Bhaskar.T thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 3
Posted: 20 years ago

In the Telegraph newspaper, every Sunday there's a chapter Turning Point. They tell about some public figure's turning point in life. Today it was Rajeev's So I scanned the article for you all. Here's it....

As a documentary filmmaker I lost Rs 11 . lakh in my dream, project which was a pilot episode on the Indian Army. Unfortunately, it didn't take off due to the war in Afghanistan that had broken out at that time. This was about four years ago and I was crushed as I had written, directed and produced it. I arrived in Mumbai hoping to sell it to a television channel, but landed a role with Balaji Telefilms instead. This was the defining moment in my life and came as a huge relief after the failure of my project.

The initial offer from Balaji Telefilms was for the 20-episode serial Kya Hadsa Kya Haqeeqat. I was sceptical about working for Balaji as I had heard that it was a kind of a factory where you get entangled in a mire of deadlines and shooting schedules. However, I changed my mind and discovered that what I had heard for so long about the production house was completely misleading. After Kya Hadsa Kya Haqeeqat was completed I took a break of eight months. Then Kahiin To Hoga happened and became the high-point of my career.
However, I guess the first real turning point of my life was when I moved from my home in laid-back Jaipur to Delhi a few months after graduating from St Xavier's College, Ahmedabad. At this time I was still undecided about what profession I would pursue, as I was debating about appearing in competitive exams so that I could train to be a software engineer.
But somewhere down the line I realised that I wanted to be an actor. So I relocated to Delhi and began by selling paintings that had been sourced from Jaipur in collaboration with a friend. I also started making documentary films. My journey into the world of the camera had begun and I have not looked back since.

(As told to Arundhati Basu)

P:S A full size large pic. of Rajeev above is in the gallery page 19.

shizajaved thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
Strike One -- Rajeev Khandelwal
Found this lil article on Rajeev ... Hope you all like it ...
------------------------------------------------------------ ------------------------------------------------------------ ----------------

Rajeev khandelwal
Success story
For the last year and a half he's played Sujal, the romantic lead in Balaji's Kahiin To Hoga. Outside innings Before Kahiin To..., he acted in the thriller Kya Haadsaa Kya Haqueeqat, currently doing reruns on Sony. Candid confession ''I am glad to be known as Sujal, but I don't harbour any dreams of living as him for the rest of my life,'' says Rajeev Khandelwal. "Whether I'm accepted in another role depends on my calibre,'' he adds.

Coming up next A serial with producer Ketan Mehta, which he's already shooting for, and which airs in a month.
------------------------------------------------------------ ---------------------------------
shiza.

Jem4Himesh thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 3

"I have been asked to leave"

He's the man who cried wolf. Rajeev Khandelwal, better known as Sujal who mock threatened to walk out of Kahiin To Hoga, is once again in the media spotlight, this time to say that it's all over for him. But this time, he says, he has been asked to leave. And he makes no bones about it.

In an exclusive interview with Vickey Lalwani, Khandelwal cries his heart out. Here are the excerpts:

Is it for real this time?

Yes.

And why?

To tell you the truth, I have been asked to leave.

http://www.indiantelevision.com/tellychakkar/y2k5/april/26ap r/interview_rajeev.php

Reason?

I need logic that will explain what I am doing in the serial and why I am doing so. There is no logic being offered. I can't work like a robot. I am an actor who works by conviction. My character has clicked because I have kept myself very close to Sujal.

So?

Time and again, I have differed with the scenes which have been written for me. I just don't seem to agree with most of the things handed out to me.

But you can sit across the table and thrash out these issues?

It's not happening. I tried my best. When I came back last time, I thought things would change. I gave it another try. But almost every time, I was told to toe the line. I asked them to throw me out. Finally they said, "No more of your questions." 15 May is my last date of shooting.

