Discussion : Contradictory Thoughts???

DimaagKaKeeda thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 5
*Read at your own risk. It is BIG and quite boring as well. Still I am hoping that you guys will somehow finish reading it and will also share your thoughts. Please read with an OPEN MIND. I am in no way intending to hurt anyone. It is just my confusion over the observation I had and the curiosity got the better of me hence I have posted this.*

This is my very first post on this forum. I know the title is quite confusing but I will come to the topic a bit later. First of all let me introduce myself to those who don't know me at all.

Hello everyone, my name is Sanjana and I am on this forum for almost 2 years now, reading MG FFs and trying my best to post my comments regularly. I have never been a reader basically cos books make me quite sleepy. I know it's weird but that's how I am. However, I have absolutely come to love reading MG FFs and as well comment on it. Expressing my views on characters or the plot or the writing is something I love to do, so much that I end up typing essays. Stories on MG makes me feel connected to them and this is my way of remembering our beloved couple by reading some amazing piece of writing which continues to keep MG close to my heart. It keeps them alive and it is all cos of you writers out there. In fact I won't be wrong in saying that reading FFs has made me grow and mature a lot. Characters wrong doing makes me learn and understand what is right and that makes me to try not to commit such mistakes myself. So I am really thankful to all the writers whose story I read. I owe them all.

Now coming to the main issue that our forum facing is, decreas in comments..

I know some talented writers have stopped writing on MG completely cos of silent readers. And few are on the verge of quiting which is fair according to me. It is of no use if one is simply not willing to appreciate the writer's hard work by taking just 2 extra minutes from their 'busy' schedule to post a comment when they can take 15 minutes to read an update. I am also aware that there are few readers who complain about writer shifting their stories to blog. All I have to say to them is, think from a writer's pov and maybe then a reader will understand that typing down one update is not easy. Now when I am myself writing a story in a joint venture, I know how much pain it is to think from every character's pov and then write accordingly so that the story makes sense and readers are entertained. So please if you guys really want to have writers giving updates on this forum rather than shifting to blog then come out from your hide out and "Like" and most importantly COMMENT. Trust me that is all a writer asks for when they give you 2000+ words update. And yes, don't just type "nice update, awesome update, lovely update" or "continue soon" or "thanks for updating. It was Great" etc etc. Because it really annoys a writer to no extent. After giving you an update of 2000 words, receiving only 2 words comment is something no writer wants to even read or look at. I might be sounding very rude but that is the fact. Keep yourself in a writer's place and you will understand what I am saying. If you want to keep this forum alive then you will have to contribute for it as well. Else prepare yourself to say tata bye bye to all the remaining talented writers we have on this forum who takes time out from their 'busy' schedule to entertain YOU. It's a give and take relationship guys. You can't be just at the recieving end offering nothing in return and still expecting. It's totally unfair.

I am friends with two amazingly talented writers of this forum. The experience they had with their own stories basically is what they have shared with me when I ask them. They both say how they get disappointed when suddenly the likes and comments drop but again pick up when they give MG scenes. They have a life as well and I actually know their schedule by now, so I know how busy they are with their life. Yet they try and squeeze at least an hour from it to type one update and post it and all they get is disappointment seeing the less likes and comments when obviously their views are sky high. I am sure this is the story of every writer out there in our forum and it's really sad that our readers are so lazy to type 4-5 sentences about their update which takes hours to think, plan and type.

So please don't take this message as a gyan or lecture but simply a REQUEST. I am sure you don't want to see our forum getting locked down one day. So please "like" and "comment".

DimaagKaKeeda thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 5
Okay, now coming to the topic that I have made... Again read with an open mind guys please.

I have always seen people opening new threads with different ideas to keep the forum active. Some by asking readers favorite story, some with games thread, some on slambook, some on discussing their favorite scene from their fave FF, or topic related to our show, etc etc. So I thought why not even I try a hand at it?

But... My topic is completely different. It's actually on what I have observed happening on this forum for over almost 2 years now. On threads of stories. Basically, readers thoughts. Or even writer's stories for that matter. I know you all must be confuse about what exactly I am trying to say. So I guess I will explain it by giving some examples.

Like...

