Madhuri53 thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 2

Good post Sanjana

I am also a (only) reader.
For the first post, I always pres "Like" & do "Comment", short, long or two lines that depends on my liking the update, its contents, story or just a filler part.
Madhuri53 thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 2

For the second post,

I too enjoy the side character. I don't have any problems that the full update is based on some side couple. But still enjoy MG parts more. Read lot of stories of best writers so sometimes reading other stuff doesn't satisfies my hunger for good story or update. If I loose interest in story then also I stick to that story till end but then my comments are shorter or two liner or sometimes I tell clearly write that update was ok.

Regarding the names I don't stick to MG names only. I read lots of books / stories on Wattpad / novels etc. So MG name is not necessarily important. Still I prefer MG names as I love them immensely and can easily connect to them and prefer MG stories reading first than on Wattpad or novels.

Regarding rape issues. I don't like anybody using such plot for story. If I come to know that it based on rape then I stop reading that story or if it comes in bet the stories then skip such parts. Other violence are ok upto some extent as it was needed for the story.

I hate reading when geet shown as nave, innocent, damsel in distress etc. Agree with you.

Yes, equality should be shown bet maan & geet and same treatment should given to both. But again I am only reader and it is upto the writer what he/she gives us to read. They have freedom to write what they want. We can't blame any writer and go in bad books of them. Some writers don't like bad comments and appreciate few readers or their friends' comments and ignore other readers comments, it happened with me a lot of times.

Only wish this forum keep going. Writers-readers bond well and give good MG stories to read.

Its my POV and sorry if anybody get hurt.

Desire6 thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail Networker 2 Thumbnail

SANJU...DAT WAS ONE BIG .ONE...HEHEHH!
BT AS I HAV ALWAYS SAID DAT I LOVE READING UR COMMENTS ON ALL UPDATES...

COMMING TO UR QNS... I BEEN A READER ..CAN SAY DAT..OR WAT I PERSONALLY FEEL OR DO IS

WEN A NEW STORY IS STARTED AT D START..I DONT GET TO KNOW WAT D STORY HOLDS..WHAT IT IS ABT...HA SOME EXCEPTION WERE WRITER PUT PROLOGUE..SO WE HAV A GRIP OF WATS IN STORE..
FRANKLY SPEAKING ..ITS ..D TITLE WHCH GRABS MY ATTENTION..EVEN I HAVE BEEN READING STORIES FOR LAST 2 YEARS...ND I HAVE DONE DAT ONLY ...AT START WEN A STORY IS STARTED I USUALLY DONT COMMENT ..OR SAY I JUS WAIT FOR 2 -3 UPDATES
SO DDAT I HAV A GRIP ON D STORY..DEN DER IS NO LOOKIN BACK.COZ TO ME ...WEN I START READING A STORY..I READ IT TILL END...INSPITE OF UPS N DOWNS IN D STORY..
ND DIS UPS N DOWNS ARE WAT MAKES D STORY STRONG...
BT I CANT REALLY COMMENT Y ..PEOPLE..LEAVE IT IN HALF WEN DER IS SOME DIFFRENT PLOT SHOWN ..APART FROM D LEAD...I HAVE NO ANSWER TO SAME...
SANJU I REALLY LOVE WEN DER ARE SIDE CHARACTER ...ND SACHMAIN ..EK STORY SIRF DO LOGO SAY TOH NAHI BANTI HAI..
WE NEEED MORE ..PEOPLE...ND DATS D REASON I LIKE TO READ MANY STORY WIT MANY PARALLEL LEAD...DER MASTI..DER NOK JOK..DER PAIN DER SORROW...
ND I HAVE MANY TIMES ...EVEN REQUESTED ND COMMENTED TO SHOW OTHER CHARACTER ALSO APART FROM D MAIN LEAD...