It's said that you are insecure. You are ruffled by the footage given to Akshat, Swayam and Rishi…

Rishi and Akshat were there earlier too. There has never been any problem between us. We play squash, badminton and even hang out together at times.

It's also said that you don't give dates to 'KTH'?

Ever since I signed Ketan Mehta's serial, Balaji and I had an understanding that I will give 12 days each to both shows. I have not gone back on that.

Going back to your complaint. Do you think it's easy to explain the logic of every scene to every actor? I mean, you know the hectic pace at which Indian television functions?

Then please tell me why six creatives (creative directors) have been appointed. Just to get fat salaries? (pauses).

Go on...

Listen to this one. I don't know whether to laugh or cry. There was a scene where I will barge in from Tokyo and slap Kashish. Reason? Because I feel that my mother has suffered an accident since she told her about my father's first marriage with Akshat's mother. But do you know how I get to know it? When I land up in the hospital and hear my dad talking to his himself that 'kaash Kashish ne Veena ko nahin bataya hota'. How can somebody hear what the other person is saying in his mind? (pauses).

Uh huh?

There's another scene where they said that the first thing I would do after coming back from Tokyo is call up my father. I cannot digest that. In the serial, I have virtually no equation with my dad. I objected. The Creatives were called. Finally, they understood my perspective. Now, my dad will call me up as soon as I land in India. But do you know that the journey from Tokyo to Mumbai is shown to be done in just one hour?

But does your dad know that you are coming back from Tokyo, that he calls you up?

No, he does not. Don't question me on logics any further.

What if your good friend Aamna requests you to return?

Aamna will not request. She didn't last time either. She is a thorough professional and we don't interfere in our work areas.

What if Shobhaji and Jeetuji call you back?

I respect them a lot. But this time I am firm. I am out of 'KTH' and I think this is a promise.

But promises are meant to be broken, Mr Khandelwal?

I returned once. Yeh koi khel nahin. Yeh koi masti nahin. Bahut Ho Gaya. But yes, if I realise that the system here can kill an actor if he walks out of a certain production house and a certain channel, I might decide to return.

So, you have just one serial in your kitty now, Ketan Mehta's show coming up on Zee?

True. But so what? I am not playing a safe game here.

You did a pilot for a serial by Anubhav Sinha. Has it been passed?

I have no intimation on that. It's a good comedy show. I may do it, I may not. Let's see.

Are you trying to hint that you are now looking at films?

No. The truth is that I don't know what I'll do. I am simply blank

http://www.indiantelevision.com/tellychakkar/y2k5/april/26ap r/interview_rajeev.php

sujalfan...please delete post if it has been posted b4 😳

sidii thumbnail
Chaitanya Choudhry

Transcript of LIVE CHAT with TV actor, Chaitanya Choudhry at 12 noon on Wednesday, April 27, 2005 in Mumbai

Chaitanya Choudhry
TV actor

"The TV industry is bigger than the film industry at the moment in terms of turnover"

Sunidhi> How did you take the plunge in the world of media? Were you working somewhere else?
Chaitanya Choudhry> I was working in O&M as a client servicing executive before I joint TV. My friends had sent my pictures for Gladrags and I went for the competition just for kicks and emerged as the 3rd runner up and Mr. photogenic and then my photographs were featured in the Gladrags magazine. Dev Anand saw my photos there and that's how I got my first break.

Gia> You seem to have already done it all, from small screen to music videos, TV ads, Modeling. Are these traits of an experimental nature or an indecisive one, where you can't figure what you want to specialize in?
Chaitanya Choudhry> I wont say that's its indecisive, its more of an opportunity and modeling includes music videos ads though films are my first love but serials were more of a practical decision because the TV industry has started booming.

Neetu> Having had worked with a varied sections of the media, which do you feel is the most lucrative-monetarily speaking?
Chaitanya Choudhry> Televison.

Cutie> What excites you most amongst all these media, small screen, Movies, Videos and why?
Chaitanya Choudhry> I like movies because they are much more larger than life and it's a very serious medium in the sense as there is a lot of money at stake.

