Re-cap - Mayank n Nupur agree for marriage >> all 4 hug >> SG go out >>MN selecting room colours.
CHAPTER -8
Nupur and Mayank entered the Home Dcor store. Mayank was yawning while Nupur gazed at the beautiful flower vases and photo frames. She admired these fake flowers in pink..which could be hanged at the door. She put that away to buy it later on. She brought a couple of show-pieces and new bed sheets and cushion covers. All in all marriage might be scary..but shopping was fun. Mayank took no interest, but just strolled around to entertain himself. Mayank had gone up to the
other department..informing her. She still stayed and looked for more stuff.
She turned around to take her bag, which she dropped..when she saw a heart-wrenching sight. She saw Adhiraj. She went numb. She clenched her fists. He was walking by casually and went and hugged a girl. The girl had done up a bun..and was in jeans and shirt. Nupur could only see her back and not her face. She became sad all of a sudden. But calmed down a bit..when she saw both of them going together in each others arms. She turned her face away in order to avoid the sight. She took deep breathes and her eyes seemed to go wet. She quickly rubbed them off..not to show them to Mayank. She did not love Raj..but she was deeply hurt by his behavior. She decided not to bother and composed herself as she had moved on. A thought raced in her mind. Doesn't Mayank have a right to know..about her past? Should she tell him? Would he leave her? She was lost..in total confusion.
She felt a tap on her back and she turned back scared.
'Nupur..what are you doing? Lets go.' Mayank mumbled irritated.
'Uhh..Mayank. I want to tell you something…' She said lowering her eyes.
She saw him going angry all of a sudden. 'What the hell!' He muttered looking far off.
She seemed confused and looked to where his eyes where. She had the same expression. Samrat and Gunjan were walking together..laughing..sharing an ice-cream. 'Bhai…..aur Gunjan?' She replied in daze.
Mayank angrily walked towards them. Nupur followed him. They went and stood in front of them.
'Yeh kya ho raha hai?' Mayank shouted.
Gunjan lost all the colour on her face. 'Bhai…woh..hum…'
Nupur looked at Samrat questioning him. He lowered his eyes in tension.
'Will both of you say something…please?' Mayank again shouted.
Nupur caught his hand and clutched it tightly. 'Mayank..slowly. It's a public place.' She whispered.
Mayank shifted his gaze away. Nupur looked at Samrat Gunjan for an answer.
'Gunjan I think its time..we tell them the truth.' Samrat said breaking the silence shocking Gunjan.
'Truth?' MN said together.
'Yes.' Samrat sighed and then nodded. Gunjan gulped. She was really scared on what he was going to say. 'Me and Gunjan..had come here..together…for'
'For…?' Nupur asked while Mayank looked on.
'Umm..Gunjan wanted to buy both of you a special wedding present..and surprise you guys. So she wanted my help..and we just came here to buy something for you guys..' Samrat said grinning. Gunjan was relieved and she sighed.
'Surprise for us? Aww..Gunjan your so sweet. We wont disturb you then.' She winked at both of them and pulled Mayank away. He still didn't look convinced.
'But..Nupur..'
'Chalo…Mayank…' She said pulling him.
Samrat and Gunjan looked at each other and continued walking. They had to arrange for a special "wedding present" very soon.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Mayank's mom had booked a whole boutique for the four of them, to select their outfits. Nupur was going through everything red and pink..with Gunjan helping her. Mayank was as usual in the phone call while Samrat was going through something for himself too.
'Bhabhi buy something in which you both are contrasting..like Bhai In gold..and you in red..then only it will match.' Gunjan said.
'Your Bhai..is still in his phone call..and Im gonna kill him.' Nupur said clenching her teeth.
Mayank then cut his call and came stood with them. 'Nupur select fast..how much time will you take? We don't have the whole day..' He said making a face.
'Dude.' Samrat said tapping his back. 'You have to be colour co-ordinated. What are you planning to wear anyways?'
'Me..' He replied proudly. 'A black-suit. Classy and Elegant. See.' He showed his choice to them.
'What??' Nupur said making a face. 'You will wear a sherwani.'
'Its my wedding. I will decide what I should wear.' He replied back.
'Hey that's a good idea!' Gunjan said coming between them. 'Bhai can wear black and you can wear that red and silver dress. It will look amazing.'
'Yeah.' Samrat too nodded. 'Nupur try this one.. and come. And Mayank you also try. We'll see how it looks.' Nupur excitedly went inside meanwhile Mayank made a face and took the suit to try.
Gunjan and Samrat were strolling around to wait for them. Gunjan was seeing a beautiful red and gold lehenga. She kept admiring the intricate work on it and her eyes did not move away from it.
'Its pretty..' Samrat said bringing her back to the world.
