Nausena-Pt5-JA not Fiction-AKBAR-a TITLE?.P27+ MAHACHUCHAK BEGUM - P30 - Page 20

history_geek thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 5

Originally posted by: Arieltabi

Thnks Abhay for answering my question.
Now the mystery is getting clear. She was 7th months pregnant. So I think Shehnaz is her daughter. Shehnaz was separated from her mother after her birth. Now she came back to demand her takhth.
But Abhay in reality was Chand Begum was ever found.?

Hi Tabassum,

As per (GB)Gulbadan Begum's account, she was not found. But, Gulbadan Begum's account has a sort of ' peculiarity ' . 😕 She writes about those people -->> "Of these several people, HE never heard even a word, as to whether they were drowned or what became of them. In spite of all possible inquiry and search, what had become of them WAS never found out. " <<--From, Page-137 of Humayun-Nama.

I feel confused reading this. 😕 She says Humayun never heard OR found them. So, were/was they/she found later, after, by someone ELSE .?. Or, not.?. Because, i have encountered some strange findings >>> 'Coz, As per Beveridge, GB has 'charitably hidden' or NOT mentioned some events. 🤓 Also, Gulbadan Begum's HumayunNama give information ONLY upto the events of 1552, till Kamran's blinding, not after that. Hence, before giving a final word, need to be very careful. 😕

Finally i would say that, about this track of Chand Begum, AT PRESENT, i have NOT got any account saying, if she was found.

**************************************************************************************************

But, let me tell you, that Maham Anga's Delhi Throne obsession WAS certainly TRUE. After enormous digging for days, since you asked this question, finally, got some events at hand, hence responding late. The history of the events goes like this. 😃 >>

The Subedar of Delhi till 1555-56 was Tardi Beg. He was sent to "annihilation"(killed) by Bairam Khan, when he ran away, and came to Akbar near West Punjab(undivided), after losing Delhi to Raja Hema Chandra Vikramaditya, i.e., Hemu, before the Second Battle of Panipat. After that, Maham Anga, got Shihabuddin, to be made the Subedar of Delhi, as she had considerable influence on Akbar, at that time. Shihabuddin was a Sayyid, a relative/kinsmen of Maham Anga, from NishadPur. This appointment was against the will of Bairam Khan.😉 She was busy in securing a good future for Adham. So, Maham Anga had interest in the Delhi throne from STARTING, and Shihabuddin was appointed there for the same reason. As per the accounts >> "He was placed in the city to FAVOR her DESIGNS" . 🤓

Some of the References:
1. Blocchman's Notes
2. Graf'Von No'r's Notes

BTW, after telling you about >>

1. Maham Anga's 2 sons(Adham Khan and Baqi Khan). Link-1. Link-2. and,
2. Her husband(Illa't - Nadeem), and about her in-laws(Nur-ud-din and Fakhr-un-Nissa Begum), Here is another information about her. She probably had a daughter also, though finding is going on, at present. Don't you feel, MA's history alone, is so "hidden".?.😉

^^, Written in as much details as possible, but getting hands at all records is not possible. Will update, if something more is encountered in future. 😊

Edited by history_geek - 11 years ago
history_geek thumbnail

Originally posted by: tamy267

@red kya?😲😲 phir kaisa doodh ka karz?😡

Tamy,
This "doodh ka karz" is to deliberately torture us in the serial. Moreover, Adham was elder than Akbar, hence no clash of interest, i.e. , whom to feed. 😉

As told earlier, MA 'seemed' to be ONLY heading all the wet-nurses. She was not mentioned in the list of wet-nurses. In the list of wet-nurses, there is no name of Maham Anga. The names of wet-nurses, listed in chronological order of feeding Akbar(after HB fed him) are -

1. Fakh-run-nissa Begum
2. Daya Bhawal -
3. a wife of Khwaja Ghazi Tabrezi
4. a lady, Hakima
5. Jiji Anga [ in accordance with her wish, she was granted the honor. ]
6. Koki Anga, the wife of Togh Begi
7. a Hindu lady, Rupa, the only 'confirmed' Hindu wet-nurse of Akbar
8. Khaldar Anga, mother of Sadat Yar Koka [ Akbar got Sadat Yar Koka brother's daughter married to Abu'l Fazl's son - Abdur Rehman, Akbarnama,Vol.3, Pg-579 ]
9. Pija Jan Anga, mother of Zain Khan Koka, [ She was married to Sheikh Maqsud, Herat. ]

Others were also granted this honor of feeding him. But, their names are not given.

An interesting event:
Jiji Anga, did not allow anyone to feed Akbar with their milk, after he was 8 months old. 😉 She did not pay heed to them, even after the other wet-nurses complained to Humayun that Jiji Anga was performing some black magic to keep them away, from Akbar. 😉
Akbar was really attached to her. After her death in 1599, he got his head and chin shaved.

While Maham was with Akbar and had GREAT political influence and MAJOR CONTROL on him, but she ONLY appeared to be a leader of the wet-nurses, as far as i found from MANY texts.

BTW,
Anga means foster mother.
Atga means foster father.
Koka means foster brother.