Ehaabthegreat > How many ads have you worked in?
Chaitanya Choudhry> I have done around 14 TV commercials a lot of print campaigns cant quite remember the number and 2 music videos.

Kashish > Hi Chetanya. How are you .Please can you tell us that who is your off screen best friend on the sets of kahiin toh hoga?
Chaitanya Choudhry> Off screen would be Rajeev Khandelwal(sujal).

Dino> What sort of roles would you like to portray on screen?
Chaitanya Choudhry> There is nothing in particular but I would like to experiment with different kinds of roles and characters.

Ehaab1> Do you have any plans of getting married?
Chaitanya Choudhry> None as of now because I am focusing on my career right now.

Ehaab1> When is Kahin to hoga going to end?
Chaitanya Choudhry> Why do you want it to end???

Rao> Model-turned actors have claimed that the film fraternity is less aggressive and not so brutally frank compared to the ad-world. Is it true?
Chaitanya Choudhry> It is true that the film fraternity is less aggressive.

khushnum > Are you going to concentrate more on your film career or Small screen? What is more difficult to do, acting or modeling? Please reply to my answer I'm an ardent admirer of yours and really hope to meet you someday.
Chaitanya Choudhry> TV is more difficult than films because we get scenes just before we shoot and we have to immediately perform and be spontaneous and there is a time constraint as well. Acting is more difficult than modeling as it is more challenging for me.

Vintu> What are your current projects in hand?
Chaitanya Choudhry> Currently I just have Kahiin toh hoga but there are a few projects which I am considering.

Jacko > Like so many other TV actors do you hesitate playing an elderly man's role? Would you take this as an opportunity to express your talents given a chance thought you are still young.
Chaitanya Choudhry> Its good to experiment with roles but I don't think I would like to play an elderly character in TV as unlike films it is long term and there is an element of getting branded as that particular character.

Manju > What kind of roles do you like to play? If given a choice would you also like to direct?
Chaitanya Choudhry> Actually I am very interested in the technical part of film making and eventually after my acting career I would like to direct. I would like to experiment with all kinds of roles ...the role should be challenging.

Pouru > Hi this is Akshat, how are you?. Your acting capabilities are great and I hope you will become a big star one day.I saw u in KSBKBT as guest appearance. Are you going to act in KSBKBT as Indu's lover? My question to you is how do you define honesty? What are your strengths and weaknesses? May god bless you and be with you.
Chaitanya Choudhry> Thank you so much.I loved doing the guest appearance in KSBKBT and I am not coming back in KSBKBT. Honesty is being true to yourself and true to others as well. Strengths - my easy going nature ,ability to act. Weaknesses - I tend to get bored of doing the same kind of things over and over again.

Pouru> Hi , Who is your favorite co-star and which are your personal favorite serials?
Chaitanya Choudhry> Favorite co-star would be the character who plays Charu(Surveen Chawla).My favourite serial is Kahiin toh hoga.

Milli> Had Chetanya not been in the Entertainment biz he would have been.?
Chaitanya Choudhry> I would have been a senior executive in an advertising company.

Kali > What are your thoughts on the career opportunities opened up by the small screen for actors who were given up in the Bollywood scence?
Chaitanya Choudhry> I think TV is really a boom for actors and for your information TV industry is bigger than the film industry at the moment in terms of turnover.