COMMIN TO MAIN TOPIC...BINGO ..EVEN I HAVE SAME QN...Y IS IT ..EVERYTIME...
IT HAS TO B A GIRL WHO HAS TO B NAIVE..WHO HAS TO BE INNOCENT...WOH KYA KEHTE HAI.ABLA NAARI..DUKH KE MAARI...
TAKE EG of one STORY WERE ...I AM REALLY WANTING .GEET TO MOVE ON...BT HAD READ ..MANY DISAGREEEING WIT D THOUGHT OF HER MOVING OUT..Y...IF A MAN CAN MOVE ON DISRESPECT HER ...GIVE PAIN DEN Y D HELL IT HAS ALWAYS BE A GIRL WHO SHOULD ENDURE ALL PAIN ND KEEP MUM...
ND NOT HAVE FUN OF HER SIDE...

EVEN I HAD READ STORIES..WERE D LEAD IS ABUSED BY PROTOGANIST.. BT DEN U CAN COUNT ME TOO..WERE I AT A POINT SOMETIMES THINK DAT HE SHOULD B FORGIVE..CONSIDERING DAT IT IS A FICTION...BT I LL SAY IN REAL I WOULD NEVER EVER ..FORGIVE D ONE WJHO DONT KNOW TO RESPECT A GIRL..I WOULD NEVER

EVEN I HAD READ AN OTHER STORY WERE INSPITE OF KNOWING DAT MAN DOESNT LOVE D GIRL...GROOMS FATHER MAKES GIRL MARRY ...FOR HE THINGS...SHE CAN CHANGE HIM...ND IT DOESNT MATTER HOW TRASH HE TREATS HER..OR ACKNOWLEDGE HER IN FRONT OF ALL...
BT IF D SAME IS SHOWN VICE VERSA ..DEN GOD KNOWS ..WAT ALL NAME S
GEET GETS,..HERE...
I TOO FEEL SAD WEN A WRITER HAS TO REPEAT EVERYTIME DAT HAVE PATIENCE U LL GET TO SEE MG TOGETHER IN D END..Y DEY HAV TO SAY DAT ..ITS A FICTION AND WE HAVE TO BE OPEN MINDED TO ACCEPT IT..ND IF WE CANT ..DEN DONT READ IT..ITS DAT SIMPLE..Y TO BASH D WRITER LITERALLY THREAT TO MAKE OR CHANGE D PLOT OR SAY MAKE DEM DISCONTINU IT..
I LIKE TO READ ..DIFFRENT STORIES...BT DER ARE MANY TIMES...EVEN I ASK DEM TO GIVE A HAPPY ENDIGN ...AS I AM A SUCKER OF HAPPY ENDING...BT DEN AGAIN DER ARE MANY INSTANCE WERE A STORY REQUEIE ...TO B DIFFRENT ..BT IT SEEMS DAT ONLY COZ IT IS MG ..STORY ..DEY WANT MANEET TO BE TOGETHER AT THE END..
IRRESPECTIVE OF WAT EVER HAPPENS..

ND SANJU I TOTALLY AGREE..WIT U ..DAT IF A READER HAS TIME TO READ A STORY DEN DEFFO DEY CAN COMMENT FOR D SAME..I ALSO WORK ND HAS BUSY SCHEDULE..ND ITS ALWAYS I READ STORIES FROM CELL..ND COMEMNT ONCE I REACH HOME FROM OFFICE ...COZ I REALLY FEEL..A WRITER HAS TAKE DER TIME ..ENERGY INSPITE OF DER BUSY SCHEDULE TO WRITE A 2000+ STORIES...ND DER ARE WRITERS WHO I PERSONALLY KNOW..INSPITE OF DER PERSONAL PROBLEMS ..DEY TEND TO WRITE FOR US..ND WAT DEY ASK IN RETURN ARE 2 LINES OF APPRECICATION

I AM NOT BASING ANY ONE

coz all HAV FREEDOM TO COMMENT N WRITE WAT DEY FEEL..HERE ITS MY THOUGHT...ND I REALLY REQUEST ALL TO COMMENT ON STORIES IF U HAVE D TIME TO READ IT..