She looked up at him. 'Yeah. Its pretty.' She smiled.
'Why don't you buy it?' He suggested.
'Me..?' She chuckled. 'No no. It's a bridal wear. Why should I buy it?'
'So what..your the groom's sister..it will look nice on you.' He said softly.
'When Im getting married…Ill buy it for myself. Now what's the use?' She said turning and facing him.
'By the time you get married..some one else will buy it.' He grinned at her.
'If its there in my destiny..it will come to me.'
Samrat laughed. 'You have been staying a lot with Nupur these days. Talking such filmy lines..' He said in a teasing tone.
She too laughed. 'Yeah. That's true. Samrat by the way..what about their special wedding present?' She said in a scared tone.
'Yeah! Even I was thinking. It should be something good and special. Mayank anyways thought I was lying.' He said sitting next to her.
They both sat there thinking for a while.
'Idea!' Gunjan said.
'What??' Samrat asked.
'Come here.' She whispered something in his ear.
'Superb!' Samrat said and they hi-fied.
'Gunjan..can you come here for a second?' Nupur called from the trial room. Gunjan quickly went inside.
Mayank mean-while came out adjusting the suit. 'How does it look?' He asked Samrat.
'You are looking handsome for once..' Samrat said.
'Hello..I always look handsome.' He replied.
'Samrat laughed. 'Yeah..sure.'
Nupur entered clearing her throat in a model pose. 'How am I looking?' She was wearing the dress..and her hair was placed on her left shoulder. The dress revealed her slim waist and her smooth back. There was no make-up on her face.
'Wow Nups!' Samrat replied whistling. 'Gunjan come here for a second..' Confused she came closer to him. He touched her eye and took a bit of kajal and put it under Nupur's chin. 'Kisi ki nazar na lage mere behen ko..'
Nupur grinned excitedly. Mayank also thought for once Nupur was actually looking beautiful.
'Not fair..koi mere bhai ki bhi to nazar utaro..' She said touching her eye and putting the kajal for Mayank.
'Ofo Gunjan please..your are too becoming filmy like them.' He said irritated.
She laughed. 'What to do Bhai..even your looking so handsome..really.' She smiled at him.
He too smiled back and gave her a side-hug. 'Thanks Gunjan.'
'Nupur..agar tum mere behen nahin hote na..to main tumse isi waqt shaadi kar leta. Really.' He said putting an arm around her. Nupur smiled and enjoyed the compliments.
'Hello..no need to exaggerate so much.' Mayank interrupted.
Turning towards him. 'Bhai..bhabhi is not looking good?' Gunjan asked.
Nupur glared at him. 'When..when did I say that? She looks nice.' He added calmly. She then smiled thinking "Aagaya line pe."
Mayank and Nupur changed back to their normal clothes..while Samrat and Gunjan started trying on stuff. They were also an important part of the wedding. Unlike them both were taking a very long time. Nupur was bored.
'Mayank..lets go to that jewelery shop until they come back..' She said pulling his arm.
'But Nupur..lets wait for them.' She didn't listen and pulled him with her.
The sales girl thought that they had left..so she locked the store and left for her lunch break.
Gunjan sensed the lights going off. 'Bhai..Nupur..Samrat..' She said coming out in the blue lehenga she took for trying.
Samrat too came out. 'Where did everybody go?' He asked coming out.
Gunjan saw that the door was locked from outside. 'Oh no Samrat..we are locked here.' She got scared.
'Chill Chashmish.' He called Mayank. Mayank said that Nupur dragged him to some jewellery store..and they would take a minimum of 20 minutes. 'They are coming. In 20 mins. So lets wait.'
She nodded a bit relieved. She went to the mirror and admired her blue and golden dress. 'How does this look?'
'Ya..good only.' Samrat yawned.
'Samrat stop yawning.' She said a bit irritated.
'Sorry..I haven't slept properly since a few days..' Samrat said.
She went and sat next to him. 'Why because of your girl-friend?' Gunjan asked..but regretted it soon. 'I meant..' She looked around.
He laughed. 'I don't have a girl-friend..its because of all this hurried preparations.'
'You don't have one?' She asked suspiciously ignoring the excuse.
'Umm..no.' He said getting scared by her gaze. 'I did have one..a few months ago. But we broke-up. Happy.' He said adjusting the black blazer he had worn ..for the wedding as a trial.
'Oh..Im so sorry.' She apologized.
'Hey…its fine. Relax.' He smiled to her. 'Its so boring..' He pouted. 'Chalo lets dance..' He said getting up and pulling her hand.
'Dance? I cant dance.' She said avoiding his gaze and still sitting.
'What will we do here alone then? They will be late. And ill teach you how to dance now..so you can dance for that college fest of yours..remember..?'
'Oh yes..but..umm here?' She asked.