Hence, we have the names as -->> Jiji 'Anga' , her husband Shams-ud-din 'Atga' Khan, and their son Mirza Aziz ' Koka' .

Arieltabi thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 2
Thnk u so much Abhay for answering my question. You do a lot of hard work to dig out this info. And today when Jalal mention Hemu in DEK I remember u 😆

Originally posted by: history_geek

Hi Tabassum,

As per (GB)Gulbadan Begum's account, she was not found. But, Gulbadan Begum's account has a sort of ' peculiarity ' . 😕 She writes about those people -->> "Of these several people, HE never heard even a word, as to whether they were drowned or what became of them. In spite of all possible inquiry and search, what had become of them WAS never found out. " <<--From, Page-137 of Humayun-Nama.

I feel confused reading this. 😕 She says Humayun never heard OR found them. So, were/was they/she found later, after, by someone ELSE .?. Or, not.?. Because, i have encountered some strange findings >>> 'Coz, As per Beveridge, GB has 'charitably hidden' or NOT mentioned some events.🤓 Also, Gulbadan Begum's HumayunNama give information ONLY upto the events of 1552, till Kamran's blinding, not after that. Hence, before giving a final word, need to be very careful. 😕

Finally i would say that, about this track of Chand Begum, AT PRESENT, i have NOT got any account saying, if she was found.

<div align="center">**************************************************************************************************

<div align="left">But, let me tell you, that Maham Anga's Delhi Throne obsession WAS certainly TRUE. After enormous digging for days, since you asked this question, finally, got some events at hand, hence responding late. The history of the events goes like this. 😃 >>

The Subedar of Delhi till 1555-56 was Tardi Beg. He was sent to "annihilation"(killed) by Bairam Khan, when he ran away, and came to Akbar near West Punjab(undivided), after losing Delhi to Raja Hema Chandra Vikramaditya, i.e., Hemu, before the Second Battle of Panipat. After that, Maham Anga, got Shihabuddin, to be made the Subedar of Delhi, as she had considerable influence on Akbar, at that time. Shihabuddin was a Sayyid, a relative/kinsmen of Maham Anga, from NishadPur. This appointment was against the will of Bairam Khan.😉 She was busy in securing a good future for Adham. So, Maham Anga had interest in the Delhi throne from STARTING, and Shihabuddin was appointed there for the same reason. As per the accounts >> "He was placed in the city to FAVOR her DESIGNS" . 🤓

Some of the References:
1. Blocchman's Notes
2. Graf'Von No'r's Notes

BTW, after telling you about >>

1. Maham Anga's 2 sons(Adham Khan and Baqi Khan). Link-1. Link-2. and,
2. Her husband(Illa't - Nadeem), and about her in-laws(Nur-ud-din and Fakhr-un-Nissa Begum), Here is another information about her. She probably had a daughter also, though finding is going on, at present. Don't you feel, MA's history alone, is so "hidden".?.😉

^^, Written in as much details as possible, but getting hands at all records is not possible. Will update, if something more is encountered in future. 😊

</div></div>

geeta58 thumbnail
Explorer Thumbnail

Originally posted by: Arieltabi

Thnk u so much Abhay for answering my question. You do a lot of hard work to dig out this info. And today when Jalal mention Hemu in DEK I remember u 😆

Abhay, u take so much trouble. Hamhe baithke kahani sunneki aadat hogayi hai😃 I want to ask what is this farmaan everybody is talking abt? Was Chandbegum's daughter elder to akbar? Even if that is so, how can a girl stake claim on the throne?I think they were only given titles like mariam Makani not infact any power. had there been any farmaan, gulbadan begum should hv known it.What cud be in that farmaan which even Maham is also after it?😕
history_geek thumbnail

Originally posted by: geeta58

Abhay, u take so much trouble. Hamhe baithke kahani sunneki aadat hogayi hai😃 I want to ask what is this farmaan everybody is talking abt? Was Chandbegum's daughter elder to akbar? Even if that is so, how can a girl stake claim on the throne?I think they were only given titles like mariam Makani not infact any power. had there been any farmaan, gulbadan begum should hv known it.What cud be in that farmaan which even Maham is also after it?😕

Hi Geeta,
Well..I don't discuss the show here..😊 Though, replying to that part also.
This following statements are as per the serial:: >
The farmaan you are asking is supposed to have been left by Humayun, and whomsoever has that farmaan will get the throne of Delhi. So, Maham was searching that farmaan. No idea about Chand Begum's daughter. Yes, some ladies were powerful, but not to the extent of singularly ruling the Sultanate, after Killing the previous Emperor.(as per Shehnaaz)😉.😆. There are many like Adham, Sharif-ud-din, Abu'l Ma'ali, etc. who are waiting for an opportunity.😉

This following statements are as per history:: >
Apart from having titles, these ladies had other business, overseas trade, and were involved in politics, to an extent. Especially, in the time of Akbar some ladies were very powerful like Hamida Bano Begum, Salima Begum and MUZ. Of these, Hamida Begum and MUZ had the right to issue farmans, which is otherwise, the exclusive prerogative of the Emperor.

history_geek thumbnail

Originally posted by: deejagi

Was this war was prior to Jalal's birth or later? If by any chance is Shehanaz the daughter of Chand Begum? Is SHehnaz also searching for teh same farman, Maham is searching for so that she can climb teh throne? She wanted to know some deatils from humayun Nama (she searched teh script in gulbadhan Begum's hojra) during teh Jashn. If she is Jalal's elder sister, then her anger towards Jalal is justified as she must be thinking that her father didn';t botehr to search for his missing pregnant wife instead he married a new Begum and had a warees from her.