1) Why in starting of every FF likes and comments are far too less but once the story pick up the pace, readers start pouring in, liking and commenting? They obviously read all the updates on time but simply refuse to comment on it until it starts going according to their taste. So again, is it fair that a writer never gets appreciated right from the start and recieve it in the miidle of the story? *I am not talking about those who start a story quite later* And yes, readers again disappear and appear back as per their choice making a writer feel they are losing the track or probably boring their readers. Why can't a reader stick with the writer throughout the story rather than making frequent visits on thread to give comments as if they are doing some favor on the writer by reading their stories and commenting?

2) Why can't we accept subplots and side characters scenes in an update and only demand for MG? It not only makes the writer lose interest in their own story when readers only demand for MG scenes but even readers get bore reading the same recycled stuff in different threads by different writers on their favorite couple MG. There is always a reason why subplots or side characters are introduced. They help us get MG together. Be it if they are villains, vamps or any positive character for that matter. So why complain when a writer is trying to build the story. Being little patient and supportive won't hurt much now, will it?

3) Why readers only comment on MG scenes when a writer has done equal hard work in giving you scenes of other characters who in turn are means and ways to get MG together?

Don't you guys think that a writer deserves appreciation on the whole update rather than only on the scenes they write on MG?

Do answer my questions guys because o really want to know the reasons behind it.

The main thing comes now for I have opened this topic for.

4) Writers as well readers are fine when Maan is shown as a Casanova, married to other character, having kids, sleeping around with any random chick (cos of some dark past where he is being cheated by Sameera or used by her) or simply cos he lust after girls and loves to be a playboy and has physical desires or simply need his "release".

Readers have even accepted a Maan who has cheated on Geet, Raped Geet, Abused Geet, Beaten Geet, Tortured Geet (mentally physically and emotionally) in marriage, moving on from Geet.

Readers have as well accepted Maan as a Criminal (be it a Don, Gangster, Killer, Drug dealer, Pimp), Psycho, Obsessed lover, King having tons of mistress when he is shown married, Ruthless, Heartless, Werewolf, Vampire, etc etc

In short, Maan is accepted and later even loved in every avatar a writer had wanted to portray him as. I mean if a "rapist" Maan can be forgiven, accepted and loved in the name of dark story then other Maan(s) that I have mentioned in the above list is nothing. They have welcomed every type of Maan in different genre and have always kept an open mind towards him taking is as a MERE STORY as in a FICTION.

But... rules are different when it came to Geet's character. And unfortunately, in this not only readers who shy away to read a different Geet other than their usual timid, fragile, innocent, unaware of the outer world, naive, damsel in distress Geet, but even writers shy away to experiment with her character. Why?

When we can possess such a BIG heart to write and accept a rapist Maan then why can't we accept Geet who is modern, independent, strong, bold, parties, dates, in a grey shaded character, heartless, cheats, moves on from Maan, has one night stand willingly, sleeping with her own husband who is NOT Maan, is an escort in the name of same dark story or creativity?

If we can show Maan dating women and sleeping with them before marriage in the name of his first love then why are we so shallow minded when the same thing is done for Geet by few writers?

Why Maan's sleeping around makes people give him cool names as a Casanova, Playboy, Charmer, Dude, Unique, Stylist, Having a Personality? He get tags like 'Girls are throwing themselves at him' or 'He is the best thing that happened to womanhood'

But same actions done by Geet makes her a wh**e, s**t, characterless, bitch and what not. Readers bash Geet as well the writer for giving such a bold Geet. They call Geet unethical, immoral, with no values and virtues and all types of gyan comes pouring in by few readers.

So again isn't it unfair that when a reader allows writer to take liberty with Maan's character the same is denied to few writers who wants to experiment with Geet's character as well for a change and offer something new to the readers? Why are we so judgemental towards Geet and so biased and partial towards Maan?

Why the tag "it's a mere fiction" is snatched away by those few writers who try something different with Geet's character? If writing a rapist and Playboy Maan is fiction then, how come giving a Geet who has affair with guys other than Maan is considered as non fiction?

And I can give examples, like I came across a story where MG were lovers, Maan has to go away to make his career leaving no contacts behind for Geet, behind him Geet falls pregnant with his children and her parents disown her. She literally starts to beg as she was thrown out of the house with no bag, books or her certificates and no friend willing to take her. A new character enters name Karan who sees Geet begging and talks to her, after coming to know her story he willingly offers a help. Geet stays in house and the guy was literally an angel who not only gave her a roof, clothes, food but also took her to regular check ups and finally falls for her. Geet receives a letter from Maan with his ring breaking off the relationship (which was done by his relative I guess to separate MG but Geet ends up believing it cos of the ring was exactly same that she she gave to Maan) So she finally moves on and marries Karan feeling obliged receiving his support and compassion but most imimportantly he genuinely loved Geet. After 4 years Maan returns and seeing Geet married he wants revenge and starts torturing Geet. He also comes to know about the twins being his kids and starts threatening Geet. He was shown a complete grey character.