'So what?' He pulled her through her hand and caught her waist. She lowered her eyes. 'Chashmish you should look in the eye while dancing..' He grinned.
She carefully pushed her eye-lids up to face him. He put her hand on his shoulder. Maybe god..wanted them to be alone. Nobody turned up for an hour..while they danced and danced..enjoying themselves..the random waltz really brought them closer. Now Gunjan didn't feel that uncomfortness. She twirled holding his finger…and then he finally caught her. They were breathing hard..as they stared at each other..and a heavenly smile took place.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
'Nupur..when will he come?' Her friend Namrata asked her.
'Just a little time more. Hes a bit busy you know.' Nupur replied.
Muskaan and Suhaani gave her an expression of sorry.
Her best-friends wanted to meet Mayank before the wedding. Namrata and Naina, her close friends since school. They were known as the "N" gang at school. So the 5 of them were waiting at the caf for Mayank. He was an hour late..and wasn't picking his phone up.
'Its okay Nupur..relax…we are your friends only..' Naina said slowly.
Nupur was almost going to cry. 'Hey..im so sorry. I was busy.' Mayank said sitting next to Nupur. 'Hi..' He said to her. She didn't respond. 'Im sorry..you know the traffic.' He whispered.
'Its alright.' Namrata and Naina said together.
'Umm..Nupur introduction to kara do..please.' He told her softly with a smile.
'This is Naina..and Namrata. You know Muskaan and Suhaani. And this is Mayank.' She said in a disinterested tone.
The friendly conversation took place for an hour. Mayank felt really bad for keeping them waiting. He kept saying sorry to them. Nupur and her friends were touched by his behavior. They really liked him a lot..and was proud of their friends choice. A few minutes later..they all left..leaving Mayank Nupur alone.
The waiter kept a strawberry ice-cream on the table.
'Who ordered this?' Nupur asked.
'Me..Its your favorite right? Tumhara mood sahi karne ke liye..' He added in a teasing tone.
'I don't want to eat.' She said pushing the bowl.
'Im seriously sorry Nupur. I promise next time I wont be late. Really.' He said.
'Its okay..' She said..not able to stop her smile.
Mayank too smiled back and pulled the ice-cream to himself. 'Thank god. I'm so hungry.'
Pulling the ice-cream to herself. 'Excuse me..this is for me.'
'You said..you didn't want it..' He said a little loud in a teasing tone.
She shrugged. 'That..simply.' She smiled. 'What did you have for lunch?'
'Me..nothing. The meeting at office got over..and I had to come here. Didn't have time for lunch.'
'Mayank..tum bhi na..' She sighed. She ordered something for him. 'Here..' She said holding the spoon of ice-cream.
He caught her hand and ate the ice-cream. He pulled the bowl towards him. 'Sorry..but this one is actually for me.' He chuckled.
She kept her hand on her chin and admired him and smiled. Suddenly the smile disappeared from her face. 'Mayank..I wanna tell you something..'
'You want to tell me something since a week..finally tell it please.'
'Mayank..I want to tell you about …my..past.' She whispered.
He looked up at her. 'Nupur.' His tone got serious. 'I know everything about you since 3 years. You don't need to tell me anything. Understand?'
'But..about Adhiraj..it was a little serious.' She said slowly.
'Nupur..I trust you. Is that enough? Im not interested in anything more.'
She sighed and nodded.
'Yeh lo..ice-cream khalo..' He said pushing the bowl towards her.
She smiled..and was surprised seeing him so serious ..but sweet and not sadu. 'Tum khiloge ..to hi khaunge..' She said in a teasing tone.
'Sure sure..why not..' He fed her the ice-cream while she ate and giggled.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
'Nupur..where are you?' Samrat said walking towards her room. 'One night before the wedding and shes sleeping.' He sighed and opened the door. To his shock it was empty. 'Nupur..' He screamed as he checked her everywhere. Kitchen rooms balcony terrace garden. Everywhere. But he could not find her. He got really worried. 'Nupur..where are you??'
He suddenly saw the room of his parents which mostly would be kept locked. He walked slowly and opened it. Nupur was lying on the centre of the bed, her hand clutched with the frame of their parents. She was asleep but her eyes seemed wet. He was heart-broken seeing her that way. He had just gone out for an hour to check on all preparations and here she was. He went and sat next to her slowly. He took the frame from her hands and cleaned a bit of the dust and caressed the picture..and this time smiled. It was a happy occasion and he did not want to shed tears on such a day. He again kept it back in Nupur's hand. The safest place. He got up and pulled the comforter over her. He placed a kiss on her fore-head, cleaned the tears from her eyes and switched off the light and closed the door before going out.
