p;sectid=12&contentid=2008011620080116041120296e56c24ab

shruti thumbnail

Two-timing!

Karan Patel and Amita Chandekar have split. Read on to find out the real reason

Back to Section Stories Posted On Wednesday, January 16, 2008

Vickey Lalwani

Amita Chandekar and Karan Patel during their courtship days

Speculations are rife about the Kasturi co-actors, Karan Patel aka Robbie and Amita Chandekar's (Pooja) split. While some believe that they faked an alliance so that they could participate in Nach Baliye 3 and share the loot, some others feel that the off-screen couple split because of a third party involvement. Our source reveals the actual reason for the couple's split.

Apparently, Karan seems to have been two-timing Amita as well as Sai aka Navneet of Kasturi. Amita and Karan were in a steady relationship till Amita learnt about Sai being 'extra friendly' and frequently visiting Karan, in his vanity ban. This led to a showdown between the couple and the two parted ways around the sixth episode of Nach Baliye 3.

A source from Kasturi says, "Karan has stopped talking to Amita. We have seen Karan and Sai together, very often."

Our source further adds that after their break-up, Karan has stopped caring for Amita. "Only a few days back, Amita attempted to reconcile with Karan and went to his vanity van at 2.30 am. It seems they had an unpleasant chat after which they left the sets separately. Amita took an autorickshaw at that odd hour, while Karan drove off in his car."

Their split naturally has caused discomfort for many on the sets of Kasturi as the co-actors do not talk to each other anymore.

Sai T

Although Sai denied Karan dating her, she only said good things about him.

"Karan is a good human being but I am not dating him. Yes, I have been to Karan's vanity van. We see movies, but we always accompanied by other friends," said Sai.

When asked Amita about Karan two-timing her, she refused to comment on the issue saying, "I don't want to say anything on this. If I wanted to talk about this, I would have spoken long back."

Despite repeated attempts Karan did not answer our calls. We then sent him a text message, but he did not reply.

http://www.mumbaimirror.com/net/mmpaper.aspx?page=article&am p;sectid=12&contentid=2008011620080116041118281a7775468
shruti thumbnail
The buzz is that you're returning to Kasturi.. Really? I haven't heard from the production house yet. It's their call and the channel's. As of now, my character in Kasturi is dead. There are rumours that the soap is coming to an end.. I'm in touch with my co-stars from the show. I'd know if it was ending. Recently there were allegations that the director and an actor were harassing the actresses on the show. Honestly, I know nothing about this. I'm aware that something is going on but I haven't had the chance to ask anyone about this. So what's happening on the career front? There's Kahani Ghar Ghar Ki though I don't need to shoot for it every day . Suddenly I have a lot of free time. (Laughs) I even managed a trip to Goa for the New Year. Right now, I'm just chilling out. But if anything good comes up, I'm game. How do you while away the hours? (Laughs) It's not all that difficult. I'm busy with my playstation.. I go on long drives.. listen to music. I'm having a great time. We're told that you're suddenly a big hit with the girls.. (Smiles) I've always wanted fans. Now I have them in plenty It took . me four years to convince my folks that I wanted to be an actor. I'm enjoying every bit of the fame. What's the best compliment you've received to date? Dad told me that it didn't matter how much work I did, he said he was proud that I'm a good human being.. that meant the world to me.

www.bodhtree.com
shruti thumbnail

Love actually

Priya Bhatija aka Afreen of Khwaish and Jatin Shah aka Adi of Kahaani Ghar Ghar Kii are dating each other for over a year now

Back to Section Stories Posted On Monday, January 21, 2008

Ranjib Mazumder

Here's another love story from the Balaji stable. Priya Bhatija aka Afreen of Khwaish and Jatin Shah aka Adi of Kahaani Ghar Ghar Kii are the newest couple in tinseltown. The duo, who met through common friends, is seeing each other for more than a year now. Priya admits, "I met Jatin at a friend's party. We became good friends and now we are seeing each other."

Interestingly, both Priya and Jatin, who came to Mumbai chasing their dreams, started their career at Balaji Telfilms. Priya took a break after doing a few episodes of Kyunki Saas Bhi Kabhi Bahu Thi and that's when she met Jatin at a friend's birthday party.