But the sad part wasn't that most of the readers supported Maan in his revenge but it was the fact that they refused to understand under what circumstances Geet married Karan. They refused to see it was cos of Karan that Maan's Geet and twins were alive else she would have been dead starving. Mostly they bashed Geet left right center for sleeping with her OWN legal husband. So much that they started bashing the writer for giving a Geet who could move on with someone else and it went to the point that they started sending the writer "hate pms". It went so extreme that the writer eventually had to discontinue the story by posting a short summary of how MG came together.

Reading that short summary had literally made me angry that time cos the story had potential. Besides, it was something different that I was reading about Geet than the usual innocent Geet I had read in this forum. Of course then I didn't exactly know the reason of discontinuation but recently I got to know it from the writer herself when she shared one of the most worst experience on Geet Forum.

Her recieving hate pms actually baffled me. I mean, come on how can readers show such rage towards a writer just cos she tried something different?

Have any writer faced this when they showed Maan as rapist (which is the unforgivable crime ever in my eyes, doesnt matter if he committed while drunk) I can't even stand a rapist Maan in the name of dark genre cos for me one cannot redeem himself from it. Yet readers have been acceptable. Further wishing to see Geet forgetting the night, forgiving Maan, accepting him and finally even falling in a love with her rapist.

So my point is when in the name of fiction a Rapist Maan can be accepted and loved then why did readers reacted extremely when a writer just showed Geet moving on with another guy willingly? Was it fair to bash the writer?

Another example..

There is another story where Geet was a grey character, heartless, ruthless, breaks engagement with Maan for her selfish reasons. Later she gets into an accident, suffers amnesia; whereas Maan still continued to love her. When after a year they met Maan is the selfles guy who helped Geet recover.

However, the response the writer got in this story was different. People obviously hated Geet. But surprising factor was few wished to see Maan moving on. Few in fact hated that MG were in a sexual relationship cos most of the readers felt Geet was undeserving of Maan. And no doubt she was bashed left right center by all (including me)

So you see the difference in response?

Where readers demanded Maan to move on in one story in other they bashed Geet for the same.

Next example is different..

A writer, whose stories I don't follow but I do get to see links on my FB, tried showing a bold and ruthless Geet. Im guessing the response wasn't positive cos the writer shifted the entire story to her blog. And just few days ago I saw that story reaching it's double century. Can you believe it? 200 parts? But the sad part is the story was on blog and NOT on this forum. So whose loss it is?

Readers as well as Geet Forum. Cos it is obvious the story is a superhit if it touches 200 parts. Can you guys imagine what would have been had the story been posted on this forum rather than on a blog? It would not only have given the readers a story to read but it would have also helped this forum remain active. I can't even imagine how many threads this story would have seen.

I am not saying it is compulsory that the readers should read all stories and comment on all that is been posted in this forum. I myself don't read every writer's story. However don't bash a writer when she tries something different with Geet's character. You don't like bold Geet don't read such story, like I don't like a rapist Maan so I ignore such stories or stop reading them when the rape scenes comes later in the story.

Literally forcing a writer to quit her own story is the worst reward a reader gives the writer.

And you guys won't believe, if the writer has got bashed for giving a Geet who moves on in her life. Then she is now being requested that she show Geet and Maan coming together quite sooner rather than later when she is already shown married to other guy. Geet being attracted to Maan when already married doesn't make her a cheater but Geet moving on from Maan when he has himself left her, does? We ship our favorite couple in such a biased way? If the same thing done by Geet in this story doesn't make her a cheater and we can accept her being attracted to Maan when already married, why few readers call her a wh**e when she moves on or has a BF with whom she is in a physical relationship?

Why the contradictory thoughts again?

And then the same writer was requested to show MG ending up together when Maan has cheated on Geet in a marriage of 10 years with two kids not once but thrice. And trust me, he wasn't even regretting his actions one bit until he was caught red handed by Geet on their wedding anniversary. The readers requested not to show Geet divorcing him cos apparently they had kids btw them. And parents divorcing leaves an impact on children' mind.