------------------------------------------------------------------------
The wedding was taking place. Mayank and his mom were fighting. He didn't want to wear that turban..coz it would spoil his hair. But his mom was forcing. Eventually he did won. The wedding took place for almost 2 hours. Nupur cried..but Samrat didn't. He was broken; but he only smiled..to make her happy. He gifted her the diamond set which her mom always loved.
The reception took place the same day..an hour later. Mayank's college friends were beside him meanwhile Nupur was with her friends. It was only an hour function as the guests were limited to 60 people. Nupur was in the red and silver lehenga with that diamond set and a beautiful bridal hair-style. She had lots of make-up on. Mayank was in the black-suit. They complemented each other amazingly.
After all the guests left only the bidaii took place. Shilpa aunty was leaving a week later, but she left the same night due to some work. It was Samrat Mayank Gunjan and Nupur at their place. They had dinner and all.
Nupur was continuously crying while Gunjan was consoling her.
'Samrat let Nupur stay here for a few days. Mom is also not here. She seems so disturbed. I don't feel so right.' Mayank said from afar.
'Chill Mayank. If she doesn't go today..Im sure she will never come there. This attachment of ours will break one day or other. Why delay. Don't worry about her. She will be fine.' He forced a smile.
Buckets would be less..that was how much Nupur cried. But after a few encouraging talks by Samrat..she was fine.
--------------------------------------------------------
Nupur was standing by the window of "their" room. It was a new one though. The TV wall had been painted blue and the other two walls were soft grey. The room was done up with so many roses..even more than in a bollywood song. The smell was giving her a nose-block all of a sudden…though she loved the smell of them.
'Nupur..are you fine?' Mayank's voice said breaking her thoughts.
She turned to look at him and slowly nodded.
'Umm..what?' She was giving him a strange look..so he asked.
Her eyes shifted to the bed..he also looked there and gulped.
'Sorry..thats all thanks to my mom.' He said angrily and then started clearing the bed of roses. She started giggling. 'What is SO funny?' He shouted looking at her.
She became still as a statue hearing his voice. She shook her head.
'Now will you stand there like that or come and help me?' He asked. She slowly nodded and came to help him clear all the roses. They were standing really close. Suddenly Mayank started to sneeze.
'Now what? Are you allergic to me or the roses?' Nupur asked sighing.
Pushing her a bit away. 'Im actually allergic to that mehendi.' He said pointing to her hands and again sneezed.
Nupur at first gave him a blank look then burst out laughing. He gave her a .."what the hell" look…but seeing her laugh..even he started laughing. Nupur was not stopping at all..which made him really embarrassed.
'Okay fine. That's enough.' He said and she stopped. 'Nupur you sleep here..Ill go and sleep in the guest room.'
'No..' She almost shouted scaring him. This room was twice as big as hers. She wouldn't dare to be alone here. Also if Gunjan would come to know..she would tell Samrat, coz she knew they were really good friends. If he would come to know..she would have to start writing her own death-certificate.
'What? Why?' He asked confused.
'Umm..nothing. Simply. Im not that filmy also.' She chuckled at her own line.
'Filmy?' He asked puzzled.
'Oho..Mayank..like in a movie..when a girl and boy get married..boy will go and sleep in the other room and all on the wedding night.. Like…Ummm..Example..Rajneeti..ya..so when Katrina and Arjun got married na..Arjun used to take all the pillow and bed-sheet and sleep outside..but then later on….' After mumbling..she stopped to blush.
'Later on…??' He asked.
Getting back to her old self. 'Mayank..now you want me to tell you the whole film story..? See it for yourself!' She said going to her bag to take her night dress.
'Nupur…your mad.' He finally concluded. He went to another room to change and then came back.
They were lying down on the bed. At the edges..not even hands touching. Mayank closed his eyes and tried to sleep. Mean-while Nupur was getting restless. She would never sleep anywhere except her place. Everything was so odd. She was missing that small cushion she used to hug and sleep. She reminded herself to get it back here. She turned thrice and closed her eyes. Her thoughts went to her brother..he would always need a cup of coffee before sleeping and after getting up. Who would make him that now? She again turned.
'Nupur..' Mayank said a bit irritated..by her constant turning and moving.
She made a face and again slept straight thinking about everything unnecessary. She needed to sleep. But it wasn't working. She turned again. This time towards Mayank. She touched his arm. 'Mayank..are you awake??'
'What happen?' he said facing her.
She sat up straight. Taking a deep breathe. 'I cant stay here.' She whispered. 'I want to go home right NOW.' She said a bit loudly.
'What??' Mayank said stunned.
------------------------------------------------------------
Okay..here it goes!! Finally!!😉 Sorry for skipping the marrigae part..it didnt come out that well..without visuals n all..do read..and comment..press the LIKE tab :)
Edited by -Mansi- - 14 years ago