sanober. thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Elite Thumbnail + 4
Posted: 17 years ago
Kasturi adjusts as Karan dances

Shubhangi Atre, who plays the lead in Kasturi, is having a tough time adjusting to her new schedule as co-star Karan Patel is also busy rehearsing for Nach Baliye 3.

She says, "Being the lead actress I anyway have to adjust my personal and professional life. Karan is a very co-operative actor but since he is taking part in Nach Baliye 3, we have had to change our schedule. Sometimes if his rehearsals are in the morning then the shoot takes place late in the night. Now also my shoot timings are from 2 pm to 2 am. I'm feeling bad for my baby. In fact my parents have come from Indore to take care of her."
Do you get any help from the production house? "If there any problems they take care of it but only I can look after my daughter. Even Karan feels slightly guilty but he is doing two assignments simultaneously so he is helpless."

Will you vote for Karan then? "(Laughs) No but I'm looking forward for his and Amita's performance."

http://news.indya.com/newsDetails.aspx?xfile=2007/September/ News_20070918_169

shruti thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Elite Thumbnail + 9
Amita gets bowled over by the Indo-Pak final!

Looks like the recently concluded T20 world cup final had its effect on our jodis as well. Amita Chandekar says it was almost impossible for her to concentrate on her rehearsals. The actress says she couldn't wait for the session to finish so that she could get home and watch the crucial match.

"We were filming for the next round the next day and so we couldn't afford to miss practice. But we just couldn't concentrate… It was just so exciting. I just wasn't apying attention what I was doing. I was only on my phone all the time trying to find out what the score was!" says Chandekar.

By the time she could finish with her session the match was over so Amita decided to hop over to best friends' Hiten Tejwani and Gauri Pradhan's house to watch the presentation ceremony.

"Since we finish quite late I always go to Hiten and Gauri's home as they live close by. I didn't want to miss the ending so I quickly drove across to their house and ate dinner there. It was great fun," says Amita, "Hiten was so excited when we won! We had a lot of fun."

http://www.indya.com/nachbaliye3/news.aspx?xfile=2007/Septem ber/News_20070926_265
Edited by *Shruti* - 17 years ago
shruti thumbnail

'I wanna partyyy!

Better things to do: Ekta Kapoor and (inset) Nikkhil Arya
Ekta Kapoor is amused rather than angered by TV actor Nikkhil Arya's allegations that he's been receiving death threats since his interview against her.

"We at Balaji have better things to do than threaten actors. If we start on the things this person has been up to, he wouldn't know what to do. Beyond that, I don't have anything to say," says Kapoor, laughing.

Interestingly, Ekta and Nikkhil had a run-in a couple of days ago at a restaurant called Rio.

She was dining with an actress called Rusaali, while Arya sat glaring at the czarina.

Brushing off the uncomfortable situation, Ekta says, "Let him be. I've bigger things to think about, like my party (it was still rocking by the time we went to print!). I WANT to have a party. For the last 10 years, I've just watched my life go by. Now I'm having fun.

http://www.mid-day.com/hitlist/2007/september/164742.htm

shruti thumbnail

Karan Konfusion!
2 Nov 2007, 0000 hrs IST,HARSHADA REGE ,TNN

When William Shakespeare said what's in a name, he didn't know the confusion that names can cause in a small world like our TV industry.

With Karan Grover, Karan Singh Grover, Karan Mehra, Karan Oberoi, Karan Wahi, Karan Patel and Karan Kapur, the industry seems to be having an overdose of this name. While Karan Kapur became Caran, Karan Singh Grover took out the Singh and became Karan Grover.

So, now there are two people with the same name. Luckily for them, neither is more popular than the other. Therefore, cases of mistaken identity are few and far in between.

So, what do the 'Karans' have to say about this? Karan Oberoi, who's also a singer, says, "Speaking for myself, I am saved of all the confusion because I am also a singer and I have done only four shows on TV."

Though few actors are willing to acknowledge there is a lot of confusion about the actors' identities, especially when event organisers call one Karan thinking he is another.

Karan Mehra says, "Karan happens to be one of the most popular names in our industry. Unfortunately, my poor friend Karan Wahi gets blamed for all the mischief I do. Not only the name Karan but the letter 'K' itself has come to be synonymous with our industry. Right from Ekta Kapoor's serials to Karan Johar's and Rakesh Roshan's movies."

For Karan Singh Grover, though he has a namesake within the industry there hasn't been any cause of trouble. "We both look very different and there hasn't been any confusion as of now," he says.