Sign off Message > Thanks for logging on ...it was really nice chatting with you guys. Love Chaitanya.
</>
Edited by sujalfan - 20 years ago
shrutibali thumbnail
21st Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail + 2
Aamna in Pakistani film

Aamna Shariff (Kashish of Kahiin To Hoga) is once again going Pakistan. The beautiful lass will shortly be doing a Pakistani film. "They want one more girl from India. The boy will be from Pakistan. If all goes well, I should be shooting for this one, next month," she says.
KinshukLuvsDina thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail Commentator Level 1 Thumbnail
Aamna in Pakistani film

Aamna Shariff (Kashish of Kahiin To Hoga) is once again going Pakistan. The beautiful lass will shortly be doing a Pakistani film. "They want one more girl from India. The boy will be from Pakistan. If all goes well, I should be shooting for this one, next month," she says.
khusi_* thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 3

'I will miss Rajeev'

Last evening, Rajeev Khandelwal 'officially' said goodbye to 'Kahiin To Hoga' which made him a household name. The time is right to chat up with his 'good friend' Aamna Shariff on how she feels about the whole issue. But the tall, beautiful actress is reluctant to talk much.

Rajeev and Aamna : the perfect couple?

Here are her cryptic and evasive replies to Vickey Lalwani

How did you find the new guy Gurpreet Singh?
I don't know. It's early to comment much.

But you shot a test scene with him yesterday afternoon?
He seems to be a good actor. Let's see how he puts himself into it.

Rajeev wanted to leave 'KTH' in November last year. It was said that he came back for emotional reasons?
So what?

Weren't you the one who persuaded him to stay on?
We all told him to stay on, especially the technicians. Nobody wanted him to go.

He says there are loopholes in the script which defy logic?
I can't comment on that.

But as an actor, do you challenge the script? Indian television functions as a 24 X 7 grind, especially if it's a

Rajeev Khandelwal: will be missed!

daily show. Is constant questioning justified?
You are trying your best for me to answer your previous question, but I don't want to comment on that.

Did he use to discuss his turmoil with you?
No. We never mixed our work with our friendship.

Will you miss him?
That goes without saying. We all will miss him.

Will 'KTH' sets be the same for you again. You fell in love with this man while shooting?
(Laughs) Those are preposterous rumours.

Sure?
Oh, come on. The script had beautiful moments between us. The on-screen chemistry clicked. That's all.

Can you share the same chemistry with Gurpreet?
It will be difficult. But as a professional actress, I will put my best foot forward.

How often will you'll keep in touch?
We will definitely keep in touch. If you leave a certain job, you don't stop communicating with your former colleagues.

What else is happening in life?
I am doing a Pakistani serial with Rajeev. Then, there's a Pakistani film happening, which I have yet to sign on the dotted line. And yes, I am looking to shift from my rental flat in Goregaon into a new owned flat in Mindspace, Malad.

smriti_fan thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Explorer Thumbnail

Ekta's ultimatum to Sujal
By: Upala KBR
May 7, 2005

'IN'TENSE: Gurpreet Singh 'OUT'PACED: Rajiv Khandelwal
After working in Ekta Kapoor's Kahiin To Hoga for more than a year as Sujal Garewal, Rajiv Khandelwal is finally going be replaced by newcomer Gurpreet Singh.

Says Shivangi Singh Chauhan, the creative head for the show, "Gurpreet was picked up from a general audition. Actually, we discovered him when we were looking for someone to play Angad in Kaisa Yeh Pyar Hai on Sony."

Ekta Kapoor
According to sources in Balaji Telefilms, Kapoor has told them that Gurpreet "bears an uncanny resemblance to Rajiv and has the same intensity and brooding rawness of personality."

If all goes well, Gurpreet will start playing Sujal from May 25, thus ending an era of much squabbling and griping off-screen drama between Balaji's Ekta Kapoor and Rajiv Khandelwal.

What's Rajiv's problem? Says the source, "Right from day one, Rajiv made things difficult for everybody.

He wanted to change the script all the time and questioned each and every scene — why would one do this, why should Sujal slap Kashish, why should he ask his mother Veena to leave his father, etc?"

According to Khandelwal, these were not logical things. "We have 25 creative people on the show and everybody knows their job.