SORY FOR SPELLIN ERROR ...CELL SAY TYPE KIYA..GHAR JANE TAK WAIT NAHI KARNA THA...HEHEH!!

HAVE A NICE DAY
DIVYA

anmirza thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail
I would agree that readers need to comment n I always do try to comment on all stories that I read over the weekend at least if not during the week! Slacking off a lil bit on aish's stories but hopefully will catch up insha Allah!
All the characters in the story are important and the other characters need to be given importance as well but that also has to do with how the writers present their stories. For example there's a story Badmaash Dil by Sameera...the way she has written each character and the dialogues would make u go crazy about each character...there's more coverage given to other characters as opposed to MG but her way of writing is amazing...not every writer can do that except for some!
Now coming to people being biased towards Geet and not Maan, some people see me in the same category n I am sorry for not being clear because to me being wrong is wrong no matter who does it...Maan having multiple relationships to me is as disgusting as GEET doing the same...I am not biased towards either...but writers demanding readers to not express their displeasure is beyond me...writers can take liberties and these writers should also give enough liberty to all readers to express their views in a civil way. I will NEVER support writers being personally attacked but yes characters can be bashed! I don't want readers to try to implement their will on the writers to take the story forward according to their wishes because all writers are entitled to their creative liberties but writers will have to also understand that not everyone will agree with their POV but disagreement has to be CIVIL as well n no one should be bashed personally!
Edited by anmirza - 10 years ago
crazy_sweta thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail + 5
first of all
awesome awesome awesomeee post sweety..

we had tried many approaches to make the forum alive but nothing work..

and when it comes to readings ffs..

few readers are little kanjus in terms of comments
i personally never minded one line comments i m a writer too.. but i understand

But when we type one update of 1000 words we too are excited to read ur comments...on the update.. soo yaa i agree we feel a little bad tiny miny bit when they just comment nice update..or so..

And for the 2nd post..

On gf i think we have a mindset of maan being ruthless as he is in the show and we r ready to accpt that ..but not otherwise..

when a story arises of geet having a dark past.. ..the response isnt what we expected..

i have tainted angel as my ongoing story.. there geet's character is strong yet a little naive.. but when i read comments i feel readers already knw maan can never be wrong.. and there was a scene where geet attacks maan.. and i was sure they will like this..

but there were comments..like geet should have listened to maan na ll

I DONT BLAME READERS every one has their own pov.. so tahts okay

but inequality issue is there i agree...

Now..as far as other characters are concerned..nothing can be done.. i guess here they just enjoy maan n geet moments,,
the story requires other characters too...

also one side of the story which isnt still knwon to many of them is.. there are very few readers who try reading a new writer story...

For those writers who are famous..readers assume that their story will be interesting and fab... and they go for it..

example is sangita's story two brothers

the story is too good..really fantastic.. but the likes and comments are really less..

I used to update regularly inspite of my lappy problems personal problems... But now i dont..because i just dont feel like.. the gf envirnoment is deserted types... i dont feel homely now.. Once it was soo lively ya..

Sanjana..baby ur post is just awesome.. i hope people respond to this.. will love to read their views on this

love
sweta

...RIDDHIMA... thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail Networker 1 Thumbnail
A big thank u for the post
U told my mind :v
Y this gender inequality ???
U had mentioned torn in between...I was loving that ff so much but coz of those sick minded readers writer had to quit it...I was so frustrated at those readers that at one point I thought to leave reading ffs -_-
Another guzaarish...
Readers r so dishonest that proves there
When writer threatened readers she'll give sad ending suddenly like n comments increased double!!!
N after some days again decrease in comment!!! -_-

Yes everyone can accept maan as every dark character but when it comes to geet everyone starts pointing at geet!!!
Everyone wants maan to be forgiven !!!
But when it comes to geet everyone starts giving abusing languages!!

