It was a hectic morning. There were new entrants to the Studio and more batches to accommodate. A new choreography had to be set up for the older students and there were songs to be re-mixed.
Yes it was going to be a frenzied day. But, all that paled in comparison to the task she had at hand today. Geet was on a mission!!
Vicky sat amidst a pile of files. There were five different ones , accounts, blueprints, new projects, quotations and budgets. He hadn't had his Macchiato since morning. It was a remarkable thing, cuz Vicky 'Kay ' Singh Khurana, rarely went without his one weakness. The files had been coming in since morning; every hour a new file had to been added to the pile that had dared to reduce itself in height.
His neck was hurting with all the files he buried it in...and his stomach growled. It was past 8 pm...what had he eaten for lunch?
He looked up to see the office emptying. Swivelling around in his chair he moved towards the window and sipped water. So much had changed in the past month. He hadn't imagined he'd be able to run the company as well as he had. True he had asked Maan for help once in a while, but he had done more on his own. He could call the staff his own too, now. There was a camaraderie and respect that had sprung up between them. He knew them like he knew his troupe, though not as personally. Things were beginning to look up. The only person who had kept her distance was Meera and he had expected it from her. But he on his part hadn't bothered imposing his presence in her life either. Life had become so hectic that he hadn't remembered that particular challenge to himself. Contracts had been pouring in, and he'd been stuck with organizing all the chaos that he had created.
But, despite the lack of communication, he had sensed an ease on her part. Had it really been there? Or was he just imagining it?
He dismissed the thought and headed to the car park. As he swerved out of the building, two lone figures partially hidden by the lamplight caught his attention. The man's mass was gigantic and it partially covered the much smaller figure of the girl. He grinned to himself, trying to ignore the love story developing in the by lanes of Delhi.. He sneaked a glance back, despite himself, when he froze.
Something was amiss. The postures and body language conflicted with his mental image and the girl looked way to familiar for his comfort. Was that...?
No way!!!
He looked closely and saw the terrified look on her face. The man's face was obscured by the light, but her fright was plain to see. He saw the man's hand progress indecently over her neck n chest, moving downwards towards her trouser pockets. The other hand held her against the lamp post, in a tight grip.
He vaguely realized what he did next - he tore towards the man and leapt high to kick his head.
Calculated or not, the move worked, as the creep's head collided resoundingly with the lamp post on which she had been pushed and the mass toppled over in a swirl of dust.
Vicky kicked the immobile body, as he further let out his anger on her.
''What the hell was that? Got no voice, have you? Couldn't scream for help?''
''I t-tt-t-tried pushing him...h-h-hhe was so strong. He w-wwanted my mm-money...I couldn't ssstop him'' she broke down in sobs.
''Wha----!!'' Vicky broke off. This was new to him. He was so used to having girls like Nida and Geet around. The least they would do, was smash their knees between the guy's legs. It came instinctively to them.
So where did a feminist chick like this one come from?
He stared aghast at her, trying to adapt his mind to her sobbing form. Perplexed, he ran a hand through his hair.
''Uh...ok...ok, err. calm down, Meera. I'm sorry.'' He said softly, this time. ''Are you okay? ... Look this yob might wake up soon. He's only passed out now, so let's get out of this area.''
She nodded slowly and walked with him. Her shirt seemed rumpled and her eyes were streaked with tears. The stern demeanour was completely shed away. Vicky felt unsure what to do next. Had it been any of his friends, he'd have hugged and comforted them. But with stern-miss-shergill,... he was flummoxed.
He made her sit in the car and got in himself. He glanced at her from the corner of his eyes. Tears still slid down her face, unabated. He turned to her abruptly, only to see her flinch away from him.
''Sorry'', he said, his hands in the air. He took a deep breath and spoke softly.
'Meera, look I know this is tough, but did he do anything to you? Are you hurt anywhere? Is there any need to go to the hospital? '' Damn, there was no easy way to say this, was there?
She grasped what he was trying to say and shook her head.
''Ok, look, let me take you home. Where do u live?''
The businessman in Maan was re-emerging. With the emerging threat of the new studio in the air, he had reined in all his resources to ensure Studio 77 full immunity. Newer posters were made and distributed in colleges. He was in talks with a TV channel to have his dancers performs for their shows; and he was waiting for an advertising agency to return his call, about the billboards that he had wanted.
Farhan had his hands full as well and was juggling the students as well as the work Maan had allotted to him.
Maan sat back for a minute to oversee the latest clippings that were to go in the ********* Magazine. The show had made quite a splash and many pictures had been doing the rounds of the internet. The highlight of it had been the finale with the shadow dance. The audience had never realized that it had been him behind the sheet...but Geet had outdone herself. He still felt guilty, but what was done, was done! He had to admit that he had some selfish motives in putting the dance form in that way, but he knew that it was necessary for the audience to connect with it. And they had!
He now wondered what she would think...had she watched it?
As if on cue, she appeared in front of his eyes. She knocked on the door and peeped in. ''Maan can I speak to you?'', she said softly.
''Errr...yeah... Sure Geet, come in.'' He braced himself for the conversation.
''Maan,'', she began hesitantly... ''I wanted to thank you for that night.''
Just the same thing... He almost let out the breath he had been holding. ''Geet, how many times will you do that. I couldn't leave you alone in the studio, that night. It was nothing, really.''
''No, Maan! I meant, the dance performance. You dancing with me, portraying Nik. It was beautiful and he really was my angel. Thank You. It meant a lot.''