So again weren't kids there in the story where Geet has moved on with Karan? Nobody thought about the kids in that story. Why? Everybody cared about Maan and bashed Geet and forced the writer to abruptly end the story whereas the readers were fine with a cheater Maan. So again contradictory thoughts?

5) If Dev, Arjun, Rahul etc are shown as raping Geet or as abusing Geet in a marriage; readers gets angry and demand and force the writer to get her divorce the character. They want a rapist Dev behind bars. However, no one demands the same punishment for Maan. Why? Just cos he the lead? Again contradictory thoughts?

So in short, whatever Maan does is allowed and accepted by readers. But the same thing done by other male character and we want to kill them.

6) And this is the most important question I want to ask. Why are we all so OBSESSED with Geet's VIRGINITY?

I have seen readers asking question if she is virgin if a writer shows her in love and in relationship with other character. I want to ask has anybody so far ever asked the same question for Maan?

In fact, I remember asking a writer a year back that why it is that in all stories of her Maan has a past with a girl and he is even shown having intimate relationship with her although his family is shown traditional, but Geet is never been shown in love with other guy other than Maan. Why?

Her answer was cos she is a die hard MG fan. And I was confused. If someone is MG fan then I suppose they wouldn't show both of them in love or in relationship with anyone. So the reply I got was definitely biased. The writer can keep an open mind for Maan but not for Geet?

Why?

I know after reading this post now most of you all must be wanting to probably kill me. But I didn't make this thread to target anyone. I have written on whatever I have observed over two years of staying in this forum. I don't read on any other couple so I dont know if the same happens in other forum as well or not. I am genuinely confused and wanted answers. And of course who better than the forumwasis explain it to me.

At the end, I would say to each his own. But yes, I will also request you guys to be really open minded towards Geet's character as well. And if not then atleast don't pull those writers down who wants to write different Geet.

I am sorry if my post has offended anyone out there cos I didnt mean to. My intention was clear. I wanted we to have gender equality in our forum. Dont be biased just cos the character commiting sins happen to be Maan. And dont be so harsh on a female character. After all I believe we are mostly girls or married women in this forum. So if we ourselves judge another woman so harshly and accept all injustice done by men on woman character then I feel we all need to grow up. We should support another woman rather than calling her names even if it is a mere fiction.

Thank you for reading this post. All I request is drop in your views cos I would love to read what GFians think. Hope to discuss this topic and again please have an open mind about this please.

-Sanjana!
Queen0fDarkness thumbnail
Okay edited finally.
Like I said before it's a brilliant thread and discussion to base a topic on. I cannot appreciate you enough for this thread.I totally love love love you for this.❤️

Coming to our Maan & Geet and their equality 😆

As I've always said this is something that happens in many FFs. Maan is always accepted by readers and writers with being rapist, killer, abusive etc etc... Yet we do same thing with Geet it's unacceptable and forbidden.

You have a similar sweet, kind, genuine guy for her after Maan either cheated, raped or left her then she's bashed for having a relationship with the guy.

Women are crying out for gender equality yet we have such setbacks coming from women themselves.

Why is Maan accepted and forgiven easily yet Geet goes through the comments of being a wh**e, sl*g, s**t, bitch, hoe etc etc. She's dragged and rolled in mud for not being a virgin? She's cursed at for being independent and free. Whereas Maan is called a God's gift to women?
Why does name matter for this character? Should one not look at his personality in the FFs like how one sees Geet's personality and not just the name.

In all honesty, other than FFY and Innocence Geets, all my other Geet's have been cursed at for something. Lol even in Undeniable Geet is hated for her close friendship with Tyler.

Is is only allowed for Maan to have close friendships with women? and no Geets can be friends with a guy? He's allowed to have f**k buddies and friends with benefits but Geet being close to a male friend who's helped her is wrong. Her relationship is seen wrongly and is pointed at repeatedly. She's wrong for being friends with male when she's in love with Maan.

Where's gender equality here?

Arent we the same women who wishes death upon rapists? We're the same women who curses abusive men yet because his name his Maan we're accepting him and forgiving him?

Everyone calls it fiction, isn't Geet fiction as well? Isn't she just a character so why is she treated unequally? Why is she abused for being something simillar to Maan's casonova personality?
Yet here we all love him for being casanova and flirting?

Also about Geet and Maan deserving each other. This is just too common for probably a lot of FFs from writers who try different stuff with their characters.