Come on when maan is wrong every thigthing is OK but when it comes to geet she's getting abused n also writers!! -_-

About silent readers!!
Some even puts on their signature that too busy n temporary nactive ..thats y short comment!!blah blah...
I wanna ask them isn't the writer is also busy???
When she can spare hours to write for us then y can u just give 5more minutes to comment??
Yah when u r reading u have enought free time but when it comes to comment oh u become world's busiest person!!!

Enough silent readers...at least for humanity sake think about writers POV -_-
Kawan thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail Networker 1 Thumbnail
hello
i agree to what u said..
people are actually obsessed with geet being a virgin...
means if maan rape geet in the story its kk.
few will hate maan...
but if geet left maan like u said they will start abusing her..
and want writer to punish geet..

I believe in equality...
if geet is wrong then maan is also wrong...
and we should understand both pov..
instead of bashing anyone try to see why they are such
like u mentioned geet leaving maan behind and maan still love her..
of course their was the reason why she left..
due to her past..
so before knowing anything a try and understand what writer wants to say..

and of course silent reader..
I have just commented on one writer thread..
taking out time from their busy schedule and update still they don't even bother...
if writer is sick and or is not able to update they demand for update and when they get it they bother to comment...
and I being a reader to so fedup with such people...
they don't even care about the writer feeling..
if writer gives password protected update they start to abuse them..
telling them as a bad writer..
so one request for the silent readers if don't bother to comment them u don't even have a right to abuse them..
they are writing the stories for us not for themselves...
Edited by Kawan - 10 years ago
Neeju thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail + 5
i really appreciate your post... this is something that every writers want to ask readers... i agree that almost every reader want geet to be innocent angel and they literally enjoy Casanova maan.. i have see in ff that even for his Casanova image they blame either geet or other female character. i say that it can make writer feel like that he/she has not developed the character well to make people understand... later they come to know that reader r willing to accept that maan has done something wrong...
i feel like every story should be different and to make it different writers need sub plots and characters and they cannot always come up with the same character of innocent geet and arrogant maan.

i have one more problem readers are not ready to accept geet leaving maan at end they want them together...i have writer 2 os where they do not become one even after giving strong reason they want geet maan together and then i have to present more parts to make this happen... they should leave it to writer how they want to end story... there are many famous film in which main character remain alone like ranjaana and aashiqui 2 but in Os or ff they are not ready to accept ..
DimaagKaKeeda thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 5
@Jannat-Fictions

Tanya you have restricted your post to get quoted?? I am unable to quote you so replying this way.

I so agree with everything you said in your post. And I loved how you explained how your first creation on Geet Forum got you the recognition when it had a black shaded Maan but you were pulled down when you tried to give a Geet who is carefree, badass, bold and simply lives on her own terms.

I know the topic is fiction so obviously whatever one write is simply her imagination and creativity. And I don't have problems with dark genre. I have read many stories where Maan is a complete black character. But what I love is when he is also shown getting his due punishment, or simply repents and redeem himself from it. If that track is done perfectly just like how one do with Geet's pain and sorrow and justice is given to Geet's character when she is literally shown depressed, broken beyond repair then I will love the story more. However, it is very rare that Maan has really redeem himself in such stories where he is a protagonist as well antagonist. In fact, he just has to shed tears and readers heart melts, but Geet dont recieve the same treatment even here when she is the one who has suffered. So obviously, I am left disappointed at the end cos I do end up crying buckets for Geet. And when I see him getting Geet without much efforts I lose interest in the story as well don't feel like shipping MG anymore since I start feeling Maan is undeserving and that is completely my perception. There have been so so many similar experience with that type of Maan that I am apprehensive now to read new stories where he is a grey shade character or a Playboy. That fear has set in deep that I will be disappointed again and so whenever I step into this forum to try a new story and see in CS or prologue that he is a Casanova, I don't continue the story. I know I am being unfair since I dont even give a chance to the story or the writer but I genuinely can't help it. In past 2 years, every second story that I have read had Maan as either Playboy, divorcee, having kids whereas there is hardly any change in Geet's character. She is still the same damsel is distress, weak, dependent girl who even fears to stand for her ownself. Since I am a total egoist girl I obviously love a strong woman character than reading a Geet who cries at the drop of the hat. So when someone gives a total out of box Geet, I simply end up falling for that story. But otherwise, I keep an open mind to both Maan n Geet having affairs or going out enjoying their life being total carefree. I dont mind it all. No better than you would know that to what extent I am an open mind girl. I have shipped Maan-Pari in CU. I love MG just as much as everyone else does, but I end up loving them with others if I feel they love each other. My comments in your stories must have given you the idea about how I am as a person.