Twelve creative heads walked out during Sujal's tenure. Even his co-stars didn't want to work with him. Everybody found him illogical. What was worse was that he kept cancelling shoots or holding them up for hours on end. That is unprofessional."

The source adds that Khandelwal had once told Ekta Kapoor, "If you stuff my face with money, I will keep quiet". He says, "It wasn't that Rajiv was greedy, just that he wanted to be compensated for what he felt he was missing out on.

The money would balance out his dissatisfaction with the script. We have made Rajiv Khandelwal into Sujal and we are making the show."

"It's not that Rajiv is a money-minded person, he just wants to be the creative person on the show."

The only comment Ekta Kapoor is makes is, "The problem was that Rajiv wanted to be not just the actor, but also the writer of the show."

"I finally told Rajiv that either I will leave the show or he will," says Ekta. It is extremely demeaning for me as a creative person to put up with an attitude from an artiste who complains every day, 'These are horrible scenes', or tells us 'you guys are such dimwits'.

I can't work with such a person any more. I told him the channel will take a call on whom they want but I can't continue like this. Even the writer of Kahiin To Hoga (Anil Nagpal) is very upset with Rajiv."

Anoli thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
Comment on Story

Sujal replacement found?

It's been the buzzzzzz for a long time. Rajeev Sujal Khandelwal is saying ta-ta to the show that has made him the hearthrob of millions of viewers the world over. But this time it is final. A fortnight from now a new face will be greeting viewers when they turn to their favourite show Kahiin To Hoga: that of Gurpreet Singh, a model they have probably seen in ads for Haywards, VIP Frenchie and Digjam. After a long search, Ekta Kapoor and Star Plus have zoomed in on Singh who they believe fits the bill. A final decision is to be taken tomorrow.

Late yesterday, Singh did a testing scene with Rajeev's 'good friend' Aamna Shariff. Rajeev says "he has been asked to leave" because he constantly expressed differences of opinion, feeling that certain sequences in the script were not logical. It would be recalled that in November 2004, Rajeev himself wanted to walk out of the show, but according to sources, he was pacified and decided to stay back.

Rajeev-Amna, TV's favourite jodi: will it be the same with Rajeev opting out

The bloodshed scene is expected to be shot in the next four days..

According to a unit source, "We got Gurpreet through a series of auditions. He has the right kind of look. He looks similar to Rajeev."

Kapoor confirmed, "One final audition yet remains tomorrow. But yes, he is the chosen one. I have frozen on him."

In fact, Singh met the out-going Rajeev on the sets today. The two exchanged pleasantries and Rajeev wished him good luck. .

Says Rajeev, sounding unexpectedly chirpy, "I think the new guy has a lot of fire in his eyes. He will do a very good job and make the show rock." .

When contacted, Gurpreet initially groped for words, but finally put it straight, "I am excited. It's a life time opportunity." The actor has also worked in Shivram Yadav's film 'Bhay' opposite Reshmi Ghosh. The film is 50 per cent ready. He says he will adjust the remaining portion of the film so that it doesn't clash with the Balaji assignment.

Interestingly, Gurpreet has not seen Kahiin To Hoga. "I have not seen even one single episode. I have been very busy with modelling. But I promise that I will put my best put forward

Does he look like Sujal? People will compare him quite a lot, for Sujal was a larger than life character. "I am aware of that. I hope I live up to expectations.".

Singh will undergo a nose job, apparently to look similar to the out-going actor. "I don't know from where I'll have it done. But I think Balaji will be deciding that."

Let's see how much hype the new Sujal can create. It's gonna be a helluva task, but you never know!

By VICKEY LALWANI Posted on 7 May 2005
2 AM
More News Comment on Story
shrutibali thumbnail
21st Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail + 2
Shabbir Ahluwalia with Mabel Ahluwalia
I love… everything about her.
I dislike… nothing!
My earliest memory of her… She was an airhostess and would bring chocolates for me everytime she returned from a flight. So I would eagerly wait for her to come home.