Maan deserves a second chance with Geet, after he's cheated on her, he deserves second chance if he's raped her. He deserves second chance if he's hit her. He deserves second chance of sleeping with another woman. He deserves second chance!

Geet walking out, doesnt deserve second chance. Geet moving on from rapist Maan, or casanova Maan doesn't deserve second chance. Geet cheating on Maan to teach him a lesson and make him hurt the same he'd hurt her doesn't deserve second chance. Geet walking away with their baby for her safety and baby's future she's not given second chance. In the end She does not deserve second chance!

Where is gender equality here? We're supposed to be against such characters! Those who opress yet we're worried about Geet being intimate with another good character.
Being an MG fan doesn't mean pull wool over your eyes and not see characters.

Reading is not about characters, but for content. That is what makes a good fanfiction and book. That is what sells.

Which century are we honestly living in? 1800s or 21st? How could some support such a character and love that character?

When I'd started writing, my writing which got me recognition was an SS O saahiba. Maan was an abusive bas***d, he was a rapist, he was a cheat, he hurt his wife physically. Shouldn't I have been told not to continue that. Shouldn't that Maan be bashed and hated so much. Shouldn't I have had requests not to make Geet forgive him. Yet it turned out to be this SS to get me recognition and a lot of readers, readers requested Maan be forgiven and given a chance.

Escort Business is another funny one, some hated Geet a lot for being an escort right before they even knew the reason. Some thought it was for pleasure of sex. Really? You could just go dating and sleep with someone then. But Geet was judged without knowing a thing of her past or anything.
But for Maan? I got questions why does Maan need to hire Geet when he could get anyone he wants. He just should sleep with someone. Seriously? 😆

I could go on and on regarding this because being writer and reader I've seen it all probabaly. Why do we contradict our own thoughts, beliefs just for the sake of character names. But moving on...

Now going to secondary characters...

Thank you for adding this. I love reading on main characters but would love to know what the hell goes on with secondary characters as well. Not have them coming in and out of story. Why should a story only be MG centred? Just because it's on MG.

Would you not like to see a story of developing relationships of another couple even if it's not on MG. Secondary characters are equally important as primary characters. Which story would be successful having just MG in? Without a back story or content or anyone. You might as well just type Maan and Geet are in love. The end!
You need foundation, content and characters! They're what makes the story not the bloody main characters even if entire focus is on them.
Allow writers to go at a slow pace.

Like I mentioned in FFY thread despite the many requests of speeding the FF, going slow always makes the story much better and it proves.
I've now gone from 200+ likes in prologue to 350 likes even crossed 400 mark. On 10th thread and just crossed Part 50 recently. Allow writers to show the journey not have Maan Geet confessing and making out in next update.
It's not what a story is about. Allow writers to set the base, foundation, slowing showing the journey of Maan and Geet, allow them to share the povs of MG and give views of MG's personalities. Once a reader goes past that stage, you'd be able to think and enjoy story. if it's fast track, you don't understand character and the supposed love is more of it being lust. Cut a bit of slack to the writers and they'd deliver what they deem as best journey for their Maan and Geet.

As for comments, won't even bother with commenting on that. Every writer has probably yelled at the top of their voices, all one reader has to do is LIKE and COMMENT which is not going to obviously change for some. So not even bothering. And I support writers who feel more comfortable sharing works in their blog than here. It's not surprising that many are shifting their works to blogs. They're not going to beg readers to comment. Readers don't wanna comment, that's fine. But those very same readers cannot be requesting access to blogs especially when they cannot spare just a minute of their time to post a line of comment rather than usual two repeated words.

Edited by Jannat-Fictions - 10 years ago

DO NOT COPY THIS POST AS THIS IS EXCLUSIVE TO INDIA FORUMS

Sonia.KN thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 5
You are totally right and I really appreciate your effort for this article...Even one thing more the readers have a mind set that this n this writer is wonderful... quite possibly they r wonderful...but they never give chance to new ones...even if that person put heart and soul in the story...even if the writer is much deserving ...why...