Yes, I agree, I hate rapists to the core and when I ended up reading Maan as one, I was shocked. But I still continued reading the story hoping that maybe he will be punished cos that is what I have seen happening for Dev, Arjun, Rahul, etc character. But of course, since he was the protagonist, he ended up getting Geet and also her "selfless" love. Since that one experience, I have never read a rapist Maan ever. I have been lucky enough that when I stumbled upon rapist Maan again that have been told on the first chapter or prologue only. So I was saved from feeling repulsed and be disturbed.

And why Geet is labelled with all those colorful names is something I truly want to know. 60% of stories on this forum has Maan as a Philander and stories have got good responses but the moment Geet is shown bold enough doing the same thing, she has been called characterless. No reader point finger at Maan's character when he is sleeping around but Geet is dragged through dirt for the same. And that is something I find totally unfair. However, I do know, to each his own. Every people have different perspective and I should respect that. My only request is only that dont pull other writers who give something different to Geet's character. If one can't keep open mind towards Geet then they should refrain from reading those stories rather than bashing the writer. Character bashing is still okay, but writers bashing is disgusting.

About 21st century, I actually loved that point Tanya. I really find it very hard to believe that a girl could be so innocent and naive out there. Maybe there are few, but that is changing. No modern girl in real life waits for the guy to return back to her when he leaves her, humiliate her, cheats on her. They divorce and move on. Single or most of the times falling in love again. Especially todays girl. They have learnt to be egoist and most importantly to respect themselves.

I absolutely agree about stories shifting to blog too. If a story is going to get appreciated out of this forum then be it. It's forum's loss and not the writer's.

Thank you for taking out time and commenting. Really appreciate a lot.

-Sanjana!
DimaagKaKeeda thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 5

Originally posted by: Sonia.KN

You are totally right and I reallyappreciateyour effort for thisarticle...Even one thing more the readers have a mind set that this n this writer is wonderful... quite possiblythey r wonderful...but they never give chance to new ones...even if that person put heart and soul in the story...even if the writer is much deserving ...why...

Why Geet should always be raped and even after that she hardly gets a chance to be on her feet...a poor bechari Geet always...may be I also have same mentality...Why not to give space to new plot..ideas ...new writers...

Hello there. First of all thanks for dropping in your views. I really didn't thought I would even get a single reply on this.

I completely understand from where you are coming from. As I told in my post, I have started reading FFs almost 2 years back. My friends suggested me all famous writer's stories or simply those few stories which are a great read. And trust me the list is quite big. So much that I am yet not finished reading all the stories suggested by them. 😆

The thing with me is when I started reading FFs, I really didn't come on forum. I got all links from friends so I didn't have to find it. This continued until recently when I have started to take rounds on this forum once a while and came across new writers. If the prologue or CS gives me good vibes I go for it and if they don't I close the tab. I have read so many playboy Maan and an innocent, fragile Geet that frankly speaking I am now bored of it. So I don't read stories which offer the same thing that I have been reading for 2 years.

However, if a story is really good then trust me you will find me giving essays on their stories. Be it old and famous writers or new ones. There are obviously so many stories out there in the forum by so many writers that a tradition has started. When a reader finds one story of a particular writer good they will obviously give chance to their other stories as well. And by this, one, by default becomes that writer's loyal reader.

-Sanjana!