So, is there a solution to this name game? Karan Mehra seems to have one. "In my friends' circle, we call each other by surnames because there are at least four Karans among us," he says. And to add to it there is Karan Johar whose TV chat show took him into millions of homes worldwide. Well, it would be nice to have coffee with Karan, but which Karan is the question!

shruti thumbnail
Feature: Playing with fire

Recently, on Kahaani sets, Saakshi Tanwar's (Parvati) pallu accidentally caught fire while shooting for a sequence. We asked some telly-actresses how difficult it is to deal with such fire sequences which are wrought with risk.

Panchi Bora (Prachi, Kayamath)
"It's very scary indeed. We had done a sequence in which I had to save Ayesha (Sanjeeda) from fire. I was very nervous and ended up bruising my hand. Thankfully, our stunt master came to the rescue. But I was petrified for almost a week after that."

Arunima Sharma (Ranoo, Kasamh Se)

"In Kasamh Se I had a scene with Roshni where I am caught in fire. The sequence was so long that my specs started heating up. I was not able to tolerate it and fainted on the sets in spite of precautions taken by the production house. And from that day onwards I have told to them to take extra precaution."

Shubhangi Atre (Kasturi, Kasturi)

"There are many fire sequences in Kasturi and now I'm used to it but earlier I used to be get very scared. I remember one scene where I was getting married to Robbie and the gathbandhan falls into the holy fire. One of my co-actors removed that to avoid anything untoward but she was not able to handle the heat and accidentally put it on my face. It was really horrifying. Now there are stunt masters who take extra precautions after that incident."

Reshmii Ghosh (Bhoomi, Kyunki)

"There was one sequence where, in anger, Bhoomi burns her room but luckily no accident took place. As for the precaution purpose there were fire extinguishers but I was ok."

http://news.indya.com/newsDetails.aspx?xfile=2007/December/N ews_20071204_23

wajiha.a thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail
2007: The new faces of Balaji

As 2007 draws to a close, we tell you about five new faces launched by Ekta Kapoor.

Shubhangi Atre – Kasturi

After the exclusion of newcomer Praneeta Sahu owing to health problems, Shubhangi Atre took over as the lead of the Star show.

"At the beginning of the show I was excited but at the same time very nervous. As a lead this is my first serial so I'm really enjoying it. I have done a cameo in Kasauti Zindagi Kay and I hope next year too I will get some good shows in the Balaji camp."

Krystle D'Souza - Kahe Na Kahe

Ekta Kapoor has declared her as the next star of the television industry.

"This year was rocking for me as I always wanted to act with Balaji. I'm very grateful to Ekta that she has given me this opportunity. I hope next year also there will be some good surprises for me."

Dimple Jhangiani - Kuchh Is Tara

A middle class girl Kanya in the serial, she had earlier done ad for Pan Masala.

"It was like a dream come true for me. I'm TYBMM student always thinking of glamour so I would like to say that 2007 was a jackpot for me and I hope 2008 will be the same."

Wasna Ahmed - Kasauti Zingagi Kay

She plays the character of Dhara in Kasauti. Hailing from Kolkata, she has done theatre for seven months and came to Mumbai after her 10th standard exams. Presently studying in Rizvi College, she says she always wanted to act.

"It is a dream come true and a great opportunity to be working for Balaji. I was a regular viewer of Kasauti and when I came to know that I will be a part of it I was very pleased. Now I'm known as Dhara. 2007 has been very good but at the same time very hectic but it's fine. In 2008 I will work harder."

Abigail - Kya Dil Main

She is a 15-year-old still studying but at the same time shooting for Kya Dil Mein Hain (Kakaon).

"I had never imagined this would happen to me but I'm enjoying my work. I still remember my first day of shoot. I was very nervous but now that anxiety is gone. I'm very thankful to Jesus as this year he has given what I want. I just pray that next year too it will be like this."

Well, let's see what Ekta has in store for us in 2008.

http://news.indya.com/newsDetails.aspx?xfile=2007/December/N ews_20071229_272

shruti thumbnail
Serious charges I f sources are to be believed, there's much unpleasantness on the sets of Kasturi. On Saturday night, three actresses staged a walkout when the hero Karan Patel failed to make an appearance till 1.30 a m. The source claims that Prriya Arya, Amita Chandekar, and Rupa Ganguly, all of whom play principal roles in the soap, were livid when they left the Chandivili set. Misbehaviour There is much talk about the misbe- haviour that goes on during the shoots. "The director of the show, Gary Bhinder, and Karan Patel have been harassing the female cast for almost eight months," the source alleges. The duo apparently indulge in cheap talk and even make crude pass- es at the women. Patel expresses shock when ques- tioned about this. "I wasn't on the sets on Saturday night. I don't even inter- act with the cast so much.. I'm busy with other work. Such an allegation is disgusting," says the actor angrily. Shubhangi Atre, who plays the lead denies this. "I have no problems with the director. There's been no misbehaviour," she asserts. Clearing the air Our source however holds on to the allegation, saying, "Naturally, Shub- hangi has refuted all the rumours. What can she do after all?" Producer Ekta Kapoor was unaware of the situation till recently. She is said to have called for a meet- ing of the cast and crew of the show yesterday. Kapoor has giv- en Bhinder and Patel an earful. Plus, there's also a rumour that the show is drawing to an end..