Why Geet should always be raped and even after that she hardly gets a chance to be on her feet...a poor bechari Geet always...may be I also have same mentality...Why not to give space to new plot..ideas ...new writers...
Edited by Sonia.KN - 10 years ago
suhaaana thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 180 Thumbnail + 8
much needed post in the forum sanjana..
I do agree that readers don't except side characters and I know how it feels in my story a second life , response was really low just because there were side characters who were given importance because of story to be built up..

and

if geet is shown in a grey shade and maan is a nice guy then too he is bashed..

according to me people sometime gets judgemental too that geet can't be wrong ...

i don't know how but this I have seen in many stories
Dragon-Heart thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 90 Thumbnail + 6
Ye issue mujhe be hai. Jab ek writer story likhta hai to plot me kai characters add karta hai. Bina unke ek long story nahi bann skti. Or story ko sahi se shape up karne k liye baki charachters k scenes b equally important hote hai. Par 98% readers wo portion skip kar k FF read karte hai or comments me b sirf woi portion mention hota hai jisme maaneet sce hote hai. I agree main Hero-Heroine wo dono hai but kya baki char k bina story wahi strength rakh payegi? Ye que mujhe b mere sare readers se puchhna hai. Its totally unfair when they deliberately neglecting other characters.
Shivika23 thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail Networker 1 Thumbnail
Hello. Good Morning :)

On IF, I'm a reader not a writer. so my comment/response here is from a reader's POV...

1. Well in the start of very story, FF or SS it is difficult to get a 'bigger picture' of what the story is going to be about because in the beginning Writers are trying to explain the characters and how they are related to one another, I like to call it the 'Introduction Phase'. At times, Writers don't even give a Prologue or if they do, the prologue is either too short or it is simply too brief that you don't really get the idea of the story. So if you ask me, I like to read a few updates before giving my POV simply because i want to get a better understanding of the story. So when I start reading a new story, I will definitely like the story and I will comment but my comments are usually like "Great start. Can't wait to read more." Once i get a better understanding of the story only then I give my POV about the story or the characters. About the disappearing, i can't really comment on that because when i start a story i definitely would want to read how it ends.
  2. Personally i think that Sub-characters are what makes the story more interesting and i love reading their POV or their stories too. When I read a story, I don't just read it because it is a MG story but i read it because of the storyline. So for me, MG are just names. What i like to read in a story is how the characters develop, how the story unfolds, how the relationship grows and etc etc.
  3. I definitely agree with you here and i myself i don't understand why it happens so i can't comment on it...
  4. Okay now this "issue" has always been something that I completely don't understand and also something that i totally disagree with. I know that these are fiction story that writers write about but if you think practically and if you put yourself in the character's shoes, will you be able to forgive a "Guy" for abusing you, raping you, treating you like trash, disrespecting you etc etc. I will never ever forgive a guy if he does that to me. In fact, i will never tolerate this stuff. I'm totally 100% against these stuff. So if Writers are going to write about this type of things, I would definitely want to see justice given to the victim. I believe in EQUALITY so i think that explains my POV for me.

I like reading different genre of stories so I'll definitely encourage Writers to write something new. As for comments, I think every reader should take the initiative to comment on an update that they have read.
I'll use myself as an example here, Im going to be having my Mid-Examination in 3 weeks so i can't be on IF all the time. So when I'm not studying, which is during my break time only then I open IF and check the updates. After reading an update, I do take the initiative to comment. Even though it is just 2 lines, I still comment to let the Writer know my POV and that i have read the update. So I encourage all Readers to comment.

TSharan thumbnail
16th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 4

Thank you for this post...a much needed post. Completely support you and agree with you. I firmly believe in gender equality so a rapist/philanderer Maan is totally not acceptable to me!! I never read those stories. In fact I would really request writers to refrain from writing such stories where Maan is a rapist...It repulses me no end...

In fact I love stories where Geet is independent, brave and stands for herself. Being faithful to partner/spouse is important ...Cheating ones partner is not good but if Maan is allowed to do that , then so should Geet.
Gender equality is the need of the hour. Small efforts go a long way and if we must start from the forum itself.
And writers must have the freedom to write as they have envisioned.
I do not read stories of all the writers...and try to comment as much as possible.Some stories touch your heart and some don't...there is no fixed rule to that. However, I have also been guilty of not responding but now that I understand how much effort every writer makes...I do try to pen down a few words for the stories I read. I appreciate the efforts writers make in keep MG alive in my life.
I do not read stories in any other forum so do not know the experiences of writers there.
Regarding side characters...as much as I love MG, I know these characters add a ton of value to the story. Otherwise how can a story have 50+ parts with just MG scenes. They are a much need characters of the entire plot.
I do want to take this opportunity to thank the writers whose stories I have read for their efforts, hard work, creativity and for keeping MG alive in my life. there is no other character who has touched me so much and I am not even interested in reading about others.
THANK YOU for this thought provoking post !!! Long live this forum!! and for that We MUST MUST appreciate all those writers who write GOOD stories where both MG have equal rights, where Geet is as independent as Maan, where she has equal rights to refuse a rapist/abusive/philanderer Maan and move on with another guy.
amrinderdhami thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail + 4
bangon girls i soo agree to what u said if readers can give 15mins in reading an update than can't they spend 2 mins to comment,taslima i totally agree to ur point if maan can b forgiven for his sins than y not geet's as well,i m amazed to see that maan to 100 khoon maaf n geet kuch b kare than she is cursed the equality that we talk abt is no where seen in few people her
Deepabhargav thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Explorer Thumbnail