That was the last thing he had been expecting. Her interpretation of the dance and his motives were completely off. And for reasons unknown to him , he didn't want her to think that highly of him. So, when she put it this way, he corrected her.
''Geet - look, we've just started being civil to each other. So i just wanted to let you know something. ...''
He paused and looked around. She stood looking expectantly at him , wondering what came next.
''Look,...that dance; I didn't do it to show 'Nik' as an angel. I did it with respect to the theme of the entire story we had weaved. Yes, I knew of your story and your pain. And I knew that no one would do justice to the performance, like you did. But, don't put me up on a pedestal, Ok. I don't deserve it. I had to involve myself with one dancer and their performance, but at the same time I didn't want to take away from your routine, and it was the finale. A lot was dependant on it... So now, if you feel that I took advantage in any way, then I'm sorry.''
She stared at him for a few minutes. Maan realized he was holding his breath again, but he couldn't let go of it. Finally, she spoke,
''You know, Maan, whether you did it with that intention of not, I still have to be grateful. I got something that I cannot help but cherish. And it was because of something you did. Try as I might, I can't be angry... Nik is here; he's with me. He always believed in angels. How could I forget?'' She almost smiled. '' So... thanks...for reminding me. I'll let you get back to your work. ''
Maan stared at her retreating form, amazed; and something made him stop her...
''Geet, I know, we barely know each other. And I'm the only one here who didn't know Nik. But, I know your pain... And if you ever need someone to talk to, someone who won't judge; I'm here... ''
She looked back, and nodded understandingly.
Vicky paced in the front room of Meera's flat. He waited for her to change her clothes. Something told him, she'd be shedding more tears in her solitude. He couldn't blame her. Hell, he couldn't even emote with her. What should he say? He felt anger pumping through him again as the images of that creep flashed through his mind. At the time taking Meera away was more important. But, every fibre in his body felt like decimating every inch of the man...castrating the life outta the B******.
Still it was more important to fix what was here and now. And now he didn't know how to deal with Meera. Maybe he should ask bro?? He knew him better. He texted him to meet him at the address, urgently.
Maan wondered how he'd ever got himself into this mess. He was way better off at KC. At least there he had to deal with files and projects, not dance moves and people. Damn. He however, thanked his luck that she had taken it all positively. He walked towards Zakhir and Nida to administer the new choreography. It was a hip-hop number, and it wasn't either's forte. But, he knew one person who would know about it. But was she in the frame of mind to pay attention? His thoughts were interrupted by his phone.
Maan reached for his buzzing cell phone. It was Vicky. He wanted some urgent help. Vicky normally never asked for help. This must have been urgent. Why else would he ask? And he had texted. Why not call? Something was fishy. He panicked, at the thought of something wrong in Khurana Constructions and more at the thought of Vicky in trouble.
But what about the routine. ...he smiled to himself as an inspiration popped up.
He walked quietly to Geet's side and whispered that he needed her help.
''...I don't want to seem rude to Nida or Zakhir, but their Hip-Hop routine needs correction. And I need to run, there's some urgent work I have to get done. So could you discreetly take a look, please?'' He said it as pleasantly as possible.
She nodded.
Continuing his pacing, Vicky thought back to Meera's demeanour. She didn't seem like the Meera he met everyday. Like the girl who had told him off. That pride, that dignity she always exuded. An incident like this would wound her... and hurt her pride ... especially since it was he who helped her. He wondered if that would stab her more. And how then would she feel, if he went about blabbing about this delicate issue to his brother? The man who was her ideal?
Bad move , his mind screamed. He pulled out his phone and texted Maan.
Maan had walked out to car, when he got the second text message.
''Problem under control, Bro. You don't need to come. Sorry.'' it read.
Maan shrugged and walked back into the Studio. But, his steps faltered as he saw the sight unfold in front of his eyes.
There were 5 people dancing. But, his eyes alighted on the curly headed, who seemed to be teaching them something. Her eyes met his in the mirror and he nodded his head in appreciation. He walked off. His cabin's one way mirror, afforded a better view!
As he watched the dance, he approved it mentally. Yes, the routine was good. The stunts were difficult but done cleanly and it was a guaranteed crowd pleaser. But his gaze kept going back to Geet. She was teaching them, but it was still not what he expected! The dull expression remained. A progression it still was.
At least it was a start and she wasn't moping around like she used to. One step at a time. He let out a puff of breath and got back to work.
Vicky didn't know what to do. So he tried to think of how he could comfort Meera.
He didn't want to hug her - no that would only make her uncomfortable. Heck, he was uncomfortable hugging her...he didn't even know what to say to her. He remembered how she had trembled as she had sat quietly in the car. Like she needed warmth.
Warmth!!...
He looked around. There was only the kitchen. Perfect!
He poked around until he found the needed things. He switched off the burner, once the tea had boiled, when the doorbell rang. Unsure, he walked and opened the door. But, what came through was thoroughly unexpected.
A kid whizzed through a football in his hands. It was only when he was in the middle of the room, did he realize that it was Vicky, who had opened the door.
He turned and looked back at Vicky and put his hands on his hips.
''Tum kaun ho. Aur mere Didi ke ghar main kya kar rahe ho? DIDI...'', he shouted. [Who are and what are you doing in my Did's house? DIDI]
At the sound of his voice, the door to the bedroom opened.
precap : but wont that spoil all the fun?? 😛
Chapter 36 A Birthday and a Gift - Page 85