She took an instant liking for Jatin and gradually started hanging out with him at different hotspots. She couldn't be happier when Jatin popped the question and eventually, they started seeing each other.

Soon thereafter Priya grabbed her role in Khwaish and headed to Dubai to film for the soap. Jatin was left heartbroken, as Priya had to be away for more than 10 months. Jatin also got busy with Kasturi, but the couple were constantly in touch over the phone.

It was recently when Priya returned to the city, and Jatin even took a break just to be with his loved one. Jatin says, "Priya is a very important person in my life and I don't have any qualms admitting that. I met her at a party for the first time and we became good friends. Even when she was in Dubai for 10 months, we kept in touch. She means a lot to me."

http://www.mumbaimirror.com/net/mmpaper.aspx?page=article&am p;sectid=12&contentid=2008012120080121031336921b429e90e

shruti thumbnail
Krystal's back in another show

Krystal D'Souza is out of Kahe Naa Kahe, but the girl has started shooting for Kasturi.

That's a good thing or else the youngster would have been quite demotivated. The main role in Kahe Na Kahe may have beena bit much for her too handle this early in her career, but we are sure she'll grow as an actress over the years. Good luck!

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/Entertainment/TV_Buzz/Kry stals_back_in_another_show/articleshow/2758925.cms
shruti thumbnail
Men only Annu ki Ho Gayee Waah Bhai Waah, Star One, 8 p m Hotel owner doubts his gender preference because he's drawn to the senior male chef. Drags chef along to play squash at the club. Chef is horrified on being hauled to the men's room to change. Oh oh, the chef 's actually a girl in disguise.. oh lord, and one thought this chakkar ended with Rishi Kapoor-Paintal in Raffoo Chakkar . Kairee on romance Saat Phere, Zee TV 6.30 p m , Post-accident, a woman's gone nuts.. she thinks she's a five-year-old. Husband's try- ing to humour her. They're busy plucking kairees off a tree when it starts pouring kittens and pups. Husband flashbacks to a rainy, romantic day He draws closer to his . kiddy wife. How creepy is that? Sob opera Kasturi, Star Plus, 9.30 p m Boy's on a wheelchair. Girl massages his feet, drapes a shawl around him and looks deep into his eyes. Hard to find them because his face is hidden behind bandages like Amitabh Bachchan's in Satte Pe Satta. Girl's sobbing now. Cut to montage of old times when boy was walking around, laughing and talking. Cut back to the present. Stop, enough of wallowing in the past please. Want a refill? Bournvita ad Household maid saves every paisa to buy a refill pack of Bournvita for her son (the adorable kid from Shvaas though a little puffed up). Madam informs her that she can get a smaller refill pack for just Rs 20. Cut to son promising to buy mum a Banarasi sari when he grows up. Maid and madam exchange misty-eyed looks. Nice but mushy . CAR SEVA Race teaser This one looks like another wannabe slick flick. Saif Ali Khan with a carefully careless stubble and Akshaye Khan- na in black glares take turns to romp with Katri- na Kaif and Bipasha Basu. Cut to Khan sit- ting in his car with a remote control. He spouts a line about not taking dhoka lying down. Button clicks, car behind his goes up in flames. Was it a Nano? janaki.viswanathan@hindustantimes.com

www.bodhtree.com
shruti thumbnail
Tiff with Karan is like utensils clashing says Priya

If you recall, recently Karan Patel, who is hosting the new show 'Kaho Na Yaar Hai' and is also in the main lead of 'Kasturi', had annoyed the unit members and co-stars of 'Kasturi' so much by his antics that all the actors had staged a walk-out from the set. Although Karan has tried to pacify them a lot by pleading that he had got late owing to his shooting schedule for 'Kaho Na Yaar Hai', there were no takers.

Now that Karan's 'Kaho Na Yaar Hai' has been aired and is also popular, it seems that his co-actors in 'Kasturi' were perhaps trying to check his enthusiasm. When we asked Priya Arya, Karan's co-actor in 'Kasturi' who was also among those who participated in the show-down, about the walk-out incident, she said, "I sincerely want to wish him all the best for his show. I pray to the Almighty that maximum number of people watch his show and it becomes a super hit".
But did Priya herself see the show? When we asked her the question, she said, 'No, not really. Actually, I am so busy shooting for two Balaji serials 'Kasturi' and 'Kasamh Se' that I do not have enough time to watch the show. Basically, I am busy for 13-14 hours a day shooting for these two serials, so where is the time to watch television?"