This war was before Jalal's birth. Jalal was born in 1542, and this war happened on 27 June 1539. No idea about Chand Begum or her daughter now.

history_geek thumbnail

Minor Update

1. Akbar's REAL DOB .?.

2. Was Akbar a title or Jalal's Real Name .?.

As some of my friends have asked, the above questions. So, here are the replies.😊

Akbar's DOB is also under shades, just like his wife Harka Bai/MUZ. 😉 [ Link for HK/MUZ's case. ]
Akbar was born in the fort of Umerkot (now in Pakistan), in the Palace of Raja Veersal, amidst the sands of Rajputana.

In Akbarnama, Vol.1, Page-70, his DOB is stated as, 5 Raj-'ab 949, that is, 15 October 1542. The day said to be Sunday. And, name as Jalal-ud-din.
But, in the private records of Humayun, Vol.1, Page-45/46, his DOB is stated as 14 Sha'ban 949, that is, 23 November 1542. The day said to be Thursday. And, name as Badruddin.

So, why this discrepancy.?. I was confused , but the explanation, which i could dug up after endless search, is as follows -->>
"
Akbar was born on 23 November 1542. That was a full moon. Hence, he was named as Badruddin, that time . Badr means Full Moon. And, Din means Faith. But, after capturing Kabul when Humayun was a bit settled, in 1546, on the advice of some astrologers of the court, Humayun 'changed' his DOB to 15 October 1542, to ward off 'evil spirits' cast by the enemies away from Akbar. Since, the DOB was 'changed' . Hence, the name also required a change, as the earlier name, was given due to the fact that Akbar was born on time of Full Moon(Badr). Now his name was changed to Jalal-ud-din. Jalal means 'Sublimity' , and Din means Faith. An explanation provided is that, in 1540, before the birth of Akbar, when Humayun was wandering after losing his kingdom to Sher Shah Suri, that time, in his dream an Old man appeared, who said that a son would be born to him soon, whom he should name as Jalal-ud-din. So, after regaining his kingdom, this name was FINALLY given to Akbar.
"

And now, we see his DOB as 15 October. And, the horoscope given in Akbarnama is also according to this DOB .

^^^^ BTW, this horoscope was made by Maulana Chand, the same person who prepared beautiful verses on the birth of Hassan and Hussain(19 October 1564), the twin sons of Akbar and MUZ. 😊

After describing this issue of Akbar's DOB, here is another disclosure. Akbar was NOT a title given to him. It was a part of his ACTUAL name from starting. The name of Hamida Bano Begum's father was Ali 'Akbar' . Humayun had suffixed the word 'Akbar' at the end of Jalal's name, as a gesture of respect to his father-in-law, a Shia.

^^^Till now was PURE history...Now, some explanation.>.>

On the ' screen ' , they have shown Jalal getting this title from the masses. The best reason for this can be that, the removal of Pilgrim Tax, was a watershed moment, and a GREAT decision, and the word AKBAR itself means GREAT. I mean, he did something which matched the meaning of his name.

So, Probably, in the form of creativity, it has been shown to us, that Jalal got this title from the masses. But, actually, 'Akbar' was suffixed to his real name given to him by his father, Humayun, initially ONLY. Hence, in my opinion, CV's did a fair job with Akbar. Otherwise, they could have skipped this, as Akbar was already his name. 😊

aish321 thumbnail
10th Anniversary Thumbnail Explorer Thumbnail
Very interesting stuff on history here in this thread, appreciate all your efforts, guess it is so much fun in collecting information abt the past even if its difficult.
👏 you are a ⭐️

Just wanted to know if there will be another thread on Mah chuchak begum which seems to be the next track ?
Pals2411 thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
Read your answer at jed speed (PS: Used Bharmal's chopper service for that)😉...Thank you for the clarification on Jalal's birthday Abhay😃...So if he was elder to MUZ by 4 years aaram se😃...And actually born in November not October 1542😆...And Akbar was his name already😆... I don know what to say...History is so intriguing, beautiful, mysterious and funny at the same time...I mean kya pad rahe the ab tak, kya samaj rahe the and kya actually tha is like zamin and aasman😆...Thanks again for your efforts, appreciate it😃
Edited by Pals2411 - 11 years ago
ShadeOfWhite thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 4
very interesting Abhay...so he was born in 23rd November!! A Sagittarius by birth!? no wonder, Sagis r awesome...like me😉😆

ek sawal, iska matlab he was never given any title called "Akbar"? or is it his name was already Akbar but his Hindu awam gifted him it as title?😕 kyukii everyone says it was title given by his riyaya😕