I am a reader and not a writer...
I am a part of this forum as I am a die hard fan of Maneet and remain connected to their character through this.Kudos to all the writers who are helping us with this.

All ffs are the creative expression of who so ever writes it...absolutely no one and I mean one one has the right to ridicule their perception of what they want to do with their characters, and expect them to change their flow of thoughts about their story as they have perceived it.

We are in an open forum with people from all over the world with various backgrounds they have their perceptions about dos and donts in their lives and the characters they adore...they too have their pov.This doesn't at all give them the authority to bash the writers but at the same time when the writers are asking their pov they are expressing it with full honesty,as writers you need to appreciate their pov without changing ur thought process about your piece.

Personally I appreciate stories where equality is given due respect irrespective of the gender,but how many people actually believe in it even today,inequality is an integral part of our society,however unfair it maybe we still are judgemental about women's characterisation and perceive them as sacrificial lamb at the alter with the highest moral values with not a streak of grey only as pure as white...men however black should always be given a chance to be winged under the purity of a women.
Selfishness sexual desires boldness are given words of wh**e and s**t for women ...this what are society is however right or wrong.
Geet is a character which people have seen as a damsel in distress waiting for her maan so that's what many want to read...I guess.But dear writers don't change the path of your story,somewhere down the line you all might bring the slight change in their minds,don't get disturbed by their thoughts comments are for knowing the people but not getting influenced if you are not convinced
You all want Comments and pov of readers ,take them as an experience and understanding readers so that through your writings you can bring a change.
A small note for my reader friends,if you are looking at a particular type of characterisation for your particular favourite character instead of bashing our writers please abstain from stories which don't fuel your desires.Dont ridicule a writer it's his perception .Try changing your mindset after all we are looking for equality and freedom in every sphere of life

I am a reader and not a writer...
I am a part of this forum as I am a die hard fan of Maneet and remain connected to their character through this.Kudos to all the writers who are helping us with this.

All ffs are the creative expression of who so ever writes it...absolutely no one and I mean one one has the right to ridicule their perception of what they want to do with their characters, and expect them to change their flow of thoughts about their story as they have perceived it.

We are in an open forum with people from all over the world with various backgrounds they have their perceptions about dos and donts in their lives and the characters they adore...they too have their pov.This doesn't at all give them the authority to bash the writers but at the same time when the writers are asking their pov they are expressing it with full honesty,as writers you need to appreciate their pov without changing ur thought process about your piece.

Personally I appreciate stories where equality is given due respect irrespective of the gender,but how many people actually believe in it even today,inequality is an integral part of our society,however unfair it maybe we still are judgemental about women's characterisation and perceive them as sacrificial lamb at the alter with the highest moral values with not a streak of grey only as pure as white...men however black should always be given a chance to be winged under the purity of a women.
Selfishness sexual desires boldness are given words of wh**e and s**t for women ...this what are society is however right or wrong.
Geet is a character which people have seen as a damsel in distress waiting for her maan so that's what many want to read...I guess.But dear writers don't change the path of your story,somewhere down the line you all might bring the slight change in their minds,don't get disturbed by their thoughts comments are for knowing the people but not getting influenced if you are not convinced
You all want Comments and pov of readers ,take them as an experience and understanding readers so that through your writings you can bring a change.
A small note for my reader friends,if you are looking at a particular type of characterisation for your particular favourite character instead of bashing our writers please abstain from stories which don't fuel your desires.Dont ridicule a writer it's his perception .Try changing your mindset after all we are looking for equality and freedom in every sphere of life

Thanks
I hope I was able to get my point across...
Deepa

Thanks
I hope I was able to get my point across...
Deepa