When we asked Priya about the 'walk-out incident' she said, "Look, when there are four members in a family there will be tiffs between them at some point of time or the other. It's like utensils clashing against each other. So we also had a similar situation. We were not angry with Karan, but had got fed up waiting for him so long. So we left the sets. Well, now this is a very old incident and we have even forgotten about it."

When we asked her about how she did her time management, Priya remarked, "Well, this is not actually my headache, but of the Balaji people." Is Priya planning to do any other shows apart from the two with Balaji? "Look, I like to work and if there is any role which offers me an opportunity to excel as an artist I would love it, but as I am currently on a yearly bond with Balaji, I cannot do any show with any other production house."

http://entertainment.oneindia.in/
shruti thumbnail
Hai Sai, Things have changed between us since our courtship during Saara Akash. I know you more intimately and it is the same with you - I guess being out of work gives us the kind of time we need to spend with each other. Let's build our dream home and call it Sai Shakti, shall we? But no, it sounds like a show for God TV. We should think it over. Then again, we have all the time in the world… Saigning off, Shakti Dearest Sharad, Jaane do na, paas aao na. Yeah, so as I was writing.. listen, let me write. Don't touch me, don't touch me, don't touch me soniya. Naughty naughty Kelkar.. I have a song for you - Angna mein Bhabho duare pe Kaki sa, akela hoon ghar ma tu aaja baalma. It is better than what you keep singing - Sarkailo khatiya jaada lage. But you know what Sharu? In public, no control, kya karoon kuch to bol! Lots of PDA, Keerti Mere apne Apu, You are the best thing that has hap- pened to me since.. after.. since.. ok, you are the first best thing that happened to me. Seems like just yesterday when you were in that flop movie Pyar Koi Khel Nahin and I was in my flop film Tere Liye. With that in common we connected. When my mom saw a recent picture of you in the papers, she asked me if I have cut my hair short. I had to explain to her that it was you with long hair. Now, I know you're playing a doctor in Radha's Daughters Will Do Something. But don't you dare get naughty with the nurses. Yaad hai na when I found Surveen eyeing you in Kajjal, you didn't get dinner for two months. So behave yourself. Love you always, Shilpa Jaisi Koi Nahi Hallya Narayani! Sup babes? Yeah the accent babes, you see like aa'm havin done with this flick babes with this dude Leonardo babes. Like this maaynd-blowin flick call'd Blood Diamond. So it's too Yo for me babes, 'cuz aa am just too cool babes. N yeah, catch ya tonight for some film premiere at Fame Malad 'cuz like always we are doin nuthin' and there's no dinnah at ma home. Got to try some Indian tandoori chicken. Love ya baby, Gaurav Choprio Hiya Neeru, I swear I don't know why I admitted on Bigg Boss about my flatulence problems. It just got blown out of proportion.. pun unintended. Come back baby – it's Valentine's, and there's nothing else but love in the air, I swear! Wait, what's that smell? Love, Amit Meri pyaari Amita, Okay, see, I know we are not a couple but please let us pose just one more time - please, please! Kaho na yaar hoon! I know you are miffed that we could- n't win Nach Baliye despite all that faking but see, people got to know you. As for me, I have lots of reasons people remember me for - I come late on the sets, I tease my co-actresses, they walk off the sets because of me. At least for your own sake, please be my Valentine. We will break up on the 15th and we'll get more attention! Think about it. Love, Karan

www.bodhtree.com
shruti thumbnail
Post NB, its splitsville time

Nach Baliye 3 runner-ups Rakhi Sawant and Abhishek Awasthi are the third couple who took part in the show to part ways - Karan Patel-Amita Chandekar and Pooja Bedi-Hanif Hilal being the other two. Karan-Amita

In Karan and Amita's case it was quite expected. On the sets as well the couple never used to talk to each other. It was just a mutual agreement for the show. As soon as the show got over Karan ended all the rumours by breaking the silence over the issue making it clear that they were never together.

http://news.indya.com/newsDetails.aspx?xfile=2008/February/N ews_20080213_119