www.bodhtree.com
shruti thumbnail

Late-ral thinking

Karan Patel aka Robbie Sabarwal of Kasturi was boycotted by the rest of the cast because he made unpunctuality a habit

Back to Section Stories Posted On Friday, January 11, 2008

Ranjib Mazumder

Karan Patel aka Robbie Sabarwal plays a rebel in the show Balaji Telefilms' Kasturi, but of late his co-stars feel he has become a rebel off-screen too. His co-actors are very upset with him because he has been reporting late on the sets holding the shooting endlessly. So a few days ago when he arrived late, the entire cast walked out of the sets.
Apart from Kasturi, Karan is also hosting Kaho Naa Yaar Hai, a reality-game show. Unable to juggle his time between the two shows, the actor turns up late for Kasturi stalling the shoot

Our source from the production house reveals, "Ever since Karan has signed Kaho Naa Yaar Hai as the host, he has been ignoring Kasturi. Since he plays the lead role, he has to be in most of the frames. In spite of telling him, when he did not change his attitude the team of Kasturi decided to teach him a lesson. A few days ago when he arrived late on the sets, the entire team walked out."

When contacted, Karan confirms about the team of Kasturi walking out of the sets. He says, "There were some technical difficulties on the sets of Kaho Naa Yaar Hai due to which I reported late for Kasturi. But the unit members have a misunderstanding that I have been busy with personal work or purposely reporting late. But that's not true. Yes, they walked out of the sets a few days back when I reached late"

When quizzed on his equation with the rest of the unit, he replies, "I don't interact with the other cast members too much. I leave the sets after completing my work. I am not answerable to the unit members for my late coming; I am just accountable to Ekta."

In fact, sources reveal that Balaji's head honcho is also quite unhappy with Karan's attitude. "Ekta was not happy with the recent turn of events. Karan had a meeting with Ekta immediately after the occurrence and explained to her. Thereafter, everybody on the sets has been keeping an eye on him," says the source.

About his meeting with Ekta, Karan says, "Yes, I had a meeting with Ekta. And she was upset, like any producer would be. I explained my situation and she understood my problem. She is quite an understanding producer, now there are no problems."

http://www.mumbaimirror.com/net/mmpaper.aspx?page=article&am p;sectid=12&contentid=2008011120080111032409281bd4dfcd2

shruti thumbnail
Confession time for Karan Patel
10 Jan 2008, 0000 hrs IST,TNN

Stories about Kasturi's rebellious Robby, Karan Patel, turning tardy are filtering out of the production house.

With surprising candour, Karan admits that there was indeed a problem at Balaji. "Yes, I did come late for the shoot. But that's because I'm anchoring a new show Kaho Na Yaar Hai and initially there was some problem synchronising the two schedules. I'm sure it'll be sorted out very shortly. For now I regret the inconvenience caused to the Kasturi team and to Ekta." Karan admits Ekta was upset about his latecoming. "We had a meeting and I explained my situation. And she's okay now. Yes the Kasturi cast did walk out en masse because I arrived late. But it's not something I did intentionally."

Karan makes another strangely disarming confession. Amita Chandekar, who has a vamp's part in Kasturi, and who was his partner on Nach Baliye 3 recently was never his real-life girlfriend. "I'd like to clarify that I don't have a girlfriend. This was something I needed to clear for a long time. It's a misunderstanding that has been allowed to go on for too long. Amita and I were close friends. And we were together for some time, though not as a couple. Our togetherness was mistaken for something else. I'm much relieved to clear this notion."

So how did they end up being a couple on Nach Baliye? "We were friends and we suited the rules and regulations of Nach Baliye. You could say we were a pair, or you could say we were never a pair. I never proposed to her. There was never a girlfriend-boyfriend tag. We were two people who hung out together quite often."

On the work front, the actor says he was always confident of his success. "But I never knew it would happen so suddenly. One day I was just another face on television. The next day I was Robby in Kasturi. Then Nach Baliye happened. Now I'm anchoring a show. I couldn't have hoped for more."

He admits the fan attention has increased. "I'm now craving to make the next move to cinema. Insha Allah, it should happen soon. Yes television has its own place now. But when you do a lot of television, you become identified as the character you play in the soaps. But age and time are on my side. So I can be patient. I'll have to cut off from television, reinvent myself for the big screen. Yes I do have film offers," he says.

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/Entertainment/TV_Buzz/Con fession_time_for_Karan_Patel/articleshow/